APS 新聞發布

臨時學監提供2019-20學年的開學日報告

臨時監督Cintia Johnson在昨晚的學校董事會會議上發布了《開學第一天》報告,包括入學人數和其他2019-20年度返校最新情況。

臨時總監指出,PreK-12的第一天入學人數為27,996名學生。 這比去年560月30日的官方統計數字多了28,510名學生,並且低於春季預計的2019名。 臨時總監指出,整個20月的入學人數將繼續波動,並且30-XNUMX年的正式入學人數將在XNUMX月XNUMX日進行計算。

臨時督學約翰遜強調了為準備新學年而在夏季進行的工作,包括準備開設新的艦隊小學,桃樂絲·哈姆中學和容納HB Woodlawn和Shriver(原名Stratford)的高地大廈。 ) 程式。 此外,工作人員對帕特里克·亨利(Patrick Henry)大樓進行了翻新,成為了新的阿靈頓蒙特梭利公立學校和查爾斯·魯德魯博士小學,後者現在是一所社區學校。

她還強調了學校部門對安全的關注,並提供了有關新計劃的進度報告,包括每所學校現在都已建立的訪客管理系統,以及26月46日啟動並已於XNUMX年完成的年度在線驗證程序(AOVP)。 XNUMX%的 APS 報告的結尾是一段錄像,重點介紹了學年的第一天。 錄像帶介紹了學生的到來,以及來自全體員工,學生,家庭和阿靈頓縣合作夥伴的言論,對他們對來年的興奮。 的 完整的演示文稿在線.

監控項目:

  • PreK-12教學計劃途徑(IPP)– 規劃與評估以及教與學的工作人員共享了PreK-12 IPP的最新信息,並討論了下一步操作和途徑的使用,以確保指導(而非施工)指導規劃工作。 APS。 “ 完整的演示文稿在BoardDocs上.

行動項目:
董事會批准了以下內容:

  • 向職業中心擴展建築級別規劃委員會(BLPC)收取費用– 校務委員會批准了擬議的職業中心擴展BLPC費用,該費用指定了職業中心選修計劃增加800個以上的席位,並將阿靈頓理工學院擴展到600個席位,以及其他特定要求。 有關這些項目的更多信息可在線獲得 在BoardDocs。

信息項:

  • 校務委員會2019-20行動計劃– 董事會提出了擬議的《 2019-20年度學校董事會行動計劃》,一旦通過,將作為下一年度學校董事會優先事項的進度報告共享。
  • 里德新小學的最終設計和施工合同– 員工介紹了里德新小學的最終設計和施工合同,並聽取了社區對該設計的評論。 16月XNUMX日,星期一,將對景觀計劃進行進一步討論,並由樹藝家進行審查。
  • 選擇校務委員會政策的擬議修訂– 董事會聽取了對多項政策的擬議修訂,包括B-2.1.31學校聯絡; C-2.1董事會/總監關係; C-2.7主管評估; D-2.32聯合董事會和學校董事會活動; 和D-9內部審核。

有關這些項目的更多信息可在線獲得.

認可:

  • 臨時警司辛提亞·約翰遜宣誓就職 –在會議開始時,校務委員會為新任臨時監督Cintia Johnson舉行了宣誓就職典禮,他於1年2019月XNUMX日正式開始擔任新職務。
  • 詹姆斯敦老師傑米·薩普 –薩普女士因採用海姆利希(Heimlich)動作和反吹直到食物被移走而阻止學生cho住而感到榮幸。 由於她的敏捷思考和果斷行動,學生得以康復。
  • 2019弗吉尼亞歷史年度最佳老師Mary Beth Donnelly –校務委員會感謝Swanson的Donnelly女士被Gilder Lehrman美國歷史學院評為2019年度弗吉尼亞歷史年度教師。 該獎項彰顯了歷史教育的至關重要性,並表彰了從小學到高中的全美國傑出的歷史老師。

下次學校董事會會議:校務委員會將於2110月19日(星期四)下午7點舉行下一次例會(華盛頓大道XNUMX號)。議事日程將在會議召開一周前發布。

欲獲得更多信息:想要對學校董事會會議上討論的任何項目發表評論的公民,請通過以下方式向董事會發送電子郵件: 學校董事會@aps價值 or call 703-228-6015.或致電703-228-2400。 Citizens may call 70-41-XNUMX on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.在校務委員會會議結束後的周一,公民可以撥打XNUMX-XNUMX-XNUMX收聽會議摘要。 School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有線頻道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS頻道XNUMX上還直播學校董事會會議; live-streamed on the現場直播 APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 pm and Mondays at 7:30 pm immediately following the meeting.網站,並在會議結束後的周五晚上XNUMX點和周一晚上XNUMX:XNUMX重新廣播。 All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at所有材料和會議記錄將發佈到網站上 萬維網。apsva.us/學校董事會 經校務委員會在隨後的會議上批准。

APS News Release

Interim Superintendent Provides First Day of School Report for 2019-20 School Year

Interim Superintendent Cintia Johnson delivered a First Day of School Report, including enrollment figures and other 2019-20 back-to-school updates, during last night’s School Board meeting.

The Interim Superintendent noted that the first day enrollment for PreK-12 was 27,996 students. That is 560 more students than last year’s official Sept. 30 count and below the spring projections of 28,510. The Interim Superintendent pointed out that enrollment will continue to fluctuate throughout the month of September and that the official 2019-20 enrollment will be counted on September 30.

Interim Superintendent Johnson highlighted the work that took place over the summer to get ready for the new school year, including preparations to open the new Fleet Elementary School, Dorothy Hamm Middle School, and the Heights Building that houses the H-B Woodlawn and Shriver (formerly Stratford) programs. In addition, staffed renovated the Patrick Henry Building to become the new Montessori Public School of Arlington and Dr. Charles R. Drew Elementary School, which is now a neighborhood school.

She also emphasized the school division’s focus on safety and provided progress reports on new initiatives, including the Visitor Management System now in place in every school, and the Annual Online Verification Process (AOVP), which launched on August 26 and has already been completed by 46 percent of APS families.The report ended with a video highlighting the first day of the school year. The video featured student arrivals and remarks from a variety of staff, students, families and Arlington County partners regarding their excitement about the year ahead. The full presentation is online.

MONITORING ITEM:

  • PreK-12 Instructional Program Pathways (IPP) – Planning and Evaluation and Teaching and Learning staff members shared an update on the PreK-12 IPP, and discussed next steps and use of the pathways to ensure instruction (not construction) guides planning in APS. The full presentation is on BoardDocs.

ACTION ITEMS:
The Board approved the following:

  • Adoption of Charge to the Career Center Expansion Building Level Planning Committee (BLPC) – The School Board approved the proposed Career Center Expansion BLPC Charge which specifies 800+ additional seats for Career Center option programs and the expansion of Arlington Tech to 600 seats, among other specific requirements. More information about these items is available online at BoardDocs.

INFORMATION ITEMS:

  • School Board 2019-20 Action Plan – The Board presented the proposed School Board Action Plan for 2019-20 that will be shared as a progress report for School Board priorities during the year ahead, once adopted.
  • New Elementary School at Reed Final Design and Construction Contract – Staff presented the final design and construction contract for the new elementary school at Reed, and heard community comments regarding the design. On Monday, September 16, the landscape plan will be discussed further and reviewed with an arborist.
  • Proposed Revisions to Select School Board Policies – The Board heard proposed revisions to several policies, including B-2.1.31 School Liaison; C-2.1 Board/Superintendent Relationship; C-2.7 Superintendent Evaluation; D-2.32 Joint Board and School Board Activities; and D-9 Internal Audit.

More information on these items is available online.

RECOGNITIONS:

  • Swearing-In of Interim Superintendent Cintia Johnson – At the beginning of the meeting, the School Board had a swearing-in ceremony for new Interim Superintendent Cintia Johnson, who officially began serving in her new role on Sept. 1, 2019.
  • Jamestown Teacher Jamie Sapp – Ms. Sapp was honored for stopping a student from choking by applying the Heimlich maneuver and back blows until the food was dislodged. Thanks to her quick thinking and decisive action, the student recovered.
  • 2019 Virginia History Teacher of the Year Mary Beth Donnelly – The School Board recognized Ms. Donnelly from Swanson for being named 2019 Virginia History Teacher of the Year by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. This award highlights the crucial importance of history education, and honors exceptional American history teachers throughout the United States, from elementary school through high school.

NEXT SCHOOL BOARD MEETING:The School Board will hold its next Regular Meeting (2110 Washington Blvd.) on Thursday, Sept. 19 at 7 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.

FOR MORE INFORMATION:Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.