APS بيان صحفي

يراجع مجلس المدرسة الخطوات التالية للعديد من المشاريع الرأسمالية القادمة

يعين مجلس المدرسة كاتارينا جينوف مديرا لمدرسة مونتيسوري الجديدة 

في اجتماع مجلس إدارة المدرسة الذي عقد الليلة الماضية ، قدم المشرف الدكتور بات مورفي معلومات عن المشاريع الرأسمالية الجارية لاستيعاب تزايد تسجيل الطلاب. تم تقديم جائزة التصميم النهائي والبناء لمدرسة الأسطول الابتدائية لينظر فيها مجلس المدرسة. ستوفر المدرسة الجديدة 752 مقعدًا ابتدائيًا إضافيًا بتكلفة المشروع المقترحة 59 مليون دولار. قدم الموظفون أيضًا عنصرًا معلوماتيًا إضافيًا يطلب الموافقة على تخفيف مؤقت لرافعة الرافعة مع العديد من الجيران المتاخمين لـ Fleet Elementary ، وهو ضروري لأنشطة البناء في موقع المدرسة.

كما قدم طاقم العمل منح التصميم النهائي وعقد البناء للمدرسة الجديدة في موقع ويلسون. سيتم نقل برامج HB Woodlawn و Stratford إلى هذه المدرسة حتى يمكن تجديد المبنى الحالي في مدرسة الإعدادية المجاورة. التكلفة الإجمالية لهذا المشروع المقترح 101 مليون دولار. من المقرر افتتاح المدرستين في سبتمبر 2019.

طلب الموظفون أيضًا تحويل مبلغ 7.25 مليون دولار من صندوق احتياطي رأس المال لتوفير جزء من تمويل المشروع للمدرسة الإعدادية الجديدة في موقع ستراتفورد (250,000،7,000,000 دولار) والمدرسة الجديدة في موقع ويلسون (2017،2026،XNUMX دولار) كما هو موضح في مجلس إدارة المدرسة تم تبني خطة تحسين رأس المال للسنة المالية XNUMX - السنة المالية XNUMX.

من المقرر أن يتخذ مجلس إدارة المدرسة إجراءً بشأن منح العقود المقترحة وتمويل المشروع في اجتماعه القادم في الخميس ، 18 يناير. بورد دوكس.

موعد:
كاثارينا جينوفعين مجلس إدارة المدرسة كاثرينا جينوف مديرة لمدرسة مونتيسوري الجديدة التي ستفتح في موقع مدرسة باتريك هنري في سبتمبر 2019. وتتمتع جينوف بأكثر من 20 عامًا من الخبرة كمدرس ومسؤول. إنها ثنائية اللغة ، وقد أثرت تجربتها كطالبة ابتدائية في تعلم اللغة الإنجليزية بعد انتقال عائلتها إلى الولايات المتحدة من كوبا على قرارها بأن تصبح معلمة. حصل جينوف على درجة الماجستير في تعليم مونتيسوري من جامعة باري ، ودرجة الماجستير في التعليم الابتدائي من جامعة ولاية فلوريدا ، ودرجة الاختصاصي التربوي (Ed.S.) في الإشراف والقيادة من جامعة فيرجينيا. انضم جينوف APS في عام 2012 وشغل منصب مدير مدرسة Drew Model منذ عام 2015 ، حيث قاد بشكل فعال كلاً من برامج Model و Montessori على مدار السنوات الثلاث الماضية.

بنود المراقبة:
تحديث خطة عمل المشرف 2017-18 - قدم الدكتور مورفي تقريرًا مرحليًا عن خطة العمل لدعم عمل المجلس هذا العام.

  • الاستخدام المقبول: يعمل الموظفون مع اللجنة الاستشارية للتكنولوجيا لتطوير سياستين منفصلتين. سيتم تقديم أول سياسة تقنية حول التصفية والإرشادات الفيدرالية إلى مجلس الإدارة في وقت لاحق من هذا الشهر. سيتم تقديم السياسة الثانية ، التي تتناول أمان الإنترنت والمواطنة الرقمية والحقوق والمسؤوليات والملكية المشتركة ، للنقاش المجتمعي في فبراير ومن المقرر عرضها على مجلس إدارة المدرسة في مارس.
  • معايير سياسة تسمية المدرسة / المنشأة: ستبدأ المناقشات الأولية من قبل لجنة الموظفين لمراجعة تقرير مدخلات المجتمع هذا الشهر. سيتم تطوير مسودة معايير تسمية المدرسة بحلول شهر مارس لينظر فيها مجلس المدرسة في أبريل.
  • حدود المدرسة المتوسطة: يوم الاثنين 8 يناير ، أ APS School Talk سيتم إرسال رسالة إلى عائلات طلاب الصف الخامس لإعلامهم بفرص التحويل المتاحة في الحي للعام الدراسي 5-2018. تم تمديد الموعد النهائي لتقديم طلب الانتقال إلى المدرسة الإعدادية إلى الجمعة 19 يناير. يجب على العائلات ملاحظة أن الموعد النهائي لتقديم الطلبات لجميع خيارات المدارس الثانوية أو التحويلات إلى المدرسة الثانوية لم يتغير وسيظل يوم الجمعة ، 26 يناير. مزيد من المعلومات متاح تتضمن البطولات التنافسية الألعاب الإلكترونية التالية : DOTA XNUMX و RAINBOW XNUMX و CS: GO ، LEaGUE OF LEGENDS ، Overwatch ، FORTNITE ، LEGENDS APEX ، Call of DUTY XNUMX ، MORTAL KOMBAT XNUMX ، TEKKEN XNUMX ، SUPERMASH BROS ULTIMATE و FIFAXNUMX.
  • حدود المدرسة الابتدائية: سيعقد مجلس المدرسة جلسة عمل يوم الثلاثاء ، 23 يناير ، لمناقشة النهج وعملية المجتمع لتعديل جميع حدود المدارس الابتدائية.
  • خطة استراتيجية: تلتمس اللجنة التوجيهية مدخلات المجتمع حول المهمة والرؤية والقيم الأساسية التي يتم النظر فيها للخطة.
  • مشاريع أخرى: سيقدم المشرف ميزانية مقترحة للسنة المالية 2019 في 22 فبراير. سيتبنى مجلس المدرسة إطار عمل لخطة تحسين رأس المال القادمة يوم الخميس 18 يناير ، وستبدأ مناقشة المجتمع حول خطة تحسين رأس المال التالية في الربيع. تجتمع مجموعة عمل مركز التوظيف في وقت لاحق من هذا الشهر لبدء مناقشة التوسع المستقبلي في الموقع. تواصل لجنة التخطيط على مستوى مبنى ريد عملها في التخطيط للاستخدام المستقبلي للمنشأة.

 الجمهور مدعو لمعرفة المزيد حول أي من مشاريع خطة العمل لهذا العام ، أو طرح الأسئلة أو تقديم التعليقات على أي من المبادرات من خلال زيارة "Engage with APS"من موقع الويب في شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/engage.

تحديث العلاقات المدرسية والمجتمعية - قدم الموظفون لمحة عامة عن مسؤوليات قسم العلاقات المدرسية والمجتمعية ، وتبادلوا التعليقات الواردة من تقييم البرنامج الأخير. يقدم القسم دعمًا قويًا مع كمية كبيرة من الاتصالات على منصات متعددة توسعت بشكل ملحوظ خلال العقد الماضي. تتضمن توصيات التحسين مشاركة موسعة مع جماهير متنوعة ، وتعزيز العلامات التجارية بالخطة الاستراتيجية الجديدة ، وزيادة الفرص لتعليقات أصحاب المصلحة ، ومشاركة أكثر استباقية في قرارات السياسات الرئيسية. قدم الموظفون الخطط والخطوات التالية لتنفيذ التوصيات.

تحديث الدراسات الاجتماعية - قدم الموظفون التحديث السنوي لبرنامج الدراسات الاجتماعية ، بما في ذلك الهدف من تعليم الدراسات الاجتماعية ، والمواءمة مع معايير الدولة ، وملخص لمعدلات اجتياز SOL ، وتسجيل الطلاب الثانوي في دورات AP. تتضمن توصيات القسم الخاصة بالتحسينات المستقبلية تنفيذ استراتيجيات التمايز الفعالة وزيادة الدقة الأكاديمية ودعم المعلمين في استخدام التكنولوجيا التفاعلية.

لمزيد من المعلومات حول عناصر المراقبة هذه ، انتقل إلى بورد دوكس.

الاعترافات:
قبل الاجتماع ، استضاف مجلس المدرسة حفل استقبال للترحيب بعضو مجلس إدارة المدرسة الجديد مونيك أوجرادي ، التي بدأت فترتها الدراسية التي تبلغ أربع سنوات في 1 يناير 2018. بدأ الاجتماع بعرض طلابي تضمن ملاحظات من ممثلي الطلاب كل برنامج خيار في المدرسة الثانوية ، بما في ذلك HB Woodlawn و Arlington Tech و AP Capsلهجة (في ويكفيلد) والبكالوريا الدولية (في مدرسة واشنطن لي الثانوية).

الاجتماع القادم لمجلس المدرسة: 
سيعقد اجتماع مجلس المدرسة التالي يوم الخميس 18 يناير. وسيبدأ قبل 30 دقيقة من المعتاد ، في الساعة 6 مساءً ، حتى يتمكن مجلس المدرسة من التعرف على الطلاب الفائزين في مسابقة الدكتور مارتن لوثر كينغ الابن للفنون الأدبية والبصرية. سيتم نشر جدول الأعمال قبل أسبوع واحد من موعد الاجتماع بورد دوكس. 

للمزيد من المعلومات
يجب على المواطنين الذين يرغبون في التعليق على أي من البنود التي تمت مناقشتها في اجتماع مجلس المدرسة إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى المجلس على لوحة المدرسة@apsva.us أو اتصل على 703-228-6015. يمكن للمواطنين الاتصال بالرقم 703-228-2400 يوم الاثنين بعد اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة للاستماع إلى ملخص الاجتماع. يتم أيضًا بث اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة مباشرة على Comcast Cable Channel 70 و Verizon FiOS Channel 41 ؛ بث مباشر على APS ويعاد بثه يوم الجمعة الساعة 9 مساءً ويوم الاثنين الساعة 7:30 مساءً بعد الاجتماع مباشرة. سيتم نشر جميع المواد ومحاضر الاجتماع على موقع الويب على شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/schoolboard بناء على موافقة مجلس المدرسة في اجتماع لاحق.

APS News Release

School Board Reviews Next Steps for Several Upcoming Capital Projects

School Board Appoints Catharina Genove as Principal of New Montessori School 

At last night’s School Board meeting, Superintendent Dr. Pat Murphy presented information on capital projects that are underway to accommodate growing student enrollment. The final design and construction contract award for Fleet Elementary School was presented for School Board consideration. The new school will provide 752 additional elementary seats at a proposed project cost of $59 million. Staff also presented an additional information item requesting approval of a temporary crane swing easement with several neighbors adjacent to Fleet Elementary, which is necessary for construction activities at the school site.

The final design and construction contract award for the new school at the Wilson site was also presented by staff. The H-B Woodlawn and Stratford programs will be relocated to this school so their current building can be renovated into a neighborhood middle school. The total cost of this proposed project is $101 million. Both schools are scheduled to open in September 2019.

Staff also requested the transfer of $7.25 million from the capital reserve fund to provide a portion of the project funding for the new middle school at the Stratford site ($250,000) and the new school at the Wilson site ($7,000,000) as outlined in the School Board’s Adopted FY 2017 – FY 2026 Capital Improvement Plan.

The School Board is scheduled to take action on the proposed contract awards and project funding at its next meeting on Thu, Jan. 18. Detailed information is available on BoardDocs.

APPOINTMENT:
Catharina GenoveThe School Board appointed Catharina Genove as the Principal of the new Montessori School that will open at the Patrick Henry school location in September 2019. Genove brings more than 20 years of experience as a teacher and administrator. She is bilingual, and her experience as an elementary student learning English after her family moved to the U.S. from Cuba influenced her decision to become an educator. Genove received a Master’s Degree in Montessori Education from Barry University, a Master’s Degree in Elementary Education from Florida State University, and an Educational Specialist (Ed.S.) degree in Supervision and Leadership from the University of Virginia. Genove joined APS in 2012 and has served as a Principal at Drew Model School since 2015, effectively leading both the Model and Montessori programs for the last three years.

MONITORING ITEMS:
Superintendent’s 2017-18 Action Plan Update – Dr. Murphy provided a progress report on the action plan to support the Board’s work this year.

  • Acceptable Use: Staff is working with the Advisory Committee on Technology to develop two separate policies. The first technology policy on filtering and federal guidelines will be presented to the Board later this month. The second policy, which addresses internet safety, digital citizenship, rights & responsibilities, and shared ownership, will be presented for community discussion in February and is scheduled for School Board information in March.
  • School/Facility Naming Policy Criteria: Initial discussions by the Staff Committee to review the community input report will begin this month. Draft criteria for school naming will be developed by March for School Board consideration in April.
  • Middle School Boundaries: On Mon, Jan. 8, an APS School Talk message will be sent to families of 5th grade students to let them know about available neighborhood transfer opportunities for the 2018-19 school year. The deadline to apply for a Middle School Transfer has been extended to Fri, Jan. 26. Families should note that the deadline for applications for all secondary school options or for high school transfers has not changed and remains Fri, Jan. 19. More information is available online.
  • Elementary School Boundaries: The School Board will hold a work session on Tue, Jan. 23, to discuss the approach and community process for adjusting all elementary school boundaries.
  • Strategic Plan: The Steering Committee is soliciting community input on the mission, vision and core values being considered for the plan.
  • Other Projects: The Superintendent will present his proposed FY 2019 Budget on Feb. 22. The School Board will adopt a framework for the next Capital Improvement Plan on Thu, Jan. 18, and community discussion on the next Capital Improvement Plan will begin in the spring. The Career Center Working Group will convene later this month to begin discussing future expansion at the site. The Reed Building Level Planning Committee continues its work to plan for future use of the facility.

 The public is invited to learn more about any of this year’s action plan projects, ask questions or submit comments on any of the initiatives by visiting the “Engage with APS” section of the website at www.apsva.us/engage.

School and Community Relations Update – Staff presented an overview of the responsibilities of the School and Community Relations Department, and shared feedback received from its recent program evaluation. The department provides strong support with a high volume of communications on multiple platforms that have expanded significantly over the past decade. Recommendations for improvement include expanded engagement with diverse audiences, enhanced branding with the new strategic plan, increased opportunities for stakeholder feedback, and more proactive engagement on major policy decisions. Staff provided plans and next steps for implementation of the recommendations.

Social Studies Update Staff presented the annual update on the Social Studies Program, including the goal of social studies instruction, alignment with state standards, a summary of SOL pass rates, and secondary student enrollment in AP courses. The department’s recommendations for future improvements include implementation of effective differentiation strategies, increased academic rigor, and support for teachers in the use of interactive technology.

For more information on these monitoring items, go to BoardDocs.

RECOGNITIONS:
Prior to the meeting, the School Board hosted a reception to welcome new School Board member Monique O’Grady, who began her four-year term on Jan. 1, 2018. The meeting started with a student showcase that featured remarks from student representatives of each high school option program, including H-B Woodlawn, Arlington Tech, AP Capstone (at Wakefield) and International Baccalaureate (at Washington-Lee High School).

Next School Board Meeting: 
The next School Board meeting will be held on Thu, Jan. 18. It will begin 30 minutes earlier than usual, at 6 p.m., so the School Board can recognize student winners of the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Literary and Visual Arts contest. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs. 

For More Information
Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.