家長資源中心星期一寄語:12.5.22

星期一留言徽標

 

 

December 5, 2022

過渡公平傳單圖像APS 2022 年過渡博覽會
10 年 2022 月 11 日星期六:上午 1 點至下午 XNUMX 點

阿靈頓職業中心, 816 S. Walter Reed Drive, Arlington, VA 22204
APS 過渡公平註冊鏈接

下週六,即 10 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日,將尋求成人服務和社區支持的殘疾學生(以及他們的父母/監護人)在過渡到成年時尋求成人服務和社區支持,例如支持和競爭性就業、住房和日間計劃的資源這 APS 2022 過渡博覽會。 千萬不要錯過上午 11 點聆聽北弗吉尼亞之弧的黛安·蒙尼格 (Diane Monnig) 的機會,隨後還有機會見面並了解更多有關各種社區服務的信息,包括:

    • 支持就業
    • 住房
    • 競爭性就業
    • 成人服務計劃
    • 社區服務委員會
    • 日間課程
    • 康復服務……等等

此活動是免費的,包括免費午餐! 期望在那裡見到你!

同樣在本週,阿靈頓 SEPTA 將舉行月度會議 希望小隊—— 8 月 7 日星期四晚上 30:XNUMX。 在線註冊: https://forms.gle/2QuCUpambXy8FAeN8. 我們的活動部分提供了更多詳細信息.


 

APS 在 AACtion 徽標中

 

 

請在下面找到另一個摘錄 APS 在 AACtion 中——由我們的 AAC 實施教練 Erin Tokajer 和 Daphney Denerville-Davis 創建:
用餐時間溝通

假期讓我們想到了食物,所以我們想分享一些鼓勵用餐時間交流的方法。 許多學生喜歡食物,所以我們經常在吃零食或午餐時專注於要求(吃、喝、更多、想要),但是在用餐時間可能發生的所有其他交流機會呢? 當我們與朋友和家人一起吃飯時,我們會選擇食物選項,然後我們會對食物發表評論、描述我們的一天、提出問題、抱怨我們不喜歡的事情、給予讚美、講笑話等等! 以下是我們可以在用餐時間與孩子們一起模擬的一些交流功能,以建立有意義的聯繫並教授超出要求的語言:

  • 評論:我喜歡,它很好,我的/你的,它大/小,感覺(餓/飽),喝/那個
  • 抗議/抱怨:不喜歡,不好,不吃那個,想要不同的
  • 問問題:誰有,誰做的,很好,(午餐盒)裡有什麼
  • 直接行動:放這裡,拿一些,轉過來,過來

請記住,除了我們正在吃的食物之外,我們還可以在用餐時談論其他話題。 想一想當您坐下來一起吃飯時,您與家人和朋友談論了些什麼。 在此站點註冊: https://www.theaaccoach.com/resources 訪問 AAC Coach 的免費可下載建模腳本,用於用餐和其他活動(也提供西班牙語版本)。


 

活動預告圖片請訪問我們的活動頁面,網址為 www。apsva.us/prc- 有關即將到來的信息和更新的事件 APS 和社區活動。

Parent Resource Center Monday Message: 12.5.22

Monday Message logo

 

 

December 5, 2022

Transition Fair flier imageAPS Transition Fair 2022
Saturday, December 10, 2022: 11am – 1pm

Arlington Career Center, 816 S. Walter Reed Drive, Arlington, VA 22204
APS Transition Fair Registration Link

Next Saturday, December 10, 2022, students with disabilities who will be seeking adult services and community supports such as resources for supported and competitive employment, housing, and day programs as they transition to adulthood (and their parents/guardians) are invited to attend the APS 2022 Transition Fair. Don’t miss the opportunity to hear from Diane Monnig with The Arc of Northern Virginia at 11am, followed by opportunities to meet and learn more about a wide variety of community services, including:

    • Supported Employment
    • Housing
    • Competitive Employment
    • Adult Services Programs
    • Community Services Board
    • Day Programs
    • Rehabilitative Services …and more

This event is free and includes a complimentary lunch! Look forward to seeing you there!

Also this week, Arlington SEPTA will hold its monthly meeting featuring Hope Squad – on Thursday, December 8th at 7:30pm. Register online at: https://forms.gle/2QuCUpambXy8FAeN8. Additional details are provided in our Events section.


 

APS in AACtion logo

 

 

Below please find another excerpt from APS in AACtion – created by our AAC Implementation Coaches, Erin Tokajer and Daphney Denerville-Davis:
Communicating at Mealtimes

The holidays have us thinking about food, so we wanted to share some ways to encourage communication during mealtimes. Many students love food, so we often focus on requesting (eat, drink, more, want) during snack or lunch, but what about all of the other communication opportunities that can occur during mealtime? When we eat with our friends and family, we choose our food options, but then we comment on the food, describe our day, ask questions, complain about what we don’t like, give compliments, tell jokes, and more! Here are some communicative functions we can model during mealtime with children to make meaningful connections and teach language beyond requesting:

  • Comment: I like, it good, that mine/your, it big/little, feel(hungry/full), have drink/that
  • Protest/complain: not like, it bad, not eat that, want different
  • Ask Questions: who have, who make it, it good, what in(lunchbox)
  • Direct Actions: put here, get some, turn it, come si

Remember that we can talk about other topics during meals besides the food we’re eating. Think about what you talk about with your family and friends when you sit down to eat together. Register at this site: https://www.theaaccoach.com/resources to access the AAC Coach’s free downloadable modeling scripts for meals and other activities (also available in Spanish).


 

Upcoming Events imagePlease visit our Events page at www.apsva.us/prc-events for information and updates on upcoming APS and community events.