APS بيان صحفي

يناقش مجلس المدرسة 2019-28 مرافق أرلينغتون وخطة سكن الطلاب

تعيين مدير جديد لدرو

بدأت مناقشة مجلس إدارة المدرسة لهذا العام حول خطة تحسين رأس المال (CIP) لعام 2019-28 في اجتماع الليلة الماضية بتقرير مراقبة حول مرافق أرلينغتون وخطة سكن الطلاب (AFSAP). يوفر AFSAP نظرة شاملة على APS تسجيل الطلاب وبناء القدرات وسيتم استخدامها لتوفير APS الموظفين الذين لديهم بيانات لاتخاذ قرارات بشأنها APS كما يسلط التقرير الضوء على توقعات الالتحاق والمشاريع المحتملة لـ2019-28 CIP التي سيتم تطويرها هذا الربيع. يمكن أن يكون مزيد من التفاصيل وجدت على الانترنت.

تعيينات
مجلس المدرسة عين كيمبرلي جريفز كمدير جديد لمدرسة درو النموذجية. يبدأ تعيينها في 1 يوليو 2018 ، كما عين مجلس الإدارة ويندي بيلش مديرة مؤقتة لمرحلة الطفولة المبكرة والتعليم الابتدائي من 1 يوليو إلى 30 يونيو 2019.

بيان مجلس المدرسة
خلال اجتماع الليلة الماضية ، أصدر مجلس المدرسة بيانًا حول المأساة الأخيرة في مدرسة مارجوري ستونمان دوجلاس الثانوية في فلوريدا وحول السلامة المدرسية. انقر هنا لقراءة البيان كاملا.

بنود الموافقة:
وافق مجلس المدرسة على البنود التالية كجزء من جدول الموافقة:

  • التصميم النهائي للتعديلات الداخلية يوركتاون
  • منح عقد المرحلة الثانية لاستبدال نافذة راندولف
  • التصميم على استخدام إدارة البناء في طريقة تسليم المخاطر لتجديد مركز التعليم
  • تعديل عقد خدمات مستشار إدارة البناء (CMA) لمشروع أبينجدون
  • التعيين في اللجنة الاستشارية لخيارات النقل

يمكن العثور على مزيد من المعلومات حول هذه العناصر على بورد دوكس.

عناصر المراقبة

  • تحديث خطة عمل المشرف 2017-18 - أطلع مورفي المجلس على الجهود الأخرى الجارية بشأن خطة العمل لدعم عمل المجلس هذا العام.
    • إدراجه: سيعمل الموظفون مع اللجنة التوجيهية للخطة الإستراتيجية للفترة 2018-24 لتحديد مجالات التركيز المتعلقة بالتضمين. ستكون هناك فرص للمشاركة المجتمعية في أبريل حول الخطة الإستراتيجية الابتدائية.
    • مبادرة تخطيط المدارس الابتدائية - هناك نوعان من فرص المشاركة المجتمعية:
      • مراجعة موقع المدرسة الابتدائية — الموعد النهائي 9 مارس ؛ و
      • مراجعة منطقة المشي في المدرسة الابتدائية - 12 مارس هو الموعد النهائي الأول و 19 مارس هو آخر موعد نهائي.

سيستضيف الموظفون أيضًا جلسات عمل مجموعة مهام المدرسة "ما سمعناه حول مراجعة منطقة السير" في وقت لاحق من شهر مارس

  • تحديث مبنى ريد - تم تأجيل تصميم مفهوم ريد ، الذي كان من المقرر في الأصل تقديمه كبند معلومات في اجتماع مجلس إدارة المدرسة الليلة ، لإتاحة مزيد من الوقت للمراجعة والنظر من قبل أعضاء لجنة تخطيط مستوى المبنى (BLPC) ، لجنة مراجعة المرافق العامة (PFRC) وأعضاء المجتمع. اقرأ التحديث الكامل هنا.
  • ميزانية السنة المالية 19 - من المقرر عقد جلستي عمل لمجلس إدارة المدرسة في 13 و 15 مارس ومن المقرر عقد جلسة استماع عامة في 22 مارس.

الجمهور مدعو لمعرفة المزيد أو طرح الأسئلة أو التعليق على أي من مبادرات المشاركة في خطة العمل الجارية من خلال الزيارة شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/engage.

  • تحديث المجلس الاستشاري للصحة المدرسية - يساعد المجلس الاستشاري للصحة المدرسية (SHAB) مجلس إدارة المدرسة و APS فريق القيادة التنفيذية (ELT) مع تطوير السياسات الصحية في مدارس أرلينغتون العامة وتقييم حالة الصحة المدرسية والتثقيف الصحي والبيئة المدرسية والخدمات الصحية كما هو موضح في قانون ولاية فرجينيا. التقرير الكامل متاحة على شبكة الإنترنت.

بنود المعلومات

  • ترقية مدرسة ويكفيلد الثانوية وإعادة تكوين أجهزة السلامة الكيميائية - طلب الموظفون من مجلس الإدارة إعادة تخصيص أموال مشروع توسيع ويكفيلد لتحديث وإعادة تكوين أجهزة السلامة التي تخدم جميع خزائن الحراسة وغرف العلوم. مزيد من المعلومات على بورد دوكس.
  • اتفاقية ترخيص مؤقتة لمواقف الأسطول في جيفرسون - قدم الموظفون اتفاقية ترخيص مقترحة للاستخدام المؤقت وغير الحصري لجزء من ممتلكات مقاطعة أرلينغتون لمدرسة جيفرسون المتوسطة لاستخدامها كمنطقة مؤقتة لإنزال / التقاط الحافلات ولموقف سيارات الموظفين والزوار. هذه الاتفاقية سوف تمكن APS مساحة كافية للحافلات لاستيعاب 12 حافلة للعمليات الصباحية والمسائية دون عرقلة الدخول إلى موقف السيارات في الشارع الجنوبي الثاني. تحافظ هذه الاتفاقية أيضًا على مواقف سيارات موظفي جيفرسون في ستة (2) أماكن في رصيف التحميل وأربعة (6) أماكن في 4nd ستريت ساوث وموقف سيارات S. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، سيتم استخدام 2 مكانًا في موقف سيارات ملعب التنس في المقاطعة لمواقف جيفرسون العامة وكمنطقة توصيل / التقاط أولياء للطلاب.

الاعترافات
لافتتاح الاجتماع قدمت فرقة يوركتاون للجاز احتفالاً بالفنون في شهر المدارس. كما كرم مجلس المدرسة توم بولز من واشنطن لي. مادي هاينمان من يوركتاون وإيمي كوهان من ويكفيلد الذين وصلوا إلى النهائيات في مسابقة أرلينغتون كاونتي لصائق.

الاجتماع القادم لمجلس المدرسة 
سيعقد اجتماع مجلس إدارة المدرسة التالي في الخميس ، 22 مارس في الساعة 6 مساءً لاستيعاب جوائز الخدمة وجلسة الاستماع العامة حول ميزانية السنة المالية 19 المقترحة للمشرف. سيتم نشر جدول الأعمال قبل أسبوع واحد من الاجتماع يوم بورد دوكس.   

للمزيد من المعلومات
يجب على المواطنين الذين يرغبون في التعليق على أي من البنود التي تمت مناقشتها في اجتماع مجلس المدرسة إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى المجلس على لوحة المدرسة@apsva.us أو اتصل على 703-228-6015. يمكن للمواطنين الاتصال بالرقم 703-228-2400 يوم الاثنين بعد اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة للاستماع إلى ملخص الاجتماع. يتم أيضًا بث اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة مباشرة على Comcast Cable Channel 70 و Verizon FiOS Channel 41 ؛ بث مباشر على APS ويعاد بثه يوم الجمعة الساعة 9 مساءً ويوم الاثنين الساعة 7:30 مساءً بعد الاجتماع مباشرة. سيتم نشر جميع المواد ومحاضر الاجتماع على موقع الويب على شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/schoolboard بناء على موافقة مجلس المدرسة في اجتماع لاحق.

APS News Release

School Board Discusses 2019-28 Arlington Facilities and Student Accommodation Plan

New Drew Principal Appointed

This year’s School Board discussion on the 2019-28 Capital Improvement Plan (CIP) started at last night’s meeting with a monitoring report on Arlington Facilities and Student Accommodation Plan (AFSAP). The AFSAP provides a comprehensive look at the APS student enrollment and building capacity and will be used to provide APS staff with data to make decisions about APS facilities and programs and the next CIP.The report also highlights enrollment projections and potential projects for the 2019-28 CIP which will be developed this spring. More details can be found online.

The School Board appointed Kimberly Graves as the new principal Drew Model School. Her appointment begins July 1, 2018.The Board also appointed Wendy Pilch as the interim director of Early Childhood and Elementary Education from July 1-June 30, 2019.

During last night’s meeting, the School Board released a statement on the recent tragedy at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Florida and on school safety. Click here to read the full statement.

The School Board approved the following items as part of the Consent Agenda:

  • Final Design for Yorktown Internal Modifications
  • Randolph Window Replacement Phase 2 Contract Award
  • Determination to use Construction Management at Risk Delivery Method for the Education Center Renovation
  • Contract Amendment for Construction Management Advisor (CMA) Services for the Abingdon Project
  • Appointment to Advisory Committee on Transportation Choices

More information on these items can be found on BoardDocs.


  • Superintendent’s 2017-18 Action Plan Update – Murphy updated the Board on other efforts underway on the action plan to support the Board’s work this year.
    • Inclusion: Staff will work with the 2018-24 Strategic Plan Steering Committee to determine areas of focus related to inclusion. There will be community engagement opportunities in April around Strategic Plan elementary.
    • Elementary School Planning Initiative – There are two community engagement opportunities:
      • Elementary School Location Review—March 9 deadline; and
      • Elementary School Walk Zone Review—March 12 is the first deadline and March 19 is the last deadline.

Staff also will host “What We Heard on Walk Zone Review” School Task Group Working Sessions later in March

  • Reed Building Update – The Reed Concept Design, which was originally scheduled to be presented as an information item at tonight’s School Board meeting, has been delayed to allow more time for review and consideration by members of the Building Level Planning Committee (BLPC), the Public Facilities Review Committee (PFRC) and members of the community. Read the full update here.
  • FY19 Budget – Two School Board Work Sessions are scheduled for March 13 and 15 and a public hearing is scheduled on March 22.

The public is invited to learn more, ask questions or comment on any of the action plan engagement initiatives that are underway by visiting www.apsva.us/engage.

  • School Health Advisory Board Update – The School Health Advisory Board (SHAB) assists the School Board and APS Executive Leadership Team (ELT) with the development of health policies in Arlington Public Schools and evaluates the status of school health, health education, the school environment and health services as described in the Code of Virginia. The full report is available online.


  • Wakefield High School Upgrade and Reconfiguration of Chemical Safety Devices – Staff asked the Board to repurpose Wakefield Expansion Project funds to upgrade and reconfigure safety devices that serve all the custodial closets and science rooms. More information is on BoardDocs.
  • Temporary License Agreement for Fleet Parking at Jefferson – Staff presented a proposed License Agreement for temporary, non-exclusive use of a portion of Arlington County property for Jefferson Middle School to use as a temporary bus drop-off/pick-up area and for staff and visitor parking. This agreement will enable APS buses adequate space to accommodate 12 buses for morning and afternoon operations without blocking entry to the parking lot entry on South 2nd Street. This agreement also maintains Jefferson staff parking in six (6) spaces at the Loading Dock and four (4) spaces at the 2nd Street South and S. Old Glebe Road parking lot. In addition, 50 spaces in the County’s Tennis Court Parking lot will be used for Jefferson general parking and as a parent drop-off/pickup zone for students.

To open the meeting the Yorktown Jazz Ensemble performed to celebrate Arts in the Schools month. The School Board also recognized Tom Bolles of Washington-Lee; Maddy Heinemann of Yorktown and Amy Kohan of Wakefield who were finalists in the Arlington County Decal Contest.

Next School Board Meeting 
The next School Board meeting will be held on Thu, March 22 at 6 p.m. to accommodate the Service Awards and the Public Hearing on the Superintendent’s Proposed FY19 Budget. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.   

For More Information
Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.