APS بيان صحفي

ريد غولدشتاين لرئاسة مجلس إدارة المدرسة

رئيس مجلس إدارة المدرسة ريد جولدشتاين 2022-23

اختيرت كريستينا دياز توريس نائبة للرئيس 

عقد مجلس مدرسة أرلينغتون اليوم اجتماعه التنظيمي السنوي للعام الدراسي 2022-23 وانتخب ريد غولدشتاين رئيساً وكريستينا دياز توريس نائباً للرئيس. تبدأ شروط الرئيس ونائب الرئيس الجديدين على الفور وستستمر حتى 30 يونيو 2023.

قال غولدستين: "نحن في وقت فريد". "أنا متفائل بأننا مقبلون على العام الدراسي دون أن نواجه خطرًا كبيرًا على الصحة العامة والتغيب عن العمل بسبب نوع آخر من الجائحة. نحتاج دائمًا إلى توخي الحذر لنكون آمنين ، لكنني أعتقد أنه يمكننا أن نتطلع إلى عام دراسي يكون ملفه الصحي العام حقًا في مرحلة ما بعد الوباء ".

تحدث غولدشتاين في ملاحظاته عن الالتحاق وتحسين المرافق القديمة. "في الوقت نفسه ، نتوقع فقط زيادة متواضعة في الالتحاق خلال السنوات العشر القادمة. بدلاً من لعب اللحاق بالركب لبناء المقاعد ، كما فعلنا في معظم العقد الماضي ، يمكننا تحويل موارد تحسين رأس المال لدينا إلى تجديد وتجديد المرافق القديمة القائمة ، والتي يكون بعضها قريبًا أو بعيدًا عن حياتها المادية المفيدة ".

تحدث غولدشتاين عن الحاجة إلى تحقيق أقصى استفادة من وضعنا الفريد للتنقل في حياة ما بعد الجائحة ، ونمو التسجيل المنخفض وارتفاع الإيرادات ، مع جذب موظفين ذوي جودة عالية ، والتفاف حول رؤية المشرف المتجذرة في الخطة الإستراتيجية وطمأنة المجتمع بأننا ستتابع رؤى مستقبل النظام المدرسي. "كيف؟ من خلال بناء ثقة المجتمع. من خلال التطلع إلى الأمام. بالقول ، نعم ، نستطيع. نعم نحن سوف. نعم ، التغيير سيؤدي إلى التحسن. نعم ، يمكنني المساهمة ".

"التنقل في مهمة النظام المدرسي مليء دائمًا بالتحديات في عالم يتسم بالتغير السريع في ضغوطات الصحة الاجتماعية والعاطفية والعقلية للطلاب ؛ تقنيات جديدة عدم اليقين السياسي نقص الموظفين ؛ تهديدات الصحة العامة ؛ والمنهجيات التعليمية الناشئة ". "نحن نعرف تحدياتنا. نريد التعاون مع الجميع في مجتمع المدرسة. أدعو المجتمع جنبًا إلى جنب للتعاون - للمساهمة - للمساهمة في APS المهمة - رفعها إلى مستوى أعلى من الفعالية ، وفي العملية ، رفع مجتمعنا إلى مستوى أعلى من الرغبة ".

انتهى بمطالبة المجتمع بالمساهمة من خلال الانضمام إلى PTA في مدرستك ، أو التطوع في فصل دراسي ، أو من خلال الانضمام إلى مجلس إدارة المدرسة أو اللجنة الاستشارية للمشرف. غولدشتاين ممتلئ يمكن العثور على الملاحظات هنا.

عن ريد غولدشتاين
رئيس مجلس إدارة المدرسة ريد غولدشتاينريد غولدشتاين انضم إلى مجلس إدارة المدرسة في 1 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2016. وقد عاش في أرلينغتون لأكثر من 30 عامًا ولديه ابنتان تخرجتا من APS. لدى غولدشتاين سجل حافل في المناصرة والعمل التطوعي لمنطقته ، APS ومجتمع أرلينغتون الأكبر. قبل انتخابه لمجلس المدرسة ، عمل في المجلس الاستشاري للتعليم ، ولجنة التخطيط الاستراتيجي للمشرف ، ومجلس مقاطعة PTAs ، ورئيس اللجنة الاستشارية لأولياء الأمور HB Woodlawn ، ولجنة مدارس Arlington Civic Federation ، وكان عضوًا نشطًا في منظمات الآباء والمعلمين في جميع مدارس أبنائه. 

عن نائب الرئيس كريستينا دياس توريس
كريستينا دياز توريس عضو مجلس إدارة المدرسةكريستينا دياز توريس انضمت إلى مجلس إدارة المدرسة في 1 يناير 2021. وهي معلمة سابقة ومتخصصة في سياسة التعليم ولديها خبرة في الفصل الدراسي ، وتحصل على البيانات ، وتعتقد أن لكل طالب الحق في النجاح. وهي مدافعة منذ فترة طويلة عن الطلاب في أرلينغتون وعملت سابقًا في العديد من لجان مجلس مدرسة أرلينغتون الرئيسية ولجان مجلس المقاطعة. كريستينا هي لاتينية فخورة وثنائية اللغة وثنائية الثقافة ولدت في بوسطن وترعرعت بين نيو إنجلاند وموطن عائلتها سان خوان ، بورتوريكو. قبل انتخابها في مجلس إدارة المدرسة ، كانت كريستينا مدرسًا مساعدًا لمرحلة ما قبل المدرسة في مدينة نيويورك ومعلمة رياضيات في مدرسة ثانوية في لاس فيغاس ، حيث اختبرت بشكل مباشر كيف تسير السياسة في المدارس. أصبحت فيما بعد مستشارة في سياسة التعليم تدعم المناطق التعليمية ووكالات التعليم بالولاية والمنظمات التعليمية في جميع أنحاء البلاد لتحسين نتائج الطلاب من خلال إنشاء أنظمة وسياسات قائمة على الأدلة. تعمل كريستينا الآن في منظمة تنمية القيادة ، وتساعد القادة المدنيين والمنتخبين في القضاء على التفاوتات التعليمية في جميع أنحاء البلاد. 

الاجتماع القادم لمجلس المدرسة:
سيعقد مجلس إدارة المدرسة اجتماعه العادي التالي (2110 Washington Blvd.) يوم الخميس ، 19 يوليو في الساعة 7 مساءً. سيتم نشر جدول الأعمال قبل أسبوع واحد من الاجتماع في بورد دوكس.

للمزيد من المعلومات:
يجب على أعضاء المجتمع الذين يرغبون في التعليق على أي عناصر تمت مناقشتها في اجتماع مجلس المدرسة إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى مجلس الإدارة على لوحة المدرسة@apsva.us أو اتصل على 703-228-6015. يمكن لأعضاء المجتمع الاتصال بالرقم 703-228-2400 يوم الاثنين بعد اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة للاستماع إلى ملخص الاجتماع. يتم أيضًا بث اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة مباشرة على Comcast Cable Channel 70 و Verizon FiOS Channel 41 ؛ بث مباشر على APS الموقع الإلكتروني ، وإعادة البث يوم الجمعة الساعة 9 مساءً ويوم الاثنين الساعة 7:30 مساءً بعد الاجتماع مباشرة. سيتم نشر جميع المواد والدقائق على موقع الويب في شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/schoolboard بناء على موافقة مجلس المدرسة في اجتماع لاحق.

APS News Release

Reid Goldstein to Chair School Board

School Board Chair Reid Goldstein 2022-23

Cristina Diaz-Torres selected as vice-chair 

Today, the Arlington School Board held its annual organizational meeting for the 2022-23 school year and elected Reid Goldstein as Chair and Cristina Diaz-Torres as Vice-Chair. The terms for the new Chair and Vice-Chair begin immediately and will continue until June 30, 2023.

“We are at a unique time,” said Goldstien. “I am optimistic that we are heading into a school year without the threat to significant public health and absenteeism brought on by another pandemic variant. We always need to be alert to be safe, but I believe we can look forward to a school year whose public health profile is truly post-pandemic.”

In his remarks, Goldstein talked about enrollment and improving older facilities. “At the same time, we are projecting only a modest enrollment increase over the next 10 years. Instead of playing catch-up to build seats, as we have in most of the last decade, we can turn our capital improvement resources to renewing and refurbishing existing older facilities, some of which are near, or beyond, their useful physical life.”

Goldstein talked about the need to make the best of our unique situation of navigating-post pandemic life, low enrollment growth and rising revenues, while attracting high-quality staff, rallying around the Superintendent’s vision rooted in the Strategic Plan and assuring the community that we will follow through with the visions for the school system’s future. “How?  By building community trust. By looking forward. By saying, Yes, we can. Yes, we will. Yes, change will lead to improvement. Yes, I can contribute.”

“Navigating the mission of a school system is always filled with challenges in a world of rapidly changing student social, emotional, and mental health pressures; new technologies; political uncertainties; staff shortages; public health threats; and emerging instructional methodologies,” Goldstein added. “We know our challenges. We want to collaborate with everyone in the school community. I invite the community along to collaborate – to contribute – to contribute to our APS mission – bringing it to a higher level of effectiveness, and in the process, bringing our community to a higher level of desirability.”

He finished by asking the community to contribute by joining your school’s PTA, volunteer in a classroom, or by joining a School Board or Superintendent’s Advisory Committee. Goldstein’s full remarks can be found here.

About Reid Goldstein
School Board Chair Reid GoldsteinReid Goldstein joined the School Board on Jan. 1, 2016. He has lived in Arlington for over 30 years and has two daughters who graduated from APS. Goldstein has an extensive record of advocacy and volunteerism for his neighborhood, APS and the greater Arlington community. Prior to his election to the School Board, he served on the Advisory Council on Instruction, Superintendent’s Strategic Planning Committee, County Council of PTAs, Chair of the H-B Woodlawn Parent Advisory Committee, Arlington Civic Federation Schools Committee, and was an active member of the parent-teacher organizations in all his children’s schools. 

About Vice Chair Cristina Dias-Torres
cristina diaz-torres school board memberCristina Diaz-Torres joined the school board on January 1, 2021. She is a former teacher and education policy specialist with experience in the classroom, who gets the data, and who believes every student has a right to succeed. She is a longtime advocate for students in Arlington and has previously served on several key Arlington School Board and County Board commissions. Cristina is a proud, bilingual and bi-cultural Latina born in Boston and raised between New England and her family’s native San Juan, Puerto Rico. Before being elected to the School Board, Cristina was a preschool assistant teacher in New York City and a high school math teacher in Las Vegas, where she experienced firsthand how policy plays out in schools. She later became an education policy consultant supporting school districts, state education agencies, and education organizations across the country to improve student outcomes by creating evidence-based systems and policies. Now, Cristina works at a leadership development organization, helping civic and elected leaders eradicate educational inequities across the country. 

Next School Board Meeting:
The School Board will hold its next Regular Meeting (2110 Washington Blvd.) on Thu, July 19 at 7 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.

For More Information:
Community members who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Community members may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.