APS 新闻发布

校务委员会批准2018年优先事项

在昨晚的会议上,校务委员会批准了其2017-18学年的优先事项。 校务委员会制定年度优先事项,以帮助保持校务工作的重点,有效性并使其与战略计划目标保持一致。

今年,校务委员会的优先重点将集中在五个领域,包括:

  • 新政策和政策修订 解决1:1技术倡议,包容性实践以及期权和转让的其他更新;
  • 运营规划 制定新的《 2018-24年战略计划》; 确定2019-28财年的资本改善计划,并建立可持续的预算以支持整个孩子并保持课堂教学的卓越水平;
  • 新学校的准备和程序的迁移 开设新学校时,将需要调整小学和中学的边界,以及蒙特梭利计划的搬迁;
  • 资本倡议 规划职业中心,教育中心和里德大楼的未来发展。
  • 社区参与 重点是支持和增强教师和教职员工的能力,以及加强学校,家庭和社区的关系。

其他动作项目:
董事会批准了在Gunston中学进行HVAC现代化的建筑和工程服务。 设计工作将持续到2018年2018月,施工将在2019年夏天和2年进行。与574,616RW签订的该合同的金额为XNUMX美元。

  • 监控项目:
    主管的行动计划更新: 
    帕特·墨菲(Pat Murphy)博士报告了支持董事会来年优先事项的行动计划。 他着重介绍了每个参与过程的新方法,其中包括早期信息和以多种方式供社区参与的社区信息收集,以及明确的时间表。 所有初始信息将在以下位置提供 aps价值/参与 到25月XNUMX日星期一,然后针对全年的所有主题定期更新“参与”部分。 墨菲还指出,将会有一个 23月10日,星期六,上午2点至下午XNUMX点开放日 在肯莫尔中学。 开放日将使社区成员有机会了解社区的主要流程,例如边界变更,战略规划,教学愿景和资本改善; 提供反馈和决策时间表的方法。 信息将以英语和西班牙语提供,还将为儿童提供各种活动,使成年人有时间在每个站点浏览信息并与工作人员讨论主题。 可在线.
  • 阿灵顿技术与职业,技术和成人教育(CTAE)更新– 工作人员报告了阿灵顿理工学院目前的招生情况以及预计到2022-23学年的招生人数。 要阅读完整的报告, 点击此处详细了解。.

信息项:
董事会讨论了以下项目:

  • 校务委员会2019年预算方向/框架
  • 为学校制定学校/设施命名标准的过程 APS 命名政策50-1.10
  • 里德新小学建筑平面规划委员会的负责人
  • 里德新小学的建筑和工程服务合同奖

有关以上项目的更多信息,请访问 BoardDocs.

认可:
会议的开始是对八名西班牙裔传统月学生领袖的表彰。 这些学生因其在课堂内外的领导能力以及对追求卓越教学的承诺而受到认可。 八名学生包括:塞萨尔·阿尔瓦拉多,约克镇高中; 娜塔莉·阿兰迪亚(Natalie Arandia),华盛顿李高中; 萨拉·杜兰·卡尔扎达(Sara Duran Calzada),阿灵顿职业中心; Jordan Langs,兰斯顿高中继续课程; 韦克菲尔德高中的乔纳森·埃尔南德斯(Jonathan Hernandez); Rodrigo Hernandez Martinez,阿灵顿社区高中; Miguel Ramirez,《新方向》; 和HB Woodlawn的Allan Villanueva。

校务委员会还表彰了韦克菲尔德高中和2017年的米歇尔·科特雷尔·威廉姆斯 APS Teacher of the Year for being selected earlier this week as the 2018 Virginia Teacher of the Year.年度最佳老师,本周初被选为XNUMX年度弗吉尼亚最佳老师。 Board members董事会成员 分享了一个视频片段 摘自上周一在里士满举行的颁奖典礼。

下次校务委员会会议: 
下次校务委员会会议将于5月6日,星期四,下午30:XNUMX举行。议程将在会议召开的一周前公布。 BoardDocs.

了解更多信息
想要对学校董事会会议上讨论的任何项目发表评论的公民,请通过以下方式向董事会发送电子邮件: 学校董事会@aps价值 or call 703-228-6015.或致电703-228-2400。 Citizens may call 70-41-XNUMX on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.在校务委员会会议结束后的周一,公民可以拨打XNUMX-XNUMX-XNUMX收听会议摘要。 School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有线频道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS频道XNUMX上还直播学校董事会会议; live-streamed on the现场直播 APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 pm and Mondays at 7:30 pm immediately following the meeting.网站,并在会议结束后的周五晚上XNUMX点和周一晚上XNUMX:XNUMX重新广播。 All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at会议的所有材料和会议记录将发布到以下网站:  apsva.us/学校董事会 经校务委员会在随后的会议上批准。

APS News Release

School Board Approves 2018 Priorities

The School Board approved its priorities for the 2017-18 school year at last night’s meeting. The School Board establishes annual priorities to assist in keeping the Board’s work focused, effective and aligned with its Strategic Plan goals.

This year, the School Board’s priorities will focus on five areas, which include:

  • New Policies and Policy Revisions that address the 1:1 technology initiative, inclusion practices, and additional updates on options and transfers;
  • Operational Planning to develop the new 2018-24 Strategic Plan; determining the FY 2019-28 Capital Improvement Plan, and building a sustainable budget that supports the whole child and maintains excellence in classroom instruction;
  • Preparation for New Schools and Program Moves that will require elementary and middle school boundary adjustments when new schools are opened, and the relocation of the Montessori Program;
  • Capital Initiatives to plan for future growth at the Career Center, Education Center, and the Reed Building.
  • Community Engagement that focuses on supporting and empowering teachers and staff, and strengthening school, family and community relationships.

OTHER ACTION ITEM:
The Board approved architectural and engineering services for the HVAC modernization at Gunston Middle School. Design work will take place through April 2018 and construction will take place during the summer of 2018 and 2019. The contract was awarded to 2RW in the amount of $574,616.

  • MONITORING ITEMS:
    Superintendent’s Action Plan Update: 
    Dr. Pat Murphy reported on the action plan that support the Board’s priorities in the year ahead. He highlighted the new approach to each Engage Process that will include early information and capturing community input with multiple ways for the community to participate, along with clear time frames. All initial information will be available at www.apsva.us/engage by Monday, Sept. 25, and then the Engage section will be updated regularly for all of the topics throughout the year.Dr. Murphy also noted that there will be an Open House on Sat, Sept. 23 from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. at Kenmore Middle School. The open house will give community members the opportunity to learn about major community processes such as boundary changes, strategic planning, instructional vision and capital improvement; ways to provide feedback and decision timelines. Information will be available in English and Spanish, and activities will be available for children to allow time for adults to browse information at each station and discuss the topics with staff.The Superintendent’s full presentation is available online.
  • Arlington Tech and Career, Technical and Adult Education (CTAE) Update – Staff reported on the current enrollment of Arlington Tech as well as the projected enrollment through the 2022-23 school year. To read the full report, click here.

INFORMATION ITEMS:
The Board discussed the following items:

  • The School Board’s 2019 budget direction/framework
  • The Process to Develop School/Facility Naming Criteria for the APS Naming Policy 50-1.10
  • The Charge to the Building Level Planning Committee for the New Elementary School at Reed
  • The Contract Award for Architectural and Engineering Services for the New Elementary School at Reed

For more information on the above items, visit BoardDocs.

RECOGNITIONS:
The meeting began with a recognition of eight student-leaders for Hispanic Heritage Month. The students were recognized for their leadership in and out of the classroom and for their commitment to excellence in their instructional pursuits. The eight students included: Cesar Alvarado, Yorktown High School; Natalie Arandia, Washington-Lee High School; Sara Duran Calzada, Arlington Career Center; Jordan Gormes, Langston High School Continuation Program; Jonathan Hernandez, Wakefield High School; Rodrigo Hernandez Martinez, Arlington Community High School; Miguel Ramirez, New Directions; and Allan Villanueva, H-B Woodlawn.

The School Board also recognized the Michelle Cottrell-Williams from Wakefield High School and the 2017 APS Teacher of the Year for being selected earlier this week as the 2018 Virginia Teacher of the Year. Board members shared a video clip from last Monday’s awards ceremony in Richmond.

Next School Board Meeting: 
The next School Board meeting will be held on Thu, Oct. 5 at 6:30 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.

For More Information
Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.