4年2021月XNUMX日,家長資源中心星期一寄語

星期一留言圖片

 

 

下載1新年快樂,歡迎回來。 希望大家都度過了一個令人放鬆的冬季假期,並致以最熱烈的祝愿,祝大家2021年健康快樂。

 


五年行動計劃
在2018-19學年, APS 與外部顧問合作,為殘疾學生和需要干預的學生評估課程和服務的質量。 作為該過程的結果, APS 已製定了一項長期戰略行動計劃,以解決進一步加強阿靈頓分層支持系統,特殊教育,第504節以及組織與運營的建議。

查看五年行動計劃


活動預告圖片

 

 

我們期待著恢復虛擬的學習機會和活動。 以下是即將舉行的活動–希望一次或多次與您聯繫!


阿靈頓公立學校和家長資源中心會議,阿靈頓縣活動
請致電703.228.7239與家長資源中心聯繫,或 prc@aps至少在活動開始前7天,要求ADA住宿。


保存日期:壓力與心理健康
13月2日,星期三:3pm – XNUMXpm
註冊即將開放!
請與約克鎮高中心理學家Bethany Banal和Solange Caovan-Hornbake一起就壓力和心理健康進行現場演講。 面向中學生家長的活動將解決:

  • 監測精神健康/福祉
  • 識別焦慮和抑鬱的跡象
  • 當學生看起來壓力很大時該如何應對
  • 以有益的方式傾聽學生的策略,不會激起他們的焦慮
  • 如何弄清楚如何幫助學生
  • 如果您認為您的學生可能有自殺念頭該怎麼辦

知道你的青少年知道什麼下載
14月6日,星期四:下午30:8 – 00:XNUMX
在這裡註冊
主持人:父母與社區參與專家Michael Swisher; Siobhan Bowler, APS 藥物濫用顧問; ACPD學生資源官主管Eliseo Pilco中校; 和阿靈頓縣青少年網絡委員會代表
在這種情況下,父母將有機會看到和了解跡象和線索,以及可能尋找的東西,這可能表明年輕人正在使用毒品,酒精或煙草產品。 我們將帶您參觀青少年臥室,了解不同的“隱藏物品”,並聽取青少年的話, APS 員工,以及關於他們在我們社區的年輕人中所見的SRO。


家居安全圖家居安全
19月6日,星期二,下午00:XNUMX
提出者:艾米麗·西格維蘭(Emily Siqveland)和林恩·恩格(Linh Nghe)
按此报名
加入阿靈頓成癮康復計劃和預防小組,以了解如何保護房屋安全。 演講者將回顧常見的安全問題,包括處方藥和槍支。 網絡研討會將提供資源以幫助確保您的房屋安全。


阿靈頓特殊教育諮詢委員會(ASEAC)
26月7日,星期二:9pm – XNUMXpm
虛擬會議–通過Zoom
請注意,本次會議的商務部分將通過Zoom進行記錄。
在每次會議開始時,ASEAC歡迎公眾對殘疾學生的需求發表評論。 APS。 請參閱ASEAC公共評論指南,網址為: https://www.apsva.us/special-education-advisory-committee 有關提交公眾意見的信息。
任何需要口譯服務的人員和/或需要口譯服務的殘障人士都應致電703.228.7239與家長資源中心聯繫,或 prc@aps價值 盡快請求協助。


了解過渡服務:支持的決策(SDM)
27月7日,星期三:00:9 pm-00:XNUMXpm
在這裡註冊
阿靈頓公立學校過渡服務,家長資源中心和就業準備計劃(PEP)繼續贊助過渡系列,該系列將在本月舉行有關支持決策(SDM)的專題討論會,主要活動包括弧聲倡導總監Lucy Beadnell北弗吉尼亞州。
SDM是為需要幫助以理解和做出選擇的發育障礙人士提供短期和長期支持的一種方式。 SDM可以替代成本較低且限制性較小的監護,也可以與監護一起使用以最大程度地實現自決。 這是提高個人獨立性,安全性和生活質量的國家最佳實踐,有關更多信息,請致電703-228-2136與Kelly Mountain或致電703-228-5738與Christina Eagle聯繫。


社區網絡研討會/虛擬學習機會/會議**
以下包含的事件是共享的,僅供參考。列出的內容可能不包含所有可用的社區學習機會,並且所包含的機會並不反映阿靈頓公立學校的認可。
保持聯繫:ID / DD為您所愛的人提供的虛擬機會
6月12日下午00:XNUMX
在此處註冊並了解更多信息
有證據表明,社交互動是一種生物學要求,就像進食,飲水和睡眠一樣。 我們學習說話,玩耍,學習新技能,墜入愛河,開展業務以及保持良好健康的能力,都取決於我們的動力和與他人進行有意義的聯繫的能力。 然而,即使在COVID-19大流行之前,四分之一的美國人長期孤獨。 那麼,我們如何確保我們仍然可以尋找,創造和促進有意義的人際關係呢? 這就是本次現場研討會的全部內容。 組織者將介紹一個提供商小組,他們可以提供有關創建在線虛擬連接的見解和經驗。 您將了解我們區域內可供人們參與社交互動,學習新技能以及最重要的是保持某種人際關係意識的虛擬俱樂部和活動。 感覺社會上的聯繫比以往任何時候都重要,尤其是在我們忍受與大流行相關的孤立時。 社會聯繫的好處不容忽視。 主持人小組將包括來自以下方面的代表:

  • 好哥們儿
  • 精神俱樂部
  • 社會恩典有限責任公司
  • JCCNV,北弗吉尼亞州的Pozez猶太社區中心
  • 我們的踩地
  • 藝術流
  • 費爾法克斯和阿靈頓縣治療性娛樂服務

由北弗吉尼亞弧線贊助


PEATC即將舉行的活動–弗吉尼亞州的家長教育和倡導培訓中心

  • 幼兒學院課程於16年21月2021日至XNUMX月XNUMX日開放
    在這裡註冊您是殘疾或延遲的幼兒的父母嗎? 您的孩子是否接受早期干預(EI)或幼兒特殊教育(ECSE)服務? 您是否與殘疾幼兒一起工作,或者您(或與您一起工作的父母)是否對在弗吉尼亞州的幼兒教育系統導航有疑問?   幼兒學院由PEATC與弗吉尼亞州教育部合作推出,非常適合您! 這個免費的自定進度的在線課程是一種創新的家長友好型資源,致力於為父母提供有關嬰幼兒和學齡前兒童需要了解的信息-家長作為第一老師的重要性,幼兒服務,特殊教育,可供家長使用的資源年幼的殘疾兒童,還有更多! 學習實用信息,有助於為您的孩子的終生學習打下基礎,並減少向學前班和幼兒園過渡的困惑。由PEATC與VA教育部門合作提供
  • IEP的來龍去脈 | 21月11日,上午30:XNUMX。 這次演講將幫助父母準備在IEP會議上期望的結果,並舉行以學生為中心的富有成效的會議。 從會議前的預先計劃到事後的合作,本演講將建立父母之間的關係和自我倡導技能,同時關注學生的需求。
  • 過渡大學:免費的,家長友好型,為期5週的自定進度的在線過渡課程2021年冬季:6月26日至XNUMX月XNUMX日–
    在這裡註冊
    現在開始學習有關殘疾學生過渡到成年的想法還為時過早。 開始採取措施為未來做準備永遠不會太早!生活充滿了轉變。 對於殘疾兒童的家庭而言,思考未來可能會帶來喜憂參半的情緒。 一些家庭只是試圖克服日常挑戰,可能並不覺得他們有能力思考高中畢業後會發生什麼。 其他人可能想為這種過渡做計劃,但被陌生的語言,複雜的步驟以及可能涉及成人服務的許多機構所混淆。 加入PEATC,參加為期5週的免費自學在線在線課程,該課程重點提供對父母友好的過渡信息,以幫助簡化過渡計劃。 本課程專為接受特殊教育服務的小學,初中或高中學生的父母/監護人而設計,目的是分享有關過渡服務的事實信息,並幫助減少從學校服務向成人服務的過渡帶來的困惑。 完成整個課程的參與者將獲得顯示6.5小時的結業證書。 本課程涵蓋的主題包括:

    • 過渡是什麼意思,為什麼重要?
    • 支持的決策,授權書,監護權和成年年齡
    • 未來計劃,包括特殊需求信託,ABLE帳戶和意向書
    • 過渡到獨立生活(就業,進修,住房等)
    • 連接到您的社區和成人服務等等! F

    如有疑問和/或要了解更多信息,請致電703-923-0010與PEATC聯繫,或partners@peatc.org由PEATC與弗吉尼亞州教育部(VDOE)合作提供

  • 皮特·拉蒂諾

NAMI(全國心理疾病聯盟)阿靈頓父母支持小組現在進行虛擬會議
這些群體適合其孩子正在經歷精神疾病症狀的父母,包括:抑鬱症,焦慮症,進食障礙,情緒障礙等。 無需診斷即可參與。 參與者有機會分享他們關於社區和學校資源的故事,經驗支持和小組成員的指導(根據需要)。 尊重保密性。
學齡兒童和青少年(PK-12)
星期日7-8:30pm
即將舉行的日期– 17月31日和XNUMX月XNUMX日
請通過mczero@yahoo.com與Michelle Best聯繫以進行註冊。


青少年和年輕人:第三個星期日3-1pm
有問題嗎? 聯繫:

  • PK-12:Michelle Best(mczero@yahoo.com)
  • 成人:Naomi Verdugo(verdugo.naomi@gmail.com)
  • 雙方:Alisa Cowen(acowen@cowendesigngroup.com

.

January 4, 2021 Parent Resource Center Monday Message

Monday Message image

 

 

download-1Happy New Year, and welcome back. We hope you each enjoyed a restful rejuvenating Winter Break, and we send our warmest wishes for a happy and healthy 2021.

 


5-Year Action Plan
During the 2018-19 school year, APS partnered with an outside consultant to evaluate the quality of programs and services for students with disabilities and students requiring intervention. As an outcome of that process, APS has developed a long-term strategic action plan to address recommendations to further strengthen the Arlington Tiered System of Support, Special Education, Section 504, and Organization and Operations.

View the 5-Year Action Plan


Upcoming Events image

 

 

We are looking forward to resuming virtual learning opportunities and events. Below are upcoming events – hope to connect with you at one or more!


Arlington Public Schools and Parent Resource Center Sessions and Meetings and Arlington County Events
Please contact the Parent Resource Center at 703.228.7239 or prc@apsva.usat least 7 days prior to events to request ADA accommodations.


SAVE the DATE: Stress and Mental Health
Wednesday, January 13th: 2pm – 3pm
Registration opening soon!
Please join Yorktown High School Psychologists Bethany Banal and Solange Caovan-Hornbake for a live presentation on Stress and Mental Health. This event, geared toward parents of secondary school students, will address:

  • Monitoring mental health/well-being
  • Recognizing signs of anxiety and depression
  • How to respond when your student seems stressed
  • Strategies for listening to your student in a helpful way that doesn’t inflame their anxiety
  • How to figure out how to help your student
  • What to do if you believe that your student may be having suicidal ideation

Know What Your Teen Knowsdownload
Thursday, January 14th: 6:30pm – 8:00 pm
Register here
​Presented by: Michael Swisher, Parent & Community Engagement Specialist; Siobhan Bowler, APS Substance Abuse Counselor; Lt. Eliseo Pilco, ACPD Student Resource Officer Supervisor; and Arlington County Teen Network Board representatives
In this event, parents will have an opportunity to see and learn about signs and clues – and possible things to look for – that might indicate a young person is using drugs, alcohol or tobacco products. We’ll have a ‘tour’ of a teen bedroom, learn about different ‘hideables’, and hear from teens, APS staff, and an SRO about what they are seeing among young people in our community.


home safety graphicHome Safety
Tuesday, January 19th at 6:00 pm
Presented by: Emily Siqveland and Linh Nghe
Register Here
Join Arlington Addiction Recovery Initiative and the Prevention Unit to learn about how to keep your homes safe. Speakers will review common safety concerns including prescription medications and firearms. The webinar will offer resources to assist in keeping your home safe.


Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee (ASEAC)
Tuesday, January 26th: 7pm – 9pm
Virtual Meeting –  via Zoom
Please note that the business portion of this meeting will be recorded through Zoom.
At the beginning of each meeting, ASEAC welcomes comments from the public regarding the needs of students with disabilities in APS. See the ASEAC Public Comment Guidelines at https://www.apsva.us/special-education-advisory-committee for information about submitting public comments.
Any person who would like an interpreter and/or any person with a disability who needs accommodation to access the meeting should contact the Parent Resource Center at 703.228.7239 or prc@apsva.us as soon as possible to request assistance.


Understanding Transition Services: Supported Decision Making (SDM)
Wednesday, January 27th: 7:00pm-9:00pm
Register here
Arlington Public Schools Transition Services, Parent Resource Center and Program for Employment Preparedness (PEP) are continuing to sponsor a Transition Series, which will feature a workshop on Supported Decision Making (SDM) this month, featuring Lucy Beadnell, Director of Advocacy for the Arc of Northern Virginia.
SDM is a way to provide short and long term support for people with developmental disabilities who need assistance to understand and make choices. SDM can be used as an alternative to guardianship that is less costly and restrictive, or used with guardianship to maximize self-determination.  It is a growing national best practice for increasing independence, safety, and quality of life.For further information contact Kelly Mountain at 703-228-2136 or Christina Eagle at 703-228-5738.


Community Webinar/Virtual Learning Opportunities/Meetings**
The events included below are shared for informational purposes, and listing may not be inclusive of al available community learning opportunities and inclusion of opportunities does not reflect endorsement by Arlington Public Schools.
Staying Connected: Virtual Opportunities for Your Loved One with ID/DD
January 6th at 12:00pm
Register and learn more here
Evidence shows that social interaction is a biological requirement, much like eating, drinking and sleeping. Our ability to learn to talk, play, acquire new skills, fall in love, conduct business, and age in good health all hinge on our motivation and ability to connect meaningfully with other people. Yet even before the COVID-19 pandemic, one quarter of Americans were chronically lonely. So what do we do to ensure that we can still seek out, create, and foster meaningful human connections? That’s what this live workshop is all about. The organizers will present a panel of providers who can offer their insights and experiences on creating for online virtual connection. You’ll learn about virtual clubs and activities that are available in our area for people to engage in social interactions, learn new skills, and most importantly maintain some sense of human connection. Feeling socially connected, especially while we endure pandemic-related isolation, is more important than ever. The benefits of social connectedness shouldn’t be overlooked. The panel of presenters will include representatives from:

  • Best Buddies
  • SPIRIT Club
  • Social Graces LLC
  • JCCNV, Pozez Jewish Community Center of Northern Virginia
  • Our Stomping Ground
  • Art Stream
  • Fairfax and Arlington County Therapeutic Recreation Services

Sponsored by The Arc of Northern Virginia


Upcoming Events from PEATC – Virginia’s Parent Education and Advocacy Training Center

  • Early Childhood Academy Course open from January 16 – February 21, 2021
    Register hereAre you the parent of a young child with a disability or delay? Does your child receive Early Intervention (EI) or Early Childhood Special Education (ECSE) services? Do you work with young children with disabilities or do you (or the parents you work with) have questions about navigating the Early Childhood system in Virginia? The Early Childhood Academy, presented by PEATC in collaboration with the Virginia Department of Education, is for you! This FREE self-paced online course is an innovative parent-friendly resource focused on providing information parents with infants, toddlers, and preschoolers need to know — the importance of parents as 1st teachers, early childhood services, special education, resources available to parents of young children with disabilities, and more! Learn practical information to help set the foundation for your child’s lifelong learning and to make the transition to preschool and kindergarten less confusing.Offered by PEATC in collaboration with the VA Department of Education
  • Ins and Outs of IEP’s | January 21 at 11:30 AM. This presentation will help prepare parents of what to expect in the IEP meeting and to have a productive student focused meeting. From pre-planning before the meeting to working together afterwards, this presentation will build relationships and self-advocacy skills of the parents while focusing on the needs of the student.
  • TRANSITION UNIVERSITY: A free, parent-friendly 5-week self-paced online transition courseWinter 2021: February 6 to March 26 –
    Register here
    It is never too early to start learning about students with disabilities transitioning to adulthood. It is never too early to begin taking steps to prepare for the future!Life is full of transitions. For families of children with disabilities, thinking about the future can bring mixed emotions. Some families are just trying to make it through day-to-day challenges and might not feel they have the energy to think about what happens after high school. Others may want to plan for that transition, but are confused by unfamiliar language, complex steps, and the many agencies that may be involved in adult services. Join PEATC for this FREE 5-week SELF-PACED online course that focuses on providing parent-friendly transition information to help make transition planning easier. This course is designed for parents/caregivers of elementary, middle or high school students that receive special education services.The goal is to share factual information on transition services and to help make the transition from school services to the adult services world less confusing. Participants who complete the full course will receive a certificate of completion showing 6.5 hours. Topics covered in this course will include:

    • What do we mean by Transition and Why is it Important?
    • Supported Decision Making, Power of Attorney, Guardianship, and Age of Majority
    • Future Planning including Special Needs Trust, ABLE Accounts, and Letters of Intent
    • Transitioning into Independent Living (employment, further education, housing, etc.)
    • Connecting to Your Community and to Adult Services and much more! F

    For questions and/or to learn more, please contact PEATC at  703-923-0010 or partners@peatc.orgPresented by PEATC in collaboration with the Virginia Department of Education (VDOE)

  • PEATC LATINO

NAMI (National Alliance on Mental Illness) Arlington Parent Support GroupsNow Meeting Virtually
These groups are geared to parents whose child is experiencing symptoms of a mental illness, including: depression, anxiety, eating disorders, mood disorders and more. No diagnosis is required to participate. Participants are given the opportunity to share their story, experience support, and glean guidance (as desired) from group members regarding both community and school resources. Confidentiality is respected.
School Age Students and Teens (PK-12)
Sundays 7-8:30pm
Upcoming dates – January 17th and January 31
Contact Michelle Best at mczero@yahoo.com to register.


Older Teen and Young Adults: 3rd Sunday 1-3pm
Questions??  Contact:

  • PK-12: Michelle Best (mczero@yahoo.com)
  • Adults: Naomi Verdugo (verdugo.naomi@gmail.com)
  • Both: Alisa Cowen (acowen@cowendesigngroup.com

.