APS 新聞發布

校務委員會批准2022財年預算方向

主管提出了基本的邊界建議,並提供了“重返學校計劃”和第一季運動的最新信息

在2022月5日的會議上,學校董事會通過了XNUMX財年預算指示。 校務委員會致力於為學生提供高質量的教育,他們在此預算方向上的目標是確保 APS 在2022財年預算中提供財政支持。

在春季,由於流感大流行,校務委員會需要大幅削減2021財年的預算-取消員工薪酬的增長,大幅減少小型建築/主要維護資金,並將班級規模擴大到K-12年級–並且需要使用17萬美元的儲備金來平衡預算。 這些動作 APS 在2022財年預算中處於嚴重不利地位。

為了實現其使命和目標,校務委員會指示學監準備22財年預算,以維持其龐大而多樣化的學校體系,著重於支持我們的員工,並強調校務委員會的三個總體目標:

  • 無論提供哪種教學模式,都應專注於出色的教育。
  • 支持員工創新,並提供高質量的虛擬和現場指導。
  • 繼續關注公平。

FY22預算指示的完整草案為 在BoardDocs上可用。

2020-21學年更新
校長弗朗西斯科·杜蘭(FranciscoDurán)博士向學校董事會更新了返校計劃。 監督的監視報告具有以下特點:

  • 更新的 APS COVID-19儀表板 反映了弗吉尼亞衛生部針對各部門的最新臨時指南,以更清晰地與疾病預防控制中心的指標相結合,以進行學校決策。
  • 第一天的報告為230級的1名學生於4月XNUMX日返回進行了親自學習。
  • 由於本地區病例數的增加,因此在本日曆年度的剩餘時間內,將匯總第2級家庭選擇過程的結果,以及有關決定暫停第2級返還的決定的詳細信息。
  • 計劃從150月16日開始,為1名經過識別的家庭中的最大需求的學生提供面對面的學習支持。該服務將在三個學校為最需要家庭的家庭提供,數量有限的4級教師和教職員工,以及11-XNUMX歲的兒童免費。 有關註冊的詳細信息和其他信息將在下周傳達。

VHSL第1季競技比賽更新
院長還討論了 APS 由於從1級過渡到親自學習的時間表,我們計劃不參加VHSL第3季競賽。 根據學生,家庭和學校董事會的初步意見, 主管正在重新考慮有關第1季比賽的決定 並將在下周傳達其他信息。

演示文稿可在線獲得 你可以看 完整的監控報告演示在這裡.

校長國界建議
院長介紹了他的 小學界的建議 這將在2021-22學年開始時生效,並且會涉及到。 新邊界影響了Ashlawn,阿靈頓科學重點學校(ASFS),麥金利,泰勒和塔克霍的學生。 推薦的邊界將在Key站點上為新的鄰里小學創建一個出勤區,並在Reed站點為McKinley的大部分地區創建一個調整後的出勤區,並將ASFS置於其邊界內。

這個邊界過程包括 資料審查 在2020年春季,即今年秋天的邊界流程之前。 在整個過程中,社區參與包括虛擬社區會議,在線調查表以及多種語言和通過多種溝通渠道的信息。 社區的意見告知了學監的建議,如果採納該建議,它將把22個計劃單位和800多名學生重新分配到其他鄰里小學。 鑑於當前建議的範圍狹窄,為了管理各小學的入學人數,2022年的未來邊界流程將更加廣泛和遍及全縣。

有關更多信息和管理者的建議,請訪問 APS 從事 網站。 一個新的 校務委員會工作會議 預定於12月6日下午XNUMX點 小學邊界公開聽證會 學校董事會將於1月3日採取行動,而學校董事會將於XNUMX月XNUMX日對邊界採取行動。

信息項
董事會討論了以下項目:

  • 校務委員會政策F-1財務管理的擬議修訂–資本改善計劃
  • 修訂學校董事會政策F-5.7的建設和維護

這些信息項的詳細信息是 可在線.

承認
校務委員會認可 APS 學校心理學家,以紀念9月13日至XNUMX日的“學校心理學週”。 APS 學校心理學家提倡積極的行為和心理健康,以支持學生,尤其是在這些充滿挑戰的時期。

了解更多信息:
想要對學校董事會會議上討論的任何項目發表評論的公民,請通過以下方式向董事會發送電子郵件: 學校董事會@apsva.us 或致電703-228-6015。 在校務委員會會議結束後的周一,公民可以撥打703-228-2400收聽會議摘要。

School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41;在康卡斯特有線頻道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS頻道XNUMX上還直播學校董事會會議; live-streamed on the現場直播 APS 網站,並在會議結束後的周五晚上9點和周一晚上7:30重新廣播。 所有材料和會議記錄將發佈到網站上 萬維網。apsva.us/schoolboard 經校務委員會在隨後的會議上批准。

APS News Release

School Board Approves FY 2022 Budget Direction

Superintendent Presents Proposed Elementary Boundary Recommendation and Provides an Update on the Return-to-School Plan and Season 1 Athletics

The School Board adopted its FY 2022 Budget Direction during its Nov. 5 meeting. The School Board is committed to providing a high-quality education to its students and their aim with this budget direction is to ensure APS financially supports its mission in the FY 2022 budget.

In the spring, because of the pandemic, the School Board needed to make deep cuts in the FY 2021 budget – eliminating staff compensation increases, significantly reducing Minor Construction/Major Maintenance funding, and increasing class size by one at grades K-12 among others – and needed to use $17 million in reserve funds to balance the budget. These actions put APS at a significant disadvantage for the FY 2022 budget.

To fulfill its mission and goals, the School Board directs the Superintendent to prepare an FY22 budget that maintains its large and diverse school system, focuses on supporting our staff, and emphasizes the School Board’s three overarching goals:

  • Focus on an excellent education regardless of the delivery model.
  • Support staff to be innovative and deliver high-quality virtual and in-person instruction.
  • Continue the focus on equity.

The full draft of the FY22 Budget Direction is available on BoardDocs.

School Year 2020-21 School Year Update
Superintendent Dr. Francisco Durán updated the School Board on the return-to-school plan. The Superintendent’s monitoring report featured:

  • An updated APS COVID-19 dashboard reflecting the updated Virginia Department of Health interim guidance for school divisions to show a clearer alignment with CDC indicators for school decision-making.
  • A first day report for the 230 students in Level 1 who returned for in-person learning on November 4.
  • A summary of the family selection process results for Level 2, as well as details on the decision to pause Level 2 Return through the remainder of this calendar year due to rising cases in our region.
  • Plans to provide in-person learning support for 150 identified students in families with the greatest need beginning Nov. 16. The service will be provided at three school sites for families with the greatest need and a limited number of Level 1 teachers and staff, with children ages 4-11, free of charge. Details on registration and other information will be communicated next week.

VHSL Season 1 Athletic Competition Update
The Superintendent also discussed APS plans not to participate in VHSL Season 1 competition due to the timeline for Level 3 transition to in-person learning. Based on initial input from students, families, and the School Board, the Superintendent is reconsidering the decision regarding Season 1 competition and will communicate additional information next week.

The presentation is available online and you can watch the full monitoring report presentation here.

Superintendent’s Elementary School Boundary Recommendation
The Superintendent presented his recommendation for elementary school boundaries that will take effect at the start of the 2021-22 school year and will involve. The new boundaries affect students at Ashlawn, Arlington Science Focus School (ASFS), McKinley, Taylor and Tuckahoe. The recommended boundaries create an attendance zone for a new neighborhood elementary school at the Key site and an adjusted attendance zone for most of McKinley at the Reed site and will place ASFS within its boundaries.

This boundary process included a data review in Spring 2020, prior to the boundary process this Fall. Community engagement throughout this process has included virtual community meetings, online questionnaires, and information in several languages and via multiple communication channels. Community input informed the Superintendent’s recommendation, which, if adopted, would reassign 22 Planning Units and 800+ students to other neighborhood elementary schools. Given the narrow scope of the current recommendations, a future boundary process in 2022 will be broader and countywide in order to manage enrollment across elementary schools.

More information and the Superintendent’s recommendation is available on the APS Engage website. A new School Board Work Session is scheduled for Nov. 12 at 6 p.m. There will be a Public Hearing on Elementary School Boundaries on Dec. 1 and the School Board will take action on boundaries on Dec. 3.

Information Items
The Board discussed the following items:

  • Proposed Revisions to School Board Policy F-1 Financial Management – Capital Improvement Plan
  • Proposed Revisions to School Board Policy F-5.7 Construction and Maintenance

Details on these information items is available online.

Recognition
The School Board recognized APS school psychologists in honor of School Psychology Week, November 9-13. APS school psychologists promote positive behavior and mental health to support students, especially during these challenging times.

For More Information:
Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.

School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.