家长资源中心星期一寄语:4.5.21

晚上好,欢迎从春假回来! 我们希望大家度过一个愉快,轻松和恢复性的春假周。 当我们回到迎接新的月份时,XNUMX月充满了许多活动,希望您也能参加。 详细信息如下。

SEPTA奖提名截止日期:午夜– 6年2021月XNUMX日
阿灵顿SEPTA接受年度提名 卓越 in支持特殊教育奖 直到 6年2021月XNUMX日午夜 所有提名将被认可参加,获奖者将于12年2021月XNUMX日宣布。请注意:

请为每个提名人选择最合适的奖项。 奖励说明如下。

查看 奖项说明。 视图 过去的奖项.


新资源徽标

 

 

 

 

了解女孩播客中的自闭症

141认识女孩的自闭症 同 唐娜·亨德森博士第1部分
唐娜·亨德森(Donna Henderson)博士讨论了自闭症的诊断及其多年来的变化。 她谈到了诊断的好处以及诊断何时会有所帮助。 她讲述了细微的自闭症是如何发生的,男女之间的区别如何以及为什么女孩经常被误诊。
点击这里听
142认识女孩的自闭症 同 唐娜·亨德森博士第2部分
在与Donna Henderson博士的持续对话中,您会听到有关家庭从收到诊断中可以感受到的验证,帮助家庭了解诊断的框架以及有关“上下文盲目”和上下文的深入讨论,这会影响我们对世界。
点击这里听


活动预告图片

请致电703.228.7239与家长资源中心联系,或 prc@apsva.us至少在活动开始前7天请求ADA适应。

 

 

多动症育儿系列
12月10日,星期一– 6月30日:8:30 pm – XNUMX:XNUMX pm
在这里注册
与我们一起参加为期5周的虚拟系列活动,该系列针对父母患有注意力缺陷多动障碍(ADHD)的学生。 家长资源中心协调员凯利·山(Kelly Mountain)和凯瑟琳·多诺万(Kathleen Donovan)以及家长领袖苏珊·斯科特(Susan Scott)将主持本次会议。 凯利(Kelly)具有学校心理学背景,凯瑟琳(Kathleen)具有特殊教育背景,苏珊(Susan)是一位家长,多年来一直为多动症(ADHD)育儿课程提供帮助。 涵盖的主题将包括:

  • 第一节:多动症–父母需要知道的
  • 第二节:ADHD –诊断与治疗
  • 第三节:在家多动症
  • 第四节:学校多动症
  • 第五节:多动症和青春期

有兴趣的参与者被要求参加所有五次会议。 有关更多信息,请联系 PRC at prc@aps价值 或703.228.7239。


儿童和青少年的烦躁
13月7日,星期二:8-30:XNUMXpm
在这里注册
欢迎加入我们,我们欢迎来自美国国家心理健康研究所(NIMH)的Jamell White博士,他将致力于解决儿童和青少年的烦躁问题,其中包括:

  • 定义什么是烦躁
  • 讨论易怒的共同主题
  • 识别烦躁和合并症
  • 讨论为什么研究易怒性很重要以及如何在NIMH研究它
  • 找出烦躁的新疗法; 和
  • 父母可以使用共享策略来应对烦躁。

Jamell White博士是美国国家心理健康研究所(NIMH)情感与发展处神经科学与新型治疗学部门(NNT)的资深临床医生。 怀特博士获得博士学位。 来自马里兰大学人类发展与定量方法学。 她还拥有社会工作(美国天主教大学)和特殊教育(约翰·霍普金斯大学)硕士学位。 在加入NIMH之前,怀特博士的大部分临床工作都专门针对患有自闭症谱系障碍及相关疾病的儿童,青少年和成年人。
查看活动传单


四月是自闭症意识和接受月
自闭症101
15月7日,星期四:晚上8点–晚上30:XNUMX
在这里注册
主持人:黛博拉·哈默(Deborah Hammer), APS 自闭症和低发病率残疾专家
本课程将为父母和监护人提供自闭症谱系障碍(ASD)的概述,包括对ASD如何影响社交和沟通技巧,执行功能和感觉处理的解释。 还将介绍成功的策略。
查看英语。西班牙自闭症101传单


2021年NOVA视觉会议
20月7日,星期二:9-XNUMXpm
阿灵顿公立学校和北弗吉尼亚社区学院(NOVA)为残障学生(拥有IEP或504计划的学生)提供了学习大学住宿的机会。 该虚拟会议将包括NOVA Disability Services的演讲,一个学生小组以及一个父级“问题/答案”会议。
如果您需要住宿才能参加此活动,请至少提前一周将您的请求发送至:Tracy Bell tbell@nvcc.edu
需要注册。 请为每位参与者提交一份单独的注册表,并且请注意,还有单独的学生注册表。
父母/监护人:在这里注册
学生:在这里注册

Conferencia NOVA视觉
Martes Abril 20:晚上7-9点
虚拟的
APS 在大学期间适应性适应能力差的学生(在IEP飞机504上的学习机会)。 收到新的裁定书后,在新的裁谈会/裁定的裁谈会或裁谈会上任职。 @ nvcc.edu
父母/监护人:注册机构
学生:Registrarse aqui


阿灵顿特殊教育咨询委员会(ASEAC)会议
27月7日,星期二:00:9pm – 00:XNUMX pm
虚拟会议–通过Zoom
即将注册
缩放会议链接将发送给在会议之前注册的人。 请注意,本次会议的业务部分将通过Zoom进行记录。在每次会议开始时,ASEAC欢迎公众提出有关残障学生需求的意见。 APS。 请参阅ASEAC公共评论指南,网址为: https://www.apsva.us/special-education-advisory-committee 有关提交公众意见的信息。 任何需要口译服务的人员和/或需要口译服务的残障人士都应致电703.228.7239与家长资源中心联系,或 prc@aps价值 尽快请求协助。


了解过渡服务:与学生建立相互依存关系-第2部分
28月7日,星期三:00:9 pm-00:XNUMXpm
在这里注册
阿灵顿公立学校过渡服务,家长资源中心和就业准备计划(PEP)继续赞助每月的过渡系列。 随着学生和儿童长大成人,我们经常努力支持他们获得独立。 通常被遗忘的是教他们相互依存。 人类具有建立互惠互利的有意义关系的能力。 这是相互依存的。 向残疾人讲授相互依存证明了他们受到社会的重视,并展示了与他人建立联系可以如何支持和丰富他们的生活。
加入自闭症和低发病率残疾专家Deborah Hammer; 过渡小组成员Christina Eagle和Karen Shimkus; 还有凯利山 PRC 协调员将继续探索相互依存的重要性,并学习如何培养这一关键的终身技能的方法。有关更多信息,请致电703-228-2136或联系Kelly.mountain @apsva.us。

点击 PRC的活动页面 其他的阿灵顿县和社区活动。

Parent Resource Center Monday Message: 4.5.21

Good evening, and welcome back from Spring Break! We hope you all had a pleasant, relaxing and restorative spring break week. As we return to greet a new month, April is filled with a number of events that we hope you’ll join us at. Details are below.

SEPTA Award Nomination Deadline: Midnight – April 6th, 2021
Arlington SEPTA is accepting nominations for its annual Excellence in Supporting Special Education Awards until midnight, April 6th, 2021. All nominees will be recognized for their participation, and winners will be announced by May 12, 2021.Please note:

Please choose the most appropriate award for each nominee.  Award descriptions are provided below.

  • Turner Award – to an outstanding administrator. Submit your nomination HERE.
  • Crawford Award – to an outstanding educator. Submit your nomination HERE.
  • Exceptional Support Award – to an outstanding aide/assistant or support staff. Submit your nomination HERE.
  • McBride Award – to an outstanding school or program. Submit your nomination HERE
  • Howie Award – to an outstanding parent or volunteer.  Submit your nomination HERE
  • Nannini Award – to an outstanding student advocate. Submit your nomination HERE
  • Exceptional Ally Award – to an outstanding student ally.Submit your nomination HERE

View award descriptions. View past awards.


New resources logo

 

 

 

 

Understanding Autism in Girls Podcasts

Episode 141: Understanding Autism in Girls with Dr. Donna Henderson Part 1
Dr. Donna Henderson talks about the autism diagnosis and how it has shifted over the years. She talks about the benefits of diagnosis and when diagnoses can be helpful. She teaches how nuanced autism is, how it presents differently between males and females, and why girls are so often misdiagnosed.
Click Here to Listen
Episode 142: Understanding Autism in Girls with Dr. Donna Henderson Part 2
In this continuing conversation with Dr. Donna Henderson, hear about the validation that families can feel from receiving a diagnosis, a framework for helping families to understand a diagnosis, and an in depth conversation about “context blindness” and context impacts our entire understanding of the world.
Click Here to Listen


Upcoming Events image

Please contact the Parent Resource Center at 703.228.7239 or prc@apsva.usat least 7 days prior to events to request ADA accommodations.

 

 

ADHD Parenting Series
Mondays, April 12 – May 10: 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Register here
Join us for a virtual 5-week series on parenting students with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD). This session will be facilitated by the Parent Resource Center Coordinators Kelly Mountain and Kathleen Donovan, along with parent leader Susan Scott. Kelly has a background in school psychology, Kathleen has a background in special education, and Susan is a parent who has facilitated ADHD parenting sessions for many years.  Topics covered will include:

  • Session 1: ADHD – What Parents Need to Know
  • Session 2: ADHD – Diagnosis and Treatment
  • Session 3: ADHD at Home
  • Session 4: ADHD at School
  • Session 5: ADHD and Adolescence

Interested participants are asked to commit to all five sessions. For additional information, please contact the PRC at prc@apsva.us or 703.228.7239.


Irritability in Children and Youth
Tuesday, April 13th: 7-8:30pm
Register here
Join us as we welcome Dr. Jamell White from the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) who will address irritability in children and adolescents, including:

  • Defining what irritability is
  • Discussing common themes in irritability
  • Identifying irritability and co-morbid disorders
  • Discussing why it is important to study irritability and how it’s studied at NIMH
  • Identifying new treatment for irritability; and
  • Sharing strategies parents can use to respond to irritability.

Dr. Jamell White is a staff clinician for the Neuroscience and Novel Therapeutics Unit (NNT) in the Emotion and Development Branch at the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH). Dr. White received her Ph.D. from the University of Maryland in Human Development and Quantitative Methodology. She also has master’s degrees in social work (Catholic University of America) and special education (Johns Hopkins University). Prior to coming to the NIMH, much of Dr. White’s clinical work specialized in working with children, adolescents and adults with Autism Spectrum Disorder and related disorders.
View event flier


April is Autism Awareness and Acceptance Month
Autism 101
Thursday, April 15th: 7pm – 8:30pm
Register here
Presenter: Deborah Hammer, APS Autism and Low Incidence Disability Specialist
This session will provide parents and guardians with an overview of Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD), including an explanation of how ASD impacts social and communication skills, executive functioning, and sensory processing. Strategies for success will also be introduced.
View English.Spanish Autism 101 Flier


NOVA Vision Conference 2021
Tuesday, April 20th: 7-9pm
Arlington Public Schools and Northern Virginia Community College (NOVA) are offering an opportunity for students with disabilities (students with IEPs or 504 Plans) to learn about accommodations in college. The virtual conference will include a presentation from NOVA Disability Services, a student panel, and a parent Question/Answer session.
If you require accommodations in order to participate in this event, send your request at least one week in advance to: Tracy Bell tbell@nvcc.edu
Registration is required. Please submit an individual registration form for each participant, and please note that there is a separate form for student registration.
Parents/Guardians: Register here
Students: Register here

Conferencia NOVA Vision
Martes Abril 20: 7-9pm
Sesión virtual
APS y NOVA están ofreciendo una oportunidad para que los estudiantes con discapacidades (estudiantes con IEP y planes 504) aprendan sobre adaptaciones en la universidad. La conferencia incluirá una presentación de los Servicios para Discapacitados de NOVA, un panel de estudiantes y una sesión de Preguntas / Respuestas para los padres.Si necesita adaptaciones para poder participar, envíe su solicitud con al menos una semana de anticipación a:Tracy Bell tbell@nvcc.edu
Parents/Guardians: Registrarse aqui
Students: Registrarse aqui


Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee (ASEAC) Meeting
Tuesday, April 27th: 7:00pm – 9:00pm
Virtual Meeting –  via Zoom
Registration coming soon
The Zoom meeting link will be sent to those registered prior to the meeting. Please note that the business portion of this meeting will be recorded through Zoom.At the beginning of each meeting, ASEAC welcomes comments from the public regarding the needs of students with disabilities in APS. See the ASEAC Public Comment Guidelines at https://www.apsva.us/special-education-advisory-committee for information about submitting public comments. Any person who would like an interpreter and/or any person with a disability who needs accommodation to access the meeting should contact the Parent Resource Center at 703.228.7239 or prc@apsva.us as soon as possible to request assistance.


Understanding Transition Services: Building Interdependence with Our Students—Part 2
Wednesday, April 28: 7:00pm-9:00pm
Register here
Arlington Public Schools Transition Services, Parent Resource Center and Program for Employment Preparedness (PEP) continue to sponsor a monthly Transition Series. As students and children grow into adulthood, we often strive to support them in obtaining independence. What often gets left out is teaching them interdependence. Humans have the capacity for meaningful relationships with one another that are mutually beneficial. This is interdependence. Teaching interdependence to people with disabilities demonstrates that they are valued by society and shows how building connections with others can support and enrich their lives.
Join Deborah Hammer, Autism and Low-Incidence Disability Specialist; Christina Eagle and Karen Shimkus, Transition Team Members; and  Kelly Mountain, PRC Coordinator, to continue to explore the importance of interdependence and learn strategies for how to build this critical lifelong skill.For additional information, contact Kelly Mountain at 703-228-2136 or Kelly.mountain@apsva.us.

Visit the PRC’s EVENTS PAGE for additional Arlington County & community events.