APS بيان صحفي

النتائج من APS تم تقديم دراسة توقعات الالتحاق

كما يوافق مجلس إدارة المدرسة أيضًا على الميزانية المقترحة للسنة المالية 18

في اجتماع الليلة الماضية ، قدم الدكتور ريتشارد س. APS توقعات التسجيل وعملياته. وأكد الدكتور جريب خلال العرض الذي قدمه على المنهجية المتبعة APS وأوصى بإدخال تحسينات لعام 2017 وما بعده.

ركزت توصياته على الجهود المبذولة لبناء الثقة في التوقعات من خلال إجراء مراجعات مع فرق داخلية وخارجية ؛ توفير الشفافية في عملية الإسقاطات ؛ وتحسين الاتصالات في التقرير. طلب مجلس إدارة المدرسة من الموظفين تقديم خطة لمعالجة التوصيات في اجتماع المجلس القادم في 20 أبريل. التقرير الكامل للدكتور جريب هو متوفرة هنا.

الميزانية المقترحة من مجلس المدرسة للسنة المالية 18
وافق مجلس المدرسة على اقتراح مدارس أرلينغتون العامة للسنة المالية 2018 (APS) ميزانية لتمويل العمليات للعام الدراسي 2017-18. تبلغ الميزانية المقترحة لمجلس المدرسة للسنة المالية 2018 ما مجموعه 614.3 مليون دولار ، ولا تزال تعتمد على 11.2 مليون دولار إضافية من تحويل المقاطعة لتمويل احتياجاتها بالكامل. تتضمن الميزانية المقترحة للمجلس قائمة متدرجة من التخفيضات التي يمكن النظر فيها إذا تعذر سد فجوة التمويل البالغة 11.2 مليون دولار أو جزء منها. قام المجلس بتعديل القائمة المتدرجة التي اقترحها المشرف ، وتحويل بعض التخفيضات إلى المستويات الأدنى. تتوفر معلومات كاملة في البيان الصحفي متاحة على شبكة الإنترنت.

جميع المواد المتعلقة بميزانية السنة المالية 2018 متاحة على شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/budget-finance. سيعقد مجلس إدارة المدرسة جلسة استماع عامة بشأن ميزانيته المقترحة يوم الخميس ، 20 أبريل ، في الاجتماع العادي التالي الذي يبدأ في الساعة 7:30 مساءً ، ومن المقرر اعتماد الميزانية النهائية للسنة المالية 18 في 4 مايو. 

بند مراقبة أخرى:
APS 3-5 سنوات خطة العمل: بالإضافة إلى عنصر المراقبة في تقرير دراسة توقعات التسجيل ، قدم المشرف مورفي تقريرًا مرحليًا عن APS 3-5 سنوات خطة العمل. تركز جهود التخطيط هذه على إعداد 30,000 طالب بحلول عام 2021 ، وما يقرب من 32,000 طالب بحلول عام 2025. وقدم الدكتور مورفي معلومات حول كيفية APS يخطط للنمو وتوقع الالتحاق على المدى القصير ، ولخص التخطيط طويل الأجل الذي يقوده المجلس الاستشاري للمرافق المشتركة لتحديد المواقع التي يمكن فيها إنشاء مدارس إضافية. العرض الكامل متاح على بورد دوكس.

قدم الموظفون أيضًا تحديثًا عن مراجعة سياسة التسجيل والتحويل. تم عقد اجتماعين مجتمعيين في 30 مارس و 4 أبريل لجمع ملاحظات إضافية. تم نشر العرض التقديمي الكامل والفيديو المباشر من الاجتماع الأول تتضمن البطولات التنافسية الألعاب الإلكترونية التالية : DOTA XNUMX و RAINBOW XNUMX و CS: GO ، LEaGUE OF LEGENDS ، Overwatch ، FORTNITE ، LEGENDS APEX ، Call of DUTY XNUMX ، MORTAL KOMBAT XNUMX ، TEKKEN XNUMX ، SUPERMASH BROS ULTIMATE و FIFAXNUMX. يتم طلب ملاحظات إضافية من خلال استطلاع على الانترنت، والتي ستفتح حتى 17 أبريل. سيعقد مجلس المدرسة جلسة عمل ثانية في الثلاثاء 18 أبريل الساعة 7 مساءً في مركز التعليم ، لمراجعة تعليقات المجتمع والاستطلاع ومناقشة التغييرات الإضافية. يخطط مجلس إدارة المدرسة للموافقة على سياسة التسجيل والانتقال المنقحة في يونيو ، للتنفيذ في العام الدراسي 2018-19. 

البند الإجراءات الأخرى:

  • مراجعة سياسة مجلس المدرسة المختارة لخدمات الطلاب: وافق المجلس على تغيير طفيف في SBP 25-1.8 (تدريبات افتتاحية) لمواءمة السياسة مع قانون فرجينيا.

 بنود المعلومات:

  • تعديل قرار الشراء: اقترح الموظفون تعديلاً على قرار الشراء يسمح بذلك APS لاستكشاف اتفاقيات شراء الطاقة من أجل شراء الطاقة المتجددة بأسعار معقولة.
  • مراجعة سياسة مجلس إدارة المدرسة 25-4.3 القسم 504 من قانون إعادة التأهيل لعام 1973: تم تحديث هذه السياسة آخر مرة في عام 2003 ، واقترح فريق العمل تحديثات من قانون تعليم الأفراد ذوي الإعاقة الذي حدث في عام 2004.
  • منح عقد لخدمات إدارة الإنشاءات المعرضة للمخاطر لما قبل البناء لنقل المكاتب الإدارية في سكويا بلازا XNUMX: استخدم الموظفون عملية من خطوتين تضمنت كلا من طلب المؤهلات وطلب تقديم العروض. يوصون بمنح العقد لشركة Whiting-Turner Contracting Company بمبلغ 110,000،XNUMX دولار.
  • اتفاقية إيجار مع حكومة مقاطعة أرلينغتون لممتلكات توماس جيفرسون لبناء المدرسة الابتدائية الجديدة: راجع فريق العمل تصميم المدرسة الابتدائية الجديدة وأوصى بأن يوقع رئيس مجلس إدارة المدرسة عقد إيجار مقترح مع حكومة المقاطعة للممتلكات التي سيتم إنشاء المدرسة بها. لن تتطلب اتفاقية الإيجار APS لدفع إيجار العقار.

التفاصيل الكاملة لجميع هذه المعلومات متوفرة على بورد دوكس. 

التعرف على:
بدأ المجلس الاجتماع بالاعتراف بشهر أبريل باعتباره شهر الطفل العسكري. كما كرم المجلس الطلاب الذين تم اختيارهم كفائزين بجائزة الفنون الدراسية.  

اجتماع مجلس المدرسة القادمة:
سيعقد الاجتماع القادم لمجلس المدرسة يوم الخميس 20 أبريل الساعة 7:30 مساءً. وسيتم نشر جدول الأعمال قبل أسبوع واحد من موعد الاجتماع. بورد دوكس. 

لمزيد من المعلومات
يجب على المواطنين الذين يرغبون في التعليق على أي من البنود التي تمت مناقشتها في اجتماع مجلس المدرسة إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى المجلس على لوحة المدرسة@apsva.us أو اتصل على 703-228-6015. يمكن للمواطنين الاتصال بالرقم 703-228-2400 يوم الاثنين بعد اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة للاستماع إلى ملخص الاجتماع. يتم أيضًا بث اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة مباشرة على Comcast Cable Channel 70 و Verizon FiOS Channel 41 ؛ بث مباشر على APS ويعاد بثه يوم الجمعة الساعة 9 مساءً ويوم الاثنين الساعة 7:30 مساءً بعد الاجتماع مباشرة. سيتم نشر جميع المواد ومحاضر الاجتماع على موقع الويب على شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/schoolboard بناء على موافقة مجلس المدرسة في اجتماع لاحق.

APS News Release

Findings from APS Enrollment Projections Study Presented

School Board Also Approves Its Proposed FY18 Budget

At last night’s meeting, Dr. Richard S. Grip, Executive Director of Statistical Forecasting and a recognized leader and expert in the public school enrollment projections, presented his key findings from a recent study of the APS enrollment projections and processes. During his presentation, Dr. Grip affirmed the methodology used by APS and recommended improvements for 2017 and beyond.

His recommendations focused on efforts to build confidence in the projections by conducting reviews with both internal and external teams; providing transparency in the projections process; and improving communications in the report. The School Board asked staff to provide a plan for addressing the recommendations at the next Board meeting on April 20. Dr. Grip’s full report is available here.

SCHOOL BOARD PROPOSED FY18 BUDGET
The School Board approved its Proposed FY 2018 Arlington Public Schools (APS) budget to fund operations for the 2017-18 school year. The FY 2018 School Board’s proposed budget totals $614.3 million, and it still depends upon an additional $11.2 million from the County transfer to fully fund its needs. The Board’s proposed budget includes a tiered list of cuts that could be considered if all or a portion of the $11.2 million funding gap cannot be closed. The Board modified the tiered list proposed by the Superintendent, shifting some cuts down to lower tiers. Complete information is available in the press release available online.

All materials related to the FY 2018 Budget are available at www.apsva.us/budget-finance. The School Board will hold a public hearing on its proposed budget on Thu, Apr. 20, at the next regular meeting beginning at 7:30 p.m. The final FY18 budget is scheduled for adoption on May 4. 

OTHER MONITORING ITEM:
APS 3-5 Year Action Plan: In addition to the monitoring item on the Enrollment Projections Study report, Superintendent Murphy provided a progress report on the APS 3-5 Year Action Plan. These planning efforts are focused on preparing for 30,000 students by 2021, and almost 32,000 students by 2025. Dr. Murphy presented information on how APS is planning for growth and projecting enrollment in the short term, and summarized the long-term planning being led by the Joint Facilities Advisory Council to identify sites where additional schools could be constructed. The full presentation is available on BoardDocs.

Staff also provided an update on the Revision of the Enrollment and Transfer Policy. Two community meetings were held on Mar. 30 and Apr. 4 to gather additional feedback. The full presentation and livestreaming video from the first meeting are posted online. Additional feedback is being requested through an online survey, which will be open through April 17. The School Board will hold a second work session on Tue, Apr. 18 at 7 p.m. at the Education Center, to review community and survey feedback and discuss additional changes. The School Board plans to approve the revised Enrollment and Transfer Policy in June, for implementation in the 2018-19 school year. 

OTHER ACTION ITEM:

  • Revision of Select Student Services School Board Policy: The Board approved a minor change to SBP 25-1.8 (Opening Exercises) to align the policy with the Code of Virginia.

 INFORMATION ITEMS:

  • Amendment to Purchasing Resolution: Staff proposed an amendment to the Purchasing Resolution that would allow APS to explore Power Purchase Agreements in order to purchase renewable energy at more affordable rates.
  • Revision of School Board Policy 25-4.3 Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973: This policy was last updated in 2003, and staff proposed updates from the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act that occurred in 2004.
  • Contract Award for Pre-Construction Construction Management at-Risk Services for the Relocation of Administrative Offices at Sequoia Plaza Two: Staff used a two-step process that included both a Request for Qualifications and Request for Proposal. They are recommending the contract be awarded to Whiting-Turner Contracting Company in the amount of $110,000.
  • Lease Agreement with Arlington County Government for the Thomas Jefferson Property to Construct the New Elementary School: Staff reviewed the design for the new elementary school and recommended that the School Board Chair sign a proposed lease with the County Government for property where the school will be constructed. The lease agreement would not require APS to pay rent for the property.

Full details for all of these information items are available on BoardDocs. 

RECOGNITION:
The Board began the meeting by recognizing April as the Month of the Military Child. The Board also honored students that were selected as Scholastic Arts Award winners.  

NEXT SCHOOL BOARD MEETING:
The next School Board meeting will be held on Thu, Apr. 20 at 7:30 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs. 

FOR MORE INFORMATION:
Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.