APS Communiqué de presse

La saison 2 de Historical Markers fait ses débuts avec Elizabeth et Edmund Campbell Avenue

Marqueurs historiques Campbell Ave.Saison deux de Historical Markers fait ses débuts avec l'avenue Campbell de Shirlington. Nommée d'après les résidents d'Arlington Edmund et Elizabeth Campbell, la rue est l'entrée du village de Shirlington.

Les Campbell travaillaient pour la justice sociale à Arlington et en Virginie. Membre du conseil scolaire d'Arlington, Elizabeth est devenue la première femme du Commonwealth de Virginie élue à siéger à un conseil scolaire. Edmund était l'avocat principal dans une affaire contestant la loi de résistance massive de Virginie qui tentait d'empêcher les étudiants afro-américains de fréquenter certaines écoles.

Regardez cette courte vidéo sur les Campbell et utilisez #APSHistoricalMarkers pour répondre et poser des questions sur leur histoire. La série de vidéos Historical Markers, produite par APS, met en évidence quelques-uns des plus de 80 marqueurs historiques mettant en évidence des sites importants du passé d'Arlington pour inciter les étudiants à en apprendre davantage sur l'histoire locale.

Pour plus d'informations sur les vidéos, visitez https://www.apsva.us/aetv/historical-markers-video-series.

APS News Release

Historical Markers Season 2 Debuts with Elizabeth and Edmund Campbell Avenue

Historical Markers Campbell Ave.Season two of Historical Markers debuts with Shirlington’s Campbell Avenue. Named after Arlington residents Edmund and Elizabeth Campbell, the street is the entrance to Shirlington Village.

The Campbells worked for social justice in Arlington and in Virginia. An Arlington School Board member, Elizabeth became the first woman in the Commonwealth of Virginia elected to serve on a School Board. Edmund was the lead attorney in a case challenging Virginia’s massive resistance law which tried to keep African American students from attending certain schools.

Watch this short video about the Campbells and use #APSHistoricalMarkers to respond to and ask questions about their history. The Historical Markers video series, produced by APS, highlights just a few of the more than 80 historical markers highlighting important sites in Arlington’s past to engage students in learning about local history.

For more information about the videos, visit https://www.apsva.us/aetv/historical-markers-video-series.