الرسالة الأسبوعية لمركز موارد الوالدين: 4.13.21

أبريل 13

تحيات من مركز موارد الآباء. نتطلع إلى الترحيب بالدكتور جميل وايت من المعهد الوطني للصحة العقلية هذا المساء في الساعة 7 مساءً. سوف يشارك الدكتور وايت المعلومات حول التهيج عند الأطفال والشباب.  مع احتفالنا بشهر الوعي بالتوحد والقبول ، يسعدنا أن تنضم إلينا زميلتنا الرائعة ، ديبورا هامر ، لتقديم التوحد 101 مساء الخميس الساعة 7 مساءا.

هل لديك طالب جامعي محتمل؟ قم بالتسجيل لحضور مؤتمر NOVA Vision!
بالتطلع إلى الأسبوع المقبل ، نشجع الطلاب المحتملين الملتحقين بالكلية وأولياء أمورهم على الانضمام إلينا في مؤتمر رؤية نوفا يوم الثلاثاء 20 أبريل الساعة 7 مساءً. سواء كان طفلك متوجهًا إلى NOVA أو كلية أو جامعة أخرى ، ستوفر هذه الجلسة معلومات لا تقدر بثمن تدعم النجاح في الكلية ، بما في ذلك التعرف على أماكن الإقامة وخدمات الإعاقة في الكلية ، ولجنة الطلاب ، وجلسة أسئلة وأجوبة للوالدين. يمكن للوالدين / الأوصياء التسجيل هنا  و يمكن للطلاب التسجيل هنا.

رسائل مديكيد
تلقت العديد من العائلات مؤخرًا رسائل من مكتب التربية الخاصة بخصوص برنامج Medicaid. مدارس أرلينغتون العامة (APS) لديه الفرصة لإصدار فاتورة لبرنامج Medicaid للولاية مقابل السداد الجزئي للخدمات المتعلقة بالصحة المقدمة للطلاب ذوي الإعاقة. من المفيد لبرنامج طفلك التعليمي للمنطقة الوصول إلى هذه الأموال ، حيث يتم استخدام الأموال المستلمة من برنامج Medicaid لتعويض التكاليف المرتبطة بموظفي الفصل وموظفي الخدمات ذات الصلة والمواد المستخدمة في توفير الخدمات المتعلقة بالصحة. مطلوب موافقتك الكتابية على إصدار فاتورة لبرنامج Medicaid للولاية مرة واحدة. منذ عام 2016 ، متى APS بدأت المشاركة في برنامج Medicaid ، وقد قدم العديد من الآباء موافقتهم. إذا تلقيت هذه الرسالة مؤخرًا ، APS ليس لديه سجل لاستجابتك بمنح الموافقة أو رفضها. سواء اخترت تقديم الموافقة أم لا ، سيُطلب منك قراءة النموذج المرفق في مظروف البريد المدفوع مسبقًا والتوقيع عليه وإعادته ، في غضون 10 أيام. لأغراض السرية ، سيتم الاحتفاظ بنماذج الموافقة من قبل منسق Medicaid في المكتب المركزي ، منفصلة عن السجلات التعليمية لطفلك في مدرسته. لا يؤثر قرارك بشأن تقديم الموافقة على الخدمات المدرجة في برنامج التعليم الفردي للطالب (IEP). سيتم تقديم الخدمات بناءً على الاحتياجات الخاصة لطفلك على النحو الذي يحدده فريق IEP. على الرغم من أن أ ورقة الأسئلة المتداولة من قسم فرجينيا لخدمات المساعدة الطبية تم تضمينه في البريد ، إذا كانت لديك أسئلة أخرى حول غرض أو عملية السداد ، أو ترغب في تغيير حالة موافقة Medicaid الخاصة بك في المستقبل ، فنحن نشجعك بشدة على الاتصال بزميلتنا ، السيدة كاتينا Claytor-Frye ، منسق Medicaid على الرقم (703) 228-6065. السيدة كلايتور فري منفتحة للغاية وقادرة على التحدث مع العائلات ، وترحب بأسئلتك.


شعار الموارد الجديدة

أبريل هو شهر التوعية بالضغط النفسي و NAMI Virginia تنتهز الفرصة لتسليط الضوء على تأثير التوتر على الصحة العقلية ، وبعض الطرق العملية التي يمكننا من خلالها تقليل إجهادنا.
ما هو الإجهاد؟
الإجهاد هو استجابة تلقائية وغريزية من قبل الجسم والدماغ لمساعدتك على الاستجابة لأي طلب ، يُطلق عليه عادةً عامل الضغط. يتم تحفيز الدماغ على إفراز الهرمونات التي تزيد من بعض أجهزة الجسم (الدورة الدموية) وتقمع البعض الآخر (المناعة ، الهضم) لتعزيز قدرتك على الاستجابة بنجاح. التوتر أمر طبيعي ويؤثر على الجميع. ليس كل التوتر سيئًا ، لكن التوتر طويل الأمد له تأثير ضار على صحتك الجسدية والعقلية.
كيف يمكننا تقليل التوتر؟
كما يقول المثل القديم ، "إذا فشلت في التخطيط ، فأنت تخطط للفشل" ، وهذا صحيح بشكل خاص إذا كنت تحاول تجنب التوتر والقلق الناتج! شاهد هذا الفيديو وتعلم المزيد!

ابحث عن موارد إضافية هنا.


صورة الأحداث القادمة

الانفعال عند الأطفال والشباب الثلاثاء 13 أبريل: 7-8: 30 مساءًسجل هناانضم إلينا ونحن نرحب بالدكتور جميل وايت من المعهد الوطني للصحة العقلية (NIMH) الذي سيتناول التهيج لدى الأطفال والمراهقين ، بما في ذلك:

  • تحديد ما هو التهيج
  • مناقشة المواضيع المشتركة في التهيج
  • تحديد التهيج والاضطرابات المرضية المشتركة
  • مناقشة سبب أهمية دراسة التهيج وكيفية دراسته في NIMH
  • تحديد علاج جديد للتهيج. و
  • استراتيجيات المشاركة التي يمكن للوالدين استخدامها للاستجابة للتهيج.

الدكتور جميل وايت هو طبيب عام في وحدة علم الأعصاب والعلاجات الجديدة (NNT) في فرع العاطفة والتنمية في المعهد الوطني للصحة العقلية (NIMH). حصلت الدكتورة وايت على درجة الدكتوراه. من جامعة ماريلاند في التنمية البشرية والمنهجية الكمية. كما أنها حاصلة على درجة الماجستير في العمل الاجتماعي (الجامعة الكاثوليكية الأمريكية) والتربية الخاصة (جامعة جونز هوبكنز). قبل مجيئه إلى NIMH ، تخصص الكثير من العمل السريري للدكتور وايت في العمل مع الأطفال والمراهقين والبالغين المصابين باضطراب طيف التوحد والاضطرابات ذات الصلة.عرض نشرة الحدث


أبريل هو شهر التوعية بالتوحد والقبول!
التوحد 101
الخميس 15 أبريل: 7 مساءً - 8:30 مساءً
سجل هنا
تقديم: ديبورا هامر APS أخصائي التوحد والإعاقة منخفضة الحدوث
ستزود هذه الجلسة الآباء والأوصياء بنظرة عامة عن اضطرابات طيف التوحد (ASD) ، بما في ذلك شرح لكيفية تأثير اضطراب طيف التوحد على المهارات الاجتماعية والتواصلية ، والوظائف التنفيذية ، والمعالجة الحسية. كما سيتم تقديم استراتيجيات للنجاح.
عرض باللغة الإنجليزية. الإسبانية Autism 101 Flier


مؤتمر NOVA Vision 2021
الثلاثاء 20 أبريل: 7-9 مساءً
تقدم مدارس Arlington العامة وكلية Northern Virginia Community College (NOVA) فرصة للطلاب ذوي الإعاقة (الطلاب الذين لديهم IEPs أو 504 Plans) للتعرف على أماكن الإقامة في الكلية. سيتضمن المؤتمر الافتراضي عرضًا تقديميًا من NOVA Disability Services ، ولوحة طلابية ، وجلسة أسئلة / إجابة للوالدين. إذا كنت بحاجة إلى تسهيلات للمشاركة في هذا الحدث ، أرسل طلبك قبل أسبوع واحد على الأقل إلى: Tracy Bell tbell@nvcc.edu
التسجيل مطلوب. يرجى تقديم نموذج تسجيل فردي لكل مشارك ، ويرجى ملاحظة أن هناك استمارة منفصلة لتسجيل الطالب.
الآباء / الأوصياء: سجل هنا
الطلاب: سجل هنا

كونفيرينسيا نوفا فيجن
Martes Abril 20: 7-9 مساءً
Sesión افتراضيةAPS y NOVA están ofreciendo una oportunidad para que los estudiantes con discapacidades (estudiantes con IEP y planes 504) aprendan sobre adaptaciones en la universidad. La conferencia incluirá una presentación de los Servicios para Discapacitados de NOVA، un panel de estudiantes y una sesión de Preguntas / Respuestas para los padres. @ nvcc.edu
أولياء الأمور / الأوصياء: Registrarse aqui
الطلاب: Registrarse aqui


اجتماع اللجنة الاستشارية للتعليم الخاص في أرلينغتون (ASEAC)
الثلاثاء 27 أبريل: 7:00 مساءً - 9:00 مساءً
لقاء افتراضي - عبر Zoom
التسجيل قريبا
سيتم إرسال رابط Zoom الاجتماع إلى المسجلين قبل الاجتماع. يرجى ملاحظة أنه سيتم تسجيل جزء الأعمال من هذا الاجتماع من خلال Zoom. في بداية كل اجتماع ، ترحب ASEAC بالتعليقات من الجمهور فيما يتعلق باحتياجات الطلاب ذوي الإعاقة في APS. راجع إرشادات التعليق العام لـ ASEAC على https://www.apsva.us/special-education-advisory-committee للحصول على معلومات حول تقديم التعليقات العامة. يجب على أي شخص يرغب في الحصول على مترجم فوري و / أو أي شخص من ذوي الإعاقة ويحتاج إلى سكن للوصول إلى الاجتماع الاتصال بمركز موارد الآباء على الرقم 703.228.7239 أو prc@apsva.us في أقرب وقت ممكن لطلب المساعدة. يوجد أيضًا خيار لطلب الخدمات في نموذج التسجيل.


فهم خدمات الانتقال: بناء الترابط مع طلابنا - الجزء الثاني
الأربعاء 28 أبريل: 7:00 مساءً - 9:00 مساءً
سجل هنا
تواصل خدمات الانتقال في مدارس أرلينغتون العامة ومركز موارد أولياء الأمور وبرنامج الاستعداد للتوظيف (PEP) رعاية سلسلة انتقالية شهرية. عندما يكبر الطلاب والأطفال في سن الرشد ، نسعى في كثير من الأحيان إلى دعمهم في الحصول على الاستقلال. ما يتم استبعاده غالبًا هو تعليمهم الاعتماد المتبادل. يتمتع البشر بالقدرة على إقامة علاقات هادفة مع بعضهم البعض تعود بالنفع على بعضهم البعض. هذا هو الاعتماد المتبادل. يوضح تعليم الاعتماد المتبادل للأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة أن المجتمع يقدرهم ويظهر كيف يمكن لبناء علاقات مع الآخرين أن يدعم حياتهم ويثريها. انضم إلى ديبورا هامر ، أخصائية التوحد والإعاقة منخفضة الإصابة ؛ كريستينا إيجل وكارين شمكوس ، أعضاء الفريق الانتقالي ؛ وجبل كيلي ، PRC منسق ، لمواصلة استكشاف أهمية الترابط ، وتعلم استراتيجيات لكيفية بناء هذه المهارة الحاسمة مدى الحياة.
للحصول على معلومات إضافية ، اتصل بـ Kelly Mountain على 703-228-2136 أو Kelly.mountain @apsva.us.

لمزيد من الأحداث ، يرجى زيارة موقعنا صفحة الأحداث.

Parent Resource Center Weekly Message: 4.13.21

April 13, 2021

Greetings from the Parent Resource Center. We are looking forward to welcoming Dr. Jamell White from the National Institute of Mental Health this evening at 7pm. Dr. White will share information on Irritability in Children and Youth.  As we celebrate Autism Awareness and Acceptance Month, we are pleased that our wonderful colleague, Deborah Hammer, will join us to present Autism 101 on Thursday evening at 7pm.

Do you have a prospective college student? Sign up to attend the NOVA Vision Conference!
Looking ahead to next week, we encourage prospective college-bound students and their parents to join us for the NOVA Vision Conference on Tuesday, April 20th at 7pm. Whether your child is headed to NOVA or another college or university, this session will provide invaluable information that will support success in college, including learning about accommodations and disability services in college, a student panel and a parent Q&A session. Parents/Guardians can register here  and Students can register here.

Medicaid Letters
Many families have recently received letters from the Office of Special Education regarding the Medicaid program. Arlington Public Schools (APS) has the opportunity to bill the state Medicaid program for partial reimbursement for health-related services provided to students with disabilities. It is beneficial to your child’s educational program for the district to access these funds, as the monies received from Medicaid are used to offset the costs associated with classroom staff, related services staff, and materials used in the provision of health-related services. Your written consent to bill the state Medicaid program is required one time. Since 2016, when APS began participating in the Medicaid program, many parents have provided their consent. If you recently received this letter, APS does not have a record of your response granting or denying consent. Whether you choose to provide consent or not, you are asked to read, sign and return the form enclosed in the pre-paid postage envelope, within 10 days. For confidentiality purposes, the consent forms will be maintained by the Medicaid Coordinator at the central office, separate from your child’s educational records at his or her school. Your decision about providing consent does not influence the services listed on the student’s Individualized Education Program (IEP). Services will be provided based on your child’s specific needs as determined by the IEP team. Although a Frequently Asked Questions sheet from the Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services was included in the mailing, if you have further questions about the reimbursement purpose or process, or wish to change your Medicaid consent status in the future, we strongly encourage you to contact our colleague, Ms. Catina Claytor-Frye, Medicaid Coordinator at (703) 228-6065. Ms. Claytor-Frye is very open and amenable to talking with families, and welcomes your questions.


New resources logo

April is Stress Awareness Month and NAMI Virginia is taking the opportunity to highlight the impact of stress on mental health, and some practical ways we can reduce our stress.
What Is Stress?
Stress is an automatic, instinctual response by the body and brain to help you respond to any demand, commonly called a stressor. The brain is triggered to release hormones that increase some bodily systems (circulatory) and repress others (immune, digestion) to enhance your ability to respond successfully. Stress is a normal and affects everyone. Not all stress is bad, but long-term stress has a harmful impact on your physical and mental health.
How Can We Reduce Stress?
As the old adage goes, “if you fail to plan, you are planning to fail”, and this is especially true if you’re trying to avoid stress and resulting anxiety! Watch this video and learn more!

Find additional resources here.


Upcoming Events image

Irritability in Children and YouthTuesday, April 13th: 7-8:30pmRegister hereJoin us as we welcome Dr. Jamell White from the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) who will address irritability in children and adolescents, including:

  • Defining what irritability is
  • Discussing common themes in irritability
  • Identifying irritability and co-morbid disorders
  • Discussing why it is important to study irritability and how it’s studied at NIMH
  • Identifying new treatment for irritability; and
  • Sharing strategies parents can use to respond to irritability.

Dr. Jamell White is a staff clinician for the Neuroscience and Novel Therapeutics Unit (NNT) in the Emotion and Development Branch at the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH). Dr. White received her Ph.D. from the University of Maryland in Human Development and Quantitative Methodology. She also has master’s degrees in social work (Catholic University of America) and special education (Johns Hopkins University). Prior to coming to the NIMH, much of Dr. White’s clinical work specialized in working with children, adolescents and adults with Autism Spectrum Disorder and related disorders.View event flier


April is Autism Awareness and Acceptance Month!
Autism 101
Thursday, April 15th: 7pm – 8:30pm
Register here
Presenter: Deborah Hammer, APS Autism and Low Incidence Disability Specialist
This session will provide parents and guardians with an overview of Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD), including an explanation of how ASD impacts social and communication skills, executive functioning, and sensory processing. Strategies for success will also be introduced.
View English.Spanish Autism 101 Flier


NOVA Vision Conference 2021
Tuesday, April 20th: 7-9pm
Arlington Public Schools and Northern Virginia Community College (NOVA) are offering an opportunity for students with disabilities (students with IEPs or 504 Plans) to learn about accommodations in college. The virtual conference will include a presentation from NOVA Disability Services, a student panel, and a parent Question/Answer session.If you require accommodations in order to participate in this event, send your request at least one week in advance to: Tracy Bell tbell@nvcc.edu
Registration is required. Please submit an individual registration form for each participant, and please note that there is a separate form for student registration.
Parents/Guardians: Register here
Students: Register here

Conferencia NOVA Vision
Martes Abril 20: 7-9pm
Sesión virtualAPS y NOVA están ofreciendo una oportunidad para que los estudiantes con discapacidades (estudiantes con IEP y planes 504) aprendan sobre adaptaciones en la universidad. La conferencia incluirá una presentación de los Servicios para Discapacitados de NOVA, un panel de estudiantes y una sesión de Preguntas / Respuestas para los padres.Si necesita adaptaciones para poder participar, envíe su solicitud con al menos una semana de anticipación a:Tracy Bell tbell@nvcc.edu
Parents/Guardians: Registrarse aqui
Students: Registrarse aqui


Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee (ASEAC) Meeting
Tuesday, April 27th: 7:00pm – 9:00pm
Virtual Meeting –  via Zoom
Registration coming soon
The Zoom meeting link will be sent to those registered prior to the meeting. Please note that the business portion of this meeting will be recorded through Zoom.At the beginning of each meeting, ASEAC welcomes comments from the public regarding the needs of students with disabilities in APS. See the ASEAC Public Comment Guidelines at https://www.apsva.us/special-education-advisory-committee for information about submitting public comments. Any person who would like an interpreter and/or any person with a disability who needs accommodation to access the meeting should contact the Parent Resource Center at 703.228.7239 or prc@apsva.us as soon as possible to request assistance. There is also an option to request services in the registration form.


Understanding Transition Services: Building Interdependence with Our Students—Part 2
Wednesday, April 28: 7:00pm-9:00pm
Register here
Arlington Public Schools Transition Services, Parent Resource Center and Program for Employment Preparedness (PEP) continue to sponsor a monthly Transition Series. As students and children grow into adulthood, we often strive to support them in obtaining independence. What often gets left out is teaching them interdependence. Humans have the capacity for meaningful relationships with one another that are mutually beneficial. This is interdependence. Teaching interdependence to people with disabilities demonstrates that they are valued by society and shows how building connections with others can support and enrich their lives.Join Deborah Hammer, Autism and Low-Incidence Disability Specialist; Christina Eagle and Karen Shimkus, Transition Team Members; and  Kelly Mountain, PRC Coordinator, to continue to explore the importance of interdependence, and learn strategies for how to build this critical lifelong skill.
For additional information, contact Kelly Mountain at 703-228-2136 or Kelly.mountain@apsva.us.

For additional events, please visit our EVENTS PAGE.