APS بيان صحفي

يبدأ مجلس المدرسة مناقشة الخطة الإستراتيجية المقترحة للمشرف 2018-24

المشرف يجعل إعلان مبادرة الحدود الابتدائية

بدأ مجلس المدرسة مناقشته حول الخطة الاستراتيجية المقترحة للمشرف 2018-24 في اجتماع الليلة الماضية. تعمل الخطة الإستراتيجية كإطار عمل لمجلس المدرسة واللجان الاستشارية وخطط المدرسة والأقسام وخطط العمل الفردية ، وقد تمت صياغة الخطة من قبل لجنة برئاسة تيد بلاك وميريديث بيربل ، وتتكون من طاقم عمل وطلاب و أفراد المجتمع على مدار العام الماضي. تتضمن المسودة المقترحة مهمة ورؤية وقيمًا أساسية بالإضافة إلى مجموعة من الأهداف والنتائج المرجوة وأهداف واستراتيجيات الأداء.

تتضمن مسودة الأهداف ما يلي:

  • مسارات متعددة لنجاح الطلاب ؛
  • الطلاب الأصحاء والآمنون والمدعومون ؛
  • القوى العاملة المشاركة ؛
  • التفوق التشغيلي؛ و
  • شراكات قوية وداعمة بشكل متبادل

من المتوقع أن يتبنى مجلس المدرسة الخطة الإستراتيجية النهائية 2018-24 في اجتماع 7 يونيو. العرض الكامل متاحة على شبكة الإنترنت.

مبادرة التخطيط للمدرسة الابتدائية:
خلال تصريحاته في بداية الاجتماع ، أعلن الدكتور مورفي أنه ، بالتشاور مع أعضاء مجلس إدارة المدرسة ، أوصى بتعليق الخطط التي تمت مناقشتها مسبقًا للنظر في نقل أي من الأحياء الابتدائية أو مواقع المدارس الاختيارية في خريف عام 2019. بدلاً من ذلك ، سيركز فريق العمل هذا الخريف على إشراك المجتمع لوضع توصيات لتعديلات حدود المدرسة الابتدائية المقترحة والتي تكون مطلوبة APS تستعد لافتتاح مدرسة أليس دبليو فليت الابتدائية الجديدة ، وبرنامج مونتيسوري في موقع هنري ، ومدرسة درو النموذجية كمدرسة مجاورة كاملة في خريف عام 2019. وستستند تعديلات الحدود لعام 2019 إلى جميع المدارس الابتدائية المتبقية في المواقع الحالية.

وأضاف المشرف أن APS قد تحتاج إلى إعادة النظر في خيار تعديل بعض الأحياء الابتدائية ومواقع المدارس الاختيارية في المستقبل عندما APS تبدأ عملية المجتمع لتعديل الحدود وإنشاء منطقة حضور جديدة للمدرسة الابتدائية الجديدة في ريد التي ستفتح في سبتمبر 2021.

جلسة استماع علنية:
خطة تحسين رأس المال (CIP) - عقد مجلس المدرسة جلسة استماع عامة حول CIP المقترح من قبل المشرف للسنة المالية 2019-28. لمزيد من المعلومات حول CIP ، قم بزيارة www.apsva.us/engage/cip_fy19-28/.

خطوات العمل:
وافق المجلس على البنود التالية.

  • مشروع ديسكفري الابتدائي المثالي - وافق المجلس على مشروع Discovery المثالي ، "Profile of a Discovery Graduate" ، والذي يستند إلى ملف تعريف الولاية الجديد لخريج فرجينيا. وهي تتضمن خمسة "أساسيات اكتشاف" توجه برنامج تعليم أصلي. الغرض من المشروع هو التأكد من أنه بالإضافة إلى إتقان جميع معايير التعليم في فيرجينيا ، سيصبح الطلاب أيضًا مبدعين ، قادرين على التحليل والتصميم والإنشاء ، بما يتفق مع المهارات التي نعتقد أنها ستكون ضرورية في المستقبل غير المتوقع .
  • سياسة مجلس المدرسة (SBP) 20-2.210 الاستخدام المقبول: سياسة التقنيات الإلكترونية - وافق المجلس على توصيات الموظفين لتعديل SBP 20-2.210. العرض الكامل والسياسة متوفرة على BoardDocs.
  • جائزة عقد البناء للتعديلات الداخلية لمركز التوظيف - منح المجلس عقد إنشاء لمجموعة Bennett مقابل 1,624,751.34 دولار أمريكي لإكمال التعديلات الداخلية الصيفية لعام 2018 ، ووافق على ميزانية متوقعة تبلغ 4,542,111.34 دولار أمريكي للمشروع. التفاصيل الكاملة متوفرة على BoardDocs.
  • التغيير لضمان أقصى سعر وميزانية لمدرسة الأسطول الابتدائية - وافق المجلس على زيادة في عقد السعر الأقصى المضمون لمشروع الأسطول بأمر تغيير فردي بقيمة 190,000،XNUMX دولار لتحسينات إمكانية الوصول إلى مدرسة جيفرسون المتوسطة. التفاصيل الكاملة متاحة على شبكة الإنترنت.

تعيينات:
قام المجلس بتعيين الموظفين التاليين:

مراقبة البند:
قدم الموظفون تحديثًا حول تنفيذ الخيارات المنقحة وسياسة التحويل (SBP 25-2.2).

بنود المعلومات:

  • تقرير المراقبة المالية للربع الثالث من السنة المالية 2018 - تضمن تقرير الموظفين تحديث حالة الإيرادات والنفقات.
  • سياسة مجلس المدرسة المقترحة 25-3.6 استخدام حيوانات الخدمة في المدارس - الغرض من هذه السياسة الجديدة هو التأكد من أن الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة لديهم الفرصة ليرافقهم حيوان خدمي مدرب في ممتلكات المدرسة وفقًا لقانون الأمريكيين ذوي الإعاقة.
  • جائزة العقد للخدمات المعمارية والهندسية لتجديد مركز التعليم - ويوصي الموظفون المجلس بالموافقة على منح عقد بمبلغ 2,442,523،27،4 دولارًا إلى Studio 2017 Architecture ، PPLC. يوصي الموظفون أيضًا باستخدام 2026 ملايين دولار من صناديق السندات المتاحة المحددة في السنة المالية 2018-XNUMX CIP على أنها "مقاعد ثانوية يتم تحديدها لاحقًا" لتغطية نفقات مرحلة التصميم حتى تتوفر صناديق السندات المستقبلية بعد استفتاء XNUMX.
  • اتفاقية ترخيص لوقوف السيارات في باك العقارية - قدم الموظفون اتفاقية ترخيص مؤقتة مقترحة لمنحها APS الاستخدام الحصري لجزء من ساحة انتظار السيارات في مقاطعة أرلينغتون ، الواقع في 1425 N. Quincy Street والمعروف سابقًا باسم ملكية Buck ، لمواقف السيارات APS مركبات الأسطول الأبيض (بما في ذلك شاحنات الصيانة) والمركبات الشخصية لموظفي المنشأة. لن يُسمح لأي مركبات أخرى ، بما في ذلك الحافلات المدرسية ، بالوقوف في هذا الموقع.

يمكن أن يكون مزيد من المعلومات حول هذه العناصر وجدت على BoardDocs.

التعرف على:
بدأ مجلس المدرسة الاجتماع بتكريم الموظفين الذين بلغوا 20 و 25 و 30 و 35 و 40 و 45 سنة من الخدمة في مدارس أرلينغتون العامة.

اجتماع مجلس المدرسة القادمة:
سيعقد الاجتماع القادم لمجلس المدرسة يوم الخميس 31 مايو (2110 واشنطن بوليفارد) في الساعة 6 مساء. وقت البدء المبكر هو استيعاب اعتراف المواطنين المكرمين لهذا العام. سيتم نشر جدول الأعمال قبل أسبوع واحد من الاجتماع على BoardDocs.

لمزيد من المعلومات
يجب على المواطنين الذين يرغبون في التعليق على أي بنود تمت مناقشتها في اجتماع مجلس المدرسة إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى المجلس على لوحة المدرسة@apsva.us أو اتصل على 703-228-6015. يمكن للمواطنين الاتصال بالرقم 703-228-2400 يوم الاثنين بعد اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة للاستماع إلى ملخص الاجتماع. يتم أيضًا بث اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة مباشرة على Comcast Cable Channel 70 و Verizon FiOS Channel 41 ؛ بث مباشر على APS ويعاد بثه يوم الجمعة الساعة 9 مساءً ويوم الاثنين الساعة 7:30 مساءً بعد الاجتماع مباشرة. سيتم نشر جميع المواد والدقائق على موقع الويب في شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/schoolboard بناء على موافقة مجلس المدرسة في اجتماع لاحق.

APS News Release

School Board Begins Discussion on Superintendent’s Proposed 2018-24 Strategic Plan

Superintendent Makes Elementary Boundary Initiative Announcement

The School Board began its discussion on the Superintendent’s Proposed 2018-24 Strategic Plan at last night’s meeting. The Strategic Plan serves as a framework for the School Board and Advisory Committees, school and department plans, and individual work plans.The plan was drafted by a committee, chaired by Ted Black and Meredith Purple, and made up of staff, students, and community members over the course of the last year. The proposed draft includes a Mission, Vision and Core Values as well as a set of goals, desired outcomes, performance objectives and strategies.

Draft goals include:

  • Multiple Pathways to Students’ Success;
  • Healthy, Safe and Supported Students;
  • Engaged Workforce;
  • Operational Excellence; and
  • Strong and Mutually Supportive Partnerships

The School Board is expected to adopt the final 2018-24 Strategic Plan at the June 7 meeting. The full presentation is available online.

ELEMENTARY SCHOOL PLANNING INITIATIVE:
During his announcements at the start of the meeting, Dr. Murphy announced that, in consultation with School Board members, he has recommended suspending previously discussed plans to consider moving any of the elementary neighborhood or option school locations in the fall of 2019. Instead, this fall staff will focus on engaging the community to develop recommendations for proposed elementary school boundary adjustments that are needed as APS prepares to open the new Alice W. Fleet Elementary School, the Montessori program at the Henry site, and Drew Model School as a full neighborhood school in the Fall of 2019. The boundary adjustments for 2019 will be based on all elementary schools remaining at their current locations.

The Superintendent added that APS may need to revisit the option of adjusting some elementary neighborhood and option school locations in the future when APS begins the community process to adjust boundaries and create a new attendance zone for the new elementary school at Reed that will open in September 2021.

PUBLIC HEARING:
Capital Improvement Plan (CIP) – The School Board held a Public Hearing on the Superintendent’s proposed FY 2019-28 CIP. For more information on the CIP, visit www.apsva.us/engage/cip_fy19-28/.

ACTION ITEMS:
The Board approved the following items.

  • Discovery Elementary School Exemplary Project – The Board approved Discovery’s exemplary project, “Profile of a Discovery Graduate,” which is based on the state’s new Profile of a Virginia Graduate. It includes five “Discovery Fundamentals” that guide a program of authentic instruction. The purpose of the project is to ensure that, in addition to having proficiency in all Virginia Standards of Learning, students will also become innovators, able to analyze, design, and create, consistent with the skills we believe will be necessary in an unpredictable future.
  • School Board Policy (SBP) 20-2.210 Acceptable Use: Electronic Technologies Policy – The Board approved staff recommendations to amend SBP 20-2.210. The full presentation and Policy is available on BoardDocs.
  • Construction Contract Award for Career Center Internal Modifications – The Board awarded a construction contract to Bennett Group, Inc. for $1,624,751.34 to complete the summer 2018 internal modifications approved a projected budget of $4,542,111.34 for the project. Full details are available on BoardDocs.
  • Change to Guarantees Maximum Price and Budget for Fleet Elementary School – The Board approved an increase to the Fleet Project Guaranteed Maximum Price contract with an individual change order of $190,000 for accessibility improvements to Jefferson Middle School. Full details are available online.

APPOINTMENTS:
The Board made the following staff appointments:

MONITORING ITEM:
Staff provided an update on the revised Options and Transfer Policy (SBP 25-2.2) implementation.

INFORMATION ITEMS:

  • FY 2018 3rd Quarter Fiscal Monitoring Report – The staff report included a status update on revenue and expenditures.
  • Proposed School Board Policy 25-3.6 Use of Service Animals in Schools – The purpose of this new policy is to ensure that persons with disabilities have the opportunity to be accompanied by their trained service animal on school property in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act.
  • Contract Award for Architecture and Engineering Services for the Education Center Renovation – Staff is recommending the Board approve awarding a contract in the amount of $2,442,523 to Studio 27 Architecture, PPLC. Staff also recommends using $4 million of the available bond funds identified in the FY 2017-2026 CIP as “Secondary Seats TBD” for design phase expenses until future bond funds are available following the 2018 referendum.
  • License Agreement for Parking at Buck Property – Staff presented a proposed temporary License Agreement to grant APS exclusive use of a portion of Arlington County’s parking lot, located at 1425 N. Quincy Street and formerly known as the Buck property, for parking APS white fleet vehicles (including maintenance trucks) and facility employees’ personal vehicles.  No other vehicles, including school buses, will be permitted to park at this location.

More information on these items can be found on BoardDocs.

RECOGNITION:
The School Board began the meeting by honoring staff who reached 20, 25, 30, 35, 40 and 45 years of service to Arlington Public Schools.

NEXT SCHOOL BOARD MEETING:
The next School Board meeting will be held on Thursday, May 31 (2110 Washington Blvd.) at 6 p.m. The earlier start time is to accommodate this year’s Honored Citizens recognitions. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.

FOR MORE INFORMATION:
Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.