March 8 Dept. of Teaching and Learning Update: Services for English Learners, Special Education and Gifted Students

Dear Parent or Guardian,

Please take note of the following services, supports and opportunities that are available for Students with Disabilities, English Learners and Gifted learners.

Special Education
Student Support Coordinators (SSC) are available at every school. The SSCs help our schools and families navigate the Student Support Process. The Student Support Team (SST) is a team assembled to assess the concerns and needs of any student referred. Committee members include parents/guardians, and usually a school administrator or designee, a classroom teacher, and/or others invited by school and/or family. The person who has referred the child will share concerns. Important information regarding the student will be discussed. The team may recommend strategies and/or interventions to be tried in the student’s classroom(s). The team may refer the student for evaluation for eligibility for special education and related services, and/or a Section 504 evaluation. If the team recommends an evaluation, and parents/guardians provide consent, the student will be tested by qualified personnel (persons who hold the required license from the Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) or other appropriate state or national agency) in all areas related to the suspected disability. These may include, if appropriate: health, vision, hearing; social and emotional status; general intelligence; academic performance; communicative status; motor abilities; and adaptive behavior. Recommended assessment components may include: Socio-cultural, Psychological, Educational, Teacher Narrative, and others, as needed, such as Speech/Language, and/or Occupational Therapy. Information on who your Student Support Coordinator can be found here.

English Learners
The Bilingual Family Liaisons (BFLs) are an important part of the school staff. They are bilingual/bicultural staff liaisons who work closely with other members of your school’s staff, including: administrators (principal, assistant principal, etc.), teachers (including English Learner teachers), special education and gifted staff, counselors, social workers, technology staff and others in order to provide supports to students and families. The Bilingual Family Liaison serves as a liaison between families and the school. They will welcome you into the school community and help connect you to the staff in the school who can answer your questions.

The BFLs can also help connect you to community resources and other supports in the community. Please contact the BFL with your questions, concerns and needs. They will do their best to connect you with the appropriate resources. In addition, once schools are back in person, many of the BFLs have classes, meetings, volunteer opportunities and other activities. Now is a good time to get to know your BFLs!

School Bilingual Family Liaison APS Cell Number Email Address
ELEMENTARY
Abingdon Aminta (Caty) Branco 703-969-0758 caty.branco@apsva.us
Ashlawn Celia Arnade 703-969-1331 celia.arnade@apsva.us
Arlington Science Focus vacant vacant vacant
Arl Traditional Victoria Metz 703-969-4105 victoria.metz@apsva.us
Barcroft Marcelo Ribera 571-327-6875 juan.riberamendoza@apsva.us
Barrett Diana Bustamante 571-327-4262 diana.osorio@apsva.us
Campbell Joyce Navia Penaloza 571-970-7867 joyce.naviapenaloza@apsva.us
Carlin Springs Lyzbeth Monard Eguren 703-969-3709 lyzbeth.monardeguren@apsva.us
Claremont Haydeé Colón-Jennings 703-969-3101 haydee.colon@apsva.us
Drew Evin Rodriguez 703-969-2633 evin.rodriguez@apsva.us
Fleet Lidia Reyes 703-969-3682 lidia.reyes@apsva.us
Glebe Ana (Beronica) Salas 703-969-0253 beronica.salas@apsva.us
Hoffman-Boston Mungunzaya (Zaya) Coughlin 703-969-3857 mungunzaya.coughlin@apsva.us
Hoffman-Boston Augusto Wayar 703-969-0274 augusto.wayar@apsva.us
Key Marta Gomez 703-969-3778 marta.gomez@apsva.us
Long Branch Evin Rodriguez 703-969-2633 evin.rodriguez@apsva.us
McKinley Maria Montas 703-969-3725 maria.montas@apsva.us
Montessori Henry Cardenas 571-327-4593 henry.cardenas@apsva.us
Oakridge Hanim Magzoub 703-969-2954 hanim.magzoub@apsva.us
Randolph Elvira (Jackie) Garcia 703-969-2527 elvira.garcia@apsva.us
SECONDARY
School Bilingual Liaison APS Cell Phone Email Address
ACC Yesenia Martinez 703-969-4203 yesenia.martinez@apsva.us
ACHS Daniel Castillo 703-969-1755 daniel.castillo@apsva.us
Gunston Diana Claro Gerardino 703-969-2063 diana.clarogerardino@apsva.us
Hamm Cecilia Oetgen 703-969-1057 cecilia.oetgen@apsva.us
HBW Daysi Palomeque daysi.palomeque@apsva.us
Jefferson Irma DeLeon Veliz 571-481-7222 irma.deleonveliz@apsva.us
Kenmore Noemi Yerovi 703-969-3963 noemi.yerovi@apsva.us
Kenmore Alam Lainez (part-time) 703-969-0080 alam.lainez@apsva.us
Swanson Nohra Rodriguez 571-249-0981 nohra.rodriguez@apsva.us
Williamsburg Celia Arnade 703-969-1331 celia.arnade@apsva.us
Wakefield Eddy Guerrero 571-439-1075 eddy.guerrero@apsva.us
Wakefield Martha Heredia 703-969-3780 martha.heredia@apsva.us
Wakefield Carlos Murillo 703-969-0367 carlos.murillo@apsva.us
W-L Jimmy Carrasquillo 703-969-3329 jimmy.carrasquillo@apsva.us
W-L David Hernandez 703-969-1791 david.hernandez@apsva.us
Yorktown Juan Peredo 703-969-3572 juan.peredo@apsva.us

Gifted Referral for Gifted Services Deadline
Families who would like to refer their child for gifted services may submit a referral form by Monday, April 5th. (The referral deadline each year is always April 1st. Since this date is during spring break, schools will accept referrals according to this extended deadline.) Referral forms can be found on the APS Gifted Services website in the eligibility section. Families may also find more information in the updated FAQ section.

Universal Screener Planned
A universal screener/ability assessment is planned in April for multiple grade levels as outlined below:

  • elementary students in grades 2 – 4 and 5th graders new to APS
  • middle school students who are new to APS in grades 6-7 (grade 8 administration is optional for schools)

Students who have a benchmark score of 120 or higher will be automatically screened for gifted services. Schools will notify families of assessment windows. Please see the Assessment site and calendar for additional details.

Universal Screener Postponed
With the return of students to in-person learning in March and the previously scheduled Naglieri Nonverbal Assessment (NNAT) scheduled for March 16-26, the Department of Teaching and Learning has decided to postpone the 1st grade universal ability screener until the 2021-22 school year. This will allow schools and staff to focus on transitioning back to in-person instruction.  Per VDOE gifted regulations 8 VAC 20-40-40, if a referral is received, an ability assessment will be scheduled so that the student may go through the screening process. Your school will be in touch by the end of April with more information on how the screener will be administered keeping in mind COVID guidelines. In addition and since we are not planning to do a universal screener at Grade 1 this year, school teams will use yearlong student portfolios/work samples and teacher observations to group students who are showing advanced potential and ability  in the 2nd grade clusters.

Jack Kent Cook Foundation Young Scholars Program
The Cooke Foundation Young Scholars Program is a selective 5-year pre-college scholarship for exceptionally talented 7th grade students with financial need. It provides comprehensive academic and college advising, as well as financial support for school, Cooke-sponsored summer programs, internships, and other learning enrichment opportunities. Applications are due on March 22, 2021. Here are some tips for submitting your application.

CTY Offers Free Resource for Parents
Have you joined the Center for Talented Youth (CTY) Parents Group on Facebook?  This is a great way to learn more about resources, opportunities, scholarships, and issues in gifted education.

Gifted Services in Action @APSGifted: Spotlight on Schools

Campbell

DTL Message

 

 

 

 

 

Jamestown

DTL Message

 

 

 

 

 

McKinley

DTL Message

 

 

 

 

 

DTL Message

 

 

Dorothy Hamm

DTL Message

 

 

Wakefield

DTL Message

 

 

 

 

 

Washington-Liberty

DTL Message