APS بيان صحفي

مجلس المدرسة يناقش اتجاه ميزانية السنة المالية 2018

مجلس الإدارة يفتتح اجتماعًا بالتعليقات على نتائج الانتخابات الأخيرة
عقد جلسة استماع علنية حول تحسينات حدود المدرسة الثانوية المقترحة
في اجتماع الليلة الماضية ، ناقش مجلس المدرسة اتجاه ميزانيته للسنة المالية 2018 ، والذي يوفر إرشادات للمشرف لتطوير ميزانية مقترحة تلبي احتياجات التسجيل المتزايدة لقسم المدرسة. يعطي اتجاه الميزانية المقترح الأولوية لزيادة التعويضات للموظفين ؛ يدعم الاستثمار المستمر في المبادرات لتلبية احتياجات الطفل بأكمله وتوفير فرص التعلم في القرن الحادي والعشرين ؛ يوفر التوظيف الكامل لزيادة التسجيل ؛ ويفترض التمويل الكامل من نقل المقاطعة لدفع الاحتياجات الحرجة لقسم المدرسة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يتضمن اتجاه ميزانية المجلس جهودًا لتحديد وفورات في التكاليف ، وخيارات لزيادة الرسوم ، وفرص لاستخدام تمويل إغلاق لدفع نفقات لمرة واحدة.

تعليقات المجلس على الانتخابات:
في اجتماع الليلة الماضية ، تناولت رئيسة مجلس إدارة المدرسة نانسي فان دورين والرئيسة السابقة مباشرة الدكتورة إيما فيولاند سانشيز نتائج الانتخابات وكيف APS ويجب على مجتمع أرلينغتون أن يجتمعوا معًا ، كما ناقش المشرف الدكتور بات مورفي أن دعم الموظفين كان وسيظل متاحًا للطلاب منذ اليوم التالي للانتخابات. لقراءة ملاحظاتهم كاملة ومشاهدة الفيديو ، اضغط هنا.

جلسة استماع علنية:
عقد مجلس المدرسة جلسة استماع عامة حول التحسينات المقترحة لحدود منطقة حضور المدارس الثانوية. قبل بدء جلسة الاستماع العامة ، شارك الموظفون الخيار المشترك رقم 4 ، وهو خيار تنقيح جديد تم طلبه من قبل أعضاء المجلس في جلسة عمل 9 نوفمبر بشأن الحدود. يتوفر مزيد من المعلومات حول الخيارات قيد النظر تتضمن البطولات التنافسية الألعاب الإلكترونية التالية : DOTA XNUMX و RAINBOW XNUMX و CS: GO ، LEaGUE OF LEGENDS ، Overwatch ، FORTNITE ، LEGENDS APEX ، Call of DUTY XNUMX ، MORTAL KOMBAT XNUMX ، TEKKEN XNUMX ، SUPERMASH BROS ULTIMATE و FIFAXNUMX. ومن المقرر أن يتخذ المجلس قراراً نهائياً في الاجتماع القادم في 1 ديسمبر.

بنود المراقبة:نظام أرلينغتون المتدرج للدعم (ATSS) تحديث:
قدم الموظفون معلومات حول دورة ATSS، والتي تم تصميمها لتوفير مستويات محددة ومستهدفة من الدعم لكل طالب حسب الحاجة. قدم الموظفون لمحة عامة عن معالم هذا العام وتبادلوا قصص النجاح حول التأثير الإيجابي ATSS يصنع للطلاب. التقرير الكامل متاح تتضمن البطولات التنافسية الألعاب الإلكترونية التالية : DOTA XNUMX و RAINBOW XNUMX و CS: GO ، LEaGUE OF LEGENDS ، Overwatch ، FORTNITE ، LEGENDS APEX ، Call of DUTY XNUMX ، MORTAL KOMBAT XNUMX ، TEKKEN XNUMX ، SUPERMASH BROS ULTIMATE و FIFAXNUMX.

خطوات العمل:
برنامج الدراسات الإعدادية والثانوية - وافق المجلس على تنقيحات العام المقبل لبرنامج الدراسات الإعدادية والثانوية. الدورات الوحيدة التي تم إلغاؤها هي تلك التي تم تقسيمها إلى دورات منفصلة ، بناءً على المحتوى.

تعديل اتفاقية الترخيص لملكية ويلسون: وافق المجلس على تعديل اتفاقية الترخيص الخاصة بملكية ويلسون التي تحدد تاريخ البدء للمشروع قبل سبعة أشهر ، ونقله من 1 أكتوبر 2017 إلى 1 مارس 2017. يتوفر مزيد من المعلومات في بورد دوكس.

الرسوم المقترحة على اللجنة الاستشارية المشتركة للمرافق: وافق المجلس على تحميل اللجنة الاستشارية للمرافق المشتركة. يتم إنشاء هذه اللجنة الجديدة بالشراكة مع مقاطعة أرلينغتون لتوفير مدخلات بشأن تقييم احتياجات المرافق الرأسمالية وخطط تحسين رأس المال والتخطيط طويل المدى للمنشآت لكل من حكومة المقاطعة و APS. يمكن للمقيمين التقدم عبر الإنترنت باستخدام نموذج طلب المجلس الاستشاري لمجلس المدرسة. (ملاحظة: يجب على المتقدمين ملء نموذج طلب الاستشارة العامة على موقع مجلس المدرسة - وليس نموذج المجلس الاستشاري للمرافق (FAC) - وتحديد "JFAC" من القائمة المنسدلة.) الموعد النهائي للتقديم هو 16 نوفمبر. مزيد من المعلومات حول اللجنة متاح في المقاطعة موقع الكتروني.

بنود المعلومات:
الحزمة التشريعية: استعرض مجلس المدرسة الأولويات التشريعية المقترحة لهذا العام. وتشمل أولويات هذا العام الحث على التمويل الكامل لمعايير الجودة وجميع التفويضات للمدارس العامة. إنشاء مجلس استشاري للصحة المدرسية ؛ دعم توصيات لجنة الابتكار SOL ؛ العودة إلى التمويل الكامل لنظام التقاعد في فرجينيا ؛ واستمرار الدعوة لإعادة السيطرة على التقويم المدرسي العام إلى مناطق المدارس المحلية. التفاصيل الكاملة متوفرة في بورد دوكس.

مراجعة سياسة مجلس المدرسة 35-8.1: تتطلب المراجعة المقترحة لسياسة الرواتب أن يقوم المشرف بإدراج زيادة تدريجية في الميزانية التشغيلية السنوية المقترحة ، وسيحدد مجلس المدرسة ما إذا كان التمويل الكافي متاحًا للدفع لها كل عام.

تأجير مساحة إضافية في سيكويا بلازا XNUMX: قدم الموظفون اتفاقية إيجار تفاوضية من شأنها توفير مساحة إضافية لنقل كل ما تبقى APS المكاتب الإدارية وخدمات الدعم ، بما في ذلك المكاتب الموجودة حاليًا في مركز التعليم في 1426 N. Quincy Street ، إلى مركز Syphax التعليمي في 2110 Washington Boulevard. ستصبح خاصية مركز التعليم متاحة للتطوير إلى المزيد من الفصول الدراسية لطلاب المدارس الثانوية مرة واحدة APS تم نقل المكاتب بعد 1 يناير 2018.

التغييرات في عقود الرسوم الثابتة لخدمات إدارة مخاطر ما قبل البناء في مجال المخاطر في ستراتفورد وويلسون والمشاريع الابتدائية الجديدة: اقترح فريق العمل تغييرات على عقود الرسوم الثابتة لخدمات إدارة الإنشاءات المعرضة للخطر لما قبل البناء في ستراتفورد وويلسون والمشاريع الأولية الجديدة. الغرض من أوامر التغيير هذه هو إضافة بدل لكل عقد لأنشطة Design Assist. لن تؤدي الموافقة على هذه البدلات إلى زيادة التمويل المتاح للمشروع المعتمد من قبل مجلس المدرسة. بالإضافة إلى بدل المساعدة في التصميم ، اقترح الموظفون أيضًا أمر تغيير لمشروع ويلسون بسبب توسيع النطاق المرتبط بمحطة الإطفاء المؤقتة. APS تخضع التكاليف المرتبطة بهذه الإجراءات للتعويض من المقاطعة وفقًا لشروط اتفاقية ترخيص محطة الإطفاء المؤقتة. يمكن أن يكون مزيد من المعلومات وجدت على الانترنت.

التغيير إلى عقد رسوم ثابتة للعمارة والخدمات الهندسية للمشروع الابتدائي الجديد: تمت الموافقة على مواقف السيارات المنظمة من قبل مجلس المدرسة في التصميم التخطيطي ، وقدم الموظفون معلومات حول الرسوم الإضافية المطلوبة لإعداد وثائق التصميم والبناء. 

منح العقد لخدمات مستشار إدارة البناء لمشروع ويلسون: أوصى الموظفون باختيار HEERY International Inc. للعقد للعمل كمستشار لإدارة البناء (CMA) لمشروع المدرسة الجديد في موقع ويلسون.

التعرف على:قدم الرئيسان المشاركان بيتر فالون ومونيك أوجرادي تقرير سندات المدارس لعام 2016 وقد اعترف أعضاء المجلس وشكروهم على ريادتهم في تعزيز الدعم لموافقة السندات. تمت الموافقة على سند المدارس هذا العام بنسبة 79.49٪ من ناخبي أرلينغتون ، وسوف يمولون مجموعة متنوعة من المشاريع بما في ذلك بناء المدرسة الجديدة في موقع ويلسون ، حيث سينتقل HB Woodlawn وبرنامج Stratford تمويل إضافة إلى مبنى ستراتفورد الحالي لتحويل ذلك إلى مدرسة متوسطة جوار جديدة ؛ وإضافة 300 مقعد في مركز Career for Arlington Tech.

لمزيد من المعلومات يجب على المواطنين الذين يرغبون في التعليق على أي من البنود التي تمت مناقشتها في اجتماع مجلس المدرسة إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى المجلس على لوحة المدرسة@apsva.us أو اتصل على 703-228-6015. يمكن للمواطنين الاتصال بالرقم 703-228-2400 يوم الاثنين بعد اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة للاستماع إلى ملخص الاجتماع. يتم أيضًا بث اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة مباشرة على Comcast Cable Channel 70 و Verizon FiOS Channel 41 ؛ بث مباشر على APS ويعاد بثه يوم الجمعة الساعة 9 مساءً ويوم الاثنين الساعة 7:30 مساءً بعد الاجتماع مباشرة. سيتم نشر جميع المواد ومحاضر الاجتماع على موقع الويب على شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/schoolboard بناء على موافقة مجلس المدرسة في اجتماع لاحق.

APS News Release

School Board Discusses Direction for FY 2018 Budget

Board Opens Meeting with Comments on Recent Election Results
Holds Public Hearing on Proposed High School Boundary Refinements
At last night’s meeting, the School Board discussed its FY 2018 budget direction, which provides guidance for the Superintendent to develop a proposed budget that will meet the growing enrollment needs of the school division. The proposed budget direction prioritizes increased compensation for staff; supports continued investment in initiatives to meet the needs of the whole child and provide 21st century learning opportunities; provides full staffing for growing enrollment; and assumes full funding from the County’s transfer to pay for critical needs of the school division. Additionally, the Board’s budget direction includes efforts to identify cost savings, options for increased fees, and opportunities to use closeout funding to pay for one-time expenses.

BOARD COMMENTS ON ELECTIONS:
At last night’s meeting, School Board Chair Nancy Van Doren and immediate past chair Dr. Emma Violand-Sanchez addressed the results of the election and how APS and the Arlington community need to come together.Superintendent Dr. Pat Murphy also discussed that staff support that has been and will continue to be available for students since the day after the elections. To read their full remarks and watch the video, click here.

PUBLIC HEARING:
The School Board held a public hearing on the proposed refinements to High School Attendance Zone boundaries. Prior to the start of the public hearing, staff shared combined option #4, a new refinement option that was requested by Board members at the Nov. 9 work session on boundaries. More information about the options being considered is available online. The Board is scheduled to make a final decision at the next meeting on December 1.

MONITORING ITEMS:Arlington Tiered System of Support (ATSS) Update:
Staff presented information about the cycle for ATSS, which is designed to provide specific, targeted levels of support to every student as needed. Staff provided an overview of this year milestones and shared success stories about the positive impact ATSS is making for students. The full report is available online.

ACTION ITEMS:
Middle School and High School Program of Studies – The Board approved revisions to next year’s Middle School and High School Program of Studies. The only courses that were eliminated are those that have been divided into separate courses, based upon the content.

Amendment to License Agreement for Wilson Property: The Board approved an amendment to the license agreement for the Wilson property that makes the start date for the project seven months earlier, moving it from October 1, 2017 to March 1, 2017. More information is available in BoardDocs.

Proposed Charge to Joint Facilities Advisory Commission: The Board approved a charge to the Joint Facilities Advisory Commission. This new commission is being established in partnership with Arlington County to provide input on capital facilities needs assessment, capital improvement plans and long-range facility planning for both the County Government and APS. Residents can apply online using the School Board’s Advisory Council application form. (Note: Applicants should fill out the General Advisory Application Form on the School Board website – not the Facilities Advisory Council (FAC) form – and select “JFAC” from the drop-down list.) The deadline to apply is Nov. 16. More information about the commission is available on the County’s website.

INFORMATION ITEMS:
Legislative Package: The School Board reviewed this year’s proposed state legislative priorities. This year’s priorities include urging full funding for the Standards of Quality and all mandates to public schools; establishment of a School Health Advisory Board; support for recommendations from the SOL Innovation Committee; return to full funding of the Virginia Retirement System; and continued advocacy for returning control of the public school calendar to local school districts. Complete details are available in BoardDocs.

Revision of School Board Policy 35-8.1: A proposed revision to the Salary Policy would require the Superintendent to include a step increase in the annual proposed operating budget, and the School Board would determine if sufficient funding is available to pay for it each year.

Lease for Additional Space at Sequoia Plaza Two: Staff presented a negotiated lease agreement that would provide additional space to move all remaining APS administrative offices and support services, including the offices currently located at the Education Center at 1426 N. Quincy Street, to the Syphax Education Center at 2110 Washington Boulevard. The Education Center property would become available to develop into more classroom space for high school students once APS offices are relocated after Jan. 1, 2018.

Changes to Fixed Fee Contracts for Pre-Construction Construction Management at-Risk Services for the Stratford, Wilson, and New Elementary Projects: Staff proposed changes to the fixed fee contracts for pre-construction Construction Management at-Risk services for the Stratford, Wilson, and new elementary projects. The purpose of these change orders is to add an allowance to each contract for Design Assist activities. Approving these allowances will not cause an increase in the funding available for the project approved by the School Board. In addition to the design assist allowance, staff also proposed a change order for the Wilson project due to expanded scope associated with the temporary fire station. APS costs associated with these actions are subject to reimbursement from the County per the terms of the temporary fire station license agreement. More information can be found online.

Change to a Fixed Fee Contract for Architecture and Engineering Services for the New Elementary Project: Structured parking was approved by the School Board in the Schematic Design, and staff presented information on additional fees that are required to prepare the design and construction documents. 

Contract Award for Construction Management Advisor Services for the Wilson Project: Staff recommended the selection of HEERY International Inc. for the contract to serve as the Construction Management Advisor (CMA) for the new school project at the Wilson site.

RECOGNITION:Co-chairs Peter Fallon and Monique O’Grady presented the 2016 School Bond Report and Board members recognized and thanked them for their leadership in promoting support for the bond’s approval. This year’s School Bond was approved by 79.49% percent of Arlington voters, and will fund a variety of projects including construction of the new school at the Wilson site, where H-B Woodlawn and the Stratford program will move; funding for an addition to the current Stratford building to convert that to a new neighborhood middle school; and adding 300 seats at the Career Center for Arlington Tech.

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.