家长资源中心星期一寄语:9.12.22

星期一留言图片

 

 

September 12, 2022

九月是全国预防自杀意识月——一个分享资源的时间,以努力阐明这个严肃且经常被污名化的话题。 我们利用这个月来提高认识,并将个人与资源和支持联系起来。 自杀念头,就像心理健康状况一样,会影响任何人,无论年龄、性别或背景如何。 事实上,自杀往往是未经治疗的心理健康状况的结果。 自杀念头虽然很常见,但不应该被认为是正常的,而且通常表明存在更严重的问题。 如果您或您认识的人处于危机之中,请立即寻求帮助。

在2022 09-12-2.06.15 PM屏幕截图

通过单击“访问心理健康资源需要谈谈?” 按钮 APS 区网页。 此外,所有 APS 学校拥有全面的心理健康团队,其中包括辅导员,学校心理学家和社会工作者,以支持有需要的学生和家庭。

阿灵顿县公共服务部正在举办 与凯文·海因斯(Kevin Hines)就希望、治愈和恢复进行虚拟对话 28 月 6 日星期三下午 00:7 至晚上 30:XNUMX,NAMI Arlington 在周日晚上为家庭提供支持小组。 请参阅下面的活动部分以获取更多信息。

缩略图_image002

最后,阿灵顿青年心理健康与健康委员会发起了一项宣传活动,使用简单的二维码将信息传递给我们的青年。 有了这个,青少年可以使用他们的手机来了解什么可以满足他们自己或他们的朋友或家人的心理健康需求。

 


下载

VDOE 和 VTSS 调查

如果您还没有收到,您​​应该很快就会通过美国邮件收到一封欢迎信,该信是我们的特殊教育联合主任 Kelly Krug 博士和 Heather Rothenbuescher 女士。 除了这封信,还有家长资源中心的联系卡,以及弗吉尼亚教育部家长参与年度调查的纸质副本。 请注意,此调查旨在收集您对 以前 学年(2021-22)。 该调查将持续到 16 年 2022 月 804 日。如果您对本调查有任何疑问,请通过电话 (225) 3898-XNUMX 或电子邮件联系 Chiquita Seaborne,家庭参与专家/特别项目协调员。 Chiquita.Seaborne@doe.virginia.gov.

您还可以使用英语或西班牙语在线回答调查,网址为:

家长参与(指标 8)调查 - 常见问题

此外,弗吉尼亚分层支持系统 (VTSS) 要求家庭查看其网站并完成此简报 调查. 他们希望使网站更便于家庭浏览和查找资源。 调查即将结束,请尽快回复。


新资源徽标

弗吉尼亚家庭特殊教育联系的 XNUMX 月家庭传单现已在以下位置提供: https://myemail.constantcontact.com/Family-Flyer–September-2022—Virtual-AT-Lab–Webinar–Turning-18-in-VA—Advocating-for-Myself—-Special-Education-Workshop-S.html?soid=1120412605452&aid=vRhbiFvdvc0 并提供资源,包括虚拟辅助技术实验室,以及即将举行的网络研讨会、资源和活动。


活动预告图片

即将举行的活动:请访问 apsva.us/prc-事件

Parent Resource Center Monday Message: 9.12.22

Monday Message image

 

 

September 12, 2022

September is National Suicide Prevention Awareness Month—a time to share resources in an effort to shed light on this serious and often stigmatized topic. We use this month to raise awareness and connect individuals with resources and support. Suicidal thoughts, much like mental health conditions, can affect anyone regardless of age, gender or background. In fact, suicide is often the result of an untreated mental health condition. Suicidal thoughts, although common, should not be considered normal and often indicate more serious issues. If you or someone you know is in crisis, please get help now.

Screen Shot 2022-09-12 at 2.06.15 PM

Access mental health resources by clicking the “Need to Talk?” Button on the APS district webpage. In addition, all APS schools have a comprehensive mental health team, including counselors, school psychologists and social workers to support students and families in need.

Arlington County’s Department of Human Services is hosting A Virtual Conversation on Hope, Healing, and Recovery with Kevin Hines on Wednesday, September 28th from 6:00pm – 7:30pm, and NAMI Arlington offers support groups for families on Sunday evenings . Please see our Events section below for additional information.

thumbnail_image002

Finally, the Arlington Youth Mental Health and Wellness Committee has started an awareness campaign to put information in the hands of our youth using a simple QR code.  With this, teens can use their cell phones to learn about what’s available for their own mental health needs or those of their friends or family.

 


download

VDOE and VTSS Surveys

If you haven’t already, you should soon be receiving a welcome letter via US Mail for our Co-Directors of Special Education, Dr. Kelly Krug and Ms. Heather Rothenbuescher. Along with the letter, there is a contact card for the Parent Resource Center, as well as a paper copy of the Virginia Department of Education’s parent involvement annual survey. Please note, this survey is intended to gather your feedback on for the previous academic year (2021-22).  The survey will remain open through December 16, 2022. If you have questions concerning this survey, please contact Chiquita Seaborne, Family Engagement Specialist/Special Projects Coordinator, via telephone at (804) 225-3898 or via email, at Chiquita.Seaborne@doe.virginia.gov.

You can also respond to the survey online in English or Spanish at:

Parent Involvement (Indicator 8) Survey-Frequently Asked Questions

Additionally, the Virginia Tiered Systems of Support (VTSS) is asking for families to review its website and complete this brief survey. They are hoping to make the website easier for families to navigate and locate resources. The survey will closes soon, so please respond as soon as possible.


New resources logo

The Virginia Family Special Education Connection’s September Family Flyer is now available at: https://myemail.constantcontact.com/Family-Flyer–September-2022—Virtual-AT-Lab–Webinar–Turning-18-in-VA—Advocating-for-Myself—-Special-Education-Workshop-S.html?soid=1120412605452&aid=vRhbiFvdvc0 and features resources including a virtual Assistive Technology Lab, and upcoming webinars, resources and events.


Upcoming Events image

Upcoming Events: Please visit www.apsva.us/prc-events