18月XNUMX日教与学更新部:为英语学习者,特殊教育和才华横溢的学生提供的服务

亲爱 APS 家长或监护人,

当我们仍在远程学习中时,教与学部很高兴分享以下有关为特殊教育,资优生和英语学习者提供服务的最新信息。

特殊教育 等级1
4月230日,我们欢迎大约33名残疾学生前往XNUMX个不同的教学楼进行面对面的学习支持。 这是我们的“重返校园计划”中迈出的重要一步。

特殊教育办公室和家长资源中心(PRC)很高兴庆祝 家庭参与教育月。 该 PRC 继续通过视频和电话咨询,每周的家长沟通,与阿灵顿特殊教育咨询委员会和阿灵顿SEPTA的合作,以及向家庭提供信息和支持,以鼓励家庭参与特殊教育。 的 PRC 将于周一晚上与辅助技术和低发病率/自闭症专家共同赞助“项目核心父母系列”课程,并继续与CPI团队合作为家庭举办“危机预防干预(CPI)”培训课程。 的 PRC 举办区域 PRC 在本月初开会。 本月下旬, PRC 将共同主持以下会议:

了解过渡服务:就业联系
18月7日,星期三,晚上9-XNUMX点

APS 过渡服务 PRC 就业准备计划(PEP)每月赞助一系列过渡研讨会。 本月的会议将为家庭提供机会,从众多社区和代理合作伙伴那里了解就业支持。 演讲者将包括ServiceSource,Melwood,Didlake等。

英语学习者(EL)
在上一封邮件中,我们分享了英语学习者在学习英语并学习新内容(例如语言艺术,科学等)时的教学方式。 这两个组成部分是一并教授的,因此学生可以练习几乎掌握的英语,并用它来谈论,写作和阅读新内容。

下面是学习数学和数学语言的示例。 这是一位来自英语学习者的老师,她在教授基础数学。 老师解释了什么是地方价值,以及大约数十和十。

DTL消息

一旦学生了解了位值并有一些时间使用他们的新数学进行练习,老师便让他们使用句子框架来谈论数学。 这是语言和内容串联的示例。

DTL消息

在下面的示例中,在一所中学的英语学习者班级中,学生们正在学习美国历史并使用他们的新词汇和语法。 此示例再次显示了内容和语言的串联教学。 这也说明了学术语言的使用,这是学生在每个内容领域所需的语言。 这些例子,不知所措和退却,是不常用的单词,但对于理解本历史课来说很重要。

DTL消息

资优服务
参与是我们所有人在当务之急 APS 在资优服务方面,我们将大部分工作集中在 APS 批判性和创造性思维框架。 另一个优先事项是分享家庭在课程结束后可以使用批判性和创造性思维策略来扩展学习的方式,并为整个家庭提供机会来体验充满吸引力,令人愉悦和充满活力的任务aps 甚至是灵感的来源由于这些目标和RTG的创新,CCT家庭版诞生了。

DTL消息

看看 PowerPoint介绍 并附有注释,以了解该想法背后的思想以及其结构。 然后选择一个选择委员会作为一个家庭。 它们都可以在“资优服务”网站上的“ 资源部分。 每个图标下方的图标代表一种CCT策略,并且可以帮助您每周围绕同一策略选择一个新的尝试或执行其他活动。

DTL图像

DTL消息

全国天才儿童协会(NAGC)举办了一次虚拟的第67届年度大会! 过去一周。 作为一个学区,我们能够为有兴趣的家庭获得站点许可证,这些家庭希望了解有关资优教育的研究,策略和想法,以支持与教师和管理人员合作的家庭。 在“家长,家庭和社区”中有多个会话可供选择,我们在下面列出了一些会话:

  • 培养资优学生的适应能力
  • 幼儿期的社交情感学习:家庭和教育工作者的实用策略
  • 父母对年轻天才学习者的认可,期望和差异
  • 作为有才华的彩色学生,环游世界
  • 吸引有才华的西班牙裔/拉丁美洲裔和ELL学生的父母
  • 养育多动症天才儿童的六项改变人生的策略
  • 赋予,参与和维持成功的基层倡导

这些课程将在2021年XNUMX月之前提供给我们。要访问这些课程以及更多感兴趣的课程,请参阅 注册步骤.


行动中的资优服务@APS天才: 

聚焦学校 

朗科小学

DTL消息

詹姆斯敦小学

DTL消息

甘斯顿中学 

DTL消息

杰斐逊中学

DTL消息

WL高中

DTL消息

韦克菲尔德高中  

DTL消息

Nov. 18 Dept. of Teaching and Learning Update: Services for English Learners, Special Education and Gifted Students

Dear APS Parent or Guardian,

The Department of Teaching and Learning is pleased to share the following updates regarding delivery of services to special education, Gifted and English Learners as we remain in distance learning.

Special Education Level 1
On Nov. 4, we welcomed approximately 230 students with disabilities to 33 different school buildings for in-person learning support. This is an important step forward in our Return-to-School Plan.

The Office of Special Education and the Parent Resource Center (PRC) are pleased to celebrate Family Engagement in Education Month. The PRC continues to provide information and support to families to encourage family engagement in special education through video and phone consultations, weekly parent communications, collaboration with the Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee and Arlington SEPTA, and a variety of learning opportunities. The PRC is co-sponsoring Project Core Parent Series sessions on Monday evenings with Assistive Technology and Low-Incidence/Autism Specialists, and has continued to host Crisis Prevention Intervention (CPI) training sessions for families in collaboration with the CPI team. The PRC hosted a regional PRC meeting earlier this month. Later this month, the PRC will co-host the following session:

Understanding Transition Services: Employment Connections
Wed, Nov. 18 from 7-9 p.m.

APS Transition Services, PRC and Program for Employment Preparedness (PEP) are sponsoring the second in a monthly series of transition workshops. This month’s session will feature opportunities for families to learn about employment supports from a host of community and agency partners. Presenters will include ServiceSource, Melwood, Didlake and many others.

English Learners (EL)
In the last message, we shared what instruction looks like for English learners as they acquire English and learn new content (ie: language arts, science, etc.). These two components are taught in tandem and therefore students can practice their nearly acquired English and use it to talk, write and read about the new content.

Below, is an example of learning mathematics and the language of mathematics. This was from an English Learner teacher, teaching elementary math. The teacher explained what place value is and about tens and ones.

DTL Message

Once the students learned about the place values and had some time to practice using their new math, the teacher had them use a sentence frame to talk about the mathematics. This is an example of language and content in tandem.

DTL Message

In the example below, from a middle school English learner class, the students were learning US history and using their new vocabulary and grammar. This example shows, again, the teaching of the content and the language in tandem. This also shows the use of academic language, which is language that students need in each content area. The examples, overwhelm and retreat, are words that are not commonly used, but are important to understand for this history lesson.

DTL Message

Gifted Services
Engagement is a top priority to all of us in APS and in Gifted Services, we focus much of our work around our APS Critical and Creative Thinking Framework. Another top priority is sharing ways families can use critical and creative thinking strategies to extend learning after lessons end and offer opportunities for the whole family to experience tasks that are engaging, enjoyable, and perhaps even a source of inspiration. Because of these goals and the innovation of RTGs, the CCT Family Edition was born.

DTL Message

Take a look at the introductory PowerPoint with notes to learn the thinking behind this idea and how it was structured. Then select one of the Choice Boards to do as a family. They can all be found on the Gifted Services website in the Resources section. The icons below each represent a CCT strategy and can help you select a new one to try or do another activity each week around the same strategy.

DTL Image

DTL Message

The National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC) hosted a virtual 67th Annual Convention Re-imagined! this past week. As a school district, we were able to secure a site license for interested families who would like to learn about research in gifted education, strategies and ideas to support families working collaboratively with teachers and administrators. There are several sessions from which to choose in the Parent, Family and Community and we’ve listed a few below:

  • Developing Resilience in Gifted Students
  • Social Emotional Learning in Early Childhood: Practical Strategies for Families & Educators
  • Parents’ Recognition, Expectation, and Differentiation for Young Gifted Learners
  • Navigating the World as a Gifted Student of Color
  • Engaging the Parents of Gifted Hispanic/Latino and ELL Students
  • Six Life-Changing Strategies for Raising Gifted Children with ADHD
  • Empowering, Engaging and Sustaining Successful Grassroots Advocacy

These sessions will be available to us until May 2021. To access these and even more sessions of interest, please see Steps to Register.


Gifted Services in Action @APSGifted: 

Spotlight on Schools 

Long Branch Elementary School

DTL Message

Jamestown Elementary

DTL Message

Gunston Middle School 

DTL Message

Jefferson Middle School

DTL Message

W-L High School

DTL Message

Wakefield High School  

DTL Message