APS بيان صحفي

مجلس المدرسة يوافق على أولويات 2018

وافق مجلس المدرسة على أولوياته للعام الدراسي 2017-18 في اجتماع الليلة الماضية. يضع مجلس إدارة المدرسة الأولويات السنوية للمساعدة في إبقاء عمل المجلس مركّزًا وفعالًا ومتوافقًا مع أهداف خطته الإستراتيجية.

هذا العام ، ستركز أولويات مجلس المدرسة على خمسة مجالات ، والتي تشمل:

  • السياسات الجديدة وتنقيحات السياسة التي تتناول مبادرة التكنولوجيا 1: 1 وممارسات الدمج والتحديثات الإضافية على الخيارات وعمليات النقل ؛
  • التخطيط العملي لتطوير الخطة الإستراتيجية الجديدة 2018-24 ؛ تحديد خطة تحسين رأس المال للسنة المالية 2019-28 ، وبناء ميزانية مستدامة تدعم الطفل بأكمله وتحافظ على التميز في التدريس في الفصول الدراسية ؛
  • التحضير للمدارس الجديدة وتحركات البرنامج سيتطلب ذلك تعديلات على حدود المدارس الابتدائية والمتوسطة عند فتح مدارس جديدة ، ونقل برنامج مونتيسوري ؛
  • مبادرات رأس المال للتخطيط للنمو المستقبلي في مركز التوظيف ومركز التعليم ومبنى ريد.
  • إشراك المجتمع التي تركز على دعم وتمكين المعلمين والموظفين ، وتقوية العلاقات بين المدرسة والأسرة والمجتمع.

البند الإجراءات الأخرى:
وافق مجلس الإدارة على الخدمات المعمارية والهندسية لتحديث نظام التدفئة والتهوية وتكييف الهواء في مدرسة جونستون المتوسطة. ستتم أعمال التصميم حتى أبريل 2018 وستتم أعمال البناء خلال صيف 2018 و 2019. وقد تم منح العقد لشركة 2RW بمبلغ 574,616،XNUMX دولار.

  • بنود المراقبة:
    تحديث خطة عمل المشرف: 
    قدم الدكتور بات مورفي تقريراً عن خطة العمل التي تدعم أولويات المجلس في العام المقبل. وسلط الضوء على النهج الجديد لكل عملية Engage التي ستتضمن المعلومات المبكرة والتقاط مدخلات المجتمع بطرق متعددة للمجتمع للمشاركة ، إلى جانب أطر زمنية واضحة. جميع المعلومات الأولية ستكون متاحة في شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/engage بحلول يوم الاثنين ، 25 سبتمبر ، وبعد ذلك سيتم تحديث قسم المشاركة بانتظام لجميع الموضوعات على مدار العام. أشار مورفي أيضًا إلى أنه سيكون هناك ملف البيت المفتوح يوم السبت 23 سبتمبر من الساعة 10 صباحًا حتى 2 ظهرًا في مدرسة كينمور المتوسطة. سيعطي المنزل المفتوح الفرصة لأفراد المجتمع للتعرف على عمليات المجتمع الرئيسية مثل التغييرات الحدودية والتخطيط الاستراتيجي والرؤية التعليمية وتحسين رأس المال ؛ طرق تقديم الملاحظات والجداول الزمنية لاتخاذ القرار. ستكون المعلومات متاحة باللغتين الإنجليزية والإسبانية ، وستكون الأنشطة متاحة للأطفال لإتاحة الوقت للكبار لتصفح المعلومات في كل محطة ومناقشة الموضوعات مع الموظفين. متاحة على شبكة الإنترنت.
  • Arlington Tech and Career، Technical and Adult Education (CTAE) Update - أبلغ الموظفون عن التسجيل الحالي في Arlington Tech بالإضافة إلى التسجيل المتوقع خلال العام الدراسي 2022-23. لقراءة التقرير كاملاً ، انقر هنا.

بنود المعلومات:
ناقش المجلس البنود التالية:

  • توجيه / إطار عمل ميزانية مجلس إدارة المدرسة لعام 2019
  • عملية تطوير معايير تسمية المدرسة / المنشأة لـ APS سياسة التسمية 50-1.10
  • المسؤول عن لجنة التخطيط على مستوى المبنى للمدرسة الابتدائية الجديدة في ريد
  • منح العقد للخدمات المعمارية والهندسية للمدرسة الابتدائية الجديدة في ريد

لمزيد من المعلومات حول العناصر المذكورة أعلاه ، قم بزيارة بورد دوكس.

الاعترافات:
بدأ الاجتماع بتكريم ثمانية من القادة الطلاب لشهر التراث الإسباني. تم تكريم الطلاب لقيادتهم داخل وخارج الفصل والتزامهم بالتميز في مساعيهم التعليمية. الطلاب الثمانية هم: سيزار ألفارادو ، مدرسة يوركتاون الثانوية ؛ ناتالي أرانديا ، مدرسة واشنطن لي الثانوية ؛ سارة دوران كالزادا ، Arlington Career Center ؛ جوردان جورمز ، برنامج لانغستون الثانوية لمتابعة المدرسة ؛ جوناثان هيرنانديز ، مدرسة ويكفيلد الثانوية ؛ رودريغو هيرنانديز مارتينيز ، مدرسة أرلينغتون الثانوية المجتمعية ؛ ميغيل راميريز ، الاتجاهات الجديدة ؛ وألان فيلانويفا ، إتش بي وودلون.

كما كرم مجلس المدرسة أيضًا ميشيل كوتريل ويليامز من مدرسة ويكفيلد الثانوية و 2017 APS مدرس العام لاختياره في وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع كأفضل معلم في فرجينيا لعام 2018. أعضاء مجلس الإدارة شارك مقطع فيديو من حفل توزيع الجوائز يوم الاثنين الماضي في ريتشموند.

الاجتماع القادم لمجلس المدرسة: 
سيعقد الاجتماع التالي لمجلس إدارة المدرسة في الخميس 5 أكتوبر الساعة 6:30 مساءً. سيتم نشر جدول الأعمال قبل أسبوع واحد من الاجتماع في بورد دوكس.

للمزيد من المعلومات
يجب على المواطنين الذين يرغبون في التعليق على أي من البنود التي تمت مناقشتها في اجتماع مجلس المدرسة إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى المجلس على لوحة المدرسة@apsva.us أو اتصل على 703-228-6015. يمكن للمواطنين الاتصال بالرقم 703-228-2400 يوم الاثنين بعد اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة للاستماع إلى ملخص الاجتماع. يتم أيضًا بث اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة مباشرة على Comcast Cable Channel 70 و Verizon FiOS Channel 41 ؛ بث مباشر على APS ويعاد بثه يوم الجمعة الساعة 9 مساءً ويوم الاثنين الساعة 7:30 مساءً بعد الاجتماع مباشرة. سيتم نشر جميع المواد ومحاضر الاجتماع على موقع الويب على شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/schoolboard بناء على موافقة مجلس المدرسة في اجتماع لاحق.

APS News Release

School Board Approves 2018 Priorities

The School Board approved its priorities for the 2017-18 school year at last night’s meeting. The School Board establishes annual priorities to assist in keeping the Board’s work focused, effective and aligned with its Strategic Plan goals.

This year, the School Board’s priorities will focus on five areas, which include:

  • New Policies and Policy Revisions that address the 1:1 technology initiative, inclusion practices, and additional updates on options and transfers;
  • Operational Planning to develop the new 2018-24 Strategic Plan; determining the FY 2019-28 Capital Improvement Plan, and building a sustainable budget that supports the whole child and maintains excellence in classroom instruction;
  • Preparation for New Schools and Program Moves that will require elementary and middle school boundary adjustments when new schools are opened, and the relocation of the Montessori Program;
  • Capital Initiatives to plan for future growth at the Career Center, Education Center, and the Reed Building.
  • Community Engagement that focuses on supporting and empowering teachers and staff, and strengthening school, family and community relationships.

OTHER ACTION ITEM:
The Board approved architectural and engineering services for the HVAC modernization at Gunston Middle School. Design work will take place through April 2018 and construction will take place during the summer of 2018 and 2019. The contract was awarded to 2RW in the amount of $574,616.

  • MONITORING ITEMS:
    Superintendent’s Action Plan Update: 
    Dr. Pat Murphy reported on the action plan that support the Board’s priorities in the year ahead. He highlighted the new approach to each Engage Process that will include early information and capturing community input with multiple ways for the community to participate, along with clear time frames. All initial information will be available at www.apsva.us/engage by Monday, Sept. 25, and then the Engage section will be updated regularly for all of the topics throughout the year.Dr. Murphy also noted that there will be an Open House on Sat, Sept. 23 from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. at Kenmore Middle School. The open house will give community members the opportunity to learn about major community processes such as boundary changes, strategic planning, instructional vision and capital improvement; ways to provide feedback and decision timelines. Information will be available in English and Spanish, and activities will be available for children to allow time for adults to browse information at each station and discuss the topics with staff.The Superintendent’s full presentation is available online.
  • Arlington Tech and Career, Technical and Adult Education (CTAE) Update – Staff reported on the current enrollment of Arlington Tech as well as the projected enrollment through the 2022-23 school year. To read the full report, click here.

INFORMATION ITEMS:
The Board discussed the following items:

  • The School Board’s 2019 budget direction/framework
  • The Process to Develop School/Facility Naming Criteria for the APS Naming Policy 50-1.10
  • The Charge to the Building Level Planning Committee for the New Elementary School at Reed
  • The Contract Award for Architectural and Engineering Services for the New Elementary School at Reed

For more information on the above items, visit BoardDocs.

RECOGNITIONS:
The meeting began with a recognition of eight student-leaders for Hispanic Heritage Month. The students were recognized for their leadership in and out of the classroom and for their commitment to excellence in their instructional pursuits. The eight students included: Cesar Alvarado, Yorktown High School; Natalie Arandia, Washington-Lee High School; Sara Duran Calzada, Arlington Career Center; Jordan Gormes, Langston High School Continuation Program; Jonathan Hernandez, Wakefield High School; Rodrigo Hernandez Martinez, Arlington Community High School; Miguel Ramirez, New Directions; and Allan Villanueva, H-B Woodlawn.

The School Board also recognized the Michelle Cottrell-Williams from Wakefield High School and the 2017 APS Teacher of the Year for being selected earlier this week as the 2018 Virginia Teacher of the Year. Board members shared a video clip from last Monday’s awards ceremony in Richmond.

Next School Board Meeting: 
The next School Board meeting will be held on Thu, Oct. 5 at 6:30 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.

For More Information
Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.