APS 新聞發布

校務委員會討論擬議的高中邊界改進的框架,流程和時間表

尊敬的董事會批准2016-17年度優先事項

23年2016月XNUMX日-校務委員會在昨晚的會議上繼續討論了一個框架,該框架旨在讓社區參與發展對高中出勤區範圍的改進。 工作人員介紹了擬議的框架,以完善對 高中界限 這將平衡入學率,並更好地利用三所綜合性高中的可用教學空間。 該計劃概述了廣泛的交流和外聯活動,將用於使利益相關者了解該過程。 在線邊界工具將是一種資源,使社區成員可以為邊界的建議改進提供建議。 社區的反饋將有助於製定教職員工向學校董事會的建議。

執行: 該改進將於2017年XNUMX月生效,適用於當前的八年級學生,這些學生將於明年秋天進入高中,然後在接下來的三個學年中針對每個新生課程。 改進不會影響任何當前的高中生,並且建議將包括對當前的高中生的兄弟姐妹的選擇。

流程和日期: The Online Boundary Refinement Tool will be available for stakeholders to share proposals from October 12-24.利益相關者可以使用在線邊界細化工具在XNUMX月XNUMX日至XNUMX日之間共享提案。 In addition,此外, APS will host a series of “Getting Started” community meetings to help inform families and community members about the process and to explain how to use the tool.將舉辦一系列“入門”社區會議,以幫助向家庭和社區成員介紹該過程,並解釋如何使用該工具。 The same information will be presented at each “Getting Started” meeting.每次“入門”會議上都會提供相同的信息。 The four sessions will be held:將舉行四屆會議:

  • 12月7日,星期三,晚上XNUMX點在華盛頓李高中自助餐廳
  • 15月10日,星期六,上午XNUMX點在杰斐遜中學圖書館(西班牙語演示)
  • 17月7日,星期一,晚上XNUMX點在約克鎮高中餐廳
  • 19月7日,星期三,晚上XNUMX點在Wakefield高中食堂

邊界工具關閉後, APS 將於27月7日下午XNUMX點在華盛頓李的自助餐廳舉行“我們聽到了什麼”社區會議,討論收到的反饋並聽取社區提出的最終建議,然後再提出建議。

其他反饋選項: 員工還將為那些不想使用在線工具的人提供紙質邊界工具選項。 然後從下週開始,將在以下位置提供邊界網頁 萬維網。apsva.us/APS邊界 並在以下地址通過電子郵件接受評論或問題 aps界限@aps價值 或致電703-228-6310(英語和西班牙語)。 在整個過程中,還將招募社區大使,以協助與學校和社區的聯絡。 所有反饋將有助於告知最終建議。

校務委員會審議: 建議將在3月9日的會議上提交給學校董事會。董事會將在15月1日的工作會議上審查這些建議,並在12月XNUMX日的學校委員會會議期間進行公開聽證。 最終的高中邊界優化計劃將於XNUMX月XNUMX日星期四,即XNUMX月XNUMX日星期一的高中信息之夜之前獲得批准。

行動項目:

校務委員會2016-17年度優先事項– 董事會批准了其2016-17年度優先事項,這有助於保持其工作的重點,有效性和戰略計劃目標的一致性。 今年的工作重點是促進所有學生學習成績的增長,並滿足整個孩子的社交和情感需求的舉措。 其他優先事項包括員工發展工作,學校擴容以及與縣政府就共同利益進行合作。董事會將啟動遠景程序,以解決德魯示範學校的教學機會以及重新設計高中和畢業要求。 學術舉措將集中於個性化學習體驗的發展,阿靈頓技術計劃的發展,提高所有學生的識字率以及實施整個兒童工作組的建議。 優先級的完整列表是 在BoardDocs中可用.

斯特拉特福中學項目建築/工程費用變更單 –董事會根據公眾參與過程和增加項目範圍所需的額外時間批准了對費用結構的變更單。

修訂精選金融學校董事會政策 –董事會批准了對以下財務管理政策的建議更改:40-1.01常規; 40-1.02收益分享; 40-1.03縣額外收入; 40-1.04的預算節省; 40-1.05儲備金; 40-1.06預算方向; 40-1.07預算制定; 和40-2.1延長日。 有關更多信息,請參見 董事會文件.

董事會在會議期間任命了幾名:

  • 塔梅卡·洛維特·米勒 被任命為預算主任。 她曾擔任預算分析師。
  • 卡爾·蘇厄德 在岡斯頓中學被任命為助理校長,目前在該校擔任數學教練。
  • 塔拉·伍里奇(Tara Woolridge) 被任命為員工援助計劃主任。
  • 凱利山 被任命為學生服務主管。 她目前是一名學校心理學家。

信息項:

放棄學校理事會政策25-2.2:學校和課程的註冊和轉學– 工作人員建議董事會放棄政策25-2.2:中學和高中學校的註冊與轉學和課程。 放棄該政策將提供一個臨時解決方案,以平衡Gunston,Swanson和Williamsburg中學以及Washington-Lee高中的產能過剩。 它還將提供短期解決方案來管理2017-18學年期間的入學人數增加。 轉移是基於中學三年級和高中四年級120%的建築佔用率,並將每年重新評估。

在2017-18學年,將為Kenmore和Jefferson中學以及Wakefield和Yorktown中學提供自願轉學。

修訂校務委員會政策25-3.2:無家可歸的教育服務 –工作人員建議對政策進行修改,以確保遵守《麥金尼-韋託法案》,包括為無家可歸的年輕人提供服務,包括交通和社會服務; 協調服務識別,並為居住在阿靈頓縣以外的無家可歸學生提供服務。

監控項目:畢業要求和ESSA更新– 工作人員向委員會提供了有關畢業要求和聯邦《每個學生成功法案》(ESSA)的最新信息。 該報告包括ESSA中新元素的摘要以及有關高中重新設計過程的信息。 完整的演示文稿是 可在線.

認可

在會議開始時,最近的阿靈頓社區設施研究聯合主席約翰·米利肯(John Milliken)向學校委員會贈送了美國規劃協會2016年弗吉尼亞分會頒發的“弗吉尼亞州社區外展和參與獎”。 社區設施研究 這是與阿靈頓縣共同努力的結果。

欲獲得更多信息 想要對學校董事會會議上討論的任何項目發表評論的公民,請通過以下方式向董事會發送電子郵件: 學校董事會@aps價值 or call 703-228-6015.或致電703-228-2400。 Citizens may call 70-41-XNUMX on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.在校務委員會會議結束後的周一,公民可以撥打XNUMX-XNUMX-XNUMX收聽會議摘要。 School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有線頻道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS頻道XNUMX上還直播學校董事會會議; live-streamed on the現場直播 APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 pm and Mondays at 7:30 pm immediately following the meeting.網站,並在會議結束後的周五晚上XNUMX點和周一晚上XNUMX:XNUMX重新廣播。 All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at會議的所有材料和會議記錄將發佈到以下網站: 萬維網。apsva.us/學校董事會 經校務委員會在隨後的會議上批准。

APS News Release

School Board Discusses Framework, Process and Timeline for Proposed High School Boundary Refinements

respect-picBoard Approves 2016-17 Priorities

Sept. 23, 2016 — The School Board continued discussions on a framework for engaging the community to develop refinements to the high school attendance zone boundaries at last night’s meeting. Staff presented a proposed framework for developing refinements to the high school boundaries that will balance enrollment and achieve better utilization of available instructional spaces at the three comprehensive high schools. The plan outlined a broad range of communications and outreach that will be used to inform stakeholders about the process.  An online boundary tool will be one resource to allow community members to provide suggestions for recommended refinements to the boundaries. Feedback from the community will help shape the staff recommendation to the School Board.

Implementation: The refinements will take effect in September 2017 and apply to the current eighth grade students who will be entering high school next fall and then for each freshman class in the next three school years. The refinements will not affect any current high school students and the recommendations will include options for siblings of current high school students.

Process & Dates: The Online Boundary Refinement Tool will be available for stakeholders to share proposals from October 12-24. In addition, APS will host a series of “Getting Started” community meetings to help inform families and community members about the process and to explain how to use the tool. The same information will be presented at each “Getting Started” meeting. The four sessions will be held:

  • Wed, Oct. 12 at 7 p.m. in the Washington-Lee High School Cafeteria
  • Sat, Oct. 15 at 10 a.m. in the Jefferson Middle School Library (Spanish presentation)
  • Mon, Oct 17 at 7 p.m. in the Yorktown High School Cafeteria
  • Wed, Oct. 19 at 7 p.m. in the Wakefield High School Cafeteria

After the Boundary Tool closes, APS will host a “What We Heard” Community Meeting on Thu, Oct. 27 at 7 p.m. in the Washington-Lee cafeteria to discuss the responses received and hear final recommendations from the community before the recommendations are developed.

Additional Feedback Options: Staff will also be providing a paper Boundary Tool option for those who do not want to use the online tool.  Then beginning next week, a boundary webpage will be available at www.apsva.us/APSboundaries and comments or questions will be accepted by email at apsboundaries@apsva.us or by telephone (in English and Spanish) at 703-228-6310. Community ambassadors will also be recruited to assist as liaisons with schools and community throughout the process. All of the feedback will help to inform the final recommendations.

School Board Deliberations: Recommendations will be presented to the School Board at the meeting on Nov. 3. The Board will review the recommendations during a Work Session on November 9, and there will be a public hearing during the Nov. 15 School Board meeting. The final high school boundary refinement plan will be approved on Thu, Dec. 1 before High School Information Night on Mon, Dec. 12.

ACTION ITEMS:

School Board 2016-17 Priorities – The Board approved its 2016-17 Priorities, which assist in keeping its work focused, effective and aligned with Strategic Plan goals. This year’s priorities place emphasis on initiatives that advance growth in academic achievement for all students and that meet the social and emotional needs of the whole child. Additional priorities include staff development efforts, school capacity expansion, and collaboration with County government on shared interests.The Board will initiate visioning processes to address instructional opportunities at Drew Model School and the redesign of high school and graduation requirements. Academic initiatives will focus on development of personalized learning experiences, growth of the Arlington Tech program, improved literacy for all students, and implementation of recommendations from the Whole Child Working Group. The complete list of priorities is available in BoardDocs.

Stratford Middle School Project Architecture/Engineering Fees Change Order – The Board approved a change order to the fee structure, based on additional time that was necessary for the public engagement process and increased scope of the project.

Revision of Select Finance School Board Policies – The Board approved recommended changes to the following financial management policies: 40-1.01 General; 40-1.02 Revenue Sharing; 40-1.03 Additional County Revenue; 40-1.04 Budget Savings; 40-1.05 Reserve Funds; 40-1.06 Budget Direction; 40-1.07 Budget Development; and 40-2.1 Extended Day. More information is available in BoardDocs.

The Board made several appoints during the meeting:

  • Tameka Lovett-Miller was named Budget Director. She previously served as a budget analyst.
  • Carl Seward was named assistant principal at Gunston Middle School where he currently serves as a math coach.
  • Tara Woolridge was appointed as the Director of the Employee Assistance Program.
  • Kelly Mountain was named supervisor of Student Services. She is currently a school psychologist.

INFORMATION ITEMS:

Waiver of School Board Policy 25-2.2: Enrollment and Transfers for Schools and Programs – Staff is recommending that the Board waive Policy 25-2.2: Enrollment and Transfers for Schools and Programs for middle and high schools. Waiving the policy will provide an interim solution to balance over-capacity at Gunston, Swanson and Williamsburg middle schools and Washington-Lee High School. It will also provide a short-term solution to manage increased enrollment during the 2017-18 school year. The transfers are based on 120% building occupancy over a three-year period for middle schools and a four-year period for high schools and will be reevaluated annually.

During the 2017-18 school year, there will be voluntary transfers for Kenmore and Jefferson middle schools as well as Wakefield and Yorktown high schools.

Revision of School Board Policy 25-3.2: Homeless Education Services – Staff recommended changes to the policy to ensure compliance with the McKinney-Vento Act, including provision of services for homeless youth, including transportation and social services; coordinating services identification, and providing services for homeless students who live outside of Arlington County.

MONITORING ITEM:Graduation Requirements and ESSA Update – Staff provided the Board with an update on graduation requirements and the federal Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). The report included a summary of new elements in the ESSA as well as information on the high school redesign process. The full presentation is available online.

RECOGNITIONS

At the beginning of the meeting, John Milliken, a co-chair of the recent Arlington Community Facilities Study, presented the School Board with the Virginia Chapter of the American Planning Association’s 2016 award for Community Outreach and Engagement for the Community Facilities Study which was a joint effort with Arlington County.

FOR MORE INFORMATION Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.