APS 新聞發布

校務委員會開始討論學監的擬議《 2018-24年戰略計劃》

院長宣布基本邊界倡議

校務委員會在昨晚的會議上開始討論學監的《 2018-24年戰略計劃》。 該戰略計劃是學校董事會和諮詢委員會,學校和部門計劃以及個人工作計劃的框架,由一個由Ted Black和Meredith Purple擔任主席的委員會起草,該委員會由教職員工,學生和過去一年中的社區成員。 擬議草案包括使命,願景和核心價值觀,以及一系列目標,預期成果,績效目標和戰略。

目標草案包括:

  • 通往學生成功的多種途徑;
  • 健康,安全和受支持的學生;
  • 敬業的員工;
  • 卓越運營; 和
  • 強有力的相互支持的伙伴關係

預計校務委員會將在2018月24日的會議上通過最終的《 7-XNUMX年戰略計劃》。 完整的演示文稿是 可在線.

基礎學校計劃倡議:
在會議開始時的宣布中,墨菲博士宣布,在與學校董事會成員協商後,他建議中止先前討論的計劃,以考慮在2019年秋季搬遷任何小學附近或可選的學校所在地。今年秋天,工作人員將集中精力讓社區參與,為建議的小學邊界調整提出建議, APS 準備在2019年秋季開設新的愛麗絲W.艦隊小學,亨利基地的蒙台梭利計劃,以及德魯模型學校作為完整的鄰里學校.2019年的邊界調整將基於其剩餘的所有小學當前位置。

院長補充說 APS 將來可能需要重新考慮調整一些基本社區和可選學校位置的選擇 APS 開始社區調整邊界的過程,並為將於2021年XNUMX月開放的里德新小學創建一個新的出勤區。

公開聽證會:
資本改善計劃(CIP)– 校務委員會就總監擬議的2019-28財年CIP舉行了公開聽證會。 有關CIP的更多信息,請訪問www。apsva.us/engage/cip_fy19-28/。

行動項目:
董事會批准了以下項目。

  • 探索小學示範項目– 董事會批准了Discovery的示範項目“ Discovery畢業生簡介”,該項目基於該州新的Virginia畢業生簡介。 它包括五個“發現基礎知識”,可指導真實的教學程序。 該項目的目的是確保除熟練掌握所有弗吉尼亞學習標準外,學生還將成為創新者,能夠分析,設計和創造與我們認為在不可預測的未來必不可少的技能相一致的技能。
  • 校務委員會政策(SBP)20-2.210可接受的使用:電子技術政策– 董事會批准了員工建議以修改SBP 20-2.210。 完整的介紹和政策是 在BoardDocs上可用.
  • 職業中心內部修改的施工合同獎– 董事會授予Bennett Group,Inc.一份建築合同,金額為1,624,751.34美元,以完成2018年夏季的內部修改,批准了該項目的預計預算4,542,111.34美元。 詳細信息如下 在BoardDocs上可用.
  • 更改艦隊小學的最高保證價格和預算– 董事會批准增加“艦隊項目保證最高價格”合同,並單獨下達190,000美元的變更單,以改善杰斐遜中學的可訪問性。 詳細信息如下 可在線.

任命:
董事會任命了以下工作人員:

監控項目:
工作人員提供了修訂後的《選項和轉讓政策》(SBP 25-2.2)實施的最新信息。

信息項:

  • 2018財年第三季度財政監測報告– 工作人員報告包括收入和支出的最新狀況。
  • 擬議的學校董事會政策25-3.6在學校中使用服務性動物– 這項新政策的目的是確保殘疾人有機會根據《美國殘疾人法》在學校財產上陪伴其訓練有素的服務性動物。
  • 教育中心翻新工程的建築和工程服務合同獎– 工作人員建議董事會批准向Studio 2,442,523 Architecture,PPLC授予27美元的合同。 工作人員還建議將4-2017財年CIP中確定的可用債券基金中的2026萬美元用作“次要席位待定”,以用於設計階段的支出,直到2018年公投後未來的債券基金可用為止。
  • Buck Property的停車許可協議– 工作人員出示了一份擬議的臨時許可協議以授予 APS 專用於阿靈頓縣(Arlington County)停車場的一部分,位於1425 N. Quincy Street,以前稱為Buck物業,用於停車 APS 白色車隊車輛(包括維修車)和設施員工的私人車輛。 禁止將其他車輛(包括校車)停放在此位置。

關於這些項目的更多信息可以是 在BoardDocs上找到.

承認:
校務委員會通過向在阿靈頓公立學校服務20、25、30、35、40和45年的工作人員表示敬意來開始會議。

下次學校董事會會議:
下一次的學校董事會會議將於31月2110日(星期四,華盛頓大道6號)下午XNUMX點舉行。較早的開始時間是為了滿足今年的榮譽公民獎。 會議議程將在會議召開前一周發佈在BoardDocs上。

欲獲得更多信息:
想要對學校董事會會議上討論的任何項目發表評論的公民,請通過以下方式向董事會發送電子郵件: 學校董事會@aps價值 or call 703-228-6015.或致電703-228-2400。 Citizens may call 70-41-XNUMX on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.在校務委員會會議結束後的周一,公民可以撥打XNUMX-XNUMX-XNUMX收聽會議摘要。 School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有線頻道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS頻道XNUMX上還直播學校董事會會議; live-streamed on the現場直播 APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 pm and Mondays at 7:30 pm immediately following the meeting.網站,並在會議結束後的周五晚上XNUMX點和周一晚上XNUMX:XNUMX重新廣播。 All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at所有材料和會議記錄將發佈到網站上 萬維網。apsva.us/學校董事會 經校務委員會在隨後的會議上批准。

APS News Release

School Board Begins Discussion on Superintendent’s Proposed 2018-24 Strategic Plan

Superintendent Makes Elementary Boundary Initiative Announcement

The School Board began its discussion on the Superintendent’s Proposed 2018-24 Strategic Plan at last night’s meeting. The Strategic Plan serves as a framework for the School Board and Advisory Committees, school and department plans, and individual work plans.The plan was drafted by a committee, chaired by Ted Black and Meredith Purple, and made up of staff, students, and community members over the course of the last year. The proposed draft includes a Mission, Vision and Core Values as well as a set of goals, desired outcomes, performance objectives and strategies.

Draft goals include:

  • Multiple Pathways to Students’ Success;
  • Healthy, Safe and Supported Students;
  • Engaged Workforce;
  • Operational Excellence; and
  • Strong and Mutually Supportive Partnerships

The School Board is expected to adopt the final 2018-24 Strategic Plan at the June 7 meeting. The full presentation is available online.

ELEMENTARY SCHOOL PLANNING INITIATIVE:
During his announcements at the start of the meeting, Dr. Murphy announced that, in consultation with School Board members, he has recommended suspending previously discussed plans to consider moving any of the elementary neighborhood or option school locations in the fall of 2019. Instead, this fall staff will focus on engaging the community to develop recommendations for proposed elementary school boundary adjustments that are needed as APS prepares to open the new Alice W. Fleet Elementary School, the Montessori program at the Henry site, and Drew Model School as a full neighborhood school in the Fall of 2019. The boundary adjustments for 2019 will be based on all elementary schools remaining at their current locations.

The Superintendent added that APS may need to revisit the option of adjusting some elementary neighborhood and option school locations in the future when APS begins the community process to adjust boundaries and create a new attendance zone for the new elementary school at Reed that will open in September 2021.

PUBLIC HEARING:
Capital Improvement Plan (CIP) – The School Board held a Public Hearing on the Superintendent’s proposed FY 2019-28 CIP. For more information on the CIP, visit www.apsva.us/engage/cip_fy19-28/.

ACTION ITEMS:
The Board approved the following items.

  • Discovery Elementary School Exemplary Project – The Board approved Discovery’s exemplary project, “Profile of a Discovery Graduate,” which is based on the state’s new Profile of a Virginia Graduate. It includes five “Discovery Fundamentals” that guide a program of authentic instruction. The purpose of the project is to ensure that, in addition to having proficiency in all Virginia Standards of Learning, students will also become innovators, able to analyze, design, and create, consistent with the skills we believe will be necessary in an unpredictable future.
  • School Board Policy (SBP) 20-2.210 Acceptable Use: Electronic Technologies Policy – The Board approved staff recommendations to amend SBP 20-2.210. The full presentation and Policy is available on BoardDocs.
  • Construction Contract Award for Career Center Internal Modifications – The Board awarded a construction contract to Bennett Group, Inc. for $1,624,751.34 to complete the summer 2018 internal modifications approved a projected budget of $4,542,111.34 for the project. Full details are available on BoardDocs.
  • Change to Guarantees Maximum Price and Budget for Fleet Elementary School – The Board approved an increase to the Fleet Project Guaranteed Maximum Price contract with an individual change order of $190,000 for accessibility improvements to Jefferson Middle School. Full details are available online.

APPOINTMENTS:
The Board made the following staff appointments:

MONITORING ITEM:
Staff provided an update on the revised Options and Transfer Policy (SBP 25-2.2) implementation.

INFORMATION ITEMS:

  • FY 2018 3rd Quarter Fiscal Monitoring Report – The staff report included a status update on revenue and expenditures.
  • Proposed School Board Policy 25-3.6 Use of Service Animals in Schools – The purpose of this new policy is to ensure that persons with disabilities have the opportunity to be accompanied by their trained service animal on school property in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act.
  • Contract Award for Architecture and Engineering Services for the Education Center Renovation – Staff is recommending the Board approve awarding a contract in the amount of $2,442,523 to Studio 27 Architecture, PPLC. Staff also recommends using $4 million of the available bond funds identified in the FY 2017-2026 CIP as “Secondary Seats TBD” for design phase expenses until future bond funds are available following the 2018 referendum.
  • License Agreement for Parking at Buck Property – Staff presented a proposed temporary License Agreement to grant APS exclusive use of a portion of Arlington County’s parking lot, located at 1425 N. Quincy Street and formerly known as the Buck property, for parking APS white fleet vehicles (including maintenance trucks) and facility employees’ personal vehicles.  No other vehicles, including school buses, will be permitted to park at this location.

More information on these items can be found on BoardDocs.

RECOGNITION:
The School Board began the meeting by honoring staff who reached 20, 25, 30, 35, 40 and 45 years of service to Arlington Public Schools.

NEXT SCHOOL BOARD MEETING:
The next School Board meeting will be held on Thursday, May 31 (2110 Washington Blvd.) at 6 p.m. The earlier start time is to accommodate this year’s Honored Citizens recognitions. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.

FOR MORE INFORMATION:
Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.