APS 新聞發布

Reid Goldstein 擔任學校董事會主席

學校董事會主席里德·戈德斯坦 2022-23

克里斯蒂娜·迪亞茲-托雷斯被選為副主席 

今天,阿靈頓學校董事會舉行了 2022-23 學年的年度組織會議,並選舉 Reid Goldstein 為主席,Cristina Diaz-Torres 為副主席。 新主席和副主席的任期立即開始,將持續到 30 年 2023 月 XNUMX 日。

“我們正處於一個獨特的時期,”Goldstien 說。 “我樂觀地認為,我們正在進入一個不會對公共衛生和另一個大流行變種造成的嚴重缺勤構成威脅的學年。 我們總是需要保持警惕以確保安全,但我相信我們可以期待一個公共衛生狀況真正處於大流行後的學年。”

在他的講話中,戈爾茨坦談到了入學和改善舊設施。 “與此同時,我們預計未來 10 年入學人數只會小幅增加。 我們可以將我們的資本改進資源用於更新和翻新現有的舊設施,而不是像過去十年的大部分時間那樣追趕建造座位,其中一些設施接近或超過其有用的物理壽命。”

Goldstein 談到需要充分利用我們在大流行後生活、入學率低增長和收入增加的獨特情況,同時吸引高素質的員工,團結在學監植根於戰略計劃中的願景,並向社區保證,我們將貫徹學校系統未來的願景。 “如何? 通過建立社區信任。 通過期待。 通過說,是的,我們可以。 是的,我們會。 是的,改變會帶來進步。 是的,我可以做出貢獻。”

“在學生社會、情感和心理健康壓力迅速變化的世界中,駕馭學校系統的使命總是充滿挑戰; 新技術; 政治不確定性; 人員短缺; 公共衛生威脅; 和新興的教學方法,”Goldstein 補充道。 “我們知道我們面臨的挑戰。 我們希望與學校社區中的每個人合作。 我邀請社區一起合作 - 貢獻 - 為我們的 APS 使命——將其提高到更高水平的有效性,並在此過程中,使我們的社區達到更高水平的可取性。”

最後,他要求社區通過加入您學校的 PTA、在課堂上做志願者或加入學校董事會或學監諮詢委員會來做出貢獻。 戈德斯坦的全 備註可以在這裡找到.

關於里德·戈德斯坦
學校董事會主席里德·戈德斯坦里德·戈德斯坦 他於1年2016月30日加入學校董事會。他在阿靈頓生活了XNUMX多年,育有兩個女兒。 APS. 戈爾茨坦在為他的社區進行宣傳和志願服務方面有著廣泛的記錄, APS 和更大的阿靈頓社區。 在當選學校董事會成員之前,他曾在教學諮詢委員會、學監戰略規劃委員會、PTA 縣議會、HB Woodlawn 家長諮詢委員會主席、阿靈頓公民聯合會學校委員會任職,並且是在他所有孩子的學校裡都有家長教師組織。 

關於副主席克里斯蒂娜·迪亞斯-托雷斯
克里斯蒂娜·迪亞斯·托雷斯學校董事會成員克里斯蒂娜·迪亞茲·托雷斯(Cristina Diaz-Torres) 她於 1 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日加入學校董事會。她曾是一名教師和教育政策專家,在課堂上擁有豐富的經驗,能夠獲取數據,並相信每個學生都有成功的權利。 她是阿靈頓學生的長期倡導者,此前曾在幾個主要的阿靈頓學校董事會和縣委員會委員會任職。 克里斯蒂娜是一位自豪、雙語和雙文化的拉丁裔,出生在波士頓,在新英格蘭和她家人的家鄉波多黎各聖胡安之間長大。 在被選入校務委員會之前,克里斯蒂娜是紐約市的一名學前助理教師和拉斯維加斯的一名高中數學教師,在那裡她親身體驗了政策在學校中的作用。 她後來成為一名教育政策顧問,支持全國各地的學區、州教育機構和教育組織通過創建循證系統和政策來提高學生的學習成績。 現在,克里斯蒂娜在一個領導力發展組織工作,幫助公民和民選領導人消除全國的教育不平等。 

下次校務委員會會議:
校務委員會將於 2110 月 19 日星期四晚上 7 點舉行下一次例會(華盛頓大道 XNUMX 號)。議程將在會議前一周發佈於 董事會文件.

了解更多信息:
想要對學校董事會會議上討論的任何項目發表評論的社區成員應向董事會發送電子郵件至 學校董事會@aps價值 或致電 703-228-6015。 社區成員可在學校董事會會議後的星期一致電 703-228-2400 聽取會議摘要。 校務委員會會議也在康卡斯特有線頻道 70 和威瑞森 FiOS 頻道 41 上直播; 現場直播 APS 網站,並在會議結束後的周五晚上9點和周一晚上7:30重新廣播。 所有材料和會議記錄將發佈到網站上 萬維網。apsva.us/學校董事會 經校務委員會在隨後的會議上批准。

APS News Release

Reid Goldstein to Chair School Board

School Board Chair Reid Goldstein 2022-23

Cristina Diaz-Torres selected as vice-chair 

Today, the Arlington School Board held its annual organizational meeting for the 2022-23 school year and elected Reid Goldstein as Chair and Cristina Diaz-Torres as Vice-Chair. The terms for the new Chair and Vice-Chair begin immediately and will continue until June 30, 2023.

“We are at a unique time,” said Goldstien. “I am optimistic that we are heading into a school year without the threat to significant public health and absenteeism brought on by another pandemic variant. We always need to be alert to be safe, but I believe we can look forward to a school year whose public health profile is truly post-pandemic.”

In his remarks, Goldstein talked about enrollment and improving older facilities. “At the same time, we are projecting only a modest enrollment increase over the next 10 years. Instead of playing catch-up to build seats, as we have in most of the last decade, we can turn our capital improvement resources to renewing and refurbishing existing older facilities, some of which are near, or beyond, their useful physical life.”

Goldstein talked about the need to make the best of our unique situation of navigating-post pandemic life, low enrollment growth and rising revenues, while attracting high-quality staff, rallying around the Superintendent’s vision rooted in the Strategic Plan and assuring the community that we will follow through with the visions for the school system’s future. “How?  By building community trust. By looking forward. By saying, Yes, we can. Yes, we will. Yes, change will lead to improvement. Yes, I can contribute.”

“Navigating the mission of a school system is always filled with challenges in a world of rapidly changing student social, emotional, and mental health pressures; new technologies; political uncertainties; staff shortages; public health threats; and emerging instructional methodologies,” Goldstein added. “We know our challenges. We want to collaborate with everyone in the school community. I invite the community along to collaborate – to contribute – to contribute to our APS mission – bringing it to a higher level of effectiveness, and in the process, bringing our community to a higher level of desirability.”

He finished by asking the community to contribute by joining your school’s PTA, volunteer in a classroom, or by joining a School Board or Superintendent’s Advisory Committee. Goldstein’s full remarks can be found here.

About Reid Goldstein
School Board Chair Reid GoldsteinReid Goldstein joined the School Board on Jan. 1, 2016. He has lived in Arlington for over 30 years and has two daughters who graduated from APS. Goldstein has an extensive record of advocacy and volunteerism for his neighborhood, APS and the greater Arlington community. Prior to his election to the School Board, he served on the Advisory Council on Instruction, Superintendent’s Strategic Planning Committee, County Council of PTAs, Chair of the H-B Woodlawn Parent Advisory Committee, Arlington Civic Federation Schools Committee, and was an active member of the parent-teacher organizations in all his children’s schools. 

About Vice Chair Cristina Dias-Torres
cristina diaz-torres school board memberCristina Diaz-Torres joined the school board on January 1, 2021. She is a former teacher and education policy specialist with experience in the classroom, who gets the data, and who believes every student has a right to succeed. She is a longtime advocate for students in Arlington and has previously served on several key Arlington School Board and County Board commissions. Cristina is a proud, bilingual and bi-cultural Latina born in Boston and raised between New England and her family’s native San Juan, Puerto Rico. Before being elected to the School Board, Cristina was a preschool assistant teacher in New York City and a high school math teacher in Las Vegas, where she experienced firsthand how policy plays out in schools. She later became an education policy consultant supporting school districts, state education agencies, and education organizations across the country to improve student outcomes by creating evidence-based systems and policies. Now, Cristina works at a leadership development organization, helping civic and elected leaders eradicate educational inequities across the country. 

Next School Board Meeting:
The School Board will hold its next Regular Meeting (2110 Washington Blvd.) on Thu, July 19 at 7 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.

For More Information:
Community members who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Community members may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.