家长资源中心星期一寄语:10.4.21

星期一留言图片

 


4年2021月XNUMX日

祝我们所有的家人、同事、社区合作伙伴和订阅者十月快乐! 这总是一个忙碌的月份,因为每年 XNUMX 月都会指定许多残疾意识认可。

十月是学习障碍 (LD) 意识月,届时全国将关注五分之一的学生,因为他们有阅读障碍、注意力缺陷多动障碍 (ADHD) 或其他学习和/或注意力问题,因此学习方式不同。 “现在是时候了解这些残疾如何影响学生及其家庭,反思这些学生取得的重大成就,并重申我们为他们创造更美好未来的承诺。” US教育部

此外 LD 宣传月,十月是: 多动症意识月, 增强性和替代性沟通 (AAC) 宣传月, 阅读障碍意识月全国残疾就业宣传月.

我们计划在 25 月 XNUMX 日那一周确认 AAC Awareness,敬请关注以了解有关该周计划的更多信息。 在下面的社区活动部分,我们很高兴强调阿灵顿公立学校提供的会议 克里斯蒂娜·伊格尔(Christina Eagle),通过自闭症研究组织的就业准备计划协调员。 克里斯蒂娜 (Christina) 是 SEPTA 2021 年卓越教育奖的获得者,是一位才华横溢的教育家,也是我们年轻成人社区的坚定拥护者,我们期待着她的会议,以表彰全国残疾就业意识月,该月将以 PEP 学生为特色。

我们当地的 CHADD(患有注意力缺陷障碍的儿童和成人)分会在其年度资源博览会期间计划了许多每周活动(请参阅下面的社区活动部分)。

最后,虽然我们的 APS 阅读障碍会议每隔一年举行一次,我们很高兴有 提供许多 2020 年阅读障碍会议会议视频和演示材料 在线,伴随着精彩的 学生阅读障碍小组 去年拍摄的视频。

我们将在整个月继续共享资源。


下载4

恢复服务
特殊教育办公室 (OSE) 和家长资源中心已收到与 COVID-19 康复服务相关的问题。 请 访问恢复服务更新页面以获取信息和短视频.

 


活动预告图片

 

 

 

特殊教育概论
7年2021月XNUMX日
上午 10:00 至中午:在 Syphax 教育中心的面对面会议,Room 456, 2110 Washington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22204
晚上 7 点至 9 点:虚拟会议
注册 点击此处
您的孩子是否被转介接受特殊教育评估? 您是否担心您的孩子可能需要特殊教育服务? 您想了解更多关于特殊教育过程的信息,以及您作为家长在这个过程中扮演的重要角色吗? 与家长资源中心协调员 Kathleen Donovan 和 Gina DeSalvo 一起参加这个免费会议,了解更多关于特殊教育过程的信息,从学生支持团队会议和特殊教育转介到特殊教育服务的识别和提供。 本次会议将讨论:

  • 特殊教育指导条例
  • 家庭在特殊教育过程中的作用
  • 如何准备学生支持团队和特殊教育会议
  • 特殊教育“循环”
  • 家人可能对这个过程有疑问

阿灵顿特殊教育咨询委员会会议/Reunión del Comité Asesor de Educación Especial de Arlington (ASEAC)
12 年 2021 月 7 日,星期二:晚上 9 点至晚上 XNUMX 点
在这里注册
虚拟会议–通过Zoom
议程

  • 7:00-7:20 – 开幕和公众评议
  • 7:20-7:40 – 特殊教育办公室报告
  • 7:40-8:10 – 虚拟学习计划 (VLP)
  • 8:10-8:20 – 介绍部门法律顾问 Chrissy Smith
  • 8:20-8:30 – 介绍临时首席多元化、公平和包容官 Jason Ottley 博士
  • 8:30-9:00 – ASEAC 业务(本次会议的业务部分将通过 Zoom 进行录制。)

在每次会议开始时,ASEAC欢迎公众对残疾学生的需求发表评论。 APS。 请参阅ASEAC公共评论指南,网址为: https://www.apsva.us/special-education-advisory-committee 有关提交公众意见的信息。
任何需要口译服务的人员和/或需要口译服务的残障人士都应致电703.228.7239与家长资源中心联系,或 prc@aps价值 至少在会议前四个工作日请求协助。
Reunión del Comité Asesor de Educación Especial de Arlington (ASEAC)
Martes, 12 de Octubre de 2021 de 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Reunión virtual – a traves de Zoom
注册局

  • 7:00-7:20 – Apertura y comentarios públicos
  • 7:20-7:40 – Informe de la Oficina de Educación Especial
  • 7:40-8:10 – Programa de aprendizaje virtual (VLP)
  • 8:10-8:20 – Presentación de la abogada de la división Chrissy Smith
  • 8:20-8:30 – Presentación del Director interino de diversidad, equidad e inclusión, Dr. Jason Ottley
  • 8:30-9:00 – Asuntos ASEAC(Esta parte de negocios de esta reunión segrabará a través de Zoom。)

社区合作伙伴网络研讨会/虚拟学习机会和会议

Parent Resource Center Monday Message: 10.4.21

Monday Message image

 


October 4, 2021

Happy October to all of our families, colleagues, community partners and subscribers! This is always a busy month, as there are a number of disability awareness recognitions designated each October.

October is Learning Disabilities (LD) Awareness Month, a time when the nation turns its attention to the one in five students who learn differently because they have dyslexia, Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) or other learning and/or attention issues. “This is a time to understand how these disabilities impact students and their families, to reflect on the significant achievements that these students have made, and to renew our commitment to creating a stronger future for them.” US Department of Education

In addition to LD Awareness Month, October is: ADHD Awareness Month, Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC) Awareness Month, Dyslexia Awareness Month, and National Disability Employment Awareness Month.

We plan to acknowledge AAC Awareness during the week of October 25th, so stay tuned to learn more about plans for that week. In the Community Events section below, we are delighted to highlight a session offered by Arlington Public Schools’ Christina Eagle, Coordinator of the Program for Employment Preparedness, through the Organization for Autism Research. Christina, a recipient of SEPTA’s 2021 Excellence in Education Awards, is a talented educator, and a steadfast advocate for our young adult community, and we look forward to her session in recognition of National Disability Employment Awareness Month which will feature PEP students.

Our local CHADD (Children and Adults with Attention Deficit Disorder) chapter has a number of weekly events planned (see the Community Events section below) during their annual resource fair.

Finally, although our APS Dyslexia Conference happens every other year, we are grateful to have a number of 2020 Dyslexia Conference session videos and presentation materials available online, along with a wonderful Student Dyslexia Panel video that was filmed last year.

We will continue to share resources throughout the month.


download-4

Recovery Services
The Office of Special Education (OSE) and the Parent Resource Center have received questions related to COVID-19 Recovery Services. Please visit the Recovery Services updates page for information and a short video.

 


Upcoming Events image

 

 

 

An Introduction to Special Education
October 7, 2021
10:00am to Noon: In-person session at the Syphax Education Center, Room 456, 2110 Washington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22204
7pm – 9pm: Virtual Session
Register here
Has your child been referred for a special education evaluation? Are you concerned that your child may need special education services? Would you like to know more about the special education process, and the important role you, as a parent, play in this process? Join Parent Resource Center Coordinators Kathleen Donovan and Gina DeSalvo for this free session to learn more about the special education process, from student support team meetings and special education referrals through identification and delivery of special education services. This session will address:

  • Regulations guiding special education
  • The role of the family in the special education process
  • How to prepare for Student Support Team and special education meetings
  • The special education “cycle”
  • Questions families may have about the process

Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee Meeting/Reunión del Comité Asesor de Educación Especial de Arlington (ASEAC)
Tuesday, October 12, 2021: 7pm to 9pm
Register here
Virtual Meeting –  via Zoom
Agenda

  • 7:00-7:20 – Opening and Public Comments
  • 7:20-7:40 – Office of Special Education Report
  • 7:40-8:10 – Virtual Learning Program (VLP)
  • 8:10-8:20 – Introducing Division Counsel Chrissy Smith
  • 8:20-8:30 – Introducing Interim Chief Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Officer, Dr. Jason Ottley
  • 8:30-9:00 – ASEAC business (This business portion of this meeting will be recorded through Zoom.)

At the beginning of each meeting, ASEAC welcomes comments from the public regarding the needs of students with disabilities in APS. See the ASEAC Public Comment Guidelines at https://www.apsva.us/special-education-advisory-committee for information about submitting public comments.
Any person who would like an interpreter and/or any person with a disability who needs accommodation to access the meeting should contact the Parent Resource Center at 703.228.7239 or prc@apsva.us at least four business days in advance of a meeting to request assistance.
Reunión del Comité Asesor de Educación Especial de Arlington (ASEAC)
Martes, 12 de Octubre de 2021 de 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Reunión virtual – a través de Zoom
Registrarse aqui

  • 7:00-7:20 – Apertura y comentarios públicos
  • 7:20-7:40 – Informe de la Oficina de Educación Especial
  • 7:40-8:10 – Programa de aprendizaje virtual (VLP)
  • 8:10-8:20 – Presentación de la abogada de la división Chrissy Smith
  • 8:20-8:30 – Presentación del director interino de diversidad, equidad e inclusión, Dr. Jason Ottley
  • 8:30-9:00 – Asuntos ASEAC (Esta parte de negocios de esta reunión se grabará a través de Zoom.)

COMMUNITY PARTNER WEBINARS/VIRTUAL LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES and MEETINGS