APS 新闻发布

校务委员会在重点地点讨论新小学的拟议名称

在18月XNUMX日的会议上,校务委员会在关键地点讨论了新小学的拟议名称。

命名委员会由首席克莱尔·彼得斯(Claire Peters)主持,由父母,学生,社区成员和工作人员组成,提出了两种选择:

  • 创新小学 是委员会的首选,因为它代表了“他们希望孩子在学校学习的技能和理想。” 创新是指思考新想法,然后通过步骤和挑战将其付诸实践的能力。
  • 捷威小学 被认为是第二选择,因为它代表了学校在阿灵顿的地理位置,以及学习是通往孩子未来的门户的概念。 长期以来,罗斯林一直是华盛顿特区通往阿灵顿的门户。 盖特威公园位于罗斯林,在那里举办许多文化活动。

预计教育委员会将在11月XNUMX日对姓名进行投票。 可在线.

2020-21学年更新
主管审查了最近宣布的 XNUMX月混合/面对面学生回国的计划和时间表。 此外,演讲还介绍了新的健康检查平台,空气质量和远程学习任务组报告的最新信息。

1月XNUMX日启动的新学生健康检查平台 –从1月XNUMX日开始, APS 将推出新的 APS 在线日常健康症状筛查,作为缓解工作的一部分。 家长/监护人将通过电子邮件或他们所列的文本收到每位学生的邀请。 ParentVue/Synergy 不管是哪种型号(距离或混合动力),每天凌晨5:30都可以使用该帐户。

  • 症状筛查器有五种语言版本,并且期望每个学生在到达公交车站,学校或每天开始之前都已经完成症状筛查器,以确保有效缓解症状。
  • 父母和法定监护人将能够显示日期和时间戳的验证屏幕,该屏幕上该学生当天被准许上学。
  • 由于系统不允许我们区分参加周末活动的学生,因此会在每周的每天发送邀请。
  • 未通过症状筛查程序的学生将收到系统自动发送的电子邮件回复,其中不包括参加亲自参加的活动和指导,直到满足返回条件为止。 这些信件还以多种语言发送。

更多信息将在23月XNUMX日,星期二发送,包括有关该过程的简短教程视频。 鼓励父母和法定监护人进行检查 ParentVUE 帐户,以确保他们希望接收短信邀请,并且在相应的字段中拥有支持短信的手机。

空气质量和通风– APS 继续遵循疾病预防控制中心和哈佛大学公立卫生学院的整体风险缓解方法指南。 本周早些时候, APS 工作人员与哈佛大学公共卫生学院的约瑟夫·艾伦(Joseph Allen)博士讨论了他们检查教室通风的指南。 他强调通风是 部分 整体分层方法。 他们的第一个建议是对遮罩的要求很高,使用KN95时可以将透射率降低95%。 将最近推荐的手术口罩戴在合适的布面罩下面,可以提供90%以上的防护。

哈佛大学的指导原则只针对教室空间,而不是较大的区域,如礼堂,体育馆,艺术或音乐室。 目标是每小时进行4 – 6次换气(ACH), 相信学校可以并且已经认识 通过采用各种低成本策略(例如在每个教室中打开门窗,升级过滤器或添加便携式认证的空气净化设备(CACD))来实现4-6 ACH的目标。 周一,CMTA拜访了每所学校,以确定正确的天花板高度,以便将ASHRAE通风数据转换为每小时换气量。 转换为ACH后,CMTA确定:

  • 所有教室的5% 一个CACD达到了Allen博士推荐的4 – 6 ACH目标。 此计算不包括任何再循环空气。
  • 阿灵顿蒙特梭利公立学校的其余5间教室和詹姆斯敦的17间教室将提供第二个CACD。 具有可操作窗户的教室可以将其打开以增加室外空气流通。 提供 第二次CACD 在22间教室中,我们会将所有教室 4-6 ACH目标。

有关更多详细信息,请参见 院长的演讲 or 你可以在这里看.

远程学习工作队报告– 这个由六名成员组成,为期六周,由75名成员组成的远程学习任务组的重点是继续改善学生远程学习和教学的策略。 与会者讨论了改善学生获得学习机会并进一步支持他们的社会情感成长的解决方案和策略。 一些要点包括:

  • 提供一致的使用 Canvas (每个学校使用的通用主页和模块模板,可以一致地访问作业)。
  • 增强 微软团队 提供对分组讨论室的常规访问,以及老师和学生之间的私人通信以获取帮助。
  • 更新学生相机政策,以鼓励学生在教学过程中以及与同伴和老师的互动中始终打开相机。
  • 形成共同的意识 课堂社区 在DL和面对面的学生之间
  • 为远程学习学生提供 获取物资,资源和材料的硬拷贝。
  • 确保远程学习的学生可以 积极与面对面的同学互动 在并发模型中。

信息项
向学校董事会提供了以下项目的更新:

  • 修订学校董事会政策F-7不动产
  • 高地2022财年CIP估算资金

这两个项目的详细信息是 在BoardDocs上可用.

赞誉
为了纪念“黑人历史月”,全县的学生表演了黑人国歌, 抬起每一个声音并唱歌。 你可以在这里观看表演。 校务委员会还认可了设施和运营助理总监约翰·查德威克(John Chadwick),他将于月底退休。

了解更多信息:
想要对学校董事会会议上讨论的任何项目发表评论的公民,请通过以下方式向董事会发送电子邮件: 学校董事会@apsva.us 或致电703-228-6015。 在校务委员会会议结束后的周一,公民可以拨打703-228-2400收听会议摘要。

School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41;在康卡斯特有线频道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS频道XNUMX上还直播了学校董事会会议; live-streamed on the现场直播 APS 网站,并在会议结束后的周五晚上9点和周一晚上7:30重新广播。 所有材料和会议记录将发布到网站上 万维网。apsva.us/schoolboard 经校务委员会在随后的会议上批准。

APS News Release

School Board Discusses Proposed Name for New Elementary School at the Key Site

The School Board discussed the proposed name for the New Elementary School at the Key Site at its Feb. 18 meeting.

The naming committee—chaired by Principal Claire Peters and comprised of parents, students, community members and staff—presented two options the Board:

  • Innovation Elementary School is the committee’s first choice because it represents “a skill and an ideal that they want their children to learn at the school.” Innovation is the ability to think of a new idea and then work through the steps and challenges to bring that idea to life.
  • Gateway Elementary School was presented as the second choice, as it represents the physical location of the school in Arlington and the concept that learning is the gateway to a child’s future. Rosslyn has long been known as the gateway to Arlington from Washington, DC. Gateway Park is located in Rosslyn and many cultural events are held there.

The School Board is expected to vote on a name on March 11. The full presentation is available online.

2020-21 School Year Update
The Superintendent reviewed the recently announced plan and timeline for hybrid/in-person student returns in March. In addition, the presentation featured updates on a new health screening platform, air quality and the Distance Learning Task Force Report.

The New Student Health Screening Platform Launching March 1 – Beginning March 1, APS will launch the new APS online daily health symptom screener, as part of mitigation efforts. Parents/guardians will receive one invitation for each student via email or text as listed in their ParentVue/Synergy account at 5:30 AM daily, regardless of model (distance or hybrid).

  • The symptom screener is available in five languages and it is expected that each student has completed their symptom screener prior to arriving at the bus stop or school or the start of each day to ensure effective mitigation.
  • Parents and legal guardians will be able to show a date and time stamped verification screen that the student is cleared to attend school that day.
  • Invitations will be sent every day of the week as the system does not allow us to differentiate for our students who participate in weekend activities.
  • Students who do not pass the symptom screener will receive an automatic email reply from the system with their exclusion from attending in person activities and instruction until return conditions are satisfied. These letters are also being sent in multiple languages.

More information will be sent Tuesday, Feb. 23, including a short tutorial video on the process.  Parents and legal guardians are encouraged to check their ParentVUE account to ensure if they wish to receive text message invitations, they have a text capable cell phone in the appropriate field.

Air Quality and Ventilation – APS continues to follow the CDC’s and the Harvard Public School of Health’s guidelines for a holistic risk mitigation approach. Earlier this week, APS staff spoke with Dr. Joseph Allen from the Harvard School of Public Health regarding their guidelines to checking ventilation in classrooms. He emphasized that ventilation is part of an overall layered approach. Their first recommendation is having a strong mask requirement which can reduce transmission by 95% when using a KN95. Wearing the recently recommended surgical mask underneath a well-fitting cloth mask can provide greater than 90% protection.

​​Harvard’s guidelines are focused on classroom spaces and not larger areas such as auditoriums, gyms, art or music rooms. The target is 4 – 6 Air Changes Per Hour (ACH) and believes schools can and have met the target of 4 – 6 ACH by utilizing various lower cost strategies such as opening windows and doors, upgrading filters or adding a portable certified air cleaning device (CACD) in each classroom. On Monday, CMTA visited every school to determine the correct ceiling heights in order to convert the ASHRAE ventilation data to air changes per hour. After converting to ACH, CMTA determined that:

  • 5% of all classrooms with one CACD meets the 4 – 6 ACH target recommended by Dr. Allen. This calculation excludes any recirculated air.​
  • The remaining 5 classrooms at Montessori Public School of Arlington and 17 classrooms at Jamestown will be provided a second CACD. Classrooms with operable windows can open them to increase outside air ventilation. ​Providing a second CACD in the 22 classrooms will bring all our classrooms in the recommended 4-6 ACH target.

Additional details are available in the Superintendent’s presentation or you can watch it here.

Distance Learning Task Force Report – The six-week, 75-member Distance Learning Task Force focused on strategies for continuing to improve distance learning and instruction for students. Participants discussed solutions and strategies to improve students’ access to learning and further support their social-emotional growth. Some takeaways included a commitment to:

  • Provide for consistent use of Canvas (common home page and module templates used within each school, consistent access to assignments).
  • Enhance Microsoft Teams to provide regular access to breakout rooms, and private communication between teacher and student to access help.
  • Update the student camera policy to encourage students to consistently turn cameras on during instruction and interaction with peers and teachers.
  • Develop a shared sense of classroom community between DL and in-person students.
  • Provide distance learning students with access to supplies, resources and hard copies of materials.
  • Ensure that distance learning students can actively engage with in-person classmates in concurrent model.

Information Items
The School Board was provided updates on the following items:

  • Revisions to School Board Policy F-7 Real Property
  • The Heights FY2022 CIP Estimate Funding

Details on both items are available on BoardDocs.

Recognitions
In recognition of Black History Month, students from across the county performed the Black National Anthem, Lift Every Voice and Sing. You can watch the performance here. The School Board also recognized Assistant Superintendent of Facilities and Operations John Chadwick who is retiring at the end of the month.

For More Information:
Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.

School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.