家长资源中心星期一寄语:3.21.22

星期一留言图片March 21, 2022

祝所有订阅者樱花季快乐! 我们希望您在过去几天里一直在享受宜人的天气和许多开花的树木。 本周,我们非常高兴地欢迎我们的同事、Dorothy Hamm 中学的学校社会工作者 Christine Katcher 共进午餐并继续学习 23月1日星期三下午XNUMX点. 在本次会议中,Katcher 女士将探讨父母如何通过适应孩子来加强孩子的自我调节。

有爱心的成年人与儿童、青少年或年轻人之间促进自我调节发展的支持过程称为“共同调节”。 该术语用于描述可以在关怀关系的背景下发生的监管支持的互动过程 在整个生命周期. 随着儿童自我调节能力的增强,共同调节在不同年龄看起来会有所不同,但仍然是整个发展过程中的关键资源。

Rosanbalm, KD 和 Murray, DW (2017)。 整个发展过程中的照顾者共同监管:
实践简报。 OPRE 简介 #2017-80

加入我们以了解更多信息! 在这里注册


阿灵顿特殊教育咨询委员会:  会议日期变更
请注意,阿灵顿特殊教育咨询委员会 (ASEAC) 已被推迟。 ASEAC XNUMX 月会议将于 29 年 2022 月 7 日星期二下午 XNUMX 点. 详情和会议议程可以在下面的活动部分找到。


新资源徽标

阿灵顿住房公司 (AHC) 学生计划
虽然优先考虑 AHC 居民,但如果有空位,非居民学生可能能够访问 AHC 的学生课程。 AHC 的学生教育计划鼓励学生在一个培育和稳定的环境中取得卓越的学术成就和个人成长。 因为项目位于家庭居住的社区,所以它们是儿童从小学到高中生活中充满活力的一部分。 我们的多管齐下的方法包括:

课后计划

AHC 的课后计划侧重于提高小学生的读写能力。 工作人员和志愿者通过各种教育和文化活动培养阅读、写作和词汇技能。

青少年辅导

AHC 针对初中和高中学生的计划旨在让青少年留在学校,并帮助他们在高中毕业后最大限度地选择。 该计划包括一对一辅导、大学参观、SAT 考试准备和各种丰富的体验。

大学和职业准备计划

新的大学和职业准备计划帮助高中生成功过渡到下一步。 该计划包括一名全职经理,并将学生与成人导师配对一整年。

夏令营

AHC 的夏令营计划旨在通过教育和充实体验来防止学习损失——低收入学生面临的特殊挑战。

欲了解更多信息,请联系 Melanie Ficke melanie.ficke@ahcinc.org.


请访问 www 上的家长资源活动页面。apsva.us/prc-即将举行的活动 PRC 和社区活动。活动预告图片

Parent Resource Center Monday Message: 3.21.22

Monday Message imageMarch 21, 2022

Happy Cherry Blossom season to all of our subscribers! We hope you’ve been enjoying the lovely weather and many flowering trees that have burst into bloom during the last several days in our community. This week, we are extremely excited to welcome our colleague Christine Katcher, School Social Worker at Dorothy Hamm Middle School, for a Lunch and Learn on Wednesday, March 23rd at 1pm. During this session, Ms. Katcher will explore how parents can strengthen their children’s self-regulation by attuning to children.

The supportive process between caring adults and children, youth, or young adults that fosters self-regulation development is called “co-regulation.” This term is used to describe an interactive process of regulatory support that can occur within the context of caring relationships across the lifespan. Co-regulation will look different at different ages as child capacity for self-regulation grows, but remains a critical resource across development.

Rosanbalm, K.D., & Murray, D.W. (2017). Caregiver Co-regulation Across Development:
A Practice Brief. OPRE Brief #2017-80

Join us to learn more! Register here


Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee:  Meeting DATE CHANGE
Please note that the Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee (ASEAC) has been postponed. ASEAC’s March meeting will now be held on Tuesday, March 29, 2022 at 7pm. Details and the meeting agenda can be found in the Events section below.


New resources logo

Arlington Housing Corporation (AHC) Student Programs
Although priority is given to AHC residents, if space is available, non-resident students may be able access AHC’s student programs. AHC’s educational programs for students encourage academic excellence and personal growth in a nurturing and stable environment. Because programs are located in the communities where families live, they are a vibrant part of children’s lives from elementary through high school. Our multi-pronged approach includes:

After-School Program

AHC’s After-School programs focus on improving literacy for elementary students. Staff and volunteers build reading, writing and vocabulary skills through a variety of educational and cultural activities.

Teen Tutoring

AHC’s program for middle and high school students aims to keep teens in school and help them maximize their options after high school. The program includes one-on-one tutoring,  college visits, SAT test prep, and a variety of enriching experiences.

College and Career Readiness Program

The new College and Career Readiness Program helps high school seniors successfully transition to their next step. The program includes a full-time manager and pairs students with adult mentors for a full year.

Summer Camp

AHC’s Summer Camp program is designed to prevent learning loss – a particular challenge for low-income students – through both educational and enrichment experiences.

For more information, please contact Melanie Ficke at melanie.ficke@ahcinc.org.


Please visit the Parent Resource Events page at www.apsva.us/prc-events for upcoming PRC and community events.Upcoming Events image