APS 新闻发布

校务委员会举行2017-18学年的最后例会

通过2019-28年度资本改善计划并批准多项政策修订

在21月2019日的会议上,校务委员会通过了《 28-XNUMX年资本改善计划》(CIP),作为应对增长的综合计划的一部分 APS 学生入学。 CIP总额为631.46亿美元,包括在411.63年计划中要求的10亿美元债券融资。 董事会通过的CIP包括建筑,装修和基础设施项目,以提高所有学校级别的能力,包括:

  • 里德(Reed)新增725个基本座位,计划于2021年开放
  • 教育中心和阿灵顿技术学院的更多高中座位包括:
    • 600年将在教育中心开放2021个座位
    • 将于250年在阿灵顿理工大学(职业中心)开设2021个席位
    • 800年将在职业中心获得2024个席位
  • 超出10年CIP范围的其他席位计划,包括:
    • 725年将增加750-2029个基本座位
    • 300年将增加2030个中学位置

现在将考虑将该CIP包括在阿灵顿县的CIP中,该信息为将在2018年XNUMX月学校债券公投中纳入的项目提供了信息。 的 完整的CIP新闻发布可在线获得。 有关CIP的其他信息,请参见 BoardDocs.  

其他行动项目

董事会批准还批准了以下政策修订和其他项目:

  • 2018财年第三季度财政监测报告 –董事会批准了今年第三季度的财务监控报告。
  • 修订学校董事会政策40-3.1未付餐费– 董事会批准了对该政策的修订,以符合美国农业部和《弗吉尼亚法规》的要求。
  • 修订学校董事会政策25-1.12上课时间/义务出勤– 董事会批准了修订后的政策,该政策阐明了与“真正的宗教培训或信仰”有关的出勤法律豁免。
  • 校务委员会政策25-3.6在学校中使用服务性动物– 董事会批准了该政策,以确保残疾人有机会根据《美国残疾人法》在学校财产上陪伴其训练有素的服务性动物。
  • 约克镇高中内部修改的建筑和工程服务合同修正案– 执董会批准了一项合同修正案,增加了46,669美元,并确定了538,854.92美元为固定价格总额。

有关这些项目的修订政策和其他信息是 在BoardDocs上可用.  

任命

校务委员会在2018-19学年做出了以下新任命:

  • Cameron Snyder –亨利小学临时校长
  • Carolyn Clark –少数族裔成就主管
  • Jeff Nicklaus Luttrell –图书馆服务主管
  • Claudia Vasquez –阿灵顿职业中心咨询总监
  • 珍妮弗·吉尔德(Jennifer Gildea)–阿灵顿传统学校助理校长
  • 黄凯瑟琳(Catherine Hwang)–霍夫曼波士顿小学校长助理
  • 拉根·索尔(Ragan Sohr)–巴雷特小学助理校长
  • Gabriela Rivas –巴克罗夫特小学助理校长
  • 戴安娜·乔丹(Diana Jordan)–托马斯·杰斐逊中学(Thomas Jefferson Middle School)助理校长

监控项目

校务委员会收到了以下项目的更新:

  • 年度报告:学校设施和基本计划(FAC)和员工反应咨询委员会- 工作人员分享了FAC的年度报告和回应,其中包括确定新方法,以提高成本和增加入学空间的使用效率,同时又不损害教学的卓越性。
  • 预算咨询委员会(BAC)的年度报告和工作人员的回应– BAC主席介绍了该报告,工作人员介绍了其答复,其中包括提供有关每名学生成本的数据,例如较小的班级人数,教师薪水和计划因素,以协助预算计划。
  • 天文馆之友的报告– 阿灵顿之友的David M. Brown天文馆(FOAP)的董事会成员介绍了其与2017年学年期间社区活动的最新情况,该活动与 APS.
  • 内部审计年度报告 –工作人员介绍了有关学校服务的医疗补助报销的最新信息; 出售 APS 资产; 设施租金; APS 分配给学生的设备; 以及一项外部建筑成本研究 APS.

完整的演示文稿可用 在BoardDocs上.   

信息项

  • 职业中心内部修改的施工变更单 –工作人员提出了职业中心内部修改的变更单建议,增加了标牌和环境图形改进的范围,总计161,578美元。
  • 通过的2019财年预算修正案– 工作人员提议修改已通过的预算,将383,019美元的额外持续州收入分配给学校运营基金(331,362美元)以及赠款和限制性计划基金(51,657美元)。 该修正案使2019财年的预算总额达到640,131,422美元。
  • 债券溢价转入资本公积 –工作人员要求学校董事会授权将15,204,776美元转入资本储备金,以资助各种 APS 基本工程需求。

以上项目的信息是 在BoardDocs上可用. 

认可

校务委员会通过承认许多学生的杰出成就来宣布会议开幕,其中包括:

  • Anuj Khemka,Thomas Jefferson中学2018年毕业班,2018年IB中学项目(MYP)世界学校的IB学生优秀奖获得者;
  • Kenmore的Morgann Noble和Marian Cespedes-Montalvo,美国全国竞争的未来商业领袖决赛选手;
  • 威廉斯堡中学的第一个乐高联盟机器人团队,获得弗吉尼亚州最创新设计奖;
  • 十一名学生在高中阶段获得了国家学术艺术奖;
  • XNUMX名学生,包括XNUMX名获得满分的学生,因在国家拉丁考试中的出色表现而获得认可; 和
  • 多项体育成就,包括华盛顿李和韦克菲尔德田径运动的荣誉; 韦克菲尔德男孩足球队,包括两名进入全州比赛的球员; 一名约克镇学生入选全州棒球队。 

下次学校董事会会议

校务委员会将于2110月2日中午举行一次组织性定期会议(华盛顿大道XNUMX号)。 会议议程将在会议召开前一周在BoardDocs上发布。 董事会将在秋季恢复定期会议。 

了解更多信息

想要对学校董事会会议上讨论的任何项目发表评论的公民,请通过以下方式向董事会发送电子邮件: 学校董事会@aps价值 or call 703-228-6015.或致电703-228-2400。 Citizens may call 70-41-XNUMX on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.在校务委员会会议结束后的周一,公民可以拨打XNUMX-XNUMX-XNUMX收听会议摘要。 School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有线频道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS频道XNUMX上还直播学校董事会会议; live-streamed on the现场直播 APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 pm and Mondays at 7:30 pm immediately following the meeting.网站,并在会议结束后的周五晚上XNUMX点和周一晚上XNUMX:XNUMX重新广播。 All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at所有材料和会议记录将发布到网站上  apsva.us/学校董事会 经校务委员会在随后的会议上批准。

APS News Release

School Board Holds Final Regular Meeting of the 2017-18 School Year

Adopts 2019-28 Capital Improvement Plan and Approves Several Policy Revisions

At its June 21 meeting, the School Board adopted the 2019-28 Capital Improvement Plan (CIP), as part of a comprehensive plan to address growth in APS student enrollment. The CIP totals $631.46 million and includes $411.63 million in requested bond funding over the 10-year plan. The Board’s adopted CIP includes construction, renovation and infrastructure projects to add capacity across all school levels, including:

  • 725 new elementary seats at Reed, scheduled to open in 2021
  • More high school seats at the Education Center and Arlington Tech, including:
    • 600 seats at the Education Center opening in 2021
    • 250 seats at Arlington Tech (at the Career Center) opening in 2021
    • 800 seats at the Career Center in 2024
  • Plans for additional seats beyond the range of the 10-year CIP, including:
    • 725-750 additional elementary seats in 2029
    • 300 additional middle school seats in 2030

The CIP will now be considered for inclusion in Arlington County’s CIP, which informs the projects that will be included in the November 2018 Schools bond referendum. The full CIP press release is available online. Additional information on the CIP is available on BoardDocs.  

OTHER ACTION ITEMS

The Board approved also approved the following policy revisions and other items:

  • FY 2018 3rd Quarter Fiscal Monitoring Report – The Board approved the fiscal monitoring report for this year’s third quarter.
  • Revisions to School Board Policy 40-3.1 Unpaid Meal Charges – The Board approved revisions to this policy to align with USDA and Code of Virginia requirements.
  • Revision of School Board Policy 25-1.12 School Hours/Compulsory Attendance – The Board approved the revised policy, which clarifies attendance law exemptions related to a “bona fide religious training or belief.”
  • School Board Policy 25-3.6 Use of Service Animals in Schools – The Board approved the policy to ensure that persons with disabilities have the opportunity to be accompanied by their trained service animal on school property in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act.
  • Contract Amendment for Architecture and Engineering Services for the Yorktown High School Internal Modifications – The Board approved a contract amendment of $46,669 for the added scope and established $538,854.92 as the fixed-price total.

Revised policies and additional information on these items is available on BoardDocs.  

APPOINTMENTS

The School Board made the following new appointments for the 2018-19 school year:

  • Cameron Snyder – Interim Principal at Henry Elementary School
  • Carolyn Clark – Supervisor, Minority Achievement
  • Jeff Nicklaus Luttrell – Supervisor, Library Services
  • Claudia Vasquez – Director of Counseling, Arlington Career Center
  • Jennifer Gildea – Assistant Principal, Arlington Traditional School
  • Catherine Hwang – Assistant Principal, Hoffman-Boston Elementary School
  • Ragan Sohr – Assistant Principal, Barrett Elementary School
  • Gabriela Rivas – Assistant Principal, Barcroft Elementary School
  • Diana Jordan – Assistant Principal, Thomas Jefferson Middle School

MONITORING ITEMS

The School Board received updates on the following items:

  • Annual Report: Advisory Council on School Facilities and Capital Programs (FAC) and Staff Response – Staff shared the FAC’s annual report and response, which includes identifying new approaches to increase efficiencies in cost and use of space for growing enrollment, without compromising excellence in teaching and learning.
  • Annual Report of the Budget Advisory Council (BAC) and Staff Response – The chair of the BAC presented the report and staff presented its response, which includes providing data around per pupil costs, such as smaller class sizes, teacher pay, and planning factors, to assist with budget planning.
  • Report from Friends of the Planetarium – Board members of the Friends of Arlington’s David M. Brown Planetarium (FOAP) presented an update on its community activities during the 2017-18 school year as a result of its ongoing collaboration with APS.
  • Internal Audit Annual Report – Staff presented updates on Medicaid reimbursement for school based services; sale of APS assets; facility rentals; APS devices assigned to students; and an external Construction Cost Study for APS.

Full presentations are available on BoardDocs.   

INFORMATION ITEMS

  • Construction Change Order for the Career Center Internal Modifications – Staff presented a change order proposal for Career Center internal modifications, adding scope for signage and environmental graphic improvements, totaling $161,578.
  • Amendment to Adopted FY 2019 Budget – Staff proposed amending the adopted budget by allocating $383,019 of additional ongoing State revenue to the School Operating Fund ($331,362) and to the Grants and Restricted Programs Fund ($51,657). The amendment brings the FY 2019 budget to a total of $640,131,422.
  • Transfer of Bond Premium to Capital Reserve – Staff requested that the School Board authorize the transfer of $15,204,776 to the Capital Reserve for funding various APS capital project needs.

Information on the above items is available on BoardDocs. 

RECOGNITIONS

The School Board opened the meeting by recognizing the outstanding achievements of many students, including:

  • Anuj Khemka, Thomas Jefferson Middle School graduating class of 2018, winner of the 2018 IB Student Excellence Award for IB Middle Years Program (MYP) World schools;
  • Morgann Noble and Marian Cespedes-Montalvo from Kenmore, finalists in the Future Business Leaders of America National Competition;
  • Williamsburg Middle School’s First Lego League Robotics team, recipients of the State of Virginia Most Innovative Design Award;
  • Eleven student National Scholastic Arts award winners at the middle and high school level;
  • Sixty-six students, including seven who received perfect scores, recognized for outstanding performance on the National Latin exam; and
  • Multiple athletics achievements, including Washington-Lee and Wakefield Track & Field honors; the Wakefield Boys Soccer team, including two players who made all-state; and one Yorktown student named to the All-State Baseball team. 

NEXT SCHOOL BOARD MEETING

The School Board will hold an Organizational and Regular Meeting (2110 Washington Blvd.) on July 2 at Noon. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs. The Board will resume its regular meetings in the fall. 

FOR MORE INFORMATION

Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.