APS 新闻发布

学校董事会讨论 SRO 工作组和总监建议

批准“Escuela Key Elementary”作为重点小学的新名称
任命新的学校支持主管

在 3 月 40 日的学校董事会会议上,学校董事会收到了学校资源官 (SRO) 工作组的最终报告和建议。 由 2020 名成员组成的 SRO 工作组于 2021 年 XNUMX 月至 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月召开会议,负责审查和重新构想阿灵顿县警察局 (ACPD) 和 APS,以最好地为学生、家庭、学校和阿灵顿县服务。 SRO 工作组的报告告知了学监向学校董事会提出的建议,他们将在 24 月 XNUMX 日的会议上对这些建议进行投票。

SRO 工作组的主要建议是,SRO 不应在学校设有固定办公室或每天在现场。 该小组的大多数人认为 ACPD 可以提供必要的执法相关职能 APS 没有官员驻扎在学校。 但是,州法律独立要求 APS 将 ACPD 作为其威胁评估小组、安全审计委员会、紧急程序审查和物理安全评估的一部分,而不会将 SRO 分配给学校。

工作组列出所有建议的完整报告可在线获取.

总监对 SRO 的建议
以下是总监根据社区和 SRO 工作组提供的意见向学校董事会提出的建议摘要。 学监的主要建议是不再每天在学校设立 SRO,并重新定义 APS' 与 ACPD 的关系以确保持续的学校安全。

  1. APS 将继续与 ACPD 的长期合作关系。
  2. APS 和 ACPD 将合作确定向学校提供执法服务的最佳方法。 ACPD 官员将驻扎在靠近学校的地点,但不在学校内。
  3. 在紧急情况或执法需要的情况下,ACPD 将根据需要提供警察服务。
  4. SRO 的服务将被重新构想,以满足学生、教职员工和 APS 社区。
  5. ACPD 将继续根据需要为学生和员工提供培训,以实施 SRO 工作组的建议。
  6. SRO 计划的名称将更改,以反映他们将为学生和教职员工提供的新支持角色。 (例如少年反应小组或青年资源官)。

学监还建议探索建立一个社区咨询小组,每年对这种关系进行审查和提供意见,并建立一个定期、透明的机制来收集有关学校执法参与的数据,并每年报告实现商定目标的进展情况。

总监的建议 提交给学校董事会的内容可在线获取。 这 总监的完整推荐的报告也发布在网上。

学校董事会计划在 24 月 XNUMX 日的会议上根据学监的建议采取行动。

行动项目
校务委员会批准了以下项目:

  • ATS 站点的关键浸入式计划的提议名称 – 董事会批准了委员会将 Key Elementary School 更名为“Escuela Key Elementary”的建议。 该名称将在 2021-22 学年生效,届时该计划将搬迁至其新大楼,即前阿灵顿传统学校所在地。
  • Syphax教育中心内部修改 – 董事会批准了一项建议,即从资本储备中转移 385,000 美元用于 Syphax 教育中心的内部修改。

任命
校务委员会批准了 金伯利格雷夫斯的任命,现任 Charles R. Drew 小学校长,担任新的学校支持主管。 学校支持主管是一个新职位,在学监内阁任职,负责监督校长和行政服务以及学生服务。 完整版本可在线获取。

信息项
董事会讨论了以下项目:

  • 学校董事会提议的 2022 -2024 财年资本改善计划
  • 阿灵顿社区高中认证
  • 教育中心重用变更为施工经理顾问合同

BoardDocs 上提供了有关这些项目的更多信息.

监控项目
2020-2021学年更新 – 总监提交了最终的 SY 2020-21 监测报告,强调了根据 28 月 XNUMX 日生效的州长命令对夏季和秋季健康和安全措施的变化。变化包括对口罩要求的调整,以允许完全接种疫苗的人摘下口罩在校外时。 校舍内的室内仍然需要戴口罩。 总监还指出,最终 入学报告 显示近 60% APS 学生每周至少有两天亲自上课——有些是四天——这是当地学校部门中学生比例最高的,每 华盛顿邮报 最近的报道.The 演示文稿可以在线阅读 或者你可以在这里观看。

第三季度财政监测报告 – 的目的 第三季度评论 衡量当前学年的财务进度,以确保当前年度的预算准确反映支出计划,并确定是否需要调整当前年度的预算。 最后,它有助于制定下一财政年度的预算。

赞誉
董事会认可 APS 今年已退休或年底即将退休的工作人员。 董事会还表彰了 全国拉丁语考试学者 以及 JROTC 学员。 最后, 学生顾问委员会 向董事会提交了年终报告。

了解更多信息
想要对学校董事会会议上讨论的任何项目发表评论的公民,请通过以下方式向董事会发送电子邮件: 学校董事会@aps价值 或致电703-228-6015。 在校务委员会会议结束后的周一,公民可以拨打703-228-2400收听会议摘要。

欲了解更多信息 如何亲自参加校务委员会会议, 访问我们的网站。

School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41;在康卡斯特有线频道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS频道XNUMX上还直播了学校董事会会议; live-streamed on the现场直播 APS 网站,并在会议结束后的周五晚上9点和周一晚上7:30重新广播。 所有材料和会议记录将发布到网站上 万维网。apsva.us/学校董事会 经校务委员会在随后的会议上批准。

APS News Release

School Board Discusses SRO Work Group & Superintendent Recommendations

Approves “Escuela Key Elementary” as New Name for Key Elementary School
Appoints New Chief of School Support

At the June 3 School Board meeting, the School Board received the final report and recommendations from the School Resource Officers (SRO) Work Group. The 40-member SRO Work Group convened from December 2020 to May 2021 with the charge to review and reimagine the relationship between the Arlington County Police Department (ACPD) and APS, to best serve students, families, schools and Arlington County. The report from the SRO Work Group informed the Superintendent’s recommendations to the School Board, which they will vote on at the June 24 meeting.

The primary recommendation from the SRO Work Group is that SROs should not have permanent offices or a daily onsite presence in schools. The majority of the group believes ACPD can provide the necessary law enforcement related functions to APS without having officers stationed in schools. However, state law independently requires APS to include ACPD as part of its Threat Assessment Team, Safety Audit Committee, Emergency Procedures Review, and Physical Security Assessment, without SROs being assigned to schools.

The Work Group’s full report listing all recommendations is available online.

Superintendent’s Recommendations for SROs
The following is a summary of the Superintendent’s recommendations to the School Board based on input received from the community and the SRO Work Group. The Superintendent’s primary recommendation is to no longer have a daily SRO presence in schools and to redefine APS’ relationship with ACPD to ensure continued school safety.​

  1. APS will continue its longstanding relationship with ACPD.
  2. APS and ACPD will collaborate to determine the best method of providing law-enforcement services to schools. ACPD officers will be based at a location in close proximity to schools, but not located in schools.
  3. In the event of an emergency or for law-enforcement needs, ACPD will provide police services as needed.
  4. The services of SROs will be reimagined to meet the needs of students, staff, and the APS community.
  5. ACPD will continue to provide training to students and staff as needed to implement the recommendations of the SRO Work Group.
  6. The name of the SRO program will be changed to reflect the new support role they will be providing to students and staff. (e.g. Juvenile Response Group or Youth Resource Officer).

The Superintendent also recommended exploring the creation of a community advisory group to annually review and provide input on the relationship, and establishing a regular, transparent mechanism for collecting data regarding law-enforcement engagement in schools and reporting progress toward the agreed upon goals annually.

The Superintendent’s recommendations that were presented to the School Board are available online. The Superintendent’s full recommendations report is also posted online.

The School Board is scheduled to act on the Superintendent’s recommendations at the June 24 meeting.

Action Items
The School Board approved the following items:

  • Proposed Name for the Key Immersion Program at the ATS Site – The Board approved the committee’s recommendation to rename Key Elementary School “Escuela Key Elementary.” The name will take effect for the 2021-22 school year when the program relocates to its new building, the former Arlington Traditional School site.
  • Syphax Education Center Internal Modifications – The Board approved a recommendation to transfer $385,000 from the Capital Reserve for internal modifications at the Syphax Education Center.

Appointment
The School Board approved the appointment of Kimberley Graves, currently the principal of Dr. Charles R. Drew Elementary School, as the new Chief of School Support. The Chief of School Support is a new position that serves on the Superintendent’s Cabinet, overseeing both principals and Administrative Services as well as Student Services. The full release is available online.

Information Items
The Board discussed the following items:

  • School Board Proposed FY 2022 -2024 Capital Improvement Plan
  • Arlington Community High School Accreditation
  • Education Center Reuse Change to Construction Manager Advisor Contract

More information on these items is available on BoardDocs.

Monitoring Items
School Year 2020-2021 Update – The Superintendent presented the final SY 2020-21 Monitoring Report, highlighting changes to health and safety measures for summer and fall based on the Governor’s Order which went into effect May 28. Changes include adjustments to mask requirements to allow fully vaccinated individuals to remove masks while outside on school grounds. Masks are still required indoors in school buildings.The Superintendent also noted that the final enrollment report shows nearly 60 percent of APS students are attending in person at least two days a week – some for four days – the highest percentage of students among local school divisions, per The Washington Post’s recent report.The presentation can be read online or you can watch it here.

Third Quarter Fiscal Monitoring Report – The purpose of the third quarter revue is measure the financial progress of the current school year to ensure the current year’s budget accurately reflects the spending plan and to determine if adjustments to the current year’s budget may be necessary. Finally, it helps shape the development of next fiscal year’s budget.

Recognitions
The Board recognized APS staff who have retired this year or are retiring at the end of the year. The Board also honored National Latin Exam scholars as well as JROTC Cadets. Finally, the Student Advisory Board presented their year end report to the Board.

For More Information
Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.

For more information on how to participate in School Board meetings in person, visit our website.

School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.