APS 新闻发布

校务委员会批准暑期学费和中学边界调整

举行招待会以表彰即将离任的学校董事会成员詹姆斯·兰德

在昨晚的会议上,校务委员会批准了对中学边界的调整,以在斯特拉特福德校区为新中学创建出勤区。 边界调整将于2019-20学年开始生效,届时斯特拉特福校区的初中将开放,以缓解拥挤并更好地平衡所有初中的入学率。 受新边界影响的学生家庭将在2018年XNUMX月之前收到邮件通知。有关详细信息,请阅读 完整新闻发布.

校务委员会还在其定期董事会会议之前举行的招待会中表彰了即将离任的校务委员会成员詹姆斯·兰德。 校董会主席Barbara Kanninen博士对他的服务表示感谢,并表示“ 兰德(Lander)一直是我们所有学生成功的坚决拥护者,我们感谢他为校务委员会的长期服务。” Lander自2010年2018月起担任董事会成员。莫妮克·奥格雷迪(Monique O'Grady)将于XNUMX年XNUMX月填补这一空缺。

监控项目:
监督的2017-18行动计划更新 – Murphy博士向董事会介绍了为支持董事会今年的工作而在行动计划方面正在进行的努力。

  • 可接受的用途: 工作人员正在与技术咨询委员会合作制定两项单独的政策。 第一项技术政策将于XNUMX月提交给董事会。 第二项政策将在XNUMX月份提交给社区讨论,并计划在XNUMX月份向学校董事会通报。
  • 学校/设施命名政策标准: 员工委员会将审查社区的意见,并在下个月向董事会提出标准草案。
  • 战略计划: 指导委员会正在为该计划制定任务和愿景,并将于2018年XNUMX月开始下一阶段的社区投入。
  • 其他的项目: 董事会将在下个月开始调整小学边界的过程,而社区对下一个《资本改善计划》的讨论将在春季开始。

 欢迎公众通过访问以下网站了解更多信息,提出问题或对正在进行的任何参与计划发表评论 万维网。aps价值/参与.

蒙特梭利计划更新– 工作人员报告说, APS 阿灵顿蒙特梭利行动委员会的蒙特梭利老师,父母,行政人员和董事会成员于今年秋天成立了一个分析小组,以期为未来的发展提出建议。 APS 蒙特梭利程序。 他们合作制定了计划,计划于2019年XNUMX月将整个蒙台梭利小学学生从德鲁迁至目前的帕特里克·亨利大楼。团队讨论的其他项目包括维持蒙台梭利初级卫星课程; 通过增加基于彩票的一年级入学机会,在新地点发展蒙台梭利; 并考虑为蒙特梭利学校增加六年级的选择。 分析小组将继续开会以评估录取过程; 招聘蒙台梭利员工; 停车和运输程序; 和其他搬迁注意事项。 完整的演示文稿可在 BoardDocs.

可持续发展更新– 工作人员介绍了有关实施可持续发展措施和最佳实践的最新信息,这些措施和方法支持了该组织的一项核心价值观。 APS 战略计划。 他们讨论了将可持续性纳入基本项目和运营,并将可持续性纳入教学计划的努力。 他们还强调了最近的太阳能购买协议, APS 已批准,以支持减少学校的能源使用。 完整的演示文稿可在 BoardDocs. 

行动项目:
暑期学校费用– 校务委员会批准了2018年暑期学校注册费,用于小学,初中和高中强化班。 这些课程的费用将与去年相同。 强化课程的全额费用为100美元,合格家庭的减免费用为每个课程56美元。
立法方案– 校务委员会审查了今年拟议的州立法重点。 2018年的优先事项包括敦促为质量标准(SOQ)和对公立学校的所有授权提供全部资金; 设立学校健康咨询委员会; 支持推迟实施高中毕业要求的重新设计一年; 并继续倡导将对公立学校日历的控制权交还给当地学区。 完整的详细信息在 BoardDocs.
甘斯顿辅助供热工作和控制措施– 董事会批准了一项提案,在主要项目预算提案之前,授予最高300,000万美元的HVAC债券授权以进行工作。

任命:
校务委员会任命约翰·阿姆斯特朗和珍妮丝·瓦伦苏埃拉为交通选择咨询委员会的联席主席。

信息项:
2017财年最终财政状况报告– 工作人员报告称,2016-17财年的财务记录已经关闭,审核并发送给了弗吉尼亚教育局。 来自的净可用期末余额为13.6万美元。 APS 运营,加上县的额外收入,余额为18.1万美元。 有关详细信息,请访问 BoardDocs.

认可:
校务委员会开始与华盛顿·李·合唱团的学生展示会举行会议,表演音乐作品以庆祝假期。 校务委员会还表彰了助理校长莱斯利·彼得森(Leslie Peterson)及其在财务与管理服务部的团队,获得了国际学校业务官员协会的奖励。 APS 赢得了 功绩预算奖 连续第九年。 联合之路还向 APS 表彰员工长期以来对“年度运动”的支持,该运动去年为慈善组织筹集了超过$ 55,000。

下次校务委员会会议: 
下次学校董事会会议将于4月6日,星期四,下午30:XNUMX举行。议程将在会议召开的一周前公布。 BoardDocs.

了解更多信息
想要对学校董事会会议上讨论的任何项目发表评论的公民,请通过以下方式向董事会发送电子邮件: 学校董事会@aps价值 or call 703-228-6015.或致电703-228-2400。 Citizens may call 70-41-XNUMX on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.在校务委员会会议结束后的周一,公民可以拨打XNUMX-XNUMX-XNUMX收听会议摘要。 School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有线频道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS频道XNUMX上还直播学校董事会会议; live-streamed on the现场直播 APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 pm and Mondays at 7:30 pm immediately following the meeting.网站,并在会议结束后的周五晚上XNUMX点和周一晚上XNUMX:XNUMX重新广播。 All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at会议的所有材料和会议记录将发布到以下网站: 万维网。apsva.us/学校董事会 经校务委员会在随后的会议上批准。

APS News Release

School Board Approves Summer School Fees and Middle School Boundary Adjustments

Reception Held to Honor Outgoing School Board Member James Lander

At last night’s meeting, the School Board approved middle school boundary adjustments to create an attendance zone for the new middle school at the Stratford Site. The boundary adjustments will become effective for the 2019-20 school year when the middle school at the Stratford site opens to relieve crowding and better balance enrollment across all middle schools. Families of students affected by the new boundaries will received notification in the mail by February 2018. For more details, read the full news release.

The School Board also recognized outgoing School Board Member James Lander in a reception held prior to its regular board meeting. School Board Chair Dr. Barbara Kanninen expressed her appreciation for his service, stating “Mr. Lander has been a strong advocate for the success of all of our students, and we are grateful for his longtime service to the School Board.” Lander has served as a Board member since January 2010. Monique O’Grady will fill this vacancy in January 2018.

MONITORING ITEMS:
Superintendent’s 2017-18 Action Plan Update – Dr. Murphy brought the Board up to date about the efforts underway on the action plan to support the Board’s work this year.

  • Acceptable Use: Staff is working with the Advisory Committee on Technology to develop two separate policies. The first technology policy will be presented to the Board in January. The second policy will be presented for community discussion in February and is scheduled for School Board information in March.
  • School/Facility Naming Policy Criteria: The Staff Committee will be reviewing community input and present draft criteria to the Board next month.
  • Strategic Plan: The Steering Committee is mapping out a mission and vision for the plan, and will begin the next phase of community input in January 2018.
  • Other Projects: The Board will begin the process for adjusting elementary school boundaries next month, and community discussion on the next Capital Improvement Plan will begin in the spring.

 The public is invited to learn more, ask questions or comment on any of the engagement initiatives that are underway by visiting www.apsva.us/engage.

Montessori Program Update – Staff reported that a team of APS Montessori teachers, parents, administrators, and board members from the Arlington Montessori Action Committee formed an Analysis Team this fall to develop recommendations for the future of APS Montessori programs. They have collaborated on developing plans for moving the entire Montessori elementary student body from Drew to the current Patrick Henry building in September 2019.  Other items discussed by the Team includes maintaining the Montessori primary satellite classes; growing Montessori at the new location by adding lottery-based admission for first grade; and considering options for adding sixth grade to the Montessori school. The Analysis Team will continue to meet to evaluate the admission process; recruitment of Montessori staff; parking and transportation procedures; and other relocation considerations. The full presentation is available on BoardDocs.

Sustainability Update – Staff presented an update on efforts to implement sustainability measures and best practices that support one of the Core Values in the APS Strategic Plan. They discussed efforts to integrate sustainability into capital projects and operations, and incorporate sustainability into teaching and learning programs. They also highlighted the recent solar power purchase agreements that APS has approved, to support reduced energy use in schools. The full presentation is available on BoardDocs. 

ACTION ITEMS:
Summer School Fees – The School Board approved 2018 Summer School registration fees for elementary, middle and high school strengthening classes. Fees for these classes will remain the same as last year. The full fee for strengthening classes will be $100 and the reduced fee for qualifying families will be $56 per class.
Legislative Package – The School Board reviewed this year’s proposed state legislative priorities. The 2018 priorities include urging full funding for the Standards of Quality (SOQ) and all mandates to public schools; establishment of a School Health Advisory Board; supporting a one-year delay in implementing the redesign of high school graduation requirements; and continued advocacy for returning control of the public school calendar to local school districts. Complete details are available in BoardDocs.
Gunston Supplementary Heating Work and Controls – The Board approved a proposal to award additional HVAC bond authority for up to $300,000 for work in advance of the main project budget proposal.

APPOINTMENTS:
The School Board appointed John Armstrong and Janeth Valenzuela as co-chairs of the Advisory Committee on Transportation Choices.

INFORMATION ITEM:
FY 2017 Final Fiscal Status Report – Staff reported that the financial records for the 2016-17 fiscal year have been closed, audited, and sent to the Virginia Department of Education. There is a net available ending balance of $13.6 million from APS operations, and with additional county revenue, the balance is $18.1 million. For detailed information, go to BoardDocs.

RECOGNITIONS:
The School Board began its meeting with a student showcase by the Washington-Lee Chorus performing musical selections that celebrated the holiday season. The School Board also recognized Assistant Superintendent Leslie Peterson and her team in the Department of Finance & Management Services for their award from the Association of School Business Officials International. APS has earned the Meritorious Budget Award for the ninth consecutive year. The United Way also presented an award to APS in recognition of employees’ longstanding support of the Annual Campaign, which raised more than $55,000 for charitable organizations last year.

Next School Board Meeting: 
The next School Board meeting will be held on Thu, Jan. 4 at 6:30 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.

For More Information
Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.