APS 新闻发布

校务委员会在2021-22学年采用新的小学边界

西班牙语

3月2021日,校务委员会批准了小学边界的调整,以在重点地点为新的邻里学校创建一个出勤区,将阿灵顿科学重点学校(ASFS)放在其出勤区中,并为麦金利小学创建一个调整后的出勤区。学校,大多数学生随学校一起搬到Reed网站。 新边界将于XNUMX年秋季生效。

由于大流行和家庭压力,院长弗朗西斯科·杜兰(FranciscoDurán)博士将这一边界过程的范围从最初的县范围方法(涉及大多数邻里小学)缩窄到为确保2021-22年所有学校设施的使用而进行最少的重新分配。 由学校董事会批准的议案包括计划在2022年秋季于2023-24学年在全县范围内管理小学入学的程序。

“我们知道目前进行边界流程具有挑战性,我们感谢社区成员分享了他们的意见和问题,我们努力平衡使用所有学校设施的需求与希望影响尽可能少的学生的愿望”,阿灵顿学校董事会主席莫妮克·奥格雷迪(Monique O'Grady)说。 “感谢杜兰博士和他的团队与社区的联系以及他们为缩小该倡议的范围并为2022年下一个县级进程保留灵活性而付出的努力。至关重要的是,我们继续为学校的未来做计划部门,并准备满足所有学生的需求。 这项工作将在下半年的下一个资本改进计划中继续进行。”

杜兰博士(Durán)说:“我感谢学校董事会对参与并参与我们这一边界过程的社区成员的感谢。” “我们每天都听到家人关于他们面临的挑战的信息,很明显,大流行的特殊情况意味着我们此时只应尽量少分配学生。 对于那些重新分配到另一所学校的学生,请注意,我们的校长,教职员工和老师期待着你们中的每一个人。 我们的学校和中央办公室工作人员正在努力为所有学生提供支持,并在困难时期让家人了解边界和许多其他问题。”

规划单位调整
学校董事会通过的边界调整是针对重点站点上的新社区学校和当前的五所小学:阿什劳恩,ASFS,麦金莱,泰勒和塔卡霍。 在这个过程中 APS 正在将33个规划单位和大约630名K-4年级的当前学生(基于30年2020月120日的入学人数)分配给其他邻里小学。 校务委员会还批准了一项祖父规定,该规定为4多名当前的XNUMX年级学生提供了留在其当前学校的选择。

下列 规划单位 已被重新分配到2021-22学年,如下所示:

  • 从Ashlawn到ASFS: 23220,23230,23231
  • 从ASFS到关键站点的新学校: 24050,24051,24060,24070,24071,24130,24031,24030,24033,24032,24090,24040,24041,24042,24043,24081,24082
  • 从ASFS到Taylor: 24010,24011,24020
  • 从麦金利到阿什劳恩: 14100,14101,14110
  • 从泰勒到ASFS: 23170,23190,23180,23200,23210,23211
  • 从塔克霍(Tuckahoe)到里德(Reed)站点的麦金利(McKinley): 16061

居住在受新边界影响的计划部门的学生家庭将通过美国邮政服务局和 ParentVue 这个月。 家庭可以使用 APS 在线可搜索边界定位器 寻找他们的计划单位。

此外,目前位于麦金利出勤区的所有计划单位,除了14100、14101和14110(将于2021年秋季重新分配给阿什劳恩)外,都将随学校和教职员工一起搬到2021年位于里德的新大楼。 22 由于这些计划部门随学校一起移动,因此在边界过程中不认为它们已被重新分配。

祖父
校务委员会批准的“祖父”规定适用于所有目前处于4年级并希望留在当前小学的5-2021年级的22年级学校以及现任K-4年级的K-16061年级学生。规划单位2022,已被重新分配给位于Reed站点的McKinley,他希望在Tuckahoe继续学习到23-2021学年。 由于祖父身份有资格留在当前学校的学生仍可以选择在2022-XNUMX年就读于他们新分配的邻里学校。 根据祖父规定,不为选择留在当前学校的学生提供交通。

学生必须报名参加 APS 自7年2020月XNUMX日起有资格参加祖父活动。 除了通知所涉及的计划部门中的当前家庭外, APS 还将在经过重新分配的计划部门的4年级学生家庭中寻求帮助,这些学生在7年2020月2021日之前退学,以确认他们的学生是否会在22-XNUMX年重新入学,以及是否希望与他们当前的邻里学校结伴。 有关祖父的详细信息将在XNUMX月发送给符合条件的学生家庭,也可以从以下网站在线获取: 万维网。apsva.us/engage/fall2020elementaryboundaries/.

转学生
目前通过团队和同级转学方式参加ASFS的4年级学生将有资格在5-2021学年留在ASFS进行22年级。 所有通过转入阿什劳恩,麦金莱,泰勒和塔卡霍的学生都可以继续在其目前的学校就读。

2022年秋季管理小学入学的流程
学校董事会于3月XNUMX日通过的议案指示 APS 在2022年秋季实施全县范围的流程,以管理将于2023-24年生效的小学入学率。 在2022年,将考虑将可步行到达学校的计划单位重新分配到该学校,所有需要运输到附近学校的计划单位将被考虑重新分配到附近的另一所学校。 APS 为了避免在2022年流程中重新分配的2020年秋季流程中重新分配计划单位,可能会考虑将任何计划单位重新分配。

欲了解更多信息,请访问 万维网。apsva.us/engage/fall2020elementaryboundaries/.

APS News Release

School Board Adopts New Elementary School Boundaries for 2021-22 School Year

Español

On Dec. 3, the School Board approved elementary school boundary adjustments to create an attendance zone for the new neighborhood school at the Key site, place Arlington Science Focus School (ASFS) within its attendance zone, and create an adjusted attendance zone for McKinley Elementary School with most students moving with the school to the Reed site. The new boundaries will take effect in Fall 2021.

Due to the pandemic and stress on families, Superintendent Dr. Francisco Durán narrowed the scope of this boundary process from the initial countywide approach involving most neighborhood elementary schools to one that made minimal reassignments needed to ensure use of all school facilities in 2021-22. The motion approved by the School Board included plans for a countywide process to manage elementary school enrollment in Fall 2022, to take effect in the 2023-24 school year.

“We know it has been challenging to conduct a boundary process at this time, and we appreciate the community members who shared their input and questions as we worked to balance the need to use all school facilities with the desire to impact as few students as possible,” said Arlington School Board Chair Monique O’Grady. “Thank you to Dr. Durán and his team for their outreach to the community and their work to narrow the scope of this initiative and preserve flexibility for the next countywide process in 2022. It is vital that we continue planning for the future of our school division and are ready to meet the needs of all students. This work will continue later this year with the next Capital Improvement Plan.”

“I echo the School Board’s appreciation of the community members who participated and engaged with us in this boundary process,” said Superintendent Dr. Durán. “We hear every day from families about the challenges they face, and it was clear that the unique circumstances of the pandemic meant we should only make minimal reassignments of students at this time. For those students reassigned to another school, please know that our principals, staff and teachers look forward to welcoming each and every one of you. Our school and central office staff are working to support all students and keep families informed about boundaries and many other issues during these difficult times.”

Planning Unit Adjustments
The boundary adjustments adopted by the School Board are for the new neighborhood school at the Key site and five current elementary schools: Ashlawn, ASFS, McKinley, Taylor and Tuckahoe. In this process, APS is reassigning 33 Planning Units and about 630 current students in Grades K-4 (based on September 30, 2020 enrollment) to other neighborhood elementary schools. The School Board also approved a grandfathering provision that provides more than 120 current Grade 4 students the option of remaining at their current school.

The following planning units have been reassigned for the 2021-22 school year as listed below:

  • From Ashlawn to ASFS: 23220, 23230, 23231
  • From ASFS to new school at Key site: 24050, 24051, 24060, 24070, 24071, 24130, 24031, 24030, 24033, 24032, 24090, 24040, 24041, 24042, 24043, 24081, 24082
  • From ASFS to Taylor: 24010, 24011, 24020
  • From McKinley to Ashlawn: 14100, 14101, 14110
  • From Taylor to ASFS: 23170, 23190, 23180, 23200, 23210, 23211
  • From Tuckahoe to McKinley at Reed site: 16061

Families of students who reside in Planning Units affected by the new boundaries will be notified via U.S. Postal Service and ParentVue this month. Families can use the APS online searchable boundary locator to find their Planning Units.

In addition, all Planning Units currently in the McKinley attendance zone—except for 14100, 14101, and 14110 , which are reassigned to Ashlawn as of Fall 2021—will move with the school and staff to the new building at the Reed site in 2021-22. Since these Planning Units are moving with the school, they are not considered to be reassigned in this boundary process.

Grandfathering
The “grandfathering” provision approved by the School Board is available for students at all schools who are currently in Grade 4 and would like to remain at their current elementary schools for Grade 5 in 2021-22, and for current Grade K-4 students in Planning Unit 16061, which was reassigned to McKinley at the Reed site, who would like to continue at Tuckahoe through school year 2022-23. Students who are eligible to remain at their current school due to grandfathering would still have the option to attend their newly-assigned neighborhood school in 2021-2022. Transportation is not provided to students who elect to remain at their current schools under the grandfathering provision.

Students must be enrolled in APS as of Dec. 7, 2020 to be eligible for grandfathering. In addition to notifying current families in the Planning Units involved, APS will also reach out to families of Grade 4 students in the reassigned Planning Units who withdrew through Dec. 7, 2020 to confirm whether their student will reenroll for 2021-22 and if they want to be grandfathered with their current neighborhood school. Details about grandfathering will be sent to families of eligible students in December and are also available online at www.apsva.us/engage/fall2020elementaryboundaries/.

Transfer Students
Current students in Grade 4 who are attending ASFS through Team and sibling transfers will be eligible to remain at ASFS for Grade 5 in the 2021-22 school year. All students attending Ashlawn, McKinley, Taylor and Tuckahoe through transfers can continue at their current schools.

Fall 2022 Process to Manage Elementary School Enrollment
The motion adopted by the School Board on Dec. 3 directed APS to conduct a countywide process in Fall 2022 to manage elementary school enrollment that will take effect in 2023-24. In 2022, Planning Units that are walkable to a school will be considered for reassignment to that school and all Planning Units that require transportation to their neighborhood school will be considered for reassignment to another nearby school.T While APS will seek to avoid reassigning Planning Units in the Fall 2022 process that were reassigned in the 2020 process, it is possible that any Planning Unit could be considered for reassignment.

For more information, visit www.apsva.us/engage/fall2020elementaryboundaries/.