APS 新聞發布

校務委員會討論2018財年預算的方向

董事會開幕會議,對近期選舉結果發表評論
就擬議的高中邊界進行公開聽證
在昨晚的會議上,校務委員會討論了其2018財年預算方向,該指導為學監製定擬議預算提供了指導,以滿足學校部門不斷增長的入學需求。 擬議的預算指示優先考慮增加工作人員的報酬; 支持繼續投資於滿足整個兒童需求並提供21世紀學習機會的計劃; 為增加入學人數提供充分的人員配置; 並從縣的轉移中獲得全部資金,以支付學校部門的關鍵需求。 此外,董事會的預算方向包括確定成本節省的努力,增加費用的選擇以及利用清算資金支付一次性費用的機會。

董事會對選舉的評論:
在昨晚的會議上,學校董事會主席南希·範·多倫(Nancy Van Doren)和前任主席艾瑪·維蘭德·桑切斯(Emma Violand-Sanchez)博士談到了選舉的結果以及如何 APS and the Arlington community need to come together.Superintendent Dr. Pat Murphy also discussed that staff support that has been and will continue to be available for students since the day after the elections.院長帕特·墨菲(Pat Murphy)博士還討論說,自選舉後的第二天起,學生就一直並將繼續提供職員支持。 To read their full remarks and watch the video,要閱讀他們的完整評論並觀看視頻, 點擊這裡..

公開聽證會:
校務委員會就提議的對高中出勤區邊界的改進進行了公開聽證。 在公開聽證會開始之前,工作人員共享了組合選項#4,這是董事會成員在9月XNUMX日有關邊界的工作會議上要求的一種新的改進選項。 提供了有關正在考慮的選項的更多信息 (網上)。 董事會計劃在1月XNUMX日的下次會議上做出最終決定。

監控項目:阿靈頓分層支持系統(ATSS)更新:
工作人員介紹了有關該週期的信息 ATSS,旨在根據需要為每個學生提供特定的,有針對性的支持。 Staff provided an overview of this year milestones and shared success stories about the positive impact工作人員概述了今年的里程碑並分享了有關積極影響的成功案例 ATSS is making for students.正在為學生做。 The full report is available完整的報告可用 (網上).

行動項目:
初中和高中學習課程 –董事會批准了對明年的初中和高中學習計劃的修訂。 唯一被淘汰的課程是根據內容劃分為單獨課程的課程。

威爾遜財產許可協議的修正案: 董事會批准了Wilson財產許可協議的修正案,該修正案將項目的開始日期提前了七個月,從1年2017月1日移至2017年XNUMX月XNUMX日。有關更多信息,請訪問 董事會文件.

向聯合設施諮詢委員會建議的費用: 董事會批准向聯合設施諮詢委員會收取費用。 該新委員會正在與阿靈頓縣合作建立,旨在為縣政府和縣政府提供有關基本設施需求評估,基本建設計劃和長期設施規劃的意見 APS。 Residents can apply online using the居民可以使用 校務委員會的諮詢委員會申請表。 (注意:申請人應在校務委員會網站上填寫一般諮詢申請表,而不是設施諮詢委員會(FAC)表格,並從下拉列表中選擇“ JFAC”。)申請截止日期為16月XNUMX日。有關該委員會的更多信息,請參見該縣的 網站.

信息項:
立法配套: 校務委員會審查了今年擬議的州立法重點。 今年的優先事項包括敦促為質量標準和公立學校的所有任務提供全額資金; 設立學校健康諮詢委員會; 支持SOL創新委員會的建議; 返回弗吉尼亞退休系統的全部資金; 並繼續倡導將對公立學校日曆的控制權交還給當地學區。 完整的詳細信息在 董事會文件.

修訂學校董事會政策35-8.1: 擬議的《工資政策》修訂將要求學監在年度擬議運營預算中逐步增加,並且校務委員會將確定每年是否有足夠的資金來支付。

租用紅杉第二廣場的額外空間: 工作人員提交了一份議定的租賃協議,該協議將提供額外的空間來移動所有剩餘的空間 APS administrative offices and support services, including the offices currently located at the Education Center at 1426 N. Quincy Street, to the Syphax Education Center at 2110 Washington Boulevard.行政辦公室和支持服務,包括目前位於昆西街XNUMX號教育中心到華盛頓大道XNUMX號Syphax教育中心的辦公室。 The Education Center property would become available to develop into more classroom space for high school students once一旦有高中生,就可以將教育中心的物業開發成更多的教室空間 APS 辦公室將於1年2018月XNUMX日後搬遷。

斯特拉特福德,威爾遜和新基礎項目施工前風險管理服務固定費用合同的變更: 工作人員提議更改斯特拉特福德,威爾遜和新的基礎項目的施工前風險管理服務固定費用合同。 這些變更單的目的是為每份設計助手活動合同增加津貼。 批准這些津貼不會增加學校委員會批准的項目的可用資金。 除了設計援助津貼之外,由於臨時消防局的範圍擴大,工作人員還提出了威爾遜項目的變更單。 APS 根據臨時消防局許可協議的條款,與這些行動相關的費用應由縣政府償還。 更多信息可以 在網上找到.

更改為新基礎項目的建築和工程服務固定費用合同: 校車委員會在示意圖設計中批准了結構化停車位,工作人員介紹了準備設計和施工文件所需的額外費用。 

威爾遜項目的施工管理顧問服務合同獎: 工作人員建議選擇HEERY International Inc.作為合同,以擔任Wilson站點新學校項目的施工管理顧問(CMA)。

承認:聯合主席Peter Fallon和Monique O'Grady提交了2016年《學校債券報告》,董事會成員對此表示感謝,並感謝他們在促進支持債券批准方面的領導作用。 今年的“學校債券”獲得了79.49%的阿靈頓選民的批准,並將資助各種項目,包括在威爾遜基地建設新學校,HB Woodlawn和斯特拉特福計劃將移至該基地。 為當前斯特拉特福德大樓的擴建提供資金,以將其轉換為新的鄰里中學; 在阿靈頓技術職業中心增加300個席位。

欲獲得更多信息: 想要對學校董事會會議上討論的任何項目發表評論的公民,請通過以下方式向董事會發送電子郵件: 學校董事會@aps價值 or call 703-228-6015.或致電703-228-2400。 Citizens may call 70-41-XNUMX on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.在校務委員會會議結束後的周一,公民可以撥打XNUMX-XNUMX-XNUMX收聽會議摘要。 School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有線頻道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS頻道XNUMX上還直播學校董事會會議; live-streamed on the現場直播 APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 pm and Mondays at 7:30 pm immediately following the meeting.網站,並在會議結束後的周五晚上XNUMX點和周一晚上XNUMX:XNUMX重新廣播。 All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at會議的所有材料和會議記錄將發佈到以下網站: 萬維網。apsva.us/學校董事會 經校務委員會在隨後的會議上批准。

APS News Release

School Board Discusses Direction for FY 2018 Budget

Board Opens Meeting with Comments on Recent Election Results
Holds Public Hearing on Proposed High School Boundary Refinements
At last night’s meeting, the School Board discussed its FY 2018 budget direction, which provides guidance for the Superintendent to develop a proposed budget that will meet the growing enrollment needs of the school division. The proposed budget direction prioritizes increased compensation for staff; supports continued investment in initiatives to meet the needs of the whole child and provide 21st century learning opportunities; provides full staffing for growing enrollment; and assumes full funding from the County’s transfer to pay for critical needs of the school division. Additionally, the Board’s budget direction includes efforts to identify cost savings, options for increased fees, and opportunities to use closeout funding to pay for one-time expenses.

BOARD COMMENTS ON ELECTIONS:
At last night’s meeting, School Board Chair Nancy Van Doren and immediate past chair Dr. Emma Violand-Sanchez addressed the results of the election and how APS and the Arlington community need to come together.Superintendent Dr. Pat Murphy also discussed that staff support that has been and will continue to be available for students since the day after the elections. To read their full remarks and watch the video, click here.

PUBLIC HEARING:
The School Board held a public hearing on the proposed refinements to High School Attendance Zone boundaries. Prior to the start of the public hearing, staff shared combined option #4, a new refinement option that was requested by Board members at the Nov. 9 work session on boundaries. More information about the options being considered is available online. The Board is scheduled to make a final decision at the next meeting on December 1.

MONITORING ITEMS:Arlington Tiered System of Support (ATSS) Update:
Staff presented information about the cycle for ATSS, which is designed to provide specific, targeted levels of support to every student as needed. Staff provided an overview of this year milestones and shared success stories about the positive impact ATSS is making for students. The full report is available online.

ACTION ITEMS:
Middle School and High School Program of Studies – The Board approved revisions to next year’s Middle School and High School Program of Studies. The only courses that were eliminated are those that have been divided into separate courses, based upon the content.

Amendment to License Agreement for Wilson Property: The Board approved an amendment to the license agreement for the Wilson property that makes the start date for the project seven months earlier, moving it from October 1, 2017 to March 1, 2017. More information is available in BoardDocs.

Proposed Charge to Joint Facilities Advisory Commission: The Board approved a charge to the Joint Facilities Advisory Commission. This new commission is being established in partnership with Arlington County to provide input on capital facilities needs assessment, capital improvement plans and long-range facility planning for both the County Government and APS. Residents can apply online using the School Board’s Advisory Council application form. (Note: Applicants should fill out the General Advisory Application Form on the School Board website – not the Facilities Advisory Council (FAC) form – and select “JFAC” from the drop-down list.) The deadline to apply is Nov. 16. More information about the commission is available on the County’s website.

INFORMATION ITEMS:
Legislative Package: The School Board reviewed this year’s proposed state legislative priorities. This year’s priorities include urging full funding for the Standards of Quality and all mandates to public schools; establishment of a School Health Advisory Board; support for recommendations from the SOL Innovation Committee; return to full funding of the Virginia Retirement System; and continued advocacy for returning control of the public school calendar to local school districts. Complete details are available in BoardDocs.

Revision of School Board Policy 35-8.1: A proposed revision to the Salary Policy would require the Superintendent to include a step increase in the annual proposed operating budget, and the School Board would determine if sufficient funding is available to pay for it each year.

Lease for Additional Space at Sequoia Plaza Two: Staff presented a negotiated lease agreement that would provide additional space to move all remaining APS administrative offices and support services, including the offices currently located at the Education Center at 1426 N. Quincy Street, to the Syphax Education Center at 2110 Washington Boulevard. The Education Center property would become available to develop into more classroom space for high school students once APS offices are relocated after Jan. 1, 2018.

Changes to Fixed Fee Contracts for Pre-Construction Construction Management at-Risk Services for the Stratford, Wilson, and New Elementary Projects: Staff proposed changes to the fixed fee contracts for pre-construction Construction Management at-Risk services for the Stratford, Wilson, and new elementary projects. The purpose of these change orders is to add an allowance to each contract for Design Assist activities. Approving these allowances will not cause an increase in the funding available for the project approved by the School Board. In addition to the design assist allowance, staff also proposed a change order for the Wilson project due to expanded scope associated with the temporary fire station. APS costs associated with these actions are subject to reimbursement from the County per the terms of the temporary fire station license agreement. More information can be found online.

Change to a Fixed Fee Contract for Architecture and Engineering Services for the New Elementary Project: Structured parking was approved by the School Board in the Schematic Design, and staff presented information on additional fees that are required to prepare the design and construction documents. 

Contract Award for Construction Management Advisor Services for the Wilson Project: Staff recommended the selection of HEERY International Inc. for the contract to serve as the Construction Management Advisor (CMA) for the new school project at the Wilson site.

RECOGNITION:Co-chairs Peter Fallon and Monique O’Grady presented the 2016 School Bond Report and Board members recognized and thanked them for their leadership in promoting support for the bond’s approval. This year’s School Bond was approved by 79.49% percent of Arlington voters, and will fund a variety of projects including construction of the new school at the Wilson site, where H-B Woodlawn and the Stratford program will move; funding for an addition to the current Stratford building to convert that to a new neighborhood middle school; and adding 300 seats at the Career Center for Arlington Tech.

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.