APS 新闻发布

24月XNUMX日教与学部更新:为英语学习者,特殊教育和才华横溢的学生提供的服务

亲爱的父母或监护人,

鉴于许多学生已经过渡到混合模式,这将是向残障学生的父母,英语学习者和有才华的学生的父母提供的服务和支持的最新更新。 继续前进,如果您有疑问或需要有关这些服务的更多信息,请与您孩子的案件承运人,EL老师或辅导员或资优学生的资源老师合作。 这 家长资源中心 也是很棒的资源。

了解过渡服务:与学生建立相互依存关系
阿灵顿公立学校过渡服务,家长资源中心和就业准备计划(PEP)继续赞助每月的过渡系列。 本月的会议的主题是关于建立与学生相互依赖的重要性的讲习班。 随着学生和儿童长大成人,我们经常努力支持他们获得独立。 通常被遗忘的是教他们相互依存。 人类具有建立互惠互利的有意义关系的能力。 这是相互依存的。 向残疾人讲授相互依存证明了他们受到社会的重视,并展示了与他人建立联系可以如何支持和丰富他们的生活。

请致电703-228-2136与凯利山联系,或致电703-228-5738与Christina Eagle联系以获取更多信息。

青年心理健康急救
每个日期的前8位注册者都只能使用空格! 要注册,请发送电子邮件 青年会@apsva.onmicrosoft.com (表明对课程感兴趣的名称和日期)。 注册以下日期之一:

  • 12月9日:上午30:2至下午XNUMX点
  • 13月3日:30:8-XNUMX pm
  • 25月3日:30:8-XNUMX pm
  • 2月3日:下午30:8-XNUMX

为什么要进行青少年心理健康急救? 青年心理健康急救教您如何识别,理解和应对青年中的精神疾病和药物滥用疾病的征兆。 这项为时6小时的培训为与青年一起工作的成年人提供了他们接触所需的技能,并为可能出现精神健康或药物使用问题的儿童和青少年(6-18岁)提供了初步支持,并帮助他们与适当的人建立联系关心。 急救人员将完成2小时的自定进度的在线课程,然后参加4至5小时的讲师指导的视频会议,该课程将涵盖该年龄段的精神疾病的常见症状和体征,包括:

  • 焦虑
  • 萧条
  • 饮食失调
  • 注意缺陷多动障碍(ADHD)
  • 药物滥用的常见体征和症状
  • 如何与处于危机中的儿童或青少年互动
  • 如何与人联系
  • 新增:扩大了有关创伤,成瘾和自我保健以及社交媒体和欺凌行为的影响的内容

本课程将教您如何应用ALGEE行动计划:

  • 评估自杀或伤害的风险。
  • 非判断性地听。
  • 提供保证和信息。
  • 鼓励适当的专业帮助。
  • 鼓励自助和其他支持策略

由阿灵顿公立学校学生服务办公室主办

EL
我们很高兴看到那些选择回到学校的英语学习者。 过去几周一直在庆祝混合动力和远程学习的学生继续他们的学年。 随着学生和老师习惯于新的学习环境,我们很高兴看到英语学习者的语言继续增长。

随着我们进入春季,很快就会有关于暑期学校的信息。 我们强烈鼓励所有有资格参加暑期学校的英语学习者参加暑期学习机会。 这些机会目前正在开发中。 暑期学习将使学生有时间继续他们的语言学习,这已经花了整整一年的时间。 2021年夏季将是重点提高语言技能,概念素养和整体学校技能/学习习惯的重要时机。

天才 夏季增值机会
资优服务 暑期计划 网页为家庭提供了各种机会。 在里面 充实机会 您会在弗吉尼亚州和全国各地找到许多计划。 此外,网页下方还会突出显示大量机会。

Ed Talk电台与Larry Jacobs
谢丽尔·麦卡洛(Cheryl McCullough),K-12优等服务主管和国家代表 NAGC董事会,有机会在一段情节上讨论公平在资优教育中的重要性 Ed Talk电台.

埃德·塔克

 

 

 

 

 

普渡大学资优教育研究与资源研究所2I)
注册 该虚拟暑期课程现已向5年12月11日至24日的2021-XNUMX年级学生开放,有关注册的详细信息以及课程的完整清单,请访问: https://www.education.purdue.edu/geri/youth-programs/summer-residential/.

威廉和玛丽法学院的法律与法院技术中心(CLCT) 暑期在线课程 CLCT开发了一系列 网上入门法律课程 适用于对法律,技术或商科学生感兴趣的高中和大学。

行动中的资优服务@APS天才:学校的焦点

坎贝尔

坎贝尔

 

 

 

 

 

卡林温泉

卡林·斯普林斯

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

克莱蒙特

克莱蒙特

 

 

 

 

 

麦金利

麦金利

 

 

 

 

 

多萝西·哈姆(Dorothy Hamm)

哈姆

 

 

 

 

 

华盛顿自由

WL

 

 

 

 

 

约克敦

YHS

APS News Release

March 24 Dept. of Teaching and Learning Update: Services for English Learners, Special Education and Gifted Students

Dear Parent or Guardian,

Given that many students have transitioned to the hybrid model, this will be the last update regarding services and supports provided to parents of students with disabilties, English Learners and Gifted Students. Moving forward, please work with your child’s case carrier, EL teacher(s) or counselor or Resource Teacher of the Gifted should you have questions or need more information about these services. The Parent Resource Center is also a terrific resource.

Understanding Transition Services: Building Interdependence with our Students
Arlington Public Schools Transition Services, Parent Resource Center and Program for Employment Preparedness (PEP) are continuing to sponsor a monthly Transition Series. This month’s session featured a workshop on the importance of building interdependence with students. As students and children grow into adulthood, we often strive to support them in obtaining independence. What often gets left out is teaching them interdependence. Humans have the capacity for meaningful relationships with one another that are mutually beneficial. This is interdependence. Teaching interdependence to people with disabilities demonstrates that they are valued by society, and shows how building connections with others can support and enrich their lives.

Please contact Kelly Mountain at 703-228-2136 or Christina Eagle at 703-228-5738 for additional information.

Youth Mental Health First Aid
Space is LIMITED to the first 8 registrants on each date! To register, email YMHFA@apsva.onmicrosoft.com (indicate name and date interested in the course). Register for one of the following dates:

  • April 12: 9:30 a.m.-2 p.m.
  • May 13: 3:30-8 p.m.
  • May 25: 3:30-8 p.m.
  • June 2: 3:30-8 p.m.

Why Youth Mental Health First Aid? Youth Mental Health First Aid teaches you how to identify, understand and respond to signs of mental illness and substance use disorders in youth. This 6-hour training gives adults who work with youth the skills they need to reach out and provide initial support to children and adolescents (ages 6-18) who may be developing a mental health or substance use problem and help connect them to the appropriate care. First Aiders will complete a 2-hour, self-paced online class, then participate in a 4- to 5-hour Instructor-led videoconference.The course will cover common signs and symptoms of mental illness in this age group, including:

  • Anxiety
  • Depression
  • Eating disorders
  • Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)
  • Common signs and symptoms of substance use
  • How to interact with a child or adolescent in crisis
  • How to connect the person with help
  • NEW: Expanded content on trauma, addiction and self-care and the impact of social media and bullying

The course will teach you how to apply the ALGEE action plan:

  • Assess for risk of suicide or harm.
  • Listen non judgmentally.
  • Give reassurance and information.
  • Encourage appropriate professional help.
  • Encourage self-help and other support strategies

Presented by Arlington Public Schools’ Office of Student Services

EL
We are happy to see those English learners that have chosen to return to school, at their schools. The past few weeks have been a steady celebration of students in hybrid and in distance learning continuing their school year. As students and teachers become accustomed to the new learning environments, we are excited to see language growth continuing for our English learners.

As we move into spring, there will soon be information about summer school. We strongly encourage all English learners that are eligible for summer school to participate in the summer learning opportunities. These opportunities are currently under development. Summer learning will give students time to continue their language acquisition that has been taking all school year long. Summer 2021 will be an important time to focus on increasing language skills, concept attainment and overall school skills/study habits.

Gifted Summer Enrichment Opportunities
The Gifted Services summer programs webpage offers a variety of opportunities for families. In the Enrichment Opportunities you will find many programs in Virginia and around the country. In addition, a multitude of opportunities are also highlighted further down the webpage.

Ed Talk Radio with Larry Jacobs
Cheryl McCullough, K-12 Supervisor of Gifted Services and State Representative to the NAGC Board of Directors, had an opportunity to discuss the importance of equity in gifted education on an episode of Ed Talk Radio.

Ed Talk

 

 

 

 

 

Purdue Gifted Education Research & Resource Institute (GER2I)
Registration is now open for this virtual summer program for students currently in grades 5 – 12 on July 11-24, 2021. For more details about registration, and a full listing of classes, please visit: https://www.education.purdue.edu/geri/youth-programs/summer-residential/.

Center for Legal & Court Technology (CLCT) at the William and Mary Law School Summer Online Classes CLCT has developed a series of online introductory law courses for high school and college interested in law, tech or business students.

Gifted Services in Action @APSGifted:  Spotlight on Schools

Campbell

Campbell

 

 

 

 

 

Carlin Springs

Carlin SPrings

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Claremont

Claremont

 

 

 

 

 

McKinley

McKinley

 

 

 

 

 

Dorothy Hamm

Hamm

 

 

 

 

 

Washington-Liberty

W-L

 

 

 

 

 

Yorktown

YHS