28月XNUMX日返校更新

西班牙语

亲爱 APS 家庭,

希望您到目前为止过得愉快! 现在,许多学生正在进行暑期学校远程学习,我们将继续计划2020-21学年。 昨天,“重返学校”工作组召开会议,审查和讨论了针对服务于特定学生群体(包括英语学习者,特殊教育和资优学生)的教学计划的反馈。

我们还在研究有关指令,日程安排,连接性以及健康和安全性的细节。 在下周四的学校董事会会议上,我们将在下一个“重返学校监控报告”中分享有关这些领域的更多信息。

同时,根据我们在过去一周内收到的常见问题,以下是田径运动和其他关键领域的最新动态。

VHSL决定:活动的返回
昨天,弗吉尼亚高中联赛(VHSL)执行委员会投票决定,通过实施压缩时间表,推迟从2020-21年开始的高中活动和运动季节的开始,该时间表从现在开始一直持续到14月26日至3月XNUMX日。下面列出的时间表将从冬季运动季开始,然后是秋季运动季,到春季运动季结束。 每个季节的日期均基于当前的第XNUMX阶段信息和指南。 如果指南更改,则这些日期可能会更改。

  • 第1季(冬季运动)从14月20日至28月XNUMX日(首次比赛日期至XNUMX月XNUMX日):篮球,体操,室内田径,游泳/潜水,摔跤。
  • 第2季(秋季运动会)15月1日至1月XNUMX日(首次比赛日期至XNUMX月XNUMX日):加油,越野,曲棍球,足球,高尔夫,排球。
  • 第3季(春季运动会)12月26日至26月XNUMX日(首次比赛日期至XNUMX月XNUMX日):棒球,曲棍网兜球,足球,垒球,网球,田径。

有关更多信息,请访问VHSL网站,网址为: www.vhsl.org。 我们希望能够尽快将这些影响传达给我们的活动和体育活动。

员工返校调查
在本月中,我们调查了 APS 老师和工作人员可以了解他们的返回偏好。 对教师的调查于20月27日结束,对所有其他工作人员的调查于昨天(XNUMX月XNUMX日)结束。以下是教师对回国的第一偏好的初步答复摘要:

  • 2,523名教师完成了调查,并询问: APS 如果执行VDOE和VDH概述的健康和安全措施,您对返回和与学生合作的偏好是什么?”
    • 55%(1,396)的调查对象喜欢支持全日制远程教学
    • 33%(836)的受访者喜欢支持亲自指导
    • 11%(276)的受访者没有偏好
    • .56%(15)的受访者不打算重返工作岗位,打算休假或退休或辞职。

人力资源部正在审查提交的信息,以确定最终的作业,以便学校可以逐步安排学生进入课堂部分。 家庭选择过程的结果在上周分享,并且 在这里供您参考.

分配学生团体
上周,我提到我们将根据他们的家庭选择的模型将学生与选择相同模型的老师分组,以便在面对面学习恢复时学生可以留在同一组中。 在前进的过程中,我想澄清的是,在某些情况下,由于教职员工和学生的偏好不成比例,以及每个学生,课程和学校特有的其他计划因素,这种情况是不可能的。 虽然教学模型是用于指导计划的考虑因素,但我们不能保证在面对面学习恢复后所有班级都保持不变,尤其是当我们在接近面对面学习时会再次调查家庭和员工时。

康卡斯特基础课程
Earlier this month we announced our partnership with Arlington County and Comcast to provide free, high-quality internet connectivity to students and families in need during the pandemic.本月初,我们宣布与阿灵顿县和康卡斯特(Comcast)建立合作伙伴关系,为大流行期间需要帮助的学生和家庭提供免费,高质量的互联网连接。 Since that time families have inquired about the application process and when additional information will be provided.从那时起,家庭就询问了申请程序以及何时提供其他信息。 We worked with Comcast to mail letters with promotional codes first to summer school families and students who requested MiFi devices.我们与康卡斯特(Comcast)合作,首先向要求MiFi设备的暑期学校家庭和学生邮寄带有促销代码的信件。 All所有 APS families will receive letters in the mail next week providing additional details on the program, how to request promotional codes, and how to apply.Once you receive those letters, if you experience problems with your codes or have special circumstances, please reach out to your summer school or school administrators.家人将在下周收到信件,其中包含有关计划,如何申请促销代码以及如何申请的其他详细信息。一旦收到这些信件,如果您遇到代码问题或有特殊情况,请与您联系。暑期学校或学校管理员。 They will be able to work with Information Services and Comcast to resolve the issues.他们将能够与信息服务和Comcast合作解决问题。 For general information, visit有关一般信息,请访问 万维网。apsva.us/互联网服务/.

退货标准
我们收到了有关用于确定何时可以安全返回的特定指标的一些问题。 没有单一的指标或数据点,而是我们每天评估的一系列操作,健康和安全标准。 这些标准包括学生的教学偏好和员工工作偏好; 基本健康和安全设备的全球供应链可用性,包括个人防护装备和监护用品; 当地,区域和国家的COVID-19健康指标,包括阳性病例率,住院率和死亡率; 以及地方,州和联邦卫生指南。

我将在周四下午7点开始的学校董事会会议上分享其他信息。我的演讲视频将在周五通过School Talk,社交媒体和我们的网站进行共享。 继续访问我们的网站以获取最新更新和对常见问题的回答。

照顾好自己,彼此照顾,享受夏天! 感谢您一直以来的合作伙伴关系,并感谢您作为社区共同支持所有学生。

此致

Dr. Francisco Duran
所长
阿灵顿公立学校

July 28 Return-to-School Update

Español

Dear APS Families,

I hope you are enjoying your summer so far! Summer school distance learning is now underway for many students, and we continue planning for the 2020-21 school year. Yesterday, the Return-to-School Task Force met to review and discuss feedback on instructional plans for serving specific student groups, including English Learners, Special Education and Gifted students.

We are also working through details regarding instruction, scheduling, connectivity, and health and safety. We will share more information on each of these areas during this Thursday’s School Board meeting, as part of the next Return-to-School Monitoring Report.

In the meantime, below are updates on athletics and other key areas, based on frequent questions we have received over the past week.

VHSL Decision: Return of Activities
Yesterday, the Virginia High School League (VHSL) executive committee voted to delay the start of the 2020-21 high school activities and athletic season by implementing a compressed schedule that would run, as of now, from Dec. 14-June 26. The schedule as posted below would begin with the winter athletics season followed by the fall athletics season and end with the spring athletics season. The dates for each season are based on current Phase 3 information and guidance. Those dates could change if the guidance changes.

  • Season 1 (Winter Athletics) Dec. 14 to Feb. 20 (First Contest Date–December 28): Basketball, Gymnastics, Indoor Track, Swim/Dive, Wrestling.
  • Season 2 (Fall Athletics) Feb. 15 to May 1 (First Contest Date–March 1): Cheer, Cross Country, Field Hockey, Football, Golf, Volleyball.
  • Season 3 (Spring Athletics) April 12 to June 26 (First Contest Date–April 26): Baseball, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Tennis, Track and Field.

More information is available on the VHSL website at www.vhsl.org.  We anticipate being able to communicate these impacts to our activities and athletics soon.

Staff Return-to-School Surveys
Throughout this month, we surveyed APS teachers and staff to gain insight on their preferences for returning. The survey of teachers closed on July 20, and the survey for all other staff closed yesterday, July 27. Below is an initial summary of responses from teachers regarding their first preferences for returning:

  • 2,523 teachers completed the survey, which asked: “Given APS implementation of the health and safety measures outlined by VDOE and VDH, what is your preference for returning and working with students?”
    • 55% (1,396) of respondents prefer to support full-time distance instruction
    • 33% (836) of respondents prefer to support in-person instruction
    • 11% (276) of respondents do not have a preference
    • .56% (15) of respondents do not plan to return to work and either intend to request a leave of absence or to retire or resign

Human Resources is reviewing the submitted information to determine final assignments so that schools can move forward with scheduling students into class sections. The results of the family selection process were shared last week and are available here for your reference.

Assigning Student Groups
Last week, I mentioned that we are grouping students, based on the model their families selected, with teachers who selected the same model, so that students can remain in the same groups when in-person learning resumes. As we move forward, I want to clarify that there will be instances when this will not be possible, given the disproportionate staff and student preferences, among other planning factors which are unique to each student, program, and school. While instructional model is a consideration used to guide planning, we cannot guarantee that all classes will remain the same when in-person learning resumes, especially given that we will survey both families and staff again when we are closer to in-person learning.

Comcast Essentials Program
Earlier this month we announced our partnership with Arlington County and Comcast to provide free, high-quality internet connectivity to students and families in need during the pandemic. Since that time families have inquired about the application process and when additional information will be provided. We worked with Comcast to mail letters with promotional codes first to summer school families and students who requested MiFi devices. All APS families will receive letters in the mail next week providing additional details on the program, how to request promotional codes, and how to apply.Once you receive those letters, if you experience problems with your codes or have special circumstances, please reach out to your summer school or school administrators. They will be able to work with Information Services and Comcast to resolve the issues. For general information, visit www.apsva.us/internet-service/.

Criteria for Returning
We have received some questions regarding specific metrics we use to determine when it is safe to return. There is no single metric or data point, but rather a range of operational and health and safety criteria we evaluate daily. Those criteria include student instructional preference and employee work preference; global supply chain availability of essential health and safety equipment, including PPE and custodial supplies; local, regional and national COVID-19 health metrics, including positive case rates, hospitalizations, and death rates; and local, state and federal health guidance.

I will share additional information at Thursday’s School Board meeting which begins at 7 p.m. Video of my presentation will be shared on Friday via School Talk, as well as on social media and our website. Continue to visit our website for the latest updates and responses to frequently asked questions.

Take care of yourselves, care for one another, and enjoy your summer! Thank you for your continued partnership and for coming together as a community to support all students.

Sincerely,

Dr. Francisco Duran
Superintendent
Arlington Public Schools