家長資源中心每週寄語:4.13.21

四月13日, 2021

家長資源中心的問候。 我們期待著今天晚上7點歡迎來自美國國家心理健康研究所的Jamell White博士。 懷特博士將分享有關 兒童和青少年的煩躁.  在慶祝自閉症意識和接受月的同時,我們很高興我們出色的同事Deborah Hammer將與我們一起呈現 自閉症101 在星期四晚上7點。

你有準大學生嗎? 報名參加NOVA Vision Conference!
展望下週,我們鼓勵即將上大學的學生及其父母加入我們的行列。 NOVA視覺會議 20月7日星期二晚上XNUMX點。 無論您的孩子是去NOVA還是去另一所學院或大學,本課程都將提供寶貴的信息,以支持大學的成功,包括了解大學的住宿和殘障服務,學生小組以及家長問答環節。 父母/監護人可以在這裡註冊  或 學生可以在這裡註冊.

醫療補助信
最近,許多家庭收到了特殊教育辦公室關於醫療補助計劃的信件。 阿靈頓公立學校(APS)有機會向州醫療補助計劃開具賬單,以部分補償向殘障學生提供的與健康相關的服務。 該地區獲得這些資金對您孩子的教育計劃是有益的,因為從Medicaid收到的款項將用於抵消與教室工作人員,相關服務人員以及提供健康相關服務所使用的材料相關的費用。 您必須先獲得書面同意才能向州醫療補助計劃付款。 自2016年起, APS 開始參加醫療補助計劃後,許多父母都表示同意。 如果您最近收到這封信, APS 沒有記錄您的同意或拒絕同意的記錄。 無論您選擇同意還是不同意,都要求您在10天內閱讀,簽名並寄回預付郵資信封中的表格。 為了保密起見,同意書將由中央辦公室的醫療補助協調員保存,與您孩子所在學校的教育記錄分開。 您做出的表示同意的決定不會影響學生的個性化教育計劃(IEP)中列出的服務。 IEP團隊將根據您孩子的特定需求提供服務。 雖然一個 常見問題表 郵件中包含來自弗吉尼亞州醫療援助服務部的信息,如果您對報銷的目的或程序還有其他疑問,或者希望將來更改您的醫療補助同意狀態,我們強烈建議您與我們的同事Catina女士聯繫。 Claytor-Frye,醫療補助協調員,電話(703)228-6065。 Claytor-Frye女士非常開放並且樂於與家人交談,並歡迎您提出問題。


新資源徽標

四月是 壓力意識月 NAMI弗吉尼亞州藉此機會強調壓力對心理健康的影響,以及一些減少壓力的實用方法。
什麼是壓力?
壓力是身體和大腦的自動本能響應,可幫助您響應任何需求,通常稱為壓力源。 大腦被觸發釋放激素,從而增加某些身體系統(循環系統)並抑制其他激素(免疫,消化),從而增強您成功做出反應的能力。 壓力是正常現象,會影響所有人。 並非所有壓力都是有害的,但長期壓力會對您的身心健康產生有害影響。
我們如何減少壓力?
就像古老的諺語所說的那樣:“如果您沒有計劃,您就計劃失敗”,如果您要避免壓力和由此產生的焦慮,那就尤其如此! 觀看此視頻,了解更多!

查找其他資源 這裡。


活動預告圖片

兒童和青少年的煩躁情緒13月7日,星期二:8-30:XNUMXpm在這裡註冊歡迎加入我們,我們歡迎來自美國國家心理健康研究所(NIMH)的Jamell White博士,他將致力於解決兒童和青少年的煩躁不安問題,其中包括:

  • 定義什麼是煩躁
  • 討論易怒的共同主題
  • 識別煩躁和共病
  • 討論為什麼研究易怒性很重要以及如何在NIMH研究它
  • 找出煩躁的新療法; 和
  • 父母可以使用共享策略來應對煩躁。

Jamell White博士是美國國家心理健康研究所(NIMH)情感與發展處神經科學與新型治療學部門(NNT)的臨床工作人員。 懷特博士獲得博士學位。 來自馬里蘭大學人類發展與定量方法學。 她還擁有社會工作(美國天主教大學)和特殊教育(約翰·霍普金斯大學)碩士學位。 在加入NIMH之前,懷特博士的大部分臨床工作都專門針對患有自閉症譜系障礙及相關疾病的兒童,青少年和成人。查看活動傳單


四月是自閉症意識和接受月!
自閉症101
15月7日,星期四:晚上8點–晚上30:XNUMX
在這裡註冊
主持人:黛博拉·哈默(Deborah Hammer), APS 自閉症和低發病率殘疾專家
本課程將為父母和監護人提供自閉症譜系障礙(ASD)的概述,包括對ASD如何影響社交和溝通技巧,執行功能和感覺處理的解釋。 還將介紹成功的策略。
查看英語。西班牙自閉症101傳單


2021年NOVA視覺會議
20月7日,星期二:9-XNUMXpm
阿靈頓公立學校和北弗吉尼亞社區學院(NOVA)為殘障學生(擁有IEP或504計劃的學生)提供了學習大學住宿的機會。 虛擬會議將包括NOVA Disability Services的演講,學生小組和家長問答環節。如果您需要住宿才能參加此活動,請至少提前一周將您的請求發送至:Tracy Bell tbell@nvcc.edu
需要註冊。 請為每位參與者提交一份單獨的註冊表,並且請注意,還有單獨的學生註冊表。
父母/監護人:在此處註冊
學生:在這裡註冊

Conferencia NOVA視覺
Martes Abril 20:晚上7-9點
虛擬的APS 在大學期間適應性適應能力差的學生(在IEP飛機504上的學習機會)。 收到新的裁定書後,在新的裁談會/裁定的裁談會或裁談會上任職。 @ nvcc.edu
父母/監護人:註冊機構
學生:Registrarse aqui


阿靈頓特殊教育諮詢委員會(ASEAC)會議
27月7日,星期二:00:9pm – 00:XNUMX pm
虛擬會議–通過Zoom
即將註冊
縮放會議鏈接將發送給在會議之前註冊的人。 請注意,本次會議的業務部分將通過Zoom進行記錄。在每次會議開始時,ASEAC歡迎公眾提出有關殘障學生需求的意見。 APS。 請參閱ASEAC公共評論指南,網址為: https://www.apsva.us/special-education-advisory-committee 有關提交公眾意見的信息。 任何需要口譯服務的人員和/或需要口譯服務的殘障人士都應致電703.228.7239與家長資源中心聯繫,或 prc@aps價值 盡快請求協助。 還可以在註冊表格中請求服務。


了解過渡服務:與學生建立相互依存關係-第2部分
28月7日,星期三:00:9 pm-00:XNUMXpm
在這裡註冊
阿靈頓公立學校過渡服務,家長資源中心和就業準備計劃(PEP)繼續贊助每月的過渡系列。 隨著學生和兒童長大成人,我們經常努力支持他們獲得獨立。 通常被遺忘的是教他們相互依存。 人類具有建立互惠互利的有意義關係的能力。 這是相互依存的。 向殘疾人講授相互依存關係表明他們受到社會的重視,並表明與他人建立聯繫可以支持和豐富他們的生活。 過渡小組成員Christina Eagle和Karen Shimkus; 還有凱利山 PRC 協調員,繼續探索相互依存的重要性,並學習如何建立這種關鍵的終身技能的策略。
有關其他信息,請致電703-228-2136與Kelly Mountain聯繫或發送電子郵件至Kelly.mountain @apsva.us。

有關其他事件,請訪問我們的 活動頁面.

Parent Resource Center Weekly Message: 4.13.21

April 13, 2021

Greetings from the Parent Resource Center. We are looking forward to welcoming Dr. Jamell White from the National Institute of Mental Health this evening at 7pm. Dr. White will share information on Irritability in Children and Youth.  As we celebrate Autism Awareness and Acceptance Month, we are pleased that our wonderful colleague, Deborah Hammer, will join us to present Autism 101 on Thursday evening at 7pm.

Do you have a prospective college student? Sign up to attend the NOVA Vision Conference!
Looking ahead to next week, we encourage prospective college-bound students and their parents to join us for the NOVA Vision Conference on Tuesday, April 20th at 7pm. Whether your child is headed to NOVA or another college or university, this session will provide invaluable information that will support success in college, including learning about accommodations and disability services in college, a student panel and a parent Q&A session. Parents/Guardians can register here  and Students can register here.

Medicaid Letters
Many families have recently received letters from the Office of Special Education regarding the Medicaid program. Arlington Public Schools (APS) has the opportunity to bill the state Medicaid program for partial reimbursement for health-related services provided to students with disabilities. It is beneficial to your child’s educational program for the district to access these funds, as the monies received from Medicaid are used to offset the costs associated with classroom staff, related services staff, and materials used in the provision of health-related services. Your written consent to bill the state Medicaid program is required one time. Since 2016, when APS began participating in the Medicaid program, many parents have provided their consent. If you recently received this letter, APS does not have a record of your response granting or denying consent. Whether you choose to provide consent or not, you are asked to read, sign and return the form enclosed in the pre-paid postage envelope, within 10 days. For confidentiality purposes, the consent forms will be maintained by the Medicaid Coordinator at the central office, separate from your child’s educational records at his or her school. Your decision about providing consent does not influence the services listed on the student’s Individualized Education Program (IEP). Services will be provided based on your child’s specific needs as determined by the IEP team. Although a Frequently Asked Questions sheet from the Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services was included in the mailing, if you have further questions about the reimbursement purpose or process, or wish to change your Medicaid consent status in the future, we strongly encourage you to contact our colleague, Ms. Catina Claytor-Frye, Medicaid Coordinator at (703) 228-6065. Ms. Claytor-Frye is very open and amenable to talking with families, and welcomes your questions.


New resources logo

April is Stress Awareness Month and NAMI Virginia is taking the opportunity to highlight the impact of stress on mental health, and some practical ways we can reduce our stress.
What Is Stress?
Stress is an automatic, instinctual response by the body and brain to help you respond to any demand, commonly called a stressor. The brain is triggered to release hormones that increase some bodily systems (circulatory) and repress others (immune, digestion) to enhance your ability to respond successfully. Stress is a normal and affects everyone. Not all stress is bad, but long-term stress has a harmful impact on your physical and mental health.
How Can We Reduce Stress?
As the old adage goes, “if you fail to plan, you are planning to fail”, and this is especially true if you’re trying to avoid stress and resulting anxiety! Watch this video and learn more!

Find additional resources here.


Upcoming Events image

Irritability in Children and YouthTuesday, April 13th: 7-8:30pmRegister hereJoin us as we welcome Dr. Jamell White from the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) who will address irritability in children and adolescents, including:

  • Defining what irritability is
  • Discussing common themes in irritability
  • Identifying irritability and co-morbid disorders
  • Discussing why it is important to study irritability and how it’s studied at NIMH
  • Identifying new treatment for irritability; and
  • Sharing strategies parents can use to respond to irritability.

Dr. Jamell White is a staff clinician for the Neuroscience and Novel Therapeutics Unit (NNT) in the Emotion and Development Branch at the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH). Dr. White received her Ph.D. from the University of Maryland in Human Development and Quantitative Methodology. She also has master’s degrees in social work (Catholic University of America) and special education (Johns Hopkins University). Prior to coming to the NIMH, much of Dr. White’s clinical work specialized in working with children, adolescents and adults with Autism Spectrum Disorder and related disorders.View event flier


April is Autism Awareness and Acceptance Month!
Autism 101
Thursday, April 15th: 7pm – 8:30pm
Register here
Presenter: Deborah Hammer, APS Autism and Low Incidence Disability Specialist
This session will provide parents and guardians with an overview of Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD), including an explanation of how ASD impacts social and communication skills, executive functioning, and sensory processing. Strategies for success will also be introduced.
View English.Spanish Autism 101 Flier


NOVA Vision Conference 2021
Tuesday, April 20th: 7-9pm
Arlington Public Schools and Northern Virginia Community College (NOVA) are offering an opportunity for students with disabilities (students with IEPs or 504 Plans) to learn about accommodations in college. The virtual conference will include a presentation from NOVA Disability Services, a student panel, and a parent Question/Answer session.If you require accommodations in order to participate in this event, send your request at least one week in advance to: Tracy Bell tbell@nvcc.edu
Registration is required. Please submit an individual registration form for each participant, and please note that there is a separate form for student registration.
Parents/Guardians: Register here
Students: Register here

Conferencia NOVA Vision
Martes Abril 20: 7-9pm
Sesión virtualAPS y NOVA están ofreciendo una oportunidad para que los estudiantes con discapacidades (estudiantes con IEP y planes 504) aprendan sobre adaptaciones en la universidad. La conferencia incluirá una presentación de los Servicios para Discapacitados de NOVA, un panel de estudiantes y una sesión de Preguntas / Respuestas para los padres.Si necesita adaptaciones para poder participar, envíe su solicitud con al menos una semana de anticipación a:Tracy Bell tbell@nvcc.edu
Parents/Guardians: Registrarse aqui
Students: Registrarse aqui


Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee (ASEAC) Meeting
Tuesday, April 27th: 7:00pm – 9:00pm
Virtual Meeting –  via Zoom
Registration coming soon
The Zoom meeting link will be sent to those registered prior to the meeting. Please note that the business portion of this meeting will be recorded through Zoom.At the beginning of each meeting, ASEAC welcomes comments from the public regarding the needs of students with disabilities in APS. See the ASEAC Public Comment Guidelines at https://www.apsva.us/special-education-advisory-committee for information about submitting public comments. Any person who would like an interpreter and/or any person with a disability who needs accommodation to access the meeting should contact the Parent Resource Center at 703.228.7239 or prc@apsva.us as soon as possible to request assistance. There is also an option to request services in the registration form.


Understanding Transition Services: Building Interdependence with Our Students—Part 2
Wednesday, April 28: 7:00pm-9:00pm
Register here
Arlington Public Schools Transition Services, Parent Resource Center and Program for Employment Preparedness (PEP) continue to sponsor a monthly Transition Series. As students and children grow into adulthood, we often strive to support them in obtaining independence. What often gets left out is teaching them interdependence. Humans have the capacity for meaningful relationships with one another that are mutually beneficial. This is interdependence. Teaching interdependence to people with disabilities demonstrates that they are valued by society and shows how building connections with others can support and enrich their lives.Join Deborah Hammer, Autism and Low-Incidence Disability Specialist; Christina Eagle and Karen Shimkus, Transition Team Members; and  Kelly Mountain, PRC Coordinator, to continue to explore the importance of interdependence, and learn strategies for how to build this critical lifelong skill.
For additional information, contact Kelly Mountain at 703-228-2136 or Kelly.mountain@apsva.us.

For additional events, please visit our EVENTS PAGE.