APS 新聞發布

校董會批准700財年2022億美元預算

預算包括2%的COLA和員工的中期STEP增長
校務委員會收到22-24財年資本改善計劃

學校董事會在2022月700,933,893日的會議上批准了6財年預算,總額為22美元。 527,096,321財年預算包括正在進行的縣撥款2,817,940美元,一次性縣撥款3,500,000美元,期初餘額或結轉額19,560,386美元以及來自儲備金的資金XNUMX美元。

22財年預算包括以下內容:

  • 實施員工提供的經修訂的入學預測,減少525名學生的入學率,從而節省了3,447,739美元和36.90 FTE。 應急人員增加了500,000美元的節餘,導致儲備金增加了2,947,739美元。
  • 增加4,953,748美元來實施補償方案4,而不是補償方案1,並通過從儲備金中使用的金額增加4,953,748美元來為其提供資金。 選項4包括在年初開始時2%的生活費用調整(COLA)和在年中中期增加STEP。 對於某些薪級表,它在年中薪資表的頂部還包括一個附加的STEP。
  • 包括增加一名K-5年級學生的班級規模。 根據修訂後的入學預測,班級規模的增加導致幼兒園級節省755,215美元和10個FTE,而1,031,260-10.8年級節省1美元和5 FTE。

校務委員會批准了其他修正案,為複印機恢復了$ 85,000的收入,並增加了$ 8,538,以在中學階段實施每個視覺藝術學生的規劃費用$ 10。 兩種增加均由儲備金供資。

完整的演示文稿可在BoardDocs上找到 以及有關 22財年預算流程 可在線獲得。

資本改善計劃
在昨晚的會議上,工作人員介紹了總監擬議的2022-24財年資本改進計劃(CIP)。 由於由COVID-19大流行引起的不確定的經濟氣候,這將是一個為期三年的CIP,併計劃在明年恢復為十年的計劃過程。 這與該縣提交2022-24財年中期擬議CIP的計劃相吻合,該計劃的投資清單有限,包括近期的投資需求。 APS.

按照2021年XNUMX月教育委員會的指示,工作人員提出了以下建議:

  • 新的阿靈頓職業中心項目,其中包括阿靈頓技術計劃,旨在增加二級座位並擴大當前職業中心站點的建築能力。
  • 八所學校的廚房設施進行了升級,以提供額外的存儲空間並能夠在現場有效地準備飯菜。
  • 對10所學校的主入口前廳進行了改進,以確保學校達到當前的安全標準。
  • 空氣質量和HVAC的改進,以增加通風量,以滿足現有的建築規範要求,並實現MERV-13空氣質量過濾。
  • 解決高地大樓無障礙設施和停車需求的項目。
  • 更換了四所學校的草皮田。
  • 大型基礎設施項目,包括HVAC,電氣,屋頂和窗戶更換。

關於總監擬議的2022-24財年CIP的首次校務委員會工作會議將於11月6日(星期二)下午XNUMX點  查看昨晚會議上的演示文稿 or 觀看視頻。 有關CIP流程的其他信息,請訪問 參與網站.

監控項目
院長介紹了他的2020-21學年更新。 該報告重點介紹了健康指標,16歲及以上學生彈出式疫苗診所的信息以及明年的安全措施和計劃。

院長提出 學生和家庭選擇過程的結果 這項研究於3月95日結束。近5%的人選擇了面對面學習,而20,000%的人選擇了遠程學習計劃。 95%的學生(或近17個學生/家庭)積極參與了這一過程,並親自選拔。 XNUMX%的人還包括XNUMX%的家庭,他們沒有回應,因此默認為混合家庭。

學校已經進行了廣泛的宣傳活動,以與那些在窗口期間以及之後都沒有回應的家庭建立聯繫,以確保所有家庭都知道並獲得需要回复的支持。 完整的選擇過程報告 在線。

觀看總監的演講 or 在線閱讀.

英語/語言藝術和讀寫能力更新– 教職員工向學校董事會提供了最新信息,其中包括重點內容,提供見解,經驗教訓和亮點的數據。 演示文稿可在線獲得.

任命
校務委員會任命Wakefield高中化學老師Verlese Gaither為該學院的行政主任 APS 遠程學習計劃。 正在製定過渡計劃,以允許蓋瑟的學生完成學習課程,同時也允許她開始從事該計劃的組織工作。

信息項
校務委員會討論了以下內容:

  • 修訂校務委員會政策I-1.35資源,I-7.2.5.31支持,資源和延長時間以及I-9.1選擇教科書和其他教學材料– 可以在線找到更多信息.
  • 弗吉尼亞州學校董事會協會(VSBA)立法地位– 校務委員會敦促VSBA 推動制定標準,以防止學校間活動期間的欺凌,歧視,種族主義和一切形式的暴力。

讚譽校務委員會表彰了它的 2021尊敬的公民.

了解更多信息
想要對學校董事會會議上討論的任何項目發表評論的公民,請通過以下方式向董事會發送電子郵件: 學校董事會@aps價值 或致電703-228-6015。 在校務委員會會議結束後的周一,公民可以撥打703-228-2400收聽會議摘要。

欲了解更多信息 如何親自參加校務委員會會議, 訪問我們的網站。

School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41;在康卡斯特有線頻道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS頻道XNUMX上還直播學校董事會會議; live-streamed on the現場直播 APS 網站,並在會議結束後的周五晚上9點和周一晚上7:30重新廣播。 所有材料和會議記錄將發佈到網站上 萬維網。apsva.us/學校董事會 經校務委員會在隨後的會議上批准。

APS News Release

School Board Approves $700 Million FY 2022 Budget

Budget includes 2% COLA and Mid-Year STEP Increase for Staff
School Board Receives FY22-24 Capital Improvement Plan

The School Board approved the FY 2022 Budget totaling $700,933,893 at its May 6 meeting. The FY22 Budget includes an on-going County Transfer of $527,096,321, a one-time County Transfer of $2,817,940, a Beginning Balance or Carry Forward of $3,500,000, and funding from Reserves of $19,560,386.

The FY22 budget includes the following:

  • Implements revised enrollment projections provided by staff that reduces enrollment by 525 students resulting in a savings of $3,447,739 and 36.90 FTEs. Savings of $500,000 are added to the staffing contingency, which results in $2,947,739 being added to reserves.
  • Adds $4,953,748 to implement Compensation Option 4 instead of Compensation Option 1 and funds it by increasing the amount used from reserves by $4,953,748. Option 4 includes a 2% Cost of Living Adjustment (COLA) at the start of the year and a STEP increase midway through the year. It also includes an additional STEP at the top of the pay scale midway through the year for certain salary scales.
  • Includes a class size increase of one student in grades K-5. With the resulting revised enrollment projections, the class size increase results in a savings of $755,215 and 10 FTEs at the Kindergarten level and a savings of $1,031,260 and 10.8 FTE in grades 1-5.

The School Board approved additional amendments to restore $85,000 for copiers and added $8,538 to implement a $10 per visual arts student planning factor at the middle school level. Both additions are funded from reserves.

The full presentation is available on BoardDocs and more details about the FY22 Budget process is available online.

Capital Improvement Plan
Staff presented the Superintendent’s Proposed FY 2022-24 Capital Improvement Plan (CIP) at last night’s meeting. Due to the uncertain economic climate caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, this will be a three-year CIP with plans to return to a ten-year planning process next year. This aligns with the County’s plan to submit a medium-term proposed FY 2022-24 CIP that will have a limited list of investments, including near-term needs for APS.

Following the School Board’s direction in January 2021, staff presented the following proposals:

  • The new Arlington Career Center Project, which includes the Arlington Tech Program, to increase secondary seats and expand building capacity at the current Career Center site.
  • Kitchen facility upgrades at eight schools to provide additional storage and the ability to efficiently prepare meals on-site.
  • Main entry vestibule enhancements at 10 schools to ensure schools meet current safety and security standards.
  • Air quality and HVAC improvements to increase ventilation to meet existing building code requirements and to achieve MERV-13 air quality filtration.
  • A project to address the accessibility and parking needs at the Heights Building.
  • Replacement of the turf fields at four schools.
  • Major infrastructure projects that include HVAC, electrical, roofing, and window replacements.

The first School Board Work Session on the Superintendent’s Proposed FY 2022-24 CIP will be on Tuesday, May 11, at 6 p.m.  View the presentation from last night’s meeting or watch the video. For additional information on the CIP process, visit the Engage website.

Monitoring Items
The Superintendent presented his School Year 2020-21 Update. The report highlighted health metrics, information on pop-up vaccine clinics for students ages 16 and up and safety measures and planning for next year.

The Superintendent presented results of the Student and Family Selection Process that concluded on May 3. Nearly 95% elected in-person learning and 5% selecting the distance learning program. Seventy-seven percent, or nearly 20,000 students/families, actively participated in the process and selected in-person. The 95% also includes the 17 percent of families who did not respond and therefore default to hybrid.

Schools have done extensive outreach to connect with those families who did not respond both during the window and since, to ensure that all families are aware and had the support needed to reply.The full Selection Process report is online.

Watch the Superintendent’s presentation or read it online.

English/Language Arts and Literacy Update – Staff provided an update to the School Board that included highlights, data that provides insight, lessons learned and bright spots. The presentation is available online.

Appointment
The School Board appointed Wakefield High School Chemistry Teacher Verlese Gaither as the Administrator at the APS Distance Learning Program. A transition plan is being developed to allow Gaither’s students to finish their course of study while also allowing her to start working on the organization of the program.

Information Items
The School Board discussed the following:

  • Revisions to School Board Policies I-1.35 Resources, I-7.2.5.31 Support, Resources and Extended Time and I-9.1 Selection of textbooks and Other Instructional Materials – Additional information can be found online.
  • Virginia School Boards Association (VSBA) Legislative Position – The School Board is urging the VSBA to push for standards to prevent bullying, discrimination, racism, and all forms of violence during interscholastic activities.

RecognitionsThe School Board honored its 2021 Honored Citizens.

For More Information
Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.

For more information on how to participate in School Board meetings in person, visit our website.

School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.