APS 新闻发布

校务委员会通过《 2018-24年战略计划》的使命,愿景,核心价值观和目标

批准具有扩展标准的新学校命名政策
指示总监开始对华盛顿李高中进行更名

在7月2018日的会议上,学校董事会通过了24-XNUMX年度的使命,愿景,核心价值观和目标 APS 作为学校董事会和咨询委员会,学校和部门计划以及个人工作计划的框架的战略计划。

董事会指示学监制定战略的最终战略,期望的结果和战略计划的绩效目标,以在XNUMX月获得学校委员会的批准。

新的目标提供了重点领域,这些领域是运营和计划的框架,并使学生成为一切工作的中心 APS 将做并专注于以下方面:

  • 所有学生获得成功的多种途径;
  • 健康,安全和受支持的学生;
  • 敬业的员工;
  • 卓越运营; 和
  • 强有力的相互支持的伙伴关系。

XNUMXD压花不锈钢板 APS 战略计划于1月XNUMX日生效。 可在线.  

修订学校董事会政策(SBP)50-1.10设施命名
董事会批准了对 APS 关于设施命名的政策50-1.10。 这些修订包括扩展命名新标准的条件。 APS 学校和设施,以及在考虑未来的学校重命名请求时为学校董事会增加的流程。

董事会还批准了针对华盛顿李高中启动社区审查和重命名过程的建议,因为罗伯特·E·李的名字与新采用的名字不符。 APS 学校命名标准。 因此,董事会指示总监在2018年2018月之前确定华盛顿李高中重命名委员会的成员。根据该规定,学校重命名委员会的工作将持续到XNUMX年秋季。 APS 命名设施实施程序50-1.10,并在2018年XNUMX月之前提交华盛顿-李新名称的建议,以供学校委员会审议和批准。

陈述,执行局通过的资源和动议是 在BoardDocs上可用.  

其他行动项目:
董事会批准还批准了以下项目:

  • 修订学校董事会政策20-3.400家庭生活教育 –董事会批准了对家庭生活教育政策的建议修订。
  • 修订学校董事会政策20-3.600中学高中学分– 董事会批准了对政策的修订,该政策指导了 APS 中学生学习高中课程并获得高中学分。
  • 修订SBP 20-1.9本地授予的认证学分 –工作人员提出了修订意见,将根据弗吉尼亚州教育部的信息对政策进行更新。
  • 更改威尔逊新学校的保证最高价格 –董事会批准增加威尔逊GMP合同,单个变更单金额为624,538美元。

有关这些项目的更多信息是 在BoardDocs上可用.  

  • 监控项目:
    基本规划倡议更新 –工作人员向学校董事会提供了有关拟议的2018年秋季建立小学边界的程序的监督报告。 新的小学界线将于2019年XNUMX月生效 APS 通过开设新的爱丽丝舰队小学,将增加752个新的小学座位; 将蒙特梭利计划移至亨利大厦; 并开设了Drew示范学校作为完整的邻里学校。

该边界过程将:

  • 为Fleet and Drew创建新的出勤区;
  • 平衡所涉及小学的入学率;
  • 适用于所有在2019-20年度就读小学的学生,包括目前在学前班至2017年级的18-3届学生; 和
  • 帮助家庭为将于2019年XNUMX月生效的变更做准备。

2018年秋季小学边界流程中将包括的学校包括:德鲁; 亨利(车队); 霍夫曼波士顿 奥克里奇和伦道夫。 来自阿宾登的计划单位; 阿灵顿科学重点学校(ASFS); 巴克罗夫特 卡林斯普林斯; Long Branch和Taylor可能会包含在2018年秋季的边界流程或2020年春季的未来小学边界流程中,这将为Reed的小学开放创建一个新的出勤区。

工作人员还概述了将在此过程中使用的政策考虑因素,并提出了拟议的时间表以及有关该计划的社区参与的详细信息。 今年夏天将提供信息和活动,并在2018月和XNUMX月进行更深入的努力,包括社区会议和公共听证会。 学校董事会计划于XNUMX年XNUMX月就小学边界建议采取行动。

欲了解更多信息,请访问 https://www.apsva.us/elementary-school-boundary-change/.

  • 教学咨询委员会(ACI)的年度报告 –工作人员报告了ACI的建议; 重点领域和员工反应。 建议和工作人员的回应是 可在这里.  

信息项:

  • 校务委员会拟议的2019-2028年资本改善计划 –校务委员会提出了其拟议的CIP,该CIP预计在10年CIP期间,所有学校的入学人数将继续增长。 尚未做出任何决定,董事会将在12月XNUMX日星期二举行另一次工作会议。SB的拟议CIP包括:
  • 芦苇计划新增725个基本座位,计划于2021年开放,以及
  • 2021年将有更多高中生开放
    • 600在教育中心和
    • 250英镑的阿灵顿理工大学(职业中心)将于2021年开业
    • 800年在职业中心获得2024
  • 计划在10年CIP范围之外增加席位,包括
    • 725年将增加750-2029个基本座位。
    • 300年将增加2030个中学位置

董事会要求工作人员探索职业中心的另一项调整。 该信息将在12月21日的工作会议上准备。在XNUMX月XNUMX日的会议上,董事会通过CIP进行债券公投。

  • 拟议的SBP 40-3.1未付餐费 –员工对政策进行了修订,使其符合美国农业部和弗吉尼亚法规的要求。 建议的政策是 可在线.
  • 修订SBP 25-1.12的上课时间/义务教育– 向委员会提供了有关SBP 25-12的最新信息。
  • Drew物业的历史标记许可协议– 拟议的协议允许阿灵顿县使用学校包裹的一部分来建设,安装,使用和维护五个面板,以显示有关纳克社区和社区历史的信息。
  • 约克镇高中内部修改的建筑和工程服务合同修正案– 工作人员建议董事会批准对增加范围的合同修正案,金额为46,669美元,并确定538,854.92美元作为项目的固定价格总额。
  • Verizon缓解Barrett小学 –员工提出了拟议的Verizon地契协议,授予Verizon非专有的地役权和通行权,以向Barrett小学提供电话和互联网服务。

以上项目的信息是 在BoardDocs上可用. 

R认识:
校务委员会通过纪念 APS 已经宣布退休的工作人员。 董事会还认可了空军少校ROTC少年团在表彰他们的学业并在学年的会议上领导效忠誓词的服务。 最后,他们向AFJROTC指导老师Mark Dierlam上校表示祝贺,他是2018年度AFJROTC年度最佳指导老师。 

下次学校董事会会议:
2017-18学年的校务委员会最终会议将于21月2110日(星期四,华盛顿大道6号)星期四下午30:XNUMX举行。议程将在会议之前一周发布。 

更多信息:
想要对学校董事会会议上讨论的任何项目发表评论的公民,请通过以下方式向董事会发送电子邮件: 学校董事会@aps价值 or call 703-228-6015.或致电703-228-2400。 Citizens may call 70-41-XNUMX on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.在校务委员会会议结束后的周一,公民可以拨打XNUMX-XNUMX-XNUMX收听会议摘要。 School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有线频道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS频道XNUMX上还直播学校董事会会议; live-streamed on the现场直播 APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 pm and Mondays at 7:30 pm immediately following the meeting.网站,并在会议结束后的周五晚上XNUMX点和周一晚上XNUMX:XNUMX重新广播。 All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at所有材料和会议记录将发布到网站上  apsva.us/学校董事会 经校务委员会在随后的会议上批准。

APS News Release

School Board Adopts 2018-24 Strategic Plan Mission, Vision, Core Values and Goals

Approves New School Naming Policy with Expanded Criteria
Directs Superintendent to Begin Renaming Process for Washington-Lee High School

At its June 7 meeting, the School Board adopted the Mission, Vision, Core Values and Goals of the 2018-24 APS Strategic Plan that serves as a framework for the School Board and Advisory Committees, school and department plans, and individual work plans.

The Board directed the Superintendent to develop final strategies, desired outcomes, and performance objectives of the strategic plan for School Board approval in September.

The new goals provide the areas of focus that are the framework for operations and planning and keep students at the center of everything APS will do and focus on, including:

  • Multiple Pathways to Success for All Students;
  • Healthy, Safe and Supported Students;
  • Engaged Workforce;
  • Operational Excellence; and
  • Strong and Mutually-Supportive Partnerships.

The APS Strategic Plan takes effect on July 1. The full presentation and Strategic Plan is available online.  

Revision of School Board Policy (SBP) 50-1.10 Naming of Facilities
The Board approved the revisions to the APS policy 50-1.10 on Naming of Facilities. These revisions include the expanded criteria for naming new APS schools and facilities and the added process for the School Board when considering future school renaming requests.

The Board also approved the recommendation to initiate a community review and renaming process for Washington-Lee High School because Robert E. Lee’s name does not meet the with the newly-adopted APS School Naming Criteria. Accordingly, the Board directed the Superintendent to identify members of the Washington-Lee High School Renaming Committee by September 2018. The School Renaming Committee will be charged to work through the fall of 2018, in accordance with the APS Naming of Facilities Implementation Procedures 50-1.10, and to submit a recommendation for a new name for Washington-Lee by December 2018, for consideration and approval by the School Board.

The presentation along with resources and the motions adopted by the Board are available on BoardDocs.  

OTHER ACTION ITEMS:
The Board approved also approved the following items:

  • Revision of School Board Policy 20-3.400 Family Life Education – The Board approved the recommended revisions to the Family Life Education policy.
  • Revision of School Board Policy 20-3.600 High School Credit at Middle School – The Board approved revisions to the policy that guides opportunities for APS middle school students to study high school courses and earn high school credit.
  • Revision of SBP 20-1.9 Locally Awarded Verified Credit – Staff presented revisions that will update the policy based on information from the Virginia Department of Education.
  • Change to Guaranteed Maximum Price for the New School at Wilson – The Board approved an increase to the Wilson GMP contract with an individual change order of $624,538.

More information on these items is available on BoardDocs.  

  • MONITORING ITEMS:
    Elementary Planning Initiative Update – Staff provided a monitoring report to the School Board on the proposed Fall 2018 process to establish elementary school boundaries. New elementary school boundaries will take effect in September 2019 when APS will add 752 new elementary seats by opening the new Alice Fleet Elementary School; moving the Montessori program into the Henry building; and opening Drew Model School as full neighborhood school.

This Boundary process will:

  • Create new attendance zones for Fleet and Drew;
  • Balance enrollment across the elementary schools involved;
  • Apply to all students who will be in elementary school in 2019-20, including current 2017-18 students now in PreK through Grade 3; and
  • Help families prepare for the changes that will take effect in September 2019.

Schools to be included in the Fall 2018 elementary school boundary process include: Drew; Henry (Fleet); Hoffman-Boston; Oakridge and Randolph. Planning units from Abingdon; Arlington Science Focus School (ASFS); Barcroft; Carlin Springs; Long Branch and Taylor could potentially be included in either the Fall 2018 boundary process or the future elementary school boundary process in Spring 2020 that will create a new attendance zone for the elementary school opening at Reed.

Staff also outlined the policy considerations to be used in this process and presented a proposed timeline and details on the community engagement that will accompany the initiative. Information and activities will be available this summer, with more intensive efforts—including community meetings and a Public Hearing—taking place in September and October. The School Board is scheduled to act on elementary school boundary recommendations in November 2018.

For more information, visit https://www.apsva.us/elementary-school-boundary-change/.

  • Annual Report of the Advisory Council on Instruction (ACI) – Staff reported on the ACI recommendations; areas of focus and staff responses. The recommendations and staff responses are available here.  

INFORMATION ITEMS:

  • School Board’s Proposed 2019-2028 Capital Improvement Plan – The School Board presented its proposed CIP which anticipates continued enrollment growth across all school levels for the duration of the 10-year CIP. No decisions were made and the Board will hold another work session on Tue, June 12. The SB’s proposed CIP includes:
  • 725 new elementary seats at Reed, scheduled to open in 2021, and
  • More high school seats opening in 2021
    • 600 at the Education Center and
    • 250 for Arlington Tech (at the Career Center) that will open in 2021
    • 800 at the Career Center in 2024
  • Plans for additional seats beyond the range of the 10-year CIP including
    • 725-750 additional elementary seats in 2029.
    • 300 additional middle school seats in 2030

The Board asked staff to explore one more adjustment to the Career Center. That information will be prepared for the Work Session on June 12.  The Board adopts its CIP for the bond referendum at the June 21 meeting.

  • Proposed SBP 40-3.1 Unpaid Meal Charges – Staff presented revisions to the policy which will bring it in line with both USDA and Code of Virginia requirements. The proposed policy is available online.
  • Revision of SBP 25-1.12 School Hours/Compulsory Attendance – The Board was provided an update on SBP 25-12.
  • License Agreement for Historic Markers at the Drew Property – The proposed agreement permits Arlington County to use a portion of the School Parcel for constructing, installing, using, and maintaining five Panels to display information about the history of the Nauck neighborhood and community.
  • Contract Amendment for Architecture and Engineering Services for the Yorktown High School Internal Modifications – Staff is recommending that the Board approve a contract amendment of $46,669 for the added scope and establish $538,854.92 as the fixed-price total for the project.
  • Verizon Easement for Barrett Elementary School – Staff presented a proposed Verizon Deed of Easement Agreement granting Verizon a non-exclusive easement and right-of-way to provide telephone and Internet service to Barrett Elementary School.

Information on the above items is available on BoardDocs. 

RECOGNITIONS:
The School Board began the meeting by honoring APS staff who have announced their retirement. The Board also recognized the Air Force Junior ROTC Cadet Corps for their service presenting the colors and leading the Pledge of Allegiance at meetings during the school year. Finally, they congratulated AFJROTC Instructor Col. Mark Dierlam, the 2018 Overall AFJROTC Outstanding Instructor of the Year. 

NEXT SCHOOL BOARD MEETING:
The final School Board meeting of the 2017-18 school year will be held on Thu, June 21 (2110 Washington Blvd.) at 6:30 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs. 

FOR MORE INFORMATION:
Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.