APS 新聞發布

校務委員會批准2018-19學年日曆

員工更新委員會的學校命名標準流程

阿靈頓學校董事會在昨晚的會議上批准了2018-19學年日曆。 擬議日曆中的關鍵日期包括:

  • 6月XNUMX日-巴克羅夫特上學的第一天)
  • 4月XNUMX日-開學第一天(巴克羅夫特除外)
  • 21月23日– XNUMX日–感恩節假期
  • 24月4日– XNUMX月XNUMX日–寒假(兩個星期)
  • 15月19日– XNUMX日–春假
  • 19月XNUMX日–高中生的最後一天; 中學促銷
  • 20月XNUMX日– Barcroft的最後一天; 高中畢業
  • 21月XNUMX日–中小學生的最後一天

完整的演示文稿以及Barcroft,HB Woodlawn,斯特拉特福,阿靈頓社區高中和Langston高中繼續課程的日程表是 可在線.  

學校命名標準
職工委員會將在XNUMX月和XNUMX月開展工作,為當前 APS 學校命名政策以及有關修訂標準的建議將在春季提交給董事會。 一旦獲得批准,新的命名標準將在明年秋天用於為斯特拉特福德大學的新中學選擇名稱。 在Drew站點上批准或修改新的鄰里小學的名稱; 亨利站點上新的蒙台梭利小學和小學的名稱; 以及在威爾遜(Wilson)站點上的新建築物的名稱。

承認社區以華盛頓李高中的名義提出的意見,流程經過了修改,以創建一個特設社區委員會,該委員會將在明年秋天借助獨立人士的參與,與社區就華盛頓李的名字進行更廣泛的對話促進者。 社區將在2018年XNUMX月向學校董事會報告,這將告知學校董事會決定保留當前名稱或重命名高中。

完整的報告和輸入 在秋天學校名稱和標準已經發佈在網上。

監控項目:

  • 監督的2017-18行動計劃更新 –墨菲(Murphy)向董事會介紹了該行動計劃正在進行的其他工作,以支持董事會今年的工作。
    • 可接受的使用(1:1)策略: 技術和ACI諮詢委員會將審核政策草案,並有社區參與的機會。
    • 小學規劃倡議 –第一階段:針對鄰里和選擇學校的小學位置和步行區審查正在進行中。 工作人員將在春季向董事會提出建議。
    • 運營規劃 –工作人員將在15月XNUMX日的會議上提交一份有關阿靈頓設施和學生住宿計劃(AFSAP),計劃和能力利用的監測報告。

邀請公眾了解更多信息,對正在進行的任何行動計劃參與計劃提出疑問或發表評論, 萬維網。aps價值/參與.

  • 安全更新– 工作人員還向董事會提供了有關安全工作的最新信息。 報告強調了應急管理方面的努力,例如與地方,區域和國家當局的合作; 定期參加各種緊急演習; 弗吉尼亞州刑事司法服務安全和檢查審計局; 學校資源主任的角色; 無線電通訊; 訪客管理; 和巴士安全。 完整的報告是 可在線.

 行動項目:

  • 修訂學校董事會政策流程 –董事會批准了對政策審核和修訂流程的更改,其中還包括新的政策編號系統。 更多信息是 可在線.
  • 修訂學校董事會政策45-2可接受的電子網絡資源使用和互聯網安全 –董事會通過了僅針對弗吉尼亞州法典要求的項目的政策變更。 其中包括禁止使用互聯網; 互聯網內容過濾; 和麵向學生的互聯網安全課程。 這些更改可確保 APS 保持合規性,並提供建立其他治理文檔的靈活性。
  • 暑期學校更新 –校務委員會批准了暑期學校的更新,其中包括降低了職業中心充實計劃的費用,以及更改了加強和充實課程的日期。 更多信息是 在BoardDocs上可用.

 信息項:

  • 倫道夫現代化建設合同獎 –向董事會提供了有關倫道夫重大現代化項目的最新信息,其中包括HVAC,電氣和照明基礎設施的更換。 這項工作將分兩個階段進行。 第一階段將在今年夏天進行,第二階段將在2019年夏天進行。工作人員建議與Shapiro和Duncan,Inc.簽訂4,744,000美元的合同,並批准計劃中的總預算開支6.2萬美元。 工作人員還建議董事會批准使用可用的HVAC,屋頂和基礎設施債券來為該項目提供全部資金。
  • 倫道夫(Randolph)的主要現代化工程,包括HVAC,電力和照明基礎設施的更換 –工作人員還建議董事會批准第一階段:施工前服務的合同授予Gilbane Building Company,金額為436,659美元。 有關更多信息,請參見 董事會文件.

認可:
在會議開始時,校務委員會表彰了43名獲得此殊榮的老師。 國家委員會認證 以及14年 APS 獲得NBCT認證十年更新的教師。 為了紀念10月份的校董會感謝月,PTA的阿靈頓縣理事會(CCPTA)主席詹妮弗·鮑爾(Jennifer Bauer)感謝校董會代表學生和教職員工所做的工作。 今年慶祝活動的主題是“為所有人提供更多機會”,這反映了阿靈頓學校董事會成員的首要任務,他們代表所有學生倡導公共教育。 

下次校務委員會會議: 
下次校務委員會會議將於15月6日,星期四,下午30:XNUMX舉行。議程將在會議召開的一周前公佈。 董事會文件.   

了解更多信息
想要對學校董事會會議上討論的任何項目發表評論的公民,請通過以下方式向董事會發送電子郵件: 學校董事會@aps價值 or call 703-228-6015.或致電703-228-2400。 Citizens may call 70-41-XNUMX on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.在校務委員會會議結束後的周一,公民可以撥打XNUMX-XNUMX-XNUMX收聽會議摘要。 School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有線頻道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS頻道XNUMX上還直播學校董事會會議; live-streamed on the現場直播 APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 pm and Mondays at 7:30 pm immediately following the meeting.網站,並在會議結束後的周五晚上XNUMX點和周一晚上XNUMX:XNUMX重新廣播。 All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at會議的所有材料和會議記錄將發佈到以下網站: 萬維網。apsva.us/學校董事會 經校務委員會在隨後的會議上批准。

APS News Release

School Board Approves 2018-19 School Year Calendar

Staff Updates Board on School Naming Criteria Process

The Arlington School Board approved the 2018-19 school year calendar at last night’s meeting. Key Dates in the proposed calendar include:

  • Aug. 6 – First Day of School for Barcroft)
  • Sept. 4 – First Day of School (except Barcroft)
  • Nov. 21 – 23 – Thanksgiving Break
  • Dec. 24 – Jan. 4 – Winter Break (two weeks)
  • April 15 – 19 – Spring Break
  • June 19 – Last Day for High School Students; Middle School Promotions
  • June 20 – Last Day for Barcroft; High School Graduation
  • June 21 – Last Day for Elementary and Middle School Students

The full presentation, as well as calendars for Barcroft, H-B Woodlawn, Stratford, Arlington Community High School and Langston High School Continuation Program are available online.  

SCHOOL NAMING CRITERIA
The Staff Committee will be working during February and March to develop more expanded naming criteria for the current APS School Naming Policy, and a recommendation for the revised criteria will be presented to the Board in the Spring. Once approved, the new Naming Criteria will be used next fall to select names for the new middle school at the Stratford site; to approve or revise the name of the new neighborhood elementary school at the Drew site; a name for the new Primary and Elementary Montessori school at the Henry site; and a name for the new building at the Wilson site.

Acknowledging that community input on the name of Washington-Lee High School, the process has been revised to create an Ad Hoc Community Committee that will engage the community in a more extensive conversation around the Washington-Lee name next fall with the help of an independent facilitator.  The community will make their report to the School Board in December 2018 which will inform the School Board’s decision to maintain the current name or to rename the high school.

The full report and input received in the fall on the school naming and criteria has been posted online.

MONITORING ITEMS:

  • Superintendent’s 2017-18 Action Plan Update – Murphy updated the Board on other efforts underway on the action plan to support the Board’s work this year.
    • Acceptable Use (1:1) Policies: The Technology and ACI Advisory Committee will review the draft policy and there will be opportunities for community engagement.
    • Elementary School Planning Initiative – Phase I: Elementary School Location and Walk Zone Review for Neighborhood and Options Schools is currently underway. Staff will present a recommendation to the Board in the Spring.
    • Operational Planning – Staff will present a monitoring report on the Arlington Facilities and Student Accommodation Plan (AFSAP), Projections and Capacity Utilization at the Feb. 15 meeting.

The public is invited to learn more, ask questions or comment on any of the action plan engagement initiatives that are underway by visiting www.apsva.us/engage.

  • Security Update – Staff also provided an update to the Board on security efforts. The report highlighted emergency management efforts such as collaboration with local, regional, and national authorities; regular participation in a variety of emergency drills; Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Safety and Inspection Audit; the role of School Resources Officers; radio communications; visitor management; and bus safety. The full report is available online.

 ACTION ITEMS:

  • Revisions to School Board Policy Process – The Board approved changes to the Policy review and revision process that also includes a new policy numbering system. More information is available online.
  • Revision of School Board Policy 45-2 Acceptable Use of Electronic Networked Resources and Internet Safety – The Board adopted policy changes that are limited to items required by the Code of Virginia. These include prohibited use of the internet; internet content filtering; and internet safety curriculum for students. These changes ensure that APS remains compliant and provides flexibility in establishing other governance documents.
  • Summer School Update – The School Board approved the Summer School update which includes a reduction in fees for Career Center Enrichment programs as well as a shift in dates for strengthening and enrichment courses. More information is available on BoardDocs.

 INFORMATION ITEMS:

  • Construction Contract Award for Randolph Modernization – The Board was provided an update on the major Randolph modernization project that includes HVAC, electrical, and lighting infrastructure replacement. The work will occur in two phases. Phase I will take place this summer and Phase II will take place during the summer of 2019. Staff recommended that a contract for $4,744,000 be awarded to Shapiro and Duncan, Inc. and to approve the proposed total project budge of $6.2 million. Staff also recommended that the Board approve the use of available HVAC, Roofing and Infrastructure bonds to fully fund the project.
  • Major Randolph Modernization That Includes HVAC, Electrical, And Lighting Infrastructure Replacement – Staff also recommended that the Board approve a contract award for Phase I: Pre-Construction Services in the amount of $436,659 to Gilbane Building Company. More information is available on BoardDocs.

RECOGNITIONS:
At the start of the meeting, the School Board recognized the 43 teachers who earned their National Board Certification as well as the 14 APS teachers who earned a 10-year renewal of their NBCT certification. In recognition of School Board Appreciation Month in February, Arlington County Council of PTAs (CCPTA) president Jennifer Bauer thanked School Board members for their work on behalf of students and staff. The theme of this year’s celebration, “Advancing Opportunities for All,” reflects the top priority of the Arlington School Board members as they advocate for public education on behalf of all students. 

Next School Board Meeting: 
The next School Board meeting will be held on Thu, Feb. 15 at 6:30 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.   

For More Information
Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.