APS News Release

Schulbehörde ernennt neue Administratoren, Berater der ersten Abteilung und andere Führungskräfte

Der Schulrat genehmigte auf seiner Sitzung am 29. Juli sechs Ernennungen für Führungskräfte:

Ernennungen zum Schulleiter und zum stellvertretenden Schulleiter
Der Schulvorstand genehmigte die folgenden Ernennungen zum Schulleiter und zum stellvertretenden Schulleiter:

  • Tracy Gaither – Schulleiterin, Dr. Charles R. Drew Grundschule: Gaither ist seit über 27 Jahren als Erzieher tätig und war in den letzten 4 Jahren als Grundschullehrer, Mathe-Coach und stellvertretender Schulleiter bei Drew Elementary tätig. Als Pädagogin, die sich leidenschaftlich für den Erfolg von Schülern einsetzt, ist sie dafür bekannt, eine einladende und kollaborative Umgebung für Schüler, Familien und Mitarbeiter zu schaffen. Sie ist auch ein Vorkämpfer für projektbasiertes Lernen und STEAM und inspiriert Schüler dazu, ihr Lernen mit realen Fortschritten zu verbinden. Gaither übernimmt diese Position am 30. Juli 2021.
  • Catherine Han – Schulleiterin der Barrett Grundschule: Han ist derzeit stellvertretender Schulleiter an der Hoffman-Boston-Grundschule. Han ist ein erfahrener Pädagoge, der als leitender Lehrer, Ressourcenlehrer für Hochbegabte und stellvertretender Schulleiter tätig war. Sie hat ein Young Scholars-Programm implementiert, MINT-Initiativen unterstützt und die Entwicklung fächerübergreifender projektbasierter Lernerfahrungen geleitet. Sie erhielt ihren Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education mit Vermerken in Middle School Science and Language Arts von der University of Illinois in Champaign-Urbana. Han erwarb ihren Master of Education in International Education Policy von der Harvard University. Han hat an Chicago Public Schools und Fairfax Public Schools gearbeitet und zuvor bei Barrett unterrichtet. Han übernimmt diese Position am 30. Juli 2021.
  • Jason Love – stellvertretender Schulleiter, Kenmore Middle School: Mit 15 Jahren als Erzieherin hat Love auf Mittel- und Oberschulebene in mehreren sonderpädagogischen Einrichtungen unterrichtet, darunter MIPA, eigenständige Klassenzimmer, gemeinsam unterrichtete Kurse und Intensivkurse für zweimal außergewöhnliche Schüler. Love war ein Sonderschullehrer an der Wakefield High School und arbeitete 2018 und 2019 auch als Assistent der Summer School, derzeit als Administrator des Summer School-Programms der Mittelschule in Kenmore.

Diese Termine beginnen am 30. Juli.

Zusätzliche Führungstermine
Der Verwaltungsrat genehmigte die folgenden zusätzlichen Führungspositionen:

  • Christine Smith – Abteilungsberaterin: Christine Smith wurde ernannt APS' erster hausinterner Division Counsel. Smith ist Rechtsdirektorin des Children's Law Center (CLC) in Washington, DC. Smith verbrachte die ersten sechs Jahre ihrer juristischen Laufbahn beim Public Defender Service for the District of Columbia (PDS) als Mitarbeiterin und beaufsichtigende Anwältin. Sie erwarb 1997 ihren JD-Abschluss mit summa cum laude an der Whittier Law School. Ihre Ernennung beginnt am 1. September.
  • Jason Ottley – Direktor für Diversity, Equity & Inclusion: Ottley ist Assistant Professor an der Bagwell School of Education in Georgia. Er hat einen vielfältigen Hintergrund in der Bildung, der 17 Jahre in einer Vielzahl von Umgebungen umfasst, darunter als Lehrer, Direktor der Studentenbetreuung, Schulleiter, Berater, außerordentliche Fakultät, College-Administrator und College-Professor. Ottley erhielt einen Ph.D. in Educational Leadership and Policy von der West Virginia University, einem M.Ed. in Sonderpädagogik von der George Mason University und einen BA in Englisch von der West Virginia University. Seine Ernennung beginnt am 1. September.
  • Claudia Mercado – Sachbearbeiterin der Schulleitung: Mercado ist derzeit stellvertretender Sekretär des Schulvorstands und bringt Erfahrung mit, indem er den Vorsitzenden, den stellvertretenden Vorsitzenden und die Vorstandsmitglieder direkt unterstützt und den öffentlichen Kontakt mit dem Vorstandsbüro, der Terminplanung und den Vorstandsdokumenten verwaltet. Sie ist eine ehemalige APS Student und bringt über 20 Jahre Erfahrung mit. Mercado hat in mehreren Kapazitäten in . gedient APS unter anderem in der Gehaltsabrechnungsabteilung, der Abteilung für Schul- und Gemeindebeziehungen und zuletzt im Büro des Schulvorstands als stellvertretender Sachbearbeiter/Kommunikationsbeauftragter. Die Ernennung von Mercado beginnt am 1. September.

Nächste Schulratssitzung:
Der Schulvorstand wird seine nächste ordentliche Sitzung (2110 Washington Blvd.) am Do., 12. August um 7 Uhr abhalten. Die Tagesordnung wird eine Woche vor der Sitzung am . veröffentlicht BoardDocs. In Vorstandssitzungen besteht bis auf Weiteres Maskenpflicht.

Für mehr Informationen:
Community-Mitglieder, die auf der Schulratssitzung diskutierte Punkte kommentieren möchten, sollten dem Vorstand eine E-Mail an school.board @apsva.us. oder rufen Sie 703-228-6015.

Die Sitzungen des Schulausschusses werden auch live auf Comcast Cable Channel 70 und Verizon Fios Channel 41 übertragen; Live-Stream auf der APS Website und wird freitags um 9 Uhr und montags um 7 Uhr unmittelbar nach dem Treffen erneut ausgestrahlt. Alle Materialien und Protokolle werden auf der Website unter veröffentlicht www.apsva.us/schoolboard nach Genehmigung durch die Schulbehörde bei einer anschließenden Sitzung.

APS News Release

School Board Appoints New Administrators, First Division Counsel and Other Leaders

The School Board approved six leadership appointments at its July 29 meeting:

Principal and Assistant Principal Appointments
The School Board approved the following Principal and Assistant Principal appointments:

  • Tracy Gaither – Principal, Dr. Charles R. Drew Elementary School: Gaither has been an educator for over 27 years, and has served as an elementary teacher, math coach, and assistant principal at Drew Elementary for the last 4 years. As an educator who is passionate about student success, she is well-known for creating a welcoming and collaborative environment for students, families, and staff. She is also a champion of project-based learning and STEAM, and she inspires students to connect their learning to real-world advances. Gaither assumes this position July 30, 2021.
  • Catherine Han – Principal, Barrett Elementary School: Han is currently the Assistant Principal at Hoffman-Boston Elementary School. Han is an experienced educator who has served as a lead teacher, Resource Teacher for the Gifted, and Assistant Principal. She has implemented a Young Scholars program, bolstered STEM initiatives, and led the development of cross-curricular project-based learning experiences. She received her Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education with endorsements in Middle School Science and Language Arts from the University of Illinois in Champaign-Urbana. Han earned her Masters of Education in International Education Policy from Harvard University. Han has worked in Chicago Public Schools, Fairfax Public Schools and previously taught at Barrett. Han assumes this position July 30, 2021.
  • Jason Love – Assistant Principal, Kenmore Middle School: With 15 years as an educator, Love has taught at the middle school and high school levels in several special education settings, including MIPA, self-contained classrooms, co-taught courses, and intensified level courses for twice exceptional students. Love has been a special education teacher at Wakefield High School, and he also worked as a summer school assistant administrator in 2018 and 2019, currently serving as administrator of the middle school Summer School program at Kenmore.

These appointments begin July 30.

Additional Leadership Appointments
The Board approved the following additional leadership appointments:

  • Christine Smith – Division Counsel: Christine Smith has been appointed APS’ first in-house Division Counsel. Smith is the Legal Director at Children’s Law Center (CLC) in Washington, D.C. Smith spent the first six years of her legal career at the Public Defender Service for the District of Columbia (PDS) as both a staff and supervising attorney. She earned her J.D., graduating summa cum laude, from Whittier Law School in 1997. Her appointment begins Sept. 1.
  • Jason Ottley – Director of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion: Ottley is an Assistant Professor at the Bagwell School of Education in Georgia. He has a diverse background in education spanning 17 years in a variety of settings, including, teacher, director of student support, principal, consultant, adjunct faculty, college administrator and college professor. Ottley received a Ph.D. in Educational Leadership and Policy from West Virginia University, a M.Ed. in special education from George Mason University, and a B.A. in English from West Virginia University. His appointment begins Sept. 1.
  • Claudia Mercado – Clerk of the School Board: Mercado is currently the Deputy Clerk of the School Board and brings experience providing direct support to the Chair, Vice Chair and Board Members and managing public contact with the Board office, scheduling, and Board-related documents. She is a former APS student and brings over 20 years of experience. Mercado has served in multiple capacities in APS including in the Payroll Department, Department of School and Community Relations, and most recently in the School Board Office as the Deputy Clerk/Communications Liaison. Mercado’s appointment begins Sept. 1.

Next School Board Meeting:
The School Board will hold its next Regular Meeting (2110 Washington Blvd.) on Thu., Aug. 12 at 7 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs. Masks are required in Board Meetings until further notice.

For More Information:
Community members who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015.

School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon Fios Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.