家长资源中心周一消息:23 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日

星期一留言图片来自家长资源中心团队的问候 (PRC)! 我们希望你们和家人一起度过一个快乐健康的夏天。 对于新到阿灵顿公立学校的家庭(APS),则 PRC 向家庭(主要是残疾学生的家庭)提供支持和信息,以帮助家庭了解特殊教育过程、与学校工作人员合作、成为您孩子教育团队的积极成员,并与学校和社区资源建立联系。 我们提供资源和数字工具、保密咨询、免费家长学习课程、每周学校谈话信息、借阅图书馆以及社区资源信息。

PRC 已在 Syphax 教育中心(2110 Washington Boulevard, Suite 158, Arlington, VA 22204)重新开放。 我们很高兴再次回来,希望您有机会尽快访问! 欢迎参观者浏览 PRC的借阅图书馆,并预约咨询 PRC 协调员。 如需预约,请致电 703.228.7239 或 prc@apsva.us。 (请注意 Syphax 教育中心需要戴口罩。) 虽然 PRC 重新开放后,我们将继续为更喜欢这些选择而不是面对面会议的家长提供电话和视频咨询。 请保持联系,让我们知道我们可以如何与您合作并为您提供支持。


欢迎,吉娜·德萨尔沃!家长资源中心周一消息:23 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日

PRC 团队很高兴地欢迎我们的新同事 Gina DeSalvo,她将加入 ​​Kathleen Donovan 作为 PRC 今年的特殊教育协调员。 Gina 曾在阿灵顿担任特殊教育教师和特殊教育建设协调员,还曾在费尔法克斯县担任特殊教育管理员。 Gina 目前正在攻读特殊教育博士学位,并为学校带来了丰富的经验和专业知识。 PRC. 这是来自吉娜的消息。 


特殊教育信息

在接下来的几周内,所有接受特殊教育服务的学生家庭都将收到我们特殊教育管理人员办公室的欢迎信,以及 PRC 联系卡和弗吉尼亚特殊教育部的调查。 OSE 一直在努力规划以满足学生来年的需求,并规划专业发展以支持学生的包容性机会; 加强IEP写作; 并加强整个学区实践和程序的沟通和一致性。

去年 XNUMX 月,OSE 发布了 指导 与恢复服务相关——由弗吉尼亚州教育部 (VDOE) 定义为弗吉尼亚州学校部门提供的服务,以解决因 COVID-19 造成的服务损失。 如果数据表明 IEP 团队应该考虑恢复服务,或者如果家长/监护人或其他团队成员要求召开会议来考虑恢复服务,IEP 团队会开会以确定学生是否需要恢复服务,如果是,则确定持续时间和服务类型。 一些学生在夏季开始接受康复服务,而其他学生的家长/监护人可能已选择在今年秋季启动康复服务。 一旦就恢复服务达成一致、实施和交付,学生的病例承运人将联系家长/监护人,通知他们恢复服务已完成。 如果家长想考虑额外的恢复服务或再延续九周,他们可以要求重新召集 IEP 团队。 如果您有任何疑问,请联系您孩子的行李箱承运人。 您也可以通过以下方式联系家长资源中心 prc@apsva.us或703.228.7239。


NOVA 早期在线学院

在有限的时间内,NOVA 向阿灵顿公立学校的大三和大四学生免费提供精选的大学课程。 课程为期十二周,将于 21 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日开始。 延长截止日期:已完成的申请截止日期为 1 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日。 早期在线大学 为学生提供许多好处,包括:

  • 以大学学分从高中毕业,从而降低大学的总体成本。
  • 获得校园资源并参与大学活动。
  • 通过我们的转学协议,包括与乔治梅森大学的 ADVANCE 课程,从 NOVA 开始并在您选择的学院或大学完成。

了解更多


为 2021-22 做好准备返校之夜

我们最喜欢的一些网站为家长提供了大量资源,供您在为 21-22 学年做准备时在家中使用。

了解.org

Edutopia 提供有关缓解过渡紧张、管理孩子的技术使用、参与学校等方面的信息。

阿灵顿公立学校: 返校常见问题解答
弗吉尼亚教育部
美国教育部 返校路线图
疾病控制中心(CDC): 过渡回学校资源
国立儿童医院:对于家庭 - 在 COVID-19 期间返校
Formed Families Forward 网络研讨会: 回到学校:如何帮助您的孩子控制焦虑并为重返“正常”课堂做好准备 

您的团队 PRC 希望您享受夏天剩下的日子,我们期待在 2021-22 与您联系!

凯瑟琳·多诺万 特殊教育协调员,703.228.2135
吉娜·德萨尔沃, 特殊教育协调员, 703.228.2136
艾玛·帕拉尔(Emma Parral), 行政助理, 703.228.7239

万维网。apsva.us/prc
prc@aps价值

Parent Resource Center Monday Message: August 23, 2021

Monday Message imageGreetings from the team at your Parent Resource Center (PRC)! We hope you’ve all been enjoying a happy and healthy summer with your family. For families new to Arlington Public Schools (APS), the PRC provides supports and information to families, primarily those of students with disabilities, to help families navigate the special education process, collaborate with school staff, become active members of your child’s educational teams, and connect with school and community resources. We offer resources and digital tools, confidential consultations, free parent learning sessions, weekly School Talk messages, a lending library, and information on community resources.

The PRC has re-opened at the Syphax Education Center (2110 Washington Boulevard, Suite 158, Arlington, VA 22204). We are delighted to be back, and hope you’ll have a chance to visit soon! Visitors are welcome to browse the PRC’s lending library, and to make an appointment to consult with a PRC coordinator. For appointments, please contact us at 703.228.7239 or prc@apsva.us. (Please note that masks are required at the Syphax Education Center.) Although the PRC has re-opened, we will continue to offer telephone and video consultations to parents who prefer those options rather than in-person meetings.  Please keep in touch and let us know how we can collaborate with and support you.


Welcome, Gina DeSalvo!Parent Resource Center Monday Message: August 23, 2021

The PRC team is delighted to welcome our new colleague, Gina DeSalvo, who will join Kathleen Donovan as a PRC Special Education Coordinator this year. Gina has worked in Arlington as a special education teacher and special education building coordinator, and also worked in Fairfax County as a special education administrator. Gina is currently pursuing a doctoral degree in special education, and brings a wealth of experience and expertise to the PRC. Here’s a message from Gina. 


Special Education Information

All families of students receiving special education services will be receiving a welcome letter from our Office of Special Education administrators in the coming weeks, along with a PRC contact card and a survey from the Virginia Department of Special Education. The OSE has been hard at work planning to meet the needs of students during the upcoming year and planning professional development to support inclusive opportunities for students; strengthen IEP writing; and strengthen communication and consistency in practices and procedures across the school district.

Last May, the OSE issued guidance related to recovery services – defined by the Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) as services offered by Virginia school divisions to address a loss of services due to COVID-19.  If data indicated that an IEP Team should consider recovery services, or if a parent/guardian or another team member requested a meeting to consider recovery services, IEP Teams met to determine whether students required recovery services, and, if so, to determine the duration and type of services.  Some students began receiving recovery services during the summer, while other students’ parent/guardian(s) may have elected for recovery services to be initiated this fall. Once recovery services have been agreed upon, implemented and delivered, students’ case carriers will contact parents/guardians to inform them that recovery services are complete. Parent(s) may request to reconvene the IEP team if they would like to consider additional recovery services or a continuation for another nine weeks. Should you have questions, please contact your child’s case carrier. You may also contact the Parent Resource Center at prc@apsva.us or 703.228.7239.


NOVA Early Online College

For a limited time, NOVA is offering select college courses at no cost to Arlington Public Schools juniors and seniors. Courses are twelve weeks long and will begin on September 21, 2021. Extended deadline: completed applications are due September 1, 2021. Early Online College offers students many benefits, including:

  • Lowering the overall cost of college by graduating from high school with college credits.
  • Gaining access to campus resources and participating in college events and activities.
  • Starting at NOVA and finishing at the college or university of your choice seamlessly with our transfer agreements, including the ADVANCE program with George Mason University.

Learn more


Getting Ready for 2021-22Back to School Nights

Some of our favorite websites have great resources for parents to utilize at home as you prepare for the 21-22 school year.

Understood.org

Edutopia offers information on easing transition jitters, managing kids’ tech use, getting involved in the school, and more.

Arlington Public Schools: Return to School FAQs
Virginia Department of Education Resources
US Department of Education Return to School Roadmap
Center for Disease Control (CDC): Transitioning Back to School Resources
Children’s National Hospital: For Families – Returning to School During COVID-19
Formed Families Forward webinar: Back to School: How to Help Your Kids Manage Anxieties and Prepare for a Return to the “Normal” Classroom 

Your team at the PRC hopes you enjoy the remaining days of summer, and we look forward to connecting with you in 2021-22!

Kathleen Donovan, Special Education Coordinator, 703.228.2135
Gina DeSalvo, Special Education Coordinator, 703.228.2136
Emma Parral, Administrative Assistant, 703.228.7239

www.apsva.us/prc
prc@apsva.us