APS 新闻发布

校务委员会讨论拟议的2021-22学年日历

荣誉行政服务助理总监Cintia Johnson退休
监督在2021月22日的校务委员会会议上介绍了拟议的17-XNUMX学年日历。 拟议的日历包括劳动节之前的开始时间,并将包括另外四个文化/宗教节日。

关键日期包括:

  • 19月XNUMX日–员工返回
  • 30月12日– K-XNUMX开学日
  • 3月6日至XNUMX日–劳动节
  • 7月XNUMX日–犹太新年
  • 16月XNUMX日–赎罪日
  • 4月XNUMX日–排灯节
  • 11月XNUMX日-退伍军人节
  • 24月26日至XNUMX日-感恩节假期
  • 20月31日至XNUMX日–寒假
  • 11月– 15-XNUMX –春假
  • 3月XNUMX日–开斋节
  • 15月XNUMX日–高中最后一天
  • 16月XNUMX日–中学最后一天
  • 17月XNUMX日–小学最后一天和高中毕业

拟议日历的详细信息是 可在线。 院长还建议调整今年的日历,使就职日成为员工和学生的假期。

此外,总监是 提议调整Barcroft小学日历 与所有其他日历 APS 小学,从2021-22学年开始。 目前,Barcroft是唯一 APS 遵循修订的学年日历(MSYC)的小学。 调整Barcroft日历的建议基于MSYC对学生成绩的中性影响,巨大的预算压力 APS 面临,并且在全县范围内有长期规划需求。

预计教育委员会将在3月XNUMX日的会议上就日历提案采取行动。

其他详细信息和演示文稿是 可在这里.

2020-21学年更新
监管者定期提供有关健康,安全和运营指标的最新信息,并指出,阿灵顿的案例事件发生率已进入CDC的学校决策主要指标的最高风险类别。 阳性率已进入中等风险类别,一些次要指标也进入了较高风险类别。

主管共享了最初的学术数据,这些数据显示了第一季度学生在阅读和数学上的远程学习成绩。 甚至 APS 过渡到混合式面对面学习的计划中,员工非常关注学生在远程学习中的表现; 如何最好地支持他们,以及在何处需要干预和其他支持以帮助学生在远程学习中取得成功。

目前,在上周的一天中,有99.18%的学生通过团队参加了同步学习活动,平均每天进行四个小时的学习,其中95% APS 积极参与应用程序(例如团队, Canvas 和跷跷板。 共有471个康卡斯特活跃赞助商,为925多名学生提供支持,并且已经分发了1,300个Mi-Fi(移动热点设备)以为学生提供连接。

已为每所学校设置了仪表板,以跟踪学生的个人参与情况,例如设备使用情况,团队会议参与情况, Canvas 使用时间和其他数据,可为学校管理员提供更多见解。 这使管理员可以将目标锁定在外展上,并解决学生正在遇到的个别挑战。

监督宣布,本周,教学部正在推动六个焦点小组的参与,这些小组包括教师,学生,父母,ITC的,管理员和学生服务办公室的工作人员,以了解远程学习的有效内容和无效的内容。 这些信息将帮助我们更好地了解如何衡量学生的进步以及需要哪些支持和资源,以确保远程学习对所有学生都有效。

要查看有关学生进度,干预措施,2级和3级更新,其他学生和家庭支持,更新的空气质量详细信息等更多信息, 访问BoardDocs or 在这里观看演示.

认可
校务委员会向行政服务助理总监Cintia Johnson致敬,她宣布在阿灵顿公立学校工作35年后退休。 在约翰逊任职期间,约翰逊曾担任过许多职务,包括老师,校长和临时监督。 APS。 董事会分享了 公告视频 表彰她为阿灵顿公立学校所做的一切。

任命
作为今晚他们同意协议的一部分,学校董事会任命让内特·艾伦博士为行政服务临时助理主管,自1年2021月1日起生效。艾伦博士此前担任代理行政主管助理,辛蒂亚·约翰逊则担任临时主管。 。 她的任命从2021年XNUMX月XNUMX日开始。

信息项
向委员会提供了以下项目的最新信息:

  • 2021年立法方案
  • 朗科小学游乐场许可协议

这些项目的详细信息是 在BoardDocs上可用.

了解更多信息:
想要对学校董事会会议上讨论的任何项目发表评论的公民,请通过以下方式向董事会发送电子邮件: 学校董事会@aps价值 或致电703-228-6015。 在校务委员会会议结束后的周一,公民可以拨打703-228-2400收听会议摘要。

School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41;在康卡斯特有线频道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS频道XNUMX上还直播了学校董事会会议; live-streamed on the现场直播 APS 网站,并在会议结束后的周五晚上9点和周一晚上7:30重新广播。 所有材料和会议记录将发布到网站上  apsva.us/学校董事会 经校务委员会在随后的会议上批准。

APS News Release

School Board Discusses Proposed 2021-22 School Year Calendar

Honors Assistant Superintendent of Admin Services Cintia Johnson on Her Retirement
The Superintendent presented the proposed 2021-22 school year calendar at the Nov. 17 School Board meeting. The proposed calendar includes a pre-Labor Day start and will include four additional cultural/religious holidays.

Key dates include:

  • Aug. 19 – Staff return
  • Aug. 30 – First Day of School for K-12
  • Sept. 3-6 – Labor Day
  • Sept. 7 – Rosh Hashanah
  • Sept. 16 – Yom Kippur
  • Nov. 4 – Diwali
  • Nov. 11 – Veteran’s Day
  • Nov. 24-26 – Thanksgiving Break
  • Dec. 20-31 – Winter Break
  • April – 11-15 – Spring Break
  • May 3 – Eid Al-fitr
  • June 15 – High School Last Day
  • June 16 – Middle School Last Day
  • June 17 – Elementary Last Day and High School Graduation

Details on the proposed calendar are available online. The Superintendent also proposed adjusting this year’s calendar to make Inauguration Day a holiday for staff and students.

In addition, the Superintendent is proposing to align the Barcroft Elementary School calendar with the calendars of all other APS elementary schools, beginning in the 2021‐22 school year. Currently, Barcroft is the only APS elementary school that follows a modified school year calendar (MSYC). The recommendation to align the Barcroft calendar is based on the neutral impact the MSYC has had on student achievement, the significant budgetary pressures APS is facing, and long-term countywide planning demands.

The School Board is expected to act on the calendar proposals at the Dec. 3 meeting.

Additional details and the presentation are available here.

2020-21 School Year Update
The Superintendent provided his regular update on health, safety and operational metrics, noting that Arlington’s Case Incident Rate has entered into the highest risk category for the CDC’s primary indicators for school decision-making. Percent positivity rate has entered into a moderate risk category and several of the secondary indicators have also moved into higher risk categories.

The Superintendent shared initial academic data showing student performance in reading and math in distance learning during the first quarter. Even as APS plans for transitions to hybrid, in-person learning, staff are very focused on how students are doing in distance learning; how to best support them, and where interventions and additional support are needed to help students succeed in distance learning.

Currently, 99.18% of students participated in synchronous learning activities through Teams for an average of four hours through the day during last week and 95% of APS student devices actively engaged with applications such as Teams, Canvas and SeeSaw. ​There are 471 active Comcast sponsorships that support more than 925 students and 1,300 Mi-Fi’s (mobile hotspot devices) have been distributed to provide connectivity to students​.

A dashboard has been setup for each school to track individual student participation such as devices usage, Team Meeting Participation, Canvas usage times and other data that provide more insight to school administrators. This allows administrators to target outreach and to address individual challenges students are experiencing.

​​The Superintendent announced that this week, the Department of Teaching and Learning is facilitating six focus groups involving teachers, students, parents, ITC’s, administrators and Office of Student Services staff to learn what is working with distance learning and what is not. This information will help us better understand how to measure student progress and what supports, and resources are needed to ensure that distance learning is working for all students.

To see additional information on student progress, interventions, updates on Level 2 and 3, additional student and family supports, updated air quality details and more, visit BoardDocs or watch the presentation here.

Recognition
The School Board honored Assistant Superintendent of Administrative Services Cintia Johnson who announced her retirement after 35 years at Arlington Public Schools. Johnson served in a number of roles including teacher, principal and Interim Superintendent during her time at APS. The Board shared a proclamation and video to recognize all that she has done for Arlington Public Schools.

Appointment
As part of their consent agenda this evening, the School Board appointed Dr. Jeannette Allen as Interim Assistant Superintendent for Administrative Services, effective January 1, 2021. Dr. Allen previously served as Acting Assistant Superintendent for Administrative Services while Cintia Johnson served as Interim Superintendent. Her appointment begins Jan. 1, 2021.

Information Items
The Board was provided update on the following items:

  • 2021 Legislative Package
  • Long Branch Elementary School Playground License Agreement

Details on these items are available on BoardDocs.

For More Information:
Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.

School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.