家長資源中心星期一寄語:5.24.21

星期一留言圖片

 

 

24年2021月XNUMX日

下午好! 我們非常期待今天晚上歡迎安·多林回到阿靈頓公立學校。 Ann是一位充滿活力且高度參與的演講者,他總是為家庭提供實用的技巧。 今天晚上的課 如何在不犧牲夏日樂趣的情況下避免學習損失, 將開始 在7pm在這裡註冊

阿靈頓特殊教育諮詢委員會(ASEAC)將於25月7日明天晚上XNUMX點舉行其XNUMX月每月會議。
在這裡註冊

阿靈頓SEPTA的筆記

  • 難道我們已經不包容嗎? 截止到3月XNUMX日的會議錄音
    如果你錯過了 我們不是已經包含了嗎? 保拉·克魯斯(Paula Kluth)博士,不用擔心-您仍有時間受到啟發! 現在可以通過Zoom在線觀看錄音,直到3月5.20日。 如果您在會議之前註冊,則可以使用發送給您的會議鏈接,密碼為SEPTAXNUMX。 APS 員工:如果您想獲得此計劃的專業學習學分,請不要使用其他人發送給您的鏈接。 請在下面的鏈接中註冊以獲得自己的唯一鏈接。 如果您尚未註冊,可以 現在在這裡註冊。 存取密碼:SEPTA5.20
    最新信息(包括視頻中提到的鏈接,幻燈片副本,錄音副本等)將發佈到網站上。 活動頁面
  • SEPTA尋求執行委員會提名2021-2022 SEPTA執行委員會的選舉將於10月XNUMX日SEPTA會議上舉行。 雖然所有職位都可以提名,但我們希望填補以下職位的空缺:
    • 掌櫃
    • 副會長
    • 通訊副總裁
    • 副總裁籌款
    • 當選總統
    • 家長聯絡協調員
    • Espacio Hispano協調員

SEPTA官員的任期為一年,最長為4年。 時間承諾因職位而異,並且全年不同,但是在每種情況下,我們都會作為團隊合作,在需要時互相支持。 這是一個絕佳的機會,不僅可以為您自己的學校社區提供服務,還可以為整個阿靈頓的所有學校提供服務。 在此處了解更多信息: https://www.arlingtonsepta.org/board-of-directors/任何有意競選職位的人都應該通過President@arlingtonsepta.org與SEPTA聯合主席Alison Cassels和Kathleen Clark聯繫


新資源徽標

 

 

 

 

  • 寄養父母和青少年照料的資源
    五月是全國寄養月,以表彰寄養父母,家庭成員,志願者,導師,政策制定者,兒童福利專業人士以及社區中其他幫助兒童和青少年寄養的人,他們找到了永久的住所和聯繫。 這也是重申我們對確保目前在寄養和親屬照料中的兒童和青年的光明未來的承諾的時候。 以下是一些資源:

    • 弗吉尼亞新發現的家庭 是一家非營利性,會員制驅動的協會,為寄養,收養和親屬家庭提供信息,支持和資源。
    • 厚望 是一家以優勢為基礎的指導/支持組織,旨在幫助弗吉尼亞州寄養服務系統內外的年輕人獲得高等教育。 《大期望》(Great Expectations)在弗吉尼亞州的每所社區大學都設有教練,並在青年從照護過渡的任何階段與他們一起工作。

其他資源:


近期活动

你真的能擁有全部嗎?
如何在不犧牲夏日樂趣的情況下避免學習損失
新日期! 24年2021月7日,星期一:8-XNUMXpm
飾演Ann K. Dolin,醫學博士
在這裡註冊
今年春天,隨著我們探索混合學習並進入另一個新常態,我們都期待著一個輕鬆的夏天。 但是,今年夏天,我們比以往任何時候都更希望確保孩子們對今年秋天的學校學習充滿信心並在學業上做好準備。在這個互動式虛擬講座中,安將分享以下方面的策略:

  • 計劃夏季互動活動非常有趣,以至於您的孩子甚至都不會意識到他們正在學習
  • 在經歷一年的前後矛盾和挫折後,確保您的孩子能盡快適應
  • 訪問在線和離線學習資源,使夏季學習變得輕鬆有趣
  • 將數學,閱讀和寫作結合到孩子的暑期活動中,以最大程度地減少退縮
  • 當您的孩子似乎疲憊或分心時,鼓勵他們參與

安·多林(Ann Dolin),醫學博士是...的總裁兼董事 教育聯繫。 她擁有波士頓學院的兒童心理學/基礎教育學士學位和特殊教育碩士學位,專攻學習障礙。 Ann是弗吉尼亞州費爾法克斯縣的前公立學校老師,擁有20多年的教學和輔導經驗。 Ann是教育和學習障礙問題方面的公認專家,並且還是屢獲殊榮的書的作者 簡化家庭作業:無壓力家庭作業的提示,工具和解決方案.


阿靈頓特殊教育諮詢委員會(ASEAC)會議
25年2021月7日,星期二,晚上00:9 –晚上00:XNUMX
在這裡註冊
虛擬會議–通過Zoom
縮放會議鏈接將發送給在會議之前註冊的人。 請注意,本次會議的商務部分將通過Zoom進行記錄。
議程:
7:00 – 7:20 pm歡迎,會員介紹和公眾評論
晚上7:20 – 7:30 OSE更新和對2021年XNUMX月的公開評論的回應
7:30 – 7:40 pm恢復/補償服務更新
7:40 – 8:20 pm(暫定)學科和特殊教育
晚上8:20 – 8:30 ASEAC更新
在每次會議開始時,ASEAC歡迎公眾對殘疾學生的需求發表評論。 APS。 請參閱ASEAC公共評論指南,網址為: https://www.apsva.us/special-education-advisory-committee 有關提交公眾意見的信息。


更多活動

Parent Resource Center Monday Message: 5.24.21

Monday Message image

 

 

May 24, 2021

Good afternoon! We are very much looking forward to virtually welcoming Ann Dolin back to Arlington Public Schools this evening. Ann is a dynamic and highly engaging presenter, who always offers practical tips for families. This evening’s session, How to Avoid Learning Loss Without Sacrificing Summer Fun, will begin at 7pmRegister here

The Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee (ASEAC) will hold its May monthly meeting tomorrow, May 25th at 7pm.
Register here

Notes from Arlington SEPTA

  • Don’t We Already Do Inclusion? Session Recording Available through June 3rd
    If you missed Don’t We Already Do Inclusion? with Dr. Paula Kluth, don’t worry – you still have time to be inspired! The recording is now available online through Zoom until June 3rd. If you registered prior to the meeting, you can use the meeting link sent to you with passcode SEPTA5.20. APS Employees: Please do not use a link sent to you by another individual if you would like professional learning credits for this program. Please register at the link below to get your own unique link. If you haven’t yet registered, you can register here now. Access Passcode: SEPTA5.20
    The latest information including links mentioned in the video, copy of slides, a transcript of the recording, etc., will be posted to the event page
  • SEPTA Seeking Nominations for Executive BoardElections for the 2021-2022 SEPTA Executive Board will be held at the June 10th SEPTA meeting.  While all positions are open for nominations, we are looking to fill vacancies in the following positions:
    • Treasurer
    • VP Membership
    • VP Communications
    • VP Fundraising
    • President-Elect
    • Parent-Liaison Coordinator
    • Espacio Hispano Coordinator

SEPTA officers serve one-year terms for up to 4 years. Time commitments vary by position and vary throughout the year, but in each case we work as a team to support each other when needed. This is a great opportunity to serve not only your own school community but ALL schools throughout Arlington.  Learn more here: https://www.arlingtonsepta.org/board-of-directors/Anyone interested in running for a position should contact SEPTA co-presidents, Alison Cassels and Kathleen Clark at president@arlingtonsepta.org


New resources logo

 

 

 

 

  • Resources For Foster Care Parents and Youth In Care
    May is National Foster Care Month, a time to acknowledge foster parents, family members, volunteers, mentors, policymakers, child welfare professionals, and other members of the community who help children and youth in foster care find permanent homes and connections. It’s also a time to renew our commitment to ensuring a bright future for the children and youth currently in foster and kinship care. Here are some resources:

    • Newfound Families Virginia is a nonprofit, membership-driven association offering information, support, and resources for foster, adoptive, and kinship families.
    • Great Expectations is a strengths-based mentoring/support organization that helps young people in and leaving Virginia’s foster care system access higher education. Great Expectations bases coaches at each of Virginia’s community colleges and works with youth at any stage of their transition out of care.

Other Resources:

  • Keys to Independence
    This summer, The Arc of Northern Virginia will offer the next Tech for Independent Living training for individuals with developmental disabilities and their families. The purpose of Keys to Independence will be to provide direct access to, and training on, our suite of online independent living curriculums, including TravelMate, EmployMate, SafetyMate, and DailyMate. This continues our commitment to offer our award-winning suite of “apps” directly to families.This will be a virtual experience with a variety of formats including Zoom, small group virtual meetings, and one on one support meetings throughout the four day experience.
    Learn more at: https://thearcofnova.org/keys/

UPCOMING EVENTS

Can You Really Have It All?
How to Avoid Learning Loss Without Sacrificing Summer Fun
NEW DATE! Monday, May 24, 2021: 7-8pm
Featuring Ann K. Dolin, M.Ed.
Register here
This spring, as we navigate hybrid learning and launch into yet another new normal, we’re all looking forward to a relaxing summer ahead. But this summer, more than ever, we want to make sure our kids are feeling confident and prepared academically for school success this fall.In this interactive virtual talk, Ann will share strategies for:

  • Planning interactive summer activities so fun that your child won’t even realize they’re learning
  • Ensuring your child is up to speed after a year of inconsistencies and setbacks
  • Accessing online and offline learning resources that make summer learning fun and easy
  • Incorporating math, reading, and writing into your child’s summer routine to minimize pushback
  • Encouraging engagement when your child seems burned out or distracted

Ann Dolin, M.Ed. is the President and Director of Educational Connections. She holds a B.A. in Child Psychology/Elementary Education and a Master’s degree in Special Education, with a concentration in Learning Disabilities, from Boston College. Ann is a former Fairfax County, VA public school teacher with over 20 years of teaching and tutoring experience. Ann is a recognized expert in education and learning disability issues, and she is also the author of the award-winning book Homework Made Simple: Tips, Tools and Solutions for Stress-Free Homework.


Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee (ASEAC) Meeting
Tuesday, May 25, 2021 from 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Register here
Virtual Meeting –  via Zoom
The Zoom meeting link will be sent to those registered prior to the meeting. Please note that the business portion of this meeting will be recorded through Zoom.
Agenda:
7:00 – 7:20 pm  Welcome, Member Introductions and Public Comments
7:20 – 7:30 pm  OSE Updates and Response to April 2021 Public Comments
7:30 – 7:40 pm  Recovery/Compensatory Services Update
7:40 – 8:20 pm  (Tentative) Discipline and Special Education
8:20 – 8:30 pm  ASEAC Updates
At the beginning of each meeting,ASEAC welcomes comments from the public regarding the needs of students with disabilities in APS.  See the ASEAC Public Comment Guidelines at https://www.apsva.us/special-education-advisory-committee for information about submitting public comments.


More Events