家长资源中心星期一寄语:14年2022月XNUMX日

星期一留言图片

 

 

ASEAC 十一月会议——15 月 7 日星期二晚上 XNUMX 点
在明天的阿灵顿特殊教育咨询委员会 (ASEAC) 会议上,首席多元化、公平与包容官 Jason Ottley 博士将介绍正在为所有人推出的偏见意识培训 APS 员工和社区。 会议将以来自挑战种族主义的 Alicia Jones McLeod 和 Dawn Kyser 主持的对话为特色。 为了确定该对话的锚点/主题,要求参与者收听播客 会议之前。  这是播客的链接:  在团队层面与偏见和不平等作斗争 — HBR IdeaCast


西班牙语特殊教育周六研讨会——19 月 XNUMX 日,周六

19 月 XNUMX 日星期六,家长资源中心与多元化、公平和包容办公室以及家庭和社区参与办公室合作,提供免费的 周六研讨会 关于从上午 8:30 到下午 2:00 为说西班牙语的家庭导航学生支持和特殊教育流程。 下面的活动部分提供了详细信息——请帮助宣传。 .使用此链接注册周六研讨会:https://forms.gle/nbTmCMuSkB5BStAJ9


您知道如何在心理健康危机中获得支持吗? 许多家庭都经历过与儿童或成人心理健康相关的危机。 幸运的是,阿灵顿拥有各种可用资源来支持家庭,但有时很难知道该给谁打电话或如何获得服务。 因此,请准备好在 30 月 XNUMX 日参加我们的午餐和学习活动,以了解更多有关为经历过生命周期的个人提供的危机服务的信息 心理健康和/或物质使用危机,包括为处于危机中的发育障碍人士提供的服务:

  • 区域危机呼叫中心
  • 社区区域危机应对 (CR2)
  • 达到
  • 紧急服务

危机服务午餐和学习的注册链接


查看这些新资源图形

 

 

 

 

规划寒假
对于学习和思考方式不同的孩子来说,假期可能会很艰难。 本来应该很有趣的事情——特别的节日大餐、与朋友和亲戚的闲聊——可能会带来压力。 缓解问题的一种方法是提前计划假期挑战。 了解.org 已经创造了 假日挑战工作表 您和您的孩子可以一起完成,以计划应对挑战并确定策略。 该工作表列出了常见的假期挑战。 与您的孩子一起划出适用的挑战——或者想出假期中困难的不同事情。 您可能需要帮助您的孩子想出策略。 对于想法,探索提示以帮助:

食物支持

许多家庭正在寻求额外的食物支持,以帮助他们的家人庆祝即将到来的假期。 阿灵顿县的食品安全协调员分享了一份清单 2022 年节日食品支持。 如需其他食品支持资源,请访问: https://www.arlingtonva.us/Government/Departments/DHS/Food-Assistance


活动预告图片

 

 

 

请访问我们的活动页面,网址为 www。apsva.us/prc-events 有关即将发生的时事的信息。

Parent Resource Center Monday Message: November 14, 2022

Monday Message image

 

 

ASEAC November Meeting – Tuesday, November 15 at 7pm
During tomorrow’s Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee (ASEAC) meeting, Dr. Jason Ottley, Chief Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Officer, will introduce the Bias Awareness training that is being rolled out for all APS employees and the community. The session will feature a conversation facilitated by Alicia Jones McLeod and Dawn Kyser from Challenging Racism. In order to have an anchor/topic for that conversation, participants are asked to listen to a podcast before the meeting.  Here is a link for the podcast:  Fighting Bias and Inequality at the Team Level — HBR IdeaCast


Special Education Saturday Seminar in Spanish – Saturday, November 19th

On Saturday, November 19th, in partnership with the Offices of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion and Family and Community Engagement, the Parent Resource Center is offering a free Saturday Seminar on navigating the Student Support and Special Education processes from 8:30am to 2:00pm for families who speak Spanish. Details are provided in our Events section below – please help spread the word. .Use this link to register for the Saturday Seminar: https://forms.gle/nbTmCMuSkB5BStAJ9


Do you know how to access support in a mental health crisis? Many families experience crises related to the mental health of a child or an adult. We are fortunate that Arlington has a variety of resources available to support families, but sometimes it’s hard to know who to call or how to access services. So, be prepared to connect with resources by joining us on November 30th for our Lunch & Learn to learn more about crisis services provided to individuals across the lifespan experiencing a mental health and/or substance use crisis, including services for individuals in crisis with developmental disabilities provided by:

  • Regional Crisis Call Center
  • Community Regional Crisis Response (CR2)
  • R.E.A.C.H.
  • Emergency Services

Registration link for Crisis Services Lunch & Learn


Check out these new resources graphic

 

 

 

 

Planning for Winter Holidays
The holidays can be hard for kids who learn and think differently. Things that are supposed to be fun – special holiday meals, chitchat with friends and relatives — can be stressful.  One way to mitigate issues is by planning for holiday challenges ahead of time. Understood.org has created a Holiday Challenges Worksheet that you and your child can complete together to plan for challenges and identify strategies. The worksheet lists common holiday challenges. Work with your child to mark off the challenges that apply – or come up with different things that are hard during the holidays. You may have to help your child come up with strategies. For ideas, explore tips to help with:

Food Supports

Many families are seeking additional food supports to help their families celebrate upcoming holidays. Arlington County’s Food Security Coordinator has shared a list of 2022 Holiday Food Supports. For additional food support resources, please visit: https://www.arlingtonva.us/Government/Departments/DHS/Food-Assistance


Upcoming Events image

 

 

 

Please visit our Events page at www.apsva.us/prc-events for information on upcoming current events.