APS 新聞發布

校務委員會討論弗吉尼亞州修訂的畢業要求

在15月XNUMX日的會議上,工作人員向校務委員會提供了有關實施弗吉尼亞州教育部(VDOE)修訂的畢業要求的最新信息。

更新後的要求對英語,數學,科學和歷史/社會科學的學習保持了很高的期望,同時減少了每個高中文憑所需的學習標準(SOL)測試次數,並實施了“弗吉尼亞大學畢業生簡介”。

即將於2018年畢業的2022年秋季新生入學要求包括:

  • 弗吉尼亞大學畢業生簡介
  • 五個C:批判性思維; 創造性思維,溝通,協作和公民意識(社區和公民責任)
  • 職業探索與規劃,以及
  • 標準和認證學分

完整的報告是 在BoardDocs上可用. 

監控項目:

  • 主管的2017-18行動計劃更新– 墨菲(Murphy)向董事會提供了有關該行動計劃正在進行的其他努力的最新信息,以支持董事會今年的工作。
    • 小學規劃倡議– 員工正在與PTA和公民協會一起進行第一階段的工作,以組成學校任務組以對步行區進行審查。 從20月XNUMX日開始,工作人員將舉行“步行區審查入門”學校工作隊的工作會議。 也將有機會提供意見以及學校任務組徒步旅行。
    • 19-28財年的資本改善計劃(CIP)– 董事會將聽取有關阿靈頓設施和學生住宿計劃(AFSAP),計劃和能力利用的監測報告。

邀請公眾了解更多信息,對正在進行的任何行動計劃參與計劃提出疑問或發表評論, 萬維網。aps價值/參與.

  • 人力資源更新– 董事會審查了人力資源部在招聘和保留高素質員工以及增加員工多樣性方面所做的最新工作。 該報告還包括員工總體滿意度的最新信息。 完整的演示文稿是 可在線.

 信息項:

  • 修訂部分校務委員會政策(SBP)– 工作人員總結了對SBP 35-4.1人際關係-員工協助計劃和35-4.3工作場所暴力的修訂建議。 擬議的修訂是 可在線.
  • Yorktown內部修改的最終設計– 工作人員介紹了最終設計 Yorktown高中的內部修改 這將增加額外的310個席位,這些席位將在2018年秋季之前完成。這些修改將耗資4萬美元,並由資本儲備金提供資金。
  • 確定使用建築管理風險(CMR)交付方法進行教育中心改造– 這將指導學生使用CMR採購方法進行教育中心的翻新。 它還指導員工開始競爭性談判選擇過程。
  • 倫道夫窗戶更換第二階段合同授予– 董事會被要求批准為蘭道夫窗戶更換項目第二階段額外使用債券資金287,966美元。
  • Abingdon項目的施工管理顧問(CMA)服務的合同修訂– 員工要求學校董事會批准由項目應急資金資助的擬議合同修正案。

行動項目:
校務委員會向Shapiro和Duncan,Inc.授予了一份總額為4,744,000億美元的合同,以使Randolph小學現代化。 董事會還批准了總額為6.2萬美元的項目預算,並批准使用HVAC,Roofing和Infrastructure債券資金為該項目提供全部資金。 

任命:

董事會作出了三項任命:

  • David McBride被任命為Kenmore中學的校長。 自2016年XNUMX月以來,他一直擔任臨時校長。
  • 薩拉·普特南(Sarah Putnam)被任命為課程與教學主任; 和
  • 唐娜·斯奈德(Donna Snyder)被任命為蘭道夫小學校長,任期一年。

認可:
作為“黑人歷史月”慶祝活動的一部分,卡林斯普林斯小學合唱團表演了非裔美國人國歌。 演出結束後,董事會表彰了被選入不同國家樂隊的學生。

上週, APS celebrated School Counseling Week.慶祝學校諮詢週。 To highlight the role of counselors, several elementary students shared what they have learned from their school counselors.為了突出輔導員的作用,一些小學生分享了他們從學校輔導員那裡學到的知識。

最後,董事會向主要小學校長Marjorie Myers博士表示祝賀,他最近是伊莎貝爾天主教堂勳章的獲得者。 軍官十字勳章是授予那些為西班牙與美國社區之間的友好合作關係做出非凡貢獻的人的榮譽。

下次校務委員會會議: 
下次校務委員會會議將於22月6日,星期四,下午30:XNUMX舉行。議程將在會議召開的一周前公佈。 董事會文件.   

了解更多信息
想要對學校董事會會議上討論的任何項目發表評論的公民,請通過以下方式向董事會發送電子郵件: 學校董事會@aps價值 or call 703-228-6015.或致電703-228-2400。 Citizens may call 70-41-XNUMX on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.在校務委員會會議結束後的周一,公民可以撥打XNUMX-XNUMX-XNUMX收聽會議摘要。 School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有線頻道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS頻道XNUMX上還直播學校董事會會議; live-streamed on the現場直播 APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 pm and Mondays at 7:30 pm immediately following the meeting.網站,並在會議結束後的周五晚上XNUMX點和周一晚上XNUMX:XNUMX重新廣播。 All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at會議的所有材料和會議記錄將發佈到以下網站: 萬維網。apsva.us/學校董事會 經校務委員會在隨後的會議上批准。

APS News Release

School Board Discusses Revised Virginia Graduation Requirements

At the Feb. 15 meeting, staff provided the School Board with an update on implementing the Virginia Department of Education’s (VDOE) revised graduation requirements.

The updated requirements maintain high expectations for learning English, math, science, and history/social science while reducing the number of Standards of Learning (SOL) tests required for each a high school diploma and implementing the “Profile of a Virginia Graduate.”

The graduation requirements for incoming freshmen in the fall of 2018, who will be graduating in 2022, will include:

  • Profile of a Virginia Graduate
  • The Five C’s: Critical thinking; creative thinking, communication, collaboration, and citizenship (community and civic responsibility)
  • Career Exploration and Planning, and
  • Standard and Verified Credits

The full report is available on BoardDocs. 


  • Superintendent’s 2017-18 Action Plan Update – Murphy updated the Board on other efforts underway on the action plan to support the Board’s work this year.
    • Elementary School Planning Initiative – Staff is working on Phase I with PTAs and Civic Associations to form School Task Groups for walk zone reviews. Beginning Feb. 20, staff will hold “Getting Started on Walk Zone Review” School Task Force Work Sessions. There will also be opportunities to provide input and as well as School Task Group walking tours.
    • Capital Improvement Plan (CIP) for FY19-28 – The Board will hear a monitoring report on the Arlington Facilities and Student Accommodation Plan (AFSAP), projections and capacity utilization.

The public is invited to learn more, ask questions or comment on any of the action plan engagement initiatives that are underway by visiting www.apsva.us/engage.

  • Human Resources Update – The Board reviewed an update on the efforts of the Dept. of Human Resources to recruit and retain high quality staff and increase staff diversity. The report also included an update on overall staff satisfaction. The full presentation is available online.


  • Revisions of Select School Board Policies (SBP) – Staff summarized proposed revisions to SBPs 35-4.1 Human Relations-Employee Assistance Program and 35-4.3 Workplace Violence. The proposed revisions are available online.
  • Final Design for Yorktown Internal Modifications – Staff presented the final design for internal modifications to Yorktown High School that would add an additional 310 seats to be completed by the Fall of 2018. The modifications would cost $4 million and be funded out of the Capital Reserves.
  • Determination to Use Construction Management Risk (CMR) Deliver Method for the Education Center Renovation – This directs students to use the CMR procurement method for the Education Center renovation. It also directs staff to begin the competitive negotiation selection process.
  • Randolph Window Replacement Phase 2 Contract Award – The Board is being asked to approve additional use of bond funding in the amount of $287,966 for Phase II of the Randolph Windows Replacement Project.
  • Contract Amendment for Construction Management Advisor (CMA) Services for the Abingdon Project – Staff is asking that the School Board approve the proposed contract amendment funded by the project’s contingency.

The School Board awarded a contract in the amount of $4,744,000 million to Shapiro and Duncan, Inc. for the modernization of Randolph Elementary School. The Board also approved the total project budget in the amount $6.2 million and approved the use of HVAC, Roofing and Infrastructure bond funds to fully fund the project. 


The Board made three appointments:

  • David McBride was appointed the Principal of Kenmore Middle School. He has served the interim principal since July 2016.
  • Sarah Putnam was named Director of Curriculum and Instruction; and
  • Donna Snyder was appointed Principal of Randolph Elementary School for an additional year.

As part of Black History Month celebrations, the Carlin Springs Elementary School chorus performed the African American National Anthem. Following the performance, the Board recognized students who were selected to different all-state ensembles.

Last week, APS celebrated School Counseling Week. To highlight the role of counselors, several elementary students shared what they have learned from their school counselors.

Finally, the Board congratulated Key Elementary School Principal Dr. Marjorie Myers who was the recent recipient of the Officer’s Cross of the Order of Isabel la Católica. The Officer’s Cross is an honor awarded to those who have made an extraordinary contribution to the relationship of friendship and cooperation between Spain and the American community.

Next School Board Meeting: 
The next School Board meeting will be held on Thu, Feb. 22 at 6:30 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.   

For More Information
Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.