APS بيان صحفي

مجلس إدارة المدرسة يوافق على تقويم السنة الدراسية 2018-19

مجلس تحديثات الموظفين على عملية معايير تسمية المدرسة

وافق مجلس مدرسة أرلينغتون على تقويم العام الدراسي 2018-19 في اجتماع الليلة الماضية. التواريخ الرئيسية في التقويم المقترح تشمل:

  • 6 أغسطس - اليوم الأول من المدرسة لباركروفت)
  • 4 سبتمبر - اليوم الأول من المدرسة (باستثناء باركروفت)
  • 21 - 23 نوفمبر - استراحة عيد الشكر
  • 24 ديسمبر - 4 يناير - عطلة الشتاء (أسبوعان)
  • 15-19 أبريل - عطلة الربيع
  • 19 يونيو - اليوم الأخير لطلاب المدارس الثانوية ؛ ترقيات المدرسة الإعدادية
  • 20 يونيو - اليوم الأخير لباركروفت ؛ التخرج من المدرسة الثانوية
  • 21 يونيو - اليوم الأخير لطلاب المدارس الابتدائية والمتوسطة

العرض التقديمي الكامل ، بالإضافة إلى التقويمات الخاصة بكل من Barcroft و HB Woodlawn و Stratford و Arlington Community High School و Langston High School Continuation Program كلها متاحة على شبكة الإنترنت.  

معايير تسمية المدرسة
ستعمل لجنة الموظفين خلال شهري فبراير ومارس على تطوير المزيد من معايير التسمية الموسعة للتيار APS سيتم تقديم سياسة تسمية المدرسة والتوصية بالمعايير المنقحة إلى مجلس الإدارة في الربيع. بمجرد الموافقة عليها ، سيتم استخدام معايير التسمية الجديدة في الخريف المقبل لاختيار أسماء المدرسة الإعدادية الجديدة في موقع ستراتفورد ؛ للموافقة أو مراجعة اسم المدرسة الابتدائية الجديدة في الحي في موقع درو ؛ اسم لمدرسة مونتيسوري الابتدائية والابتدائية الجديدة في موقع Henry ؛ واسم المبنى الجديد في موقع ويلسون.

اعترافًا بأن مدخلات المجتمع حول اسم مدرسة Washington-Lee High School ، تمت مراجعة العملية لإنشاء لجنة مجتمع مخصصة من شأنها إشراك المجتمع في محادثة أكثر شمولاً حول اسم Washington-Lee في الخريف المقبل بمساعدة شخص مستقل الميسر. سيقدم المجتمع تقريره إلى مجلس المدرسة في ديسمبر 2018 والذي سيبلغ قرار مجلس المدرسة بالاحتفاظ بالاسم الحالي أو إعادة تسمية المدرسة الثانوية.

يوفر تم استلام التقرير الكامل والمدخلات في الخريف على تسمية المدرسة والمعايير تم نشرها عبر الإنترنت.

بنود المراقبة:

  • تحديث خطة عمل المشرف 2017-18 - أطلع مورفي المجلس على الجهود الأخرى الجارية بشأن خطة العمل لدعم عمل المجلس هذا العام.
    • الاستخدام المقبول (1: 1) السياسات: ستقوم اللجنة الاستشارية للتكنولوجيا و ACI بمراجعة مسودة السياسة وستكون هناك فرص لإشراك المجتمع.
    • مبادرة تخطيط المدارس الابتدائية - المرحلة الأولى: موقع المدرسة الابتدائية ومراجعة منطقة السير لمدارس الأحياء والخيارات قيد التنفيذ حاليًا. سيقدم الموظفون توصية إلى مجلس الإدارة في الربيع.
    • التخطيط العملي - سيقدم الموظفون تقرير مراقبة عن مرافق أرلينغتون وخطة سكن الطلاب (AFSAP) ، والتوقعات واستخدام القدرات في اجتماع 15 فبراير.

الجمهور مدعو لمعرفة المزيد أو طرح الأسئلة أو التعليق على أي من مبادرات المشاركة في خطة العمل الجارية من خلال الزيارة شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/engage.

  • تحديث الأمان - كما قدم الموظفون تحديثًا للمجلس بشأن الجهود الأمنية. وسلط التقرير الضوء على جهود إدارة الطوارئ مثل التعاون مع السلطات المحلية والإقليمية والوطنية ؛ المشاركة المنتظمة في مجموعة متنوعة من تدريبات الطوارئ ؛ فيرجينيا إدارة خدمات العدالة الجنائية تدقيق السلامة والتفتيش ؛ دور مسؤولي الموارد المدرسية؛ اتصالات الراديو إدارة الزوار؛ وسلامة الحافلات. التقرير الكامل متاحة على شبكة الإنترنت.

 خطوات العمل:

  • مراجعات عملية سياسة مجلس المدرسة - وافق مجلس الإدارة على تغييرات في مراجعة السياسة وعملية المراجعة التي تتضمن أيضًا نظامًا جديدًا لترقيم السياسة. مزيد من المعلومات متاحة على شبكة الإنترنت.
  • مراجعة سياسة مجلس المدرسة 45-2 الاستخدام المقبول للموارد الشبكية الإلكترونية والسلامة على الإنترنت - تبنى المجلس تغييرات في السياسة تقتصر على العناصر المطلوبة بموجب قانون فرجينيا. وتشمل هذه الاستخدام المحظور للإنترنت ؛ تصفية محتوى الإنترنت ؛ ومناهج أمان الإنترنت للطلاب. هذه التغييرات تضمن ذلك APS تظل متوافقة وتوفر المرونة في إنشاء وثائق الحوكمة الأخرى.
  • تحديث المدرسة الصيفية - وافق مجلس المدرسة على تحديث المدرسة الصيفية الذي يتضمن تخفيض رسوم برامج الإثراء الوظيفي للمركز وكذلك تغيير مواعيد دورات التعزيز والإثراء. مزيد من المعلومات متوفرة على BoardDocs.

 بنود المعلومات:

  • منح عقد البناء لتحديث راندولف - تم تزويد المجلس بمعلومات مستكملة عن مشروع تحديث راندولف الرئيسي الذي يتضمن استبدال البنية التحتية للتكييف والتدفئة والكهرباء والإضاءة. سيتم العمل على مرحلتين. ستتم المرحلة الأولى هذا الصيف وستتم المرحلة الثانية خلال صيف 2019. أوصى الموظفون بمنح عقد بقيمة 4,744,000،6.2،XNUMX دولار أمريكي إلى شركة Shapiro and Duncan، Inc. والموافقة على الميزانية الإجمالية المقترحة للمشروع البالغة XNUMX مليون دولار. كما أوصى فريق العمل بأن يوافق المجلس على استخدام سندات التدفئة والتهوية وتكييف الهواء والأسقف والبنية التحتية المتاحة لتمويل المشروع بالكامل.
  • تحديث رئيسي لراندولف يشمل استبدال البنية التحتية للتدفئة والتهوية وتكييف الهواء والكهرباء والإضاءة - أوصى فريق العمل أيضًا بأن يوافق المجلس على منح عقد للمرحلة الأولى: خدمات ما قبل البناء بمبلغ 436,659،XNUMX دولارًا لشركة Gilbane Building Company. يتوفر المزيد من المعلومات على بورد دوكس.

الاعترافات:
في بداية الاجتماع ، كرم مجلس المدرسة المعلمين الذين حصلوا على 43 معلمًا شهادة البورد الوطني وكذلك 14 APS المعلمين الذين حصلوا على تجديد لمدة 10 سنوات لشهادة NBCT الخاصة بهم. تقديراً لشهر تقدير مجلس إدارة المدرسة في فبراير ، شكرت جينيفر باور رئيسة مجلس مقاطعة أرلينغتون (CCPTA) أعضاء مجلس إدارة المدرسة على عملهم نيابة عن الطلاب والموظفين. يعكس موضوع احتفال هذا العام ، "فرص متقدمة للجميع" ، الأولوية القصوى لأعضاء مجلس إدارة مدرسة أرلينغتون حيث يدافعون عن التعليم العام نيابة عن جميع الطلاب. 

الاجتماع القادم لمجلس المدرسة: 
سيعقد الاجتماع التالي لمجلس إدارة المدرسة في الخميس 15 فبراير في تمام الساعة 6:30 مساءً. سيتم نشر جدول الأعمال قبل أسبوع واحد من الاجتماع في بورد دوكس.   

للمزيد من المعلومات
يجب على المواطنين الذين يرغبون في التعليق على أي من البنود التي تمت مناقشتها في اجتماع مجلس المدرسة إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى المجلس على لوحة المدرسة@apsva.us أو اتصل على 703-228-6015. يمكن للمواطنين الاتصال بالرقم 703-228-2400 يوم الاثنين بعد اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة للاستماع إلى ملخص الاجتماع. يتم أيضًا بث اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة مباشرة على Comcast Cable Channel 70 و Verizon FiOS Channel 41 ؛ بث مباشر على APS ويعاد بثه يوم الجمعة الساعة 9 مساءً ويوم الاثنين الساعة 7:30 مساءً بعد الاجتماع مباشرة. سيتم نشر جميع المواد ومحاضر الاجتماع على موقع الويب على شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/schoolboard بناء على موافقة مجلس المدرسة في اجتماع لاحق.

APS News Release

School Board Approves 2018-19 School Year Calendar

Staff Updates Board on School Naming Criteria Process

The Arlington School Board approved the 2018-19 school year calendar at last night’s meeting. Key Dates in the proposed calendar include:

  • Aug. 6 – First Day of School for Barcroft)
  • Sept. 4 – First Day of School (except Barcroft)
  • Nov. 21 – 23 – Thanksgiving Break
  • Dec. 24 – Jan. 4 – Winter Break (two weeks)
  • April 15 – 19 – Spring Break
  • June 19 – Last Day for High School Students; Middle School Promotions
  • June 20 – Last Day for Barcroft; High School Graduation
  • June 21 – Last Day for Elementary and Middle School Students

The full presentation, as well as calendars for Barcroft, H-B Woodlawn, Stratford, Arlington Community High School and Langston High School Continuation Program are available online.  

SCHOOL NAMING CRITERIA
The Staff Committee will be working during February and March to develop more expanded naming criteria for the current APS School Naming Policy, and a recommendation for the revised criteria will be presented to the Board in the Spring. Once approved, the new Naming Criteria will be used next fall to select names for the new middle school at the Stratford site; to approve or revise the name of the new neighborhood elementary school at the Drew site; a name for the new Primary and Elementary Montessori school at the Henry site; and a name for the new building at the Wilson site.

Acknowledging that community input on the name of Washington-Lee High School, the process has been revised to create an Ad Hoc Community Committee that will engage the community in a more extensive conversation around the Washington-Lee name next fall with the help of an independent facilitator.  The community will make their report to the School Board in December 2018 which will inform the School Board’s decision to maintain the current name or to rename the high school.

The full report and input received in the fall on the school naming and criteria has been posted online.

MONITORING ITEMS:

  • Superintendent’s 2017-18 Action Plan Update – Murphy updated the Board on other efforts underway on the action plan to support the Board’s work this year.
    • Acceptable Use (1:1) Policies: The Technology and ACI Advisory Committee will review the draft policy and there will be opportunities for community engagement.
    • Elementary School Planning Initiative – Phase I: Elementary School Location and Walk Zone Review for Neighborhood and Options Schools is currently underway. Staff will present a recommendation to the Board in the Spring.
    • Operational Planning – Staff will present a monitoring report on the Arlington Facilities and Student Accommodation Plan (AFSAP), Projections and Capacity Utilization at the Feb. 15 meeting.

The public is invited to learn more, ask questions or comment on any of the action plan engagement initiatives that are underway by visiting www.apsva.us/engage.

  • Security Update – Staff also provided an update to the Board on security efforts. The report highlighted emergency management efforts such as collaboration with local, regional, and national authorities; regular participation in a variety of emergency drills; Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Safety and Inspection Audit; the role of School Resources Officers; radio communications; visitor management; and bus safety. The full report is available online.

 ACTION ITEMS:

  • Revisions to School Board Policy Process – The Board approved changes to the Policy review and revision process that also includes a new policy numbering system. More information is available online.
  • Revision of School Board Policy 45-2 Acceptable Use of Electronic Networked Resources and Internet Safety – The Board adopted policy changes that are limited to items required by the Code of Virginia. These include prohibited use of the internet; internet content filtering; and internet safety curriculum for students. These changes ensure that APS remains compliant and provides flexibility in establishing other governance documents.
  • Summer School Update – The School Board approved the Summer School update which includes a reduction in fees for Career Center Enrichment programs as well as a shift in dates for strengthening and enrichment courses. More information is available on BoardDocs.

 INFORMATION ITEMS:

  • Construction Contract Award for Randolph Modernization – The Board was provided an update on the major Randolph modernization project that includes HVAC, electrical, and lighting infrastructure replacement. The work will occur in two phases. Phase I will take place this summer and Phase II will take place during the summer of 2019. Staff recommended that a contract for $4,744,000 be awarded to Shapiro and Duncan, Inc. and to approve the proposed total project budge of $6.2 million. Staff also recommended that the Board approve the use of available HVAC, Roofing and Infrastructure bonds to fully fund the project.
  • Major Randolph Modernization That Includes HVAC, Electrical, And Lighting Infrastructure Replacement – Staff also recommended that the Board approve a contract award for Phase I: Pre-Construction Services in the amount of $436,659 to Gilbane Building Company. More information is available on BoardDocs.

RECOGNITIONS:
At the start of the meeting, the School Board recognized the 43 teachers who earned their National Board Certification as well as the 14 APS teachers who earned a 10-year renewal of their NBCT certification. In recognition of School Board Appreciation Month in February, Arlington County Council of PTAs (CCPTA) president Jennifer Bauer thanked School Board members for their work on behalf of students and staff. The theme of this year’s celebration, “Advancing Opportunities for All,” reflects the top priority of the Arlington School Board members as they advocate for public education on behalf of all students. 

Next School Board Meeting: 
The next School Board meeting will be held on Thu, Feb. 15 at 6:30 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.   

For More Information
Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.