家长资源中心星期一寄语:12.14.20

星期一留言图片

 

 

14月2020日,XNUMX年

家长资源中心的团队祝大家度过一个愉快的寒假。 虽然我们许多人可能会aps 今年将以不同的方式经历寒假,我们希望放假可以提供机会,让您拥有珍贵的家庭回忆和精神aps 一些新的传统。

协调员 PRC 将于19月4日至703.228.7239月XNUMX日放假,但请随时给我们留言XNUMX或 prc@apsva.us。 我们期待着我们的冬季活动,包括关于多动症的会议,特殊教育入门,成为孩子的IEP小组的积极成员,每月的过渡会议以及关于自闭症和心理健康的会议。 请保持关注,保持良好状态,并知道我们向您发送最热烈的祝愿,祝您2021年健康快乐。我们期待在一月与您重新建立联系。


查看这些新资源徽标

严重认知障碍儿童家长的视频,以支持他们在家学习
国家教育成果中心,NCEO
NCEO和TIES中心是国家关于包容性做法和政策的技术援助中心,已经为患有严重认知障碍的儿童的父母制作了一系列视频,以帮助他们支持在家学习。
观看具有重大认知障碍的儿童的父母的视频


活动预告图片

 

 

 

阿灵顿特殊教育咨询委员会(ASEAC)会议
15年2020月7日,星期二:晚上9点至晚上XNUMX点
虚拟会议–通过Zoom
在这里注册
请注意,本次会议的商务部分将通过Zoom进行记录。
议程:
7:00 – 7:20 pm欢迎,会员介绍和公众评论*
*可以通过注册表格进行公共评论注册
晚上7:20 – 7:40 OSE更新和对2020年XNUMX月公众评论的回应
7:40 – 8:00 pm教学计划和途径(IPP)和PCG计划评估五年计划
8:00 – 8:20 pm五年计划问答*
*问题可以通过注册表提前提交
晚上8:20 – 8:30 ASEAC更新
会议材料将于12年14月2020日星期一发送以供审核。
在每次会议开始时,ASEAC欢迎公众对残疾学生的需求发表评论。 APS。 请参阅ASEAC公共评论指南,网址为: https://www.apsva.us/special-education-advisory-committee 有关提交公众意见的信息。任何想要口译的人员和/或需要住宿才能进入会议的任何残疾人士,请致电703.228.7239与家长资源中心联系,或 prc@aps价值 尽快请求协助。
还可以在注册表格中请求服务。


了解过渡服务:日间计划支持
16月7日,星期三,00:9 pm-00:XNUMXpm
在这里注册
阿灵顿公立学校过渡服务,家长资源中心和就业准备计划(PEP)继续赞助过渡系列,本月将举办有关日间计划支持的研讨会。 日间计划为残疾人提供了机会,将他们的一天花在有意义的活动上,专注于社会和社区参与。 各种社区供应商将共享有关其计划和他们提供的支持活动的信息。 家人也将有机会向计划人员提问。有关更多信息,请致电703-228-2136或与克里斯蒂娜·伊格联系703-228-5738。


社区网络研讨会/虚拟学习机会/会议


PEATC即将举行的活动–弗吉尼亚州的家长教育和倡导培训中心

  • 了解特殊教育 | 17月7日下午00:XNUMX。  来学习特殊教育过程的七个阶段,并确定您在特殊教育过程中可能会采取的具体行动。 您将熟悉非正式和正式的争端解决方案,并学习与老师和其他学校人员合作的方式。
  • 幼儿学院
    课程于16年21月2021日至XNUMX月XNUMX日开放
    了解更多信息并在此注册
  • IEP的来龙去脉 | 21月11日,上午30:XNUMX。 这次演讲将帮助父母准备在IEP会议上期望的结果,并举行以学生为中心的富有成效的会议。 从会议前的预先计划到事后的合作,本演讲将建立父母之间的关系和自我倡导技能,同时关注学生的需求。
  • 过渡大学:免费的,家长友好型,为期5周的自定进度的在线过渡课程
    2021年冬季:6月26日至XNUMX月XNUMX日
    了解更多信息并在此注册
  • 皮特·拉蒂诺

NAMI(全国心理疾病联盟)阿灵顿父母支持小组
现在进行虚拟会议
这些群体适合父母的孩子正在经历精神疾病症状的父母,包括:抑郁症,焦虑症,进食障碍,情绪障碍等。 无需诊断即可参与。 参与者有机会分享他们关于社区和学校资源的故事,经验支持和小组成员的指导(根据需要)。 尊重保密性。
12年入学年龄的学生和青少年(PK-2020)
3年17月31日,下午7:8-30:XNUMX
请通过mczero@yahoo.com与Michelle Best联系以获取注册链接。

青少年和年轻人:第三个星期日3-1pm
有问题吗? 联系:

  • PK-12:Michelle Best(mczero@yahoo.com)
  • 成人:Naomi Verdugo(verdugo.naomi@gmail.com)
  • 两者:Alisa Cowen(acowen@cowendesigngroup.com)

Parent Resource Center Monday Message: 12.14.20

Monday Message image

 

 

December 14, 2020

The team at your Parent Resource Center wishes you all a wonderful winter break. While many of us may perhaps be experiencing winter break in new and different ways this year, we hope that the time off offers opportunities to create cherished family memories and perhaps some new traditions.

The coordinators at the PRC will be on winter break from December 19th through January 4th, but please feel free to leave messages for us at either 703.228.7239 or prc@apsva.us.  We are looking forward to our winter offerings including sessions on ADHD, An Introduction to Special Education, Becoming an Active Member of Your Child’s IEP Team, monthly Transition sessions, and sessions on autism and mental health. Stay tuned, stay well, and know that we send our warmest wishes to you for a happy and healthy 2021. We look forward to reconnecting with you in January.


Check out these new resources logo

Videos for Parents of Children with Significant Cognitive Disabilities to Support Learning at Home
National Center on Educational Outcomes, NCEO
NCEO and TIES Center, the national technical assistance center on inclusive practices and policies, have developed a series of videos for parents of children with significant cognitive disabilities to help them with supporting learning at home.
View the Videos for Parents of Children with Significant Cognitive Disabilities


Upcoming Events image

 

 

 

Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee (ASEAC) Meeting
Tuesday, December 15, 2020: 7pm – 9pm
Virtual Meeting –  via Zoom
Register Here
Please note that the business portion of this meeting will be recorded through Zoom.
Agenda:
7:00 – 7:20 pm  Welcome, Member Introductions and Public Comments*
*Public comment signup can be done through the registration form
7:20 – 7:40 pm  OSE Updates and Response to November 2020 Public Comments
7:40 – 8:00 pm Instructional Program and Pathways (IPP) and PCG Program Evaluation 5 Year Plan
8:00 – 8:20 pm 5-Year Plan Questions and Answers*
*Questions can be submitted in advance through the registration form
8:20 – 8:30 pm  ASEAC Updates
Meeting materials will be sent for review on Monday 12/14/2020.
At the beginning of each meeting, ASEAC welcomes comments from the public regarding the needs of students with disabilities in APS. See the ASEAC Public Comment Guidelines at https://www.apsva.us/special-education-advisory-committee for information about submitting public comments.Any person who would like an interpreter and/or any person with a disability who needs accommodation to access the meeting should contact the Parent Resource Center at 703.228.7239 or prc@apsva.us as soon as possible to request assistance.
There is also an option to request services in the registration form.


Understanding Transition Services: Day Program Support
Wednesday, December 16, 7:00pm-9:00pm
Register here
Arlington Public Schools Transition Services, Parent Resource Center and Program for Employment Preparedness (PEP) are continuing to sponsor a Transition Series, which this month will feature a workshop on Day Program Supports. Day Programs offer persons with disabilities the opportunity to spend their day in meaningful activities, focused on social and community engagement. Various community vendors will share information about their programs and the supported activities they offer. Families will also have the opportunity to ask questions of the program staff.For further information contact Kelly Mountain at 703-228-2136 or Christina Eagle at 703-228-5738.


Community Webinar/Virtual Learning Opportunities/Meetings


Upcoming Events from PEATC – Virginia’s Parent Education and Advocacy Training Center

  • Understanding Special Education | December 17 at 7:00 PM.  Come and learn the seven phases of the special education process and identify the specific actions you may take during the special education process. You will become familiar with dispute resolution options, both informal and formal, and learn ways to work as partners with teacher and other school personnel.
  • Early Childhood Academy
    Course open from January 16 – February 21, 2021
    Learn more and register here
  • Ins and Outs of IEP’s | January 21 at 11:30 AM. This presentation will help prepare parents of what to expect in the IEP meeting and to have a productive student focused meeting. From pre-planning before the meeting to working together afterwards, this presentation will build relationships and self-advocacy skills of the parents while focusing on the needs of the student.
  • TRANSITION UNIVERSITY: A free, parent-friendly 5-week self-paced online transition course
    Winter 2021: February 6 to March 26
    Learn more and register here
  • PEATC LATINO

NAMI (National Alliance on Mental Illness) Arlington Parent Support Groups
Now Meeting Virtually
These groups are geared to parents whose child is experiencing symptoms of a mental illness, including: depression, anxiety, eating disorders, mood disorders and more. No diagnosis is required to participate. Participants are given the opportunity to share their story, experience support, and glean guidance (as desired) from group members regarding both community and school resources. Confidentiality is respected.
School Age Students and Teens (PK-12) for 2020
January 3, 17 at 31: 7-8:30pm
Please contact Michelle Best at mczero@yahoo.com for registration link.

Older Teen and Young Adults: 3rd Sunday 1-3pm
Questions??  Contact:

  • PK-12: Michelle Best (mczero@yahoo.com)
  • Adults: Naomi Verdugo (verdugo.naomi@gmail.com)
  • Both: Alisa Cowen (acowen@cowendesigngroup.com)