APS 新聞發布

校務委員會討論擬議的高中選擇建議

批准SBP 25-2.2的學校和計劃註冊與轉移

在昨晚的會議上,警司帕特·墨菲(Pat Murphy)博士向阿靈頓教育局提出了關於增加高中生座位的建議。 院長建議將教育中心站點和職業中心站點混合使用,以提供到2022年所需的高中座位。

還建議進一步在Kenmore站點,職業中心站點和Washington-Lee高中探索選項,作為滿足高中生能力需求的長期解決方案。

該建議包括對教育中心站點進行翻新,以容納大約500-600個座位,以及對職業中心站點進行翻新,以包括為阿靈頓理工大學計劃的700個座位之外的大約800-800個座位。

APS 預計到30,000年將有2021多名學生,到32,000年將有近2025名學生,而阿靈頓縣30年的人口預測,到0年,14-2030歲學齡兒童的數量預計將達到頂峰,屆時將有41,500名常住兒童。APS 與另外三項研究合同,以進一步為計劃提供信息。

這些研究包括:

  • 教育中心改建為教育用途;
  • 分階段增加職業中心; 和一個
  • 高中選擇的實地研究

董事會將在15月XNUMX日的會議上舉行聽證會。 完整的演示文稿以及高中選項分析和評級是 在BoardDocs上可用.

行動項目:
校務委員會批准修訂 校務委員會政策(SBP)25-2.2學校和課程的註冊與轉學.

董事會還批准了對SBP 20-1.210學分,非學分課程的獎勵的更改。 所做的更改與弗吉尼亞州教育部VDOE當前的指南保持一致。 現在,VDOE指南允許在沒有140個時鍾小時的情況下授予等同於在滿足某些條件時140個時鍾小時的教學進展和學習成果的標準學分。 詳細的修訂版本在 董事會文件.

約定:
校董會任命 布萊恩·博伊金(Brian Boykin),威廉斯堡中學校長。 博伊金目前是卡林斯普林斯小學的助理校長。 董事會還批准任命Frances Lee為Wakefield高中的全職助理校長。

監控項目:
主管提供了關於 APS 3-5年計劃,並簡要介紹了2017-18學年的參與情況,其中包括:

  • 期權和轉讓; 包括彩票; 確定方案並提供年度更新;
  • 制定《 2018-24年戰略計劃》;
  • 中學邊界過程;
  • 基本邊界過程; 和
  • 制定2019-28年資本改善計劃。

信息項:
教學資源採用
–工作人員提出了有關英語語言藝術,科學和社會研究方面教學資源的建議。 資源的表示形式和清單是 可在線.

杰斐遜新學校的名稱採用 –員工提出了委員會對杰斐遜新學校命名為愛麗絲·西艦隊小學的建議。 艦隊是阿靈頓的長期老師。 她是阿靈頓的第一位非裔美國人閱讀老師,也是全白人學校的第一位非裔美國人老師。 在她的職業生涯中,Fleet在霍夫曼波士頓,德魯,伍德蒙特和里德小學任教。 董事會計劃在15月XNUMX日的會議上對該建議進行投票。 完整的演示文稿是 可在線.

修訂學校董事會政策30-2.2邊界 –主管提議進行一些細微的更改,包括替換考慮過度的過度使用和標準。

修訂部分校務委員會的非歧視政策 –員工正在提議更改非歧視政策:10學校董事會; 25學生服務; 和35人際關係。

  • 政策10-13人際關係 –建議的更改:擴大表示可用保護的語言,並刪除第25節和第35節策略以及策略實施過程中更全面介紹的細節。
  • 政策25-1.15學生平等受教育的機會/非歧視 –建議從“學生性騷擾政策”中更改姓名; 明確保護所有受保護的類別免受歧視和騷擾; 添加定義部分; 指定合規官處理學生的投訴; 並針對投訴採取補救措施。
  • 政策35-4.4員工關係-平等就業機會 –建議的更改刪除與學生投訴有關的語言; 增加與殘疾保護有關的語言; 和指定合規官來處理員工和申請人的投訴。

Kenmore中學內部修改的建築合同獎 –員工建議向Marion Construction,Inc.授予建設合同,金額為578,599美元,並從資本儲備金中批准1萬美元的總預算。 內部修改將可容納75人的座位從985增加到1,060。

韋克菲爾德內部改型的建築合同獎 –員工建議向Bennett授予建設合同1,675,517美元,並從資本儲備中批准項目總預算3.6萬美元,從而使先前批准的資金減少400,000萬美元。 內部修改將增加300個座位,從1,903個增加到2,203個。

工單承包合同獎 –工作人員建議批准工作訂單承包服務的合同授予。 作業訂單訂約是:

  • 通過建立設定的單價簿來獲取建築和機械服務的方法;
  • 獲取承包商以書中的價格,數量和規格作為定價基礎,根據需要執行工作; 和
  • 供應商收取一定的費用,用於開發範圍,創建提案,執行和管理項目。

完整的演示文稿是 在BoardDocs上可用.

威爾遜新學校的早期工作包2的施工合同獎 –工作人員建議向吉爾班授予一份合同,以完成第2包的早期工作,金額為14,088,865美元。 完整的建議和 演示文稿可在線獲得.

職業中心改造的施工前風險管理服務合同獎 –工作人員建議董事會批准Skanska的施工前階段服務合同金額104,000美元。 更多信息是 在BoardDocs上可用.

計劃管理服務的定期合同獎 –要求董事會將長期合同授予Brailsford&Dunlavey。 完整的演示文稿是 可在線.

認可:
會議以紀念儀式開始 APS 退休人員。 院長和學校董事會感謝退休人員對教育的貢獻。 APS 退休典禮後,學生諮詢委員會成員向學校董事會提交了年度報告。

欲獲得更多信息:
想要對學校董事會會議上討論的任何項目發表評論的公民,請通過以下方式向董事會發送電子郵件: 學校董事會@aps價值 or call 703-228-6015.或致電703-228-2400。 Citizens may call 70-41-XNUMX on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.在校務委員會會議結束後的周一,公民可以撥打XNUMX-XNUMX-XNUMX收聽會議摘要。 School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有線頻道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS頻道XNUMX上還直播學校董事會會議; live-streamed on the現場直播 APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 pm and Mondays at 7:30 pm immediately following the meeting.網站,並在會議結束後的周五晚上XNUMX點和周一晚上XNUMX:XNUMX重新廣播。 All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at會議的所有材料和會議記錄將發佈到以下網站: 萬維網。apsva.us/學校董事會 經校務委員會在隨後的會議上批准。

APS News Release

School Board Discusses Proposed High School Options Recommendation

Approves SBP 25-2.2 Enrollment and Transfers for Schools and Programs

Superintendent Dr. Pat Murphy presented the Arlington School Board with his recommendations for additional high school seats at last night’s meeting. The superintendent is recommending a hybrid of the Education Center Site and the Career Center site to provide the high school seats needed by 2022.

It was also recommended to further explore options at the Kenmore site, the Career Center site and Washington-Lee High School as long-term solutions to high school capacity needs.

The recommendation includes the renovation of Education Center Site to include approximately 500-600 seats as well as the renovation of the Career Center Site to include approximately 700-800 seats in addition to the 800 planned for Arlington Tech.

APS is projecting more than 30,000 students by 2021 and almost 32,000 students by 2025 while Arlington County’s 30-year population forecasts the population of school-aged children 0-14 is projected to peak by 2030 with 41,500 resident children.APS has contracted for three additional studies to further inform planning.

Those studies include:

  • Education Center renovation to educational use;
  • Phased additions to the Career Center; and a
  • Field study for the high school options

The Board will hold a Public Hearing at the June 15 meeting. The full presentation along with the high school options analysis and ratings is available on BoardDocs.

ACTION ITEMS:
The School Board approved the revision of School Board Policy (SBP) 25-2.2 Enrollment and Transfers for Schools and Programs.

The Board also approved changes to SBP 20-1.210 Award of Credit, Non Credit Courses. The changes align with current Virginia Department of Education VDOE guidance. VDOE guidance now permits the awarding of standard credit without 140 clock hours for work equal to the progress and learning achieved in 140 clock hours of instruction when certain criteria are met. Detailed revisions are available in BoardDocs.

APPOINTMENT:
The School Board appointed Brian Boykin as the Principal of Williamsburg Middle School. Boykin is currently the Assistant Principal of Carlin Springs Elementary School. The Board also approved the appointment of Frances Lee as a full-time Assistant Principal at Wakefield High School.

MONITORING ITEMS:
The Superintendent provided a progress report on the APS 3-5 Year Plan, and a brief update area of engagement during the 2017-18 school year, including:

  • Options and transfers; including lotteries; defining options and providing an annual update;
  • Developing the 2018-24 Strategic Plan;
  • Middle school boundary process;
  • Elementary boundary process; and
  • Developing the 2019-28 Capital Improvement Plan.

INFORMATION ITEMS:
Instructional Resources Adoption
– Staff presented its recommendations for instructional resources in English Language Arts, Science and Social Studies. The presentation and list of resources is available online.

Adoption of the Name for the New School at Jefferson – Staff presented the committee’s recommendation for the new school at Jefferson to be named Alice West Fleet Elementary School. Fleet was a long-time Arlington teacher. She was the first African-American reading teacher in Arlington and the first African-American teacher in an all-white school. During her career, Fleet taught at Hoffman-Boston, Drew, Woodmont and Reed elementary schools. The Board is scheduled to vote on the recommendation at its June 15 meeting. The complete presentation is available online.

Revision of School Board Policy 30-2.2 Boundaries – The Superintendent is proposing minor changes including replacing crowded with over utilized and criteria to considerations.

Revision of select School Board Policies on Non-Discrimination – Staff is proposing changes to Nondiscrimination policies: 10 School Board; 25 Student Services; and 35 Human Relations.

  • Policy 10-13 Human Relations – Recommended changes: broaden the language indicating protections available and remove details that are covered more fully in Section 25 and Section 35 policies and policy implementations procedures.
  • Policy 25-1.15 Student Equal Education Opportunities/Nondiscrimination – Recommended name change from Student Sexual Harassment Policy; Clarify protection against discrimination and harassment on all protected classifications; add a definition section; designate compliance officers for student complaints; and address remedies for complaints.
  • Policy 35-4.4 Employee Relations-Equal Employment Opportunity – Recommended changes remove language related to student complaints; add language related to disability protections; and designation of compliance officers for staff and applicant complaints.

Construction Contract Award for the Kenmore Middle School Internal Modifications – Staff is recommending awarding of the construction contract to Marion Construction, Inc. for $578,599 and to approve the total budget of $1 million from the Capital Reserve. The internal modifications will increase capacity by 75 seats from 985 to 1,060.

Construction Contract Award for the Wakefield Internal Modifications – Staff is recommending awarding the construction contract to Bennett for $1,675,517 and to approve a total project budget of $3.6 million from the Capital Reserve, reducing previously approved funding by $400,000. The internal modifications will increase capacity by 300 seats from 1,903 to 2,203.

Contract Award for Job Order Contracting – Staff recommends approval of the award of contracts for Job Order Contracting Services. Job order contracting is:

  • A method of procuring construction and mechanical services by establishing a book of set unit prices;
  • Obtaining a contractor to perform work as needed using the prices, quantities, and specifications in the book as the basis of its pricing; and
  • Vendor collects a percentage fee for developing scope, creating proposal, executing and managing project.

The full presentation is available on BoardDocs.

Construction Contract Award for Early Work Package 2 for the New School at Wilson – Staff recommends awarding a contract to complete early work Package 2 to Gilbane in the amount of $14,088,865. The full recommendation and presentation is available online.

Contract Award for Pre-Construction Construction Management at-Risk Services for the Career Center Renovation – Staff is recommending that the Board approve the pre-construction phase services contract award in the amount of $104,000 to Skanska. More information is available on BoardDocs.

Term Contract Award for Program Management Services – The Board is being asked to award a term contract to Brailsford & Dunlavey. The complete presentation is available online.

RECOGNITIONS:
The meeting began with a ceremony honoring APS retirees. The Superintendent and School Board thanked the retirees for their contribution to the education of APS students.After the retiree ceremony, members of the Student Advisory Board presented their annual report to the School Board.

FOR MORE INFORMATION:
Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.