APS Kudos


Changing Education Through the Arts (CETA)The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts awarded 21 Arlington teachers Certificates of Study for their participation in the Kennedy Center’s Changing Education Through the Arts (CETA) program. The 21 teachers who received the certificate are: Abingdon Elementary School – Kimberlee Ann Gorecki, Nicole Jondahl, and Toni Svonavec; Arlington Traditional School – Miriam Capellan, Brittany Gonzalez, Sarah McReynolds, Amber Mollet and Veronica Perez Perea; Drew Model School – Elvira Arnal, Gwenda Atkinson, Martha Azero, and Amie Flowers Shakespeare; Kenmore Middle School – Jennifer Hesla; Long Branch Elementary School – Lee Ayoub, Julie Bato, Rebecca Kallem, Tara Mitchell, Dina Donnelly Yauger and Gwenn Zaberer; McKinley Elementary School – Kristen Walleck; Henry Elementary School – Karen Bastow

Wakefield teacher Katie Naylor was nominated for the Harris History Teacher Award by the Virginia Historical Society, administrator of the National History Day program in Virginia. The Harris History Teacher of the Year Award is sponsored by James F. Harris and is awarded to one middle and one high school teacher annually.

Kenmore sixth grade reading teacher Terri Taylor and Arlington Tech Coordinator Catherine Steinmetz were recently named Arlington Educators of the Year by the Arlington Branch of American Association of University Women. The ceremony will take place on Tue, May 15.

ACCOn April 19, the Career Center was honored to host the promotion ceremony for a former student, Private First Class Darius Aycock, US Army.  The AFJROTC cadets from VA821 supported the event that included words from Lieutenant Colonel Misty Aycock, Mady Lasalle and Col Scott Dierlam. Private First Class Darius Aycock is excited to soon depart for his next assignment in Germany.