APS بيان صحفي

المشرف المؤقت يقترح الميزانية المعدلة للسنة المالية 2021

تعكس الميزانية التوجيه الجديد لمجلس إدارة المدرسة الذي تم اعتماده في أواخر مارس

قدمت المشرفة المؤقتة سينتيا جونسون ميزانيتها المنقحة المقترحة للسنة المالية 2021 في اجتماع مجلس إدارة المدرسة في 16 أبريل. تعكس الميزانية المنقحة تحديث توجيه مجلس المدرسة تم اعتماده في أواخر مارس ردا على تأثير فيروس كورونا على الاقتصاد المحلي.

ويبلغ إجمالي الميزانية المقترحة المنقحة 671.1 مليون دولار. هناك العديد من مصادر الدخل غير المعروفة ، بما في ذلك التمويل المحتمل من قانون CARES Act HR 748 ، والتخفيضات المحتملة في الإيرادات من الولاية والتحولات في الإيرادات المتوقعة من مقاطعة أرلينغتون.

قالت المشرفة المؤقتة سينتيا جونسون: "تحدد الميزانية المنقحة الالتزام المستمر الذي لدينا تجاه الطلاب والموظفين والمجتمع ، ولا يزال هذا الالتزام قائمًا". "هدفنا واضح: الاستمرار في تقديم التميز التعليمي ، والتعامل مع الرفاهية الاجتماعية والعاطفية لطلابنا والاحتفاظ بالفريق المؤهل تأهيلا عاليا الذي عملنا بجد لتوظيفه وجذب APS".

للمساعدة في سد فجوة الميزانية ، طُلب من الإدارات البحث عن الكفاءات والحد من الإنفاق في ميزانية السنة المالية 20 الحالية. وتشمل هذه تجميد التعيين في الوظائف الشاغرة وخفض الإنفاق. تم إلغاء جميع الإضافات إلى الميزانية الأصلية المقترحة بما في ذلك الطلبات المتدرجة ، وزيادة التعويضات ، والكتب المدرسية.

"كان من الضروري إيجاد فرص لإعادة تنظيم تقديم خدماتنا في المناطق التي يكون فيها ذلك ممكنًا مع الحفاظ على البرنامج التعليمي الممتاز الذي نقدمه لطلابنا لينمووا ويزدهروا أكاديميًا. وتشمل هذه الميزانية هذا النهج للمساعدة في عجز ميزانيتنا بالإضافة إلى استخدام الاحتياطيات ، "قال جونسون. كما صرحت السيدة جونسون: "نأمل أن تتحول توقعات الميزانية للأسابيع المقبلة لصالحنا وأن الميزانية المقترحة تقدم أفضل أفكارنا بناءً على المعلومات التي لدينا في هذا الوقت".

يتم تضمين موارد لمتعلمي اللغة الإنجليزية والطلاب ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة والنقل والاحتياجات الأخرى في الميزانية وتمت إضافة مبلغ 5 ملايين دولار للطوارئ لتعويض أي خسائر أخرى في الإيرادات.

التخفيضات لسد الفجوة
تشمل التخفيضات المقترحة ما يلي:

  • قم بإلغاء برنامج FLES ولكن أضف بعض الوظائف المرنة لمساعدة مديري المدارس على توفير وقت التخطيط المطلوب.
  • زيادة حجم الفصل بواحد في جميع مستويات الصف.
  • تقليل عدد العاملين في المشروع النموذجي بمقدار النصف باستثناء مدارس العنوان الأول.
  • تخفيض عقد شركات النقل المتكاملة من 12 شهرًا إلى 11 شهرًا.
  • إلغاء سداد الرسوم الدراسية لمدة عام واحد.
  • إلغاء تمويل دراسات التعويضات والميزانية.
  • إجازة ليوم واحد لجميع الموظفين للحفاظ على أكبر عدد ممكن من الوظائف والحفاظ على البنية التحتية التي تتوافق مع الميزانية المقترحة لمدير المقاطعة.
  • استخدم أموال VPI المُرحّلة لنفقات VPI.
  • تقليل خدمة الديون نتيجة لتأخير المقاطعة لبيع السندات حتى الخريف.
  • تقليل ميزانية الإنشاءات الصغرى / الصيانة الرئيسية (MC / MM) لمدة عام واحد.
  • تقليل الزيادات الأساسية المستمرة بمقدار النصف تقريبًا.
  • قم بإلغاء بعض عمليات الشراء لمرة واحدة والتي تتيح لنا وضع الاحتياطيات التي كنا نستخدمها لتعويض تلك التكاليف مرة أخرى في الصندوق الاحتياطي.
  • تنفيذ تخفيضات القسم التي تشمل تأخير التوظيف لعدة وظائف بدلاً من الإلغاء التام لتلك الوظائف.

تتضمن الميزانية أيضًا ثلاثة سيناريوهات تتعلق بتعويضات الموظفين. يتضمن السيناريو الأول زيادة في الخطوة ، ويتضمن السيناريو الثاني زيادة بنسبة XNUMX٪ في تكلفة تعديل المعيشة (COLA) ولا يتضمن السيناريو الثالث زيادة. السيناريو الثالث ، مع عدم وجود زيادة في التعويض ، ينتج عنه ميزانية متوازنة.

العرض الكامل وكذلك ملاحظات المشرف المؤقت هي متاحة على شبكة الإنترنت.   

الخطوات المقبلة
سيعقد مجلس المدرسة جلسة عمل وجلسة استماع عامة في 21 أبريل. تفاصيل حول كيفية إرسال التعليقات للمتابعة. سيوافق مجلس المدرسة على الميزانية المقترحة للسنة المالية 21 في 23 أبريل وستعتمد مقاطعة أرلينغتون ميزانيتها المقترحة في 30 أبريل. ومن المقرر عقد جلسة عمل إضافية وجلسة استماع عامة في 5 مايو ، وسيتبنى مجلس المدرسة الميزانية النهائية للسنة المالية 21 في 7 مايو. معلومات إضافية متاحة في شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/budget.

APS News Release

Interim Superintendent Proposes Revised FY 2021 Budget

Budget Reflects New School Board Direction Adopted in Late March

Interim Superintendent Cintia Johnson presented her revised proposed FY 2021 budget at the School Board’s April 16 meeting. The revised budget reflects the updated School Board direction adopted in late March in response to the effect that the Coronavirus is having on the local economy.

The revised proposed budget totals $671.1 million. There are several revenue unknowns, including potential funding from the CARES Act H.R. 748, potential revenue reductions from the State and shifts in projected revenue from Arlington County.

“The revised budget outlines the continued commitment that we have to students, staff and the community, and that commitment still stands,” said Interim Superintendent Cintia Johnson. “Our goal is clear: continue delivering educational excellence, addressing the social and emotional well-being of our students and retaining the highly qualified team that we have worked so hard to recruit and attract to APS.”

To help offset the budget gap, departments have been asked to look for efficiencies and limit spending in the current FY20 budget. These include a hiring freeze on vacant positions and a reduction in spending. All the additions to the original proposed budget have been eliminated including the tiered requests, the compensation increase, and textbooks.

“It was imperative to find opportunities to realign our service delivery in areas where this was feasible while maintaining the excellent instructional program that we deliver for our students to grow and thrive academically. This budget includes this approach to assist with our budget deficit in addition to the use of reserves,” said Johnson. Ms. Johnson also stated, “We are hopeful that the budget outlook over the coming weeks will shift in our favor and the proposed budget presents our best thinking based on the information we have at this time.”

Resources for English Learners, special needs students, transportation, and other needs are included in the budget and a $5 million contingency was added to offset any further revenue losses.

Reductions to Close the Gap
Proposed reductions include the following:

  • Eliminate the FLES program but add back some flexible positions to help principals provide required planning time.
  • Increase class size by one at all grade levels.
  • Reduce exemplary project staffing by half except at Title I schools.
  • Reduce the contract of ITCs from 12 months to 11 months.
  • Eliminate tuition reimbursement for one year.
  • Eliminate funding for the compensation and budget studies.
  • One day furlough for all staff to preserve as many positions as possible and maintain the infrastructure which aligns with the county manager’s proposed budget.
  • Use VPI carryover funds for VPI expenditures.
  • Reduce debt service as a result of the County delaying the bond sale until the fall.
  • Reduce the Minor Construction/Major Maintenance (MC/MM) budget for one year.
  • Reduce ongoing baseline increases by almost half.
  • Eliminate some one-time purchases which allows us to put the reserves we were using to offset those costs back into the reserve fund.
  • Implement department reductions that include hiring delays for several positions rather than outright elimination of those positions.

The budget also includes three scenarios related to staff compensation. Scenario one includes a step increase, scenario two includes a one percent Cost of Living Adjustment (COLA) increase and scenario three does not include an increase. Scenario three, with no compensation increase, results in a balanced budget.

The full presentation as well as the Interim Superintendent’s remarks are available online.   

Next Steps
The School Board will hold a work session and public hearing on April 21. Details on how to submit comments to follow. The School Board will approve its FY21 Proposed Budget on April 23 and Arlington County will adopt its proposed budget on April 30. An additional work session and public hearing is scheduled for May 5 and the School Board will adopt the final FY21 budget on May 7.  Additional information is available at www.apsva.us/budget.