APS بيان صحفي

يناقش مجلس إدارة المدرسة الاسم المقترح لمدرسة ابتدائية جديدة في الموقع الرئيسي

ناقش مجلس المدرسة الاسم المقترح للمدرسة الابتدائية الجديدة في الموقع الرئيسي في اجتماع 18 فبراير.

قدمت لجنة التسمية - برئاسة المديرة كلير بيترز وتتألف من أولياء الأمور والطلاب وأعضاء المجتمع والموظفين - خيارين لمجلس الإدارة:

  • مدرسة الابتكار الابتدائية هو الخيار الأول للجنة لأنه يمثل "مهارة ومثلًا مثاليًا يريدون لأطفالهم تعلمه في المدرسة". الابتكار هو القدرة على التفكير في فكرة جديدة ثم العمل من خلال الخطوات والتحديات لإحياء هذه الفكرة.
  • مدرسة جيت واي الابتدائية تم تقديمه كخيار ثانٍ ، لأنه يمثل الموقع المادي للمدرسة في أرلينغتون ومفهوم أن التعلم هو البوابة إلى مستقبل الطفل. تُعرف روسلين منذ فترة طويلة بأنها بوابة أرلينغتون من واشنطن العاصمة. يقع Gateway Park في روسلين وتقام العديد من الفعاليات الثقافية هناك.

من المتوقع أن يصوت مجلس المدرسة على اسم يوم 11 مارس. العرض الكامل هو متاحة على شبكة الإنترنت.

2020-21 تحديث العام الدراسي
استعرض المشرف ما تم الإعلان عنه مؤخرًا الخطة والجدول الزمني لعودة الطلاب المختلط / الشخصي في مارس. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تضمن العرض تحديثات حول منصة جديدة للفحص الصحي وجودة الهواء وتقرير فريق عمل التعلم عن بعد.

إطلاق منصة فحص صحة الطلاب الجديدة في 1 مارس - اعتبارًا من 1 مارس ، APS سيطلق الجديد APS فحص الأعراض الصحية اليومية عبر الإنترنت ، كجزء من جهود التخفيف. سيتلقى الآباء / الأوصياء دعوة واحدة لكل طالب عبر البريد الإلكتروني أو الرسائل النصية كما هو مدرج في ParentVue/Synergy الحساب الساعة 5:30 صباحًا يوميًا ، بغض النظر عن الطراز (المسافة أو الهجين).

  • يتوفر جهاز فحص الأعراض بخمس لغات ومن المتوقع أن يكون كل طالب قد أكمل فحص الأعراض قبل الوصول إلى محطة الحافلات أو المدرسة أو بداية كل يوم لضمان التخفيف الفعال.
  • سيتمكن أولياء الأمور والأوصياء القانونيون من إظهار شاشة تحقق مختومة بالتاريخ والوقت تفيد بأن الطالب مسموح له بالذهاب إلى المدرسة في ذلك اليوم.
  • سيتم إرسال الدعوات كل يوم من أيام الأسبوع لأن النظام لا يسمح لنا بالتمييز بين طلابنا الذين يشاركون في أنشطة عطلة نهاية الأسبوع.
  • سيتلقى الطلاب الذين لا يجتازون فاحص الأعراض ردًا تلقائيًا عبر البريد الإلكتروني من النظام مع استبعادهم من حضور الأنشطة والتعليمات الشخصية حتى يتم استيفاء شروط العودة. كما يتم إرسال هذه الرسائل بلغات متعددة.

سيتم إرسال مزيد من المعلومات الثلاثاء 23 فبراير، بما في ذلك مقطع فيديو تعليمي قصير حول العملية. يتم تشجيع الآباء والأوصياء القانونيين على التحقق من ParentVUE حساب لضمان ما إذا كانوا يرغبون في تلقي دعوات الرسائل النصية ، فلديهم هاتف محمول قادر على إرسال الرسائل النصية في الحقل المناسب.

جودة الهواء والتهوية - APS تواصل اتباع إرشادات مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها ومدرسة هارفارد العامة للصحة من أجل اتباع نهج شامل لتخفيف المخاطر. في وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع ، APS تحدث الموظفون مع الدكتور جوزيف ألين من كلية هارفارد للصحة العامة فيما يتعلق بإرشاداتهم لفحص التهوية في الفصول الدراسية. وأكد أن التهوية جزء من نهج الطبقات الشاملة. توصيتهم الأولى هي وجود متطلبات قناع قوي يمكن أن تقلل الإرسال بنسبة 95٪ عند استخدام KN95. يمكن أن يوفر ارتداء القناع الجراحي الموصى به مؤخرًا تحت قناع قماشي مناسب حماية أكبر من 90٪.

تركز إرشادات جامعة هارفارد على مساحات الفصول الدراسية وليس المساحات الأكبر مثل القاعات أو صالات الألعاب الرياضية أو غرف الفنون أو الموسيقى. الهدف هو 4-6 تغييرات هواء في الساعة (ACH) و يعتقد أن المدارس يمكن أن تلتقي وقد اجتمعت الهدف من 4 - 6 ACH من خلال استخدام استراتيجيات مختلفة منخفضة التكلفة مثل فتح النوافذ والأبواب أو ترقية المرشحات أو إضافة جهاز تنظيف الهواء المعتمد (CACD) في كل فصل دراسي. يوم الاثنين ، زارت CMTA كل مدرسة لتحديد ارتفاعات السقف الصحيحة من أجل تحويل بيانات التهوية ASHRAE إلى تغييرات الهواء في الساعة. بعد التحويل إلى ACH ، قررت CMTA أن:

  • 5٪ من جميع الفصول الدراسية مع CACD واحد يلبي الهدف 4-6 ACH الذي أوصى به الدكتور ألين. هذا الحساب لا يشمل أي هواء معاد تدويره.
  • سيتم توفير الفصول الدراسية الخمسة المتبقية في مدرسة مونتيسوري العامة في أرلينغتون و 5 فصلاً دراسيًا في جيمستاون CACD ثانيًا يمكن للفصول الدراسية ذات النوافذ القابلة للتشغيل فتحها لزيادة التهوية الخارجية. توفير أ CACD الثاني في 22 فصلاً دراسيًا ستجلب جميع الفصول الدراسية في الفصول الموصى بها 4-6 هدف ACH.â € <

تتوفر تفاصيل إضافية في عرض المشرف or تستطيع ان تشاهده هنا.

تقرير فريق عمل التعلم عن بعد - ركز فريق عمل التعلم عن بعد المكون من 75 عضوًا لمدة ستة أسابيع على استراتيجيات لمواصلة تحسين التعلم والتعليم عن بعد للطلاب. ناقش المشاركون الحلول والاستراتيجيات لتحسين وصول الطلاب إلى التعلم ودعم نموهم الاجتماعي العاطفي. تضمنت بعض الوجبات السريعة التزامًا بما يلي:

  • توفر الاستخدام المتسق لـ Canvas (الصفحة الرئيسية المشتركة ونماذج الوحدات المستخدمة داخل كل مدرسة ، والوصول المتسق إلى المهام).
  • تحسين فرق مايكروسوفت لتوفير وصول منتظم إلى الغرف الفرعية ، والتواصل الخاص بين المعلم والطالب للوصول إلى المساعدة.
  • قم بتحديث سياسة الكاميرا الخاصة بالطالب لتشجيع الطلاب على تشغيل الكاميرات باستمرار أثناء التدريس والتفاعل مع الزملاء والمدرسين.
  • تطوير الشعور المشترك بـ مجتمع الفصل الدراسي بين DL والطلاب شخصيًا.
  • تزويد طلاب التعلم عن بعد بـ الوصول إلى الإمدادات والموارد والنسخ المطبوعة من المواد.
  • تأكد من أن التعلم عن بعد يمكن للطلاب الانخراط بنشاط مع زملاء الدراسة شخصيًا في النموذج المتزامن.

عناصر المعلومات
تم تزويد مجلس المدرسة بتحديثات حول العناصر التالية:

  • التنقيحات على سياسة مجلس المدرسة F-7 الملكية العقارية
  • تمويل تقدير مرتفعات CIP للسنة المالية 2022

التفاصيل في كلا العنصرين متوفرة على BoardDocs.

الجوائز
تقديراً لشهر التاريخ الأسود ، قام الطلاب من جميع أنحاء المقاطعة بأداء النشيد الوطني الأسود ، ارفع كل صوت وغني. يمكنك مشاهدة الأداء هنا. كما كرم مجلس المدرسة أيضًا مساعد المشرف على المرافق والعمليات جون تشادويك الذي سيتقاعد في نهاية الشهر.

للمزيد من المعلومات:
يجب على المواطنين الذين يرغبون في التعليق على أي بنود تمت مناقشتها في اجتماع مجلس المدرسة إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى المجلس على لوحة المدرسة@apsva.us أو اتصل على 703-228-6015. يمكن للمواطنين الاتصال بالرقم 703-228-2400 يوم الاثنين بعد اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة للاستماع إلى ملخص الاجتماع.

يتم أيضًا بث اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة مباشرة على Comcast Cable Channel 70 و Verizon FiOS Channel 41 ؛ بث مباشر على APS الموقع الإلكتروني ، وإعادة البث يوم الجمعة الساعة 9 مساءً ويوم الاثنين الساعة 7:30 مساءً بعد الاجتماع مباشرة. سيتم نشر جميع المواد والدقائق على موقع الويب في شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/schoolboard بناء على موافقة مجلس المدرسة في اجتماع لاحق.

APS News Release

School Board Discusses Proposed Name for New Elementary School at the Key Site

The School Board discussed the proposed name for the New Elementary School at the Key Site at its Feb. 18 meeting.

The naming committee—chaired by Principal Claire Peters and comprised of parents, students, community members and staff—presented two options the Board:

  • Innovation Elementary School is the committee’s first choice because it represents “a skill and an ideal that they want their children to learn at the school.” Innovation is the ability to think of a new idea and then work through the steps and challenges to bring that idea to life.
  • Gateway Elementary School was presented as the second choice, as it represents the physical location of the school in Arlington and the concept that learning is the gateway to a child’s future. Rosslyn has long been known as the gateway to Arlington from Washington, DC. Gateway Park is located in Rosslyn and many cultural events are held there.

The School Board is expected to vote on a name on March 11. The full presentation is available online.

2020-21 School Year Update
The Superintendent reviewed the recently announced plan and timeline for hybrid/in-person student returns in March. In addition, the presentation featured updates on a new health screening platform, air quality and the Distance Learning Task Force Report.

The New Student Health Screening Platform Launching March 1 – Beginning March 1, APS will launch the new APS online daily health symptom screener, as part of mitigation efforts. Parents/guardians will receive one invitation for each student via email or text as listed in their ParentVue/Synergy account at 5:30 AM daily, regardless of model (distance or hybrid).

  • The symptom screener is available in five languages and it is expected that each student has completed their symptom screener prior to arriving at the bus stop or school or the start of each day to ensure effective mitigation.
  • Parents and legal guardians will be able to show a date and time stamped verification screen that the student is cleared to attend school that day.
  • Invitations will be sent every day of the week as the system does not allow us to differentiate for our students who participate in weekend activities.
  • Students who do not pass the symptom screener will receive an automatic email reply from the system with their exclusion from attending in person activities and instruction until return conditions are satisfied. These letters are also being sent in multiple languages.

More information will be sent Tuesday, Feb. 23, including a short tutorial video on the process.  Parents and legal guardians are encouraged to check their ParentVUE account to ensure if they wish to receive text message invitations, they have a text capable cell phone in the appropriate field.

Air Quality and Ventilation – APS continues to follow the CDC’s and the Harvard Public School of Health’s guidelines for a holistic risk mitigation approach. Earlier this week, APS staff spoke with Dr. Joseph Allen from the Harvard School of Public Health regarding their guidelines to checking ventilation in classrooms. He emphasized that ventilation is part of an overall layered approach. Their first recommendation is having a strong mask requirement which can reduce transmission by 95% when using a KN95. Wearing the recently recommended surgical mask underneath a well-fitting cloth mask can provide greater than 90% protection.

​​Harvard’s guidelines are focused on classroom spaces and not larger areas such as auditoriums, gyms, art or music rooms. The target is 4 – 6 Air Changes Per Hour (ACH) and believes schools can and have met the target of 4 – 6 ACH by utilizing various lower cost strategies such as opening windows and doors, upgrading filters or adding a portable certified air cleaning device (CACD) in each classroom. On Monday, CMTA visited every school to determine the correct ceiling heights in order to convert the ASHRAE ventilation data to air changes per hour. After converting to ACH, CMTA determined that:

  • 5% of all classrooms with one CACD meets the 4 – 6 ACH target recommended by Dr. Allen. This calculation excludes any recirculated air.​
  • The remaining 5 classrooms at Montessori Public School of Arlington and 17 classrooms at Jamestown will be provided a second CACD. Classrooms with operable windows can open them to increase outside air ventilation. ​Providing a second CACD in the 22 classrooms will bring all our classrooms in the recommended 4-6 ACH target.

Additional details are available in the Superintendent’s presentation or you can watch it here.

Distance Learning Task Force Report – The six-week, 75-member Distance Learning Task Force focused on strategies for continuing to improve distance learning and instruction for students. Participants discussed solutions and strategies to improve students’ access to learning and further support their social-emotional growth. Some takeaways included a commitment to:

  • Provide for consistent use of Canvas (common home page and module templates used within each school, consistent access to assignments).
  • Enhance Microsoft Teams to provide regular access to breakout rooms, and private communication between teacher and student to access help.
  • Update the student camera policy to encourage students to consistently turn cameras on during instruction and interaction with peers and teachers.
  • Develop a shared sense of classroom community between DL and in-person students.
  • Provide distance learning students with access to supplies, resources and hard copies of materials.
  • Ensure that distance learning students can actively engage with in-person classmates in concurrent model.

Information Items
The School Board was provided updates on the following items:

  • Revisions to School Board Policy F-7 Real Property
  • The Heights FY2022 CIP Estimate Funding

Details on both items are available on BoardDocs.

Recognitions
In recognition of Black History Month, students from across the county performed the Black National Anthem, Lift Every Voice and Sing. You can watch the performance here. The School Board also recognized Assistant Superintendent of Facilities and Operations John Chadwick who is retiring at the end of the month.

For More Information:
Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.

School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.