APS 新聞發布

校務委員會審查幾個即將進行的基本建設計劃的下一步

校務委員會任命Catharina Genove為新蒙特梭利學校的校長 

在昨晚的學校董事會會議上,學區長帕特·墨菲(Pat Murphy)博士介紹了正在進行的基本項目的信息,以適應不斷增長的學生人數。 艦隊小學的最終設計和施工合同授予了學校委員會考慮。 新學校將提供752個基本座位,擬議的項目成本為59萬美元。 工作人員還提出了一個補充信息,要求批准與Fleet Elementary相鄰的幾個鄰居進行臨時吊車迴轉,這對於在學校現場進行建築活動是必不可少的。

工作人員還頒發了威爾遜基地新學校的最終設計和施工合同獎。 HB Woodlawn和Stratford計劃將搬遷到這所學校,以便他們目前的建築物可以翻新為附近的中學。 該擬議項目的總成本為101億美元。 兩所學校均計劃於2019年XNUMX月開放。

工作人員還要求從資本儲備金中轉出7.25萬美元,以提供一部分項目資金,用於資助斯特拉特福德校區的新中學(250,000萬美元)和威爾遜校區的新學校(7,000,000萬美元),如學校董事會的概述所示。通過了2017財年-2026財年資本改善計劃。

學校董事會計劃在18月XNUMX日星期四的下一次會議上對擬議的合同授予和項目資金采取行動。 董事會文件.

約定:
卡塔琳娜·吉諾夫(Catharina Genove)Genove擁有巴里大學的蒙特梭利教育碩士學位,佛羅里達州立大學的基礎教育碩士學位以及弗吉尼亞大學的監督與領導教育專家(Ed.S.)學位。 Genove加入 APS 自2012年起,自2015年起擔任Drew Model School的校長,在過去三年中有效地領導了Model和Montessori課程。

監控項目:
監督的2017-18行動計劃更新 –墨菲博士提供了有關行動計劃的進度報告,以支持理事會今年的工作。

  • 可接受的用途: 工作人員正在與技術諮詢委員會合作制定兩項單獨的政策。 有關過濾的第一項技術政策和聯邦準則將在本月晚些時候提交給委員會。 第二項政策涉及互聯網安全,數字公民,權利和責任以及共享所有權,將於XNUMX月提交給社區討論,併計劃於XNUMX月向學校董事會提供信息。
  • 學校/設施命名政策標準: 職員委員會將在本月開始進行初步討論,以審查社區意見報告。 學校命名標準草案將於XNUMX月制定,供XNUMX月學校董事會審議。
  • 中學邊界: 8月XNUMX日星期一 APS School Talk message will be sent to families of 5th grade students to let them know about available neighborhood transfer opportunities for the 2018-19 school year.消息將發送給26年級學生的家庭,讓他們了解19-XNUMX學年可用的鄰里轉移機會。 The deadline to apply for a Middle School Transfer has been extended to Fri, Jan. XNUMX. Families should note that the deadline for applications for all secondary school options or for high school transfers has not changed and remains Fri, Jan. XNUMX. More information is available申請中學轉學的截止日期已延至XNUMX月XNUMX日星期五。家庭應注意,所有中學選項或中學轉學申請的截止日期均未改變,並且仍為XNUMX月XNUMX日星期五。更多信息可用 (網上).
  • 小學邊界: 學校董事會將於23月XNUMX日星期二舉行工作會議,討論調整所有小學邊界的方法和社區過程。
  • 戰略計劃: 指導委員會正在就計劃中考慮的使命,願景和核心價值徵求社區意見。
  • 其他的項目: 院長將於2019月22日提交他的18財年預算草案。學校董事會將在XNUMX月XNUMX日星期四通過下一個資本改進計劃的框架,而社區對下一個資本改進計劃的討論將從春季開始。 職業中心工作組將在本月晚些時候開會,開始討論該站點的未來擴展。 里德建築水平規劃委員會將繼續開展工作,以計劃將來使用該設施。

 歡迎公眾通過訪問“以下網址”了解有關本年度任何行動計劃項目的更多信息,提出問題或對任何倡議發表評論。Engage with APS網站上的“”部分 萬維網。aps價值/參與.

學校和社區關係更新– 工作人員對學校和社區關係部的職責進行了概述,並分享了從其最近的計劃評估中獲得的反饋。 該部門在過去十年中顯著擴展的多個平台上的大量通信中提供了有力的支持。 改進建議包括擴大與不同受眾的互動,通過新的戰略計劃提高品牌知名度,增加利益相關者反饋的機會,以及在重大政策決策上更積極地參與。 工作人員提供了實施建議的計劃和後續步驟。

社會研究更新 - 工作人員介紹了社會研究計劃的年度更新,包括社會研究指導的目標,與州標準的一致性,SOL通過率的摘要以及AP課程的中學生入學率。 該係對未來改進的建議包括實施有效的差異化策略,提高學術上的嚴謹性以及支持教師使用交互式技術。

有關這些監視項目的更多信息,請轉到 董事會文件.

認可:
在會議之前,校務委員會舉行了歡迎酒會,歡迎新任校務委員會成員莫妮克·奧格雷迪(Monique O'Grady)於1年2018月XNUMX日開始其四年任期。每個高中選修課程,包括HB Woodlawn,Arlington Tech,AP Caps語調(在韋克菲爾德(Wakefield))和國際文憑(華盛頓大學李高中)。

下次校務委員會會議: 
下次校務委員會會議將於18月30日星期四舉行。該會議將比平時提前6分鐘,即下午XNUMX點開始,以便校務委員會可以表彰該校的學生優勝者。 小馬丁·路德·金博士,文學與視覺藝術比賽。 議程將在會議前一周公佈。 董事會文件. 

了解更多信息
想要對學校董事會會議上討論的任何項目發表評論的公民,請通過以下方式向董事會發送電子郵件: 學校董事會@aps價值 or call 703-228-6015.或致電703-228-2400。 Citizens may call 70-41-XNUMX on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.在校務委員會會議結束後的周一,公民可以撥打XNUMX-XNUMX-XNUMX收聽會議摘要。 School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有線頻道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS頻道XNUMX上還直播學校董事會會議; live-streamed on the現場直播 APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 pm and Mondays at 7:30 pm immediately following the meeting.網站,並在會議結束後的周五晚上XNUMX點和周一晚上XNUMX:XNUMX重新廣播。 All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at會議的所有材料和會議記錄將發佈到以下網站: 萬維網。apsva.us/學校董事會 經校務委員會在隨後的會議上批准。

APS News Release

School Board Reviews Next Steps for Several Upcoming Capital Projects

School Board Appoints Catharina Genove as Principal of New Montessori School 

At last night’s School Board meeting, Superintendent Dr. Pat Murphy presented information on capital projects that are underway to accommodate growing student enrollment. The final design and construction contract award for Fleet Elementary School was presented for School Board consideration. The new school will provide 752 additional elementary seats at a proposed project cost of $59 million. Staff also presented an additional information item requesting approval of a temporary crane swing easement with several neighbors adjacent to Fleet Elementary, which is necessary for construction activities at the school site.

The final design and construction contract award for the new school at the Wilson site was also presented by staff. The H-B Woodlawn and Stratford programs will be relocated to this school so their current building can be renovated into a neighborhood middle school. The total cost of this proposed project is $101 million. Both schools are scheduled to open in September 2019.

Staff also requested the transfer of $7.25 million from the capital reserve fund to provide a portion of the project funding for the new middle school at the Stratford site ($250,000) and the new school at the Wilson site ($7,000,000) as outlined in the School Board’s Adopted FY 2017 – FY 2026 Capital Improvement Plan.

The School Board is scheduled to take action on the proposed contract awards and project funding at its next meeting on Thu, Jan. 18. Detailed information is available on BoardDocs.

APPOINTMENT:
Catharina GenoveThe School Board appointed Catharina Genove as the Principal of the new Montessori School that will open at the Patrick Henry school location in September 2019. Genove brings more than 20 years of experience as a teacher and administrator. She is bilingual, and her experience as an elementary student learning English after her family moved to the U.S. from Cuba influenced her decision to become an educator. Genove received a Master’s Degree in Montessori Education from Barry University, a Master’s Degree in Elementary Education from Florida State University, and an Educational Specialist (Ed.S.) degree in Supervision and Leadership from the University of Virginia. Genove joined APS in 2012 and has served as a Principal at Drew Model School since 2015, effectively leading both the Model and Montessori programs for the last three years.

MONITORING ITEMS:
Superintendent’s 2017-18 Action Plan Update – Dr. Murphy provided a progress report on the action plan to support the Board’s work this year.

  • Acceptable Use: Staff is working with the Advisory Committee on Technology to develop two separate policies. The first technology policy on filtering and federal guidelines will be presented to the Board later this month. The second policy, which addresses internet safety, digital citizenship, rights & responsibilities, and shared ownership, will be presented for community discussion in February and is scheduled for School Board information in March.
  • School/Facility Naming Policy Criteria: Initial discussions by the Staff Committee to review the community input report will begin this month. Draft criteria for school naming will be developed by March for School Board consideration in April.
  • Middle School Boundaries: On Mon, Jan. 8, an APS School Talk message will be sent to families of 5th grade students to let them know about available neighborhood transfer opportunities for the 2018-19 school year. The deadline to apply for a Middle School Transfer has been extended to Fri, Jan. 26. Families should note that the deadline for applications for all secondary school options or for high school transfers has not changed and remains Fri, Jan. 19. More information is available online.
  • Elementary School Boundaries: The School Board will hold a work session on Tue, Jan. 23, to discuss the approach and community process for adjusting all elementary school boundaries.
  • Strategic Plan: The Steering Committee is soliciting community input on the mission, vision and core values being considered for the plan.
  • Other Projects: The Superintendent will present his proposed FY 2019 Budget on Feb. 22. The School Board will adopt a framework for the next Capital Improvement Plan on Thu, Jan. 18, and community discussion on the next Capital Improvement Plan will begin in the spring. The Career Center Working Group will convene later this month to begin discussing future expansion at the site. The Reed Building Level Planning Committee continues its work to plan for future use of the facility.

 The public is invited to learn more about any of this year’s action plan projects, ask questions or submit comments on any of the initiatives by visiting the “Engage with APS” section of the website at www.apsva.us/engage.

School and Community Relations Update – Staff presented an overview of the responsibilities of the School and Community Relations Department, and shared feedback received from its recent program evaluation. The department provides strong support with a high volume of communications on multiple platforms that have expanded significantly over the past decade. Recommendations for improvement include expanded engagement with diverse audiences, enhanced branding with the new strategic plan, increased opportunities for stakeholder feedback, and more proactive engagement on major policy decisions. Staff provided plans and next steps for implementation of the recommendations.

Social Studies Update Staff presented the annual update on the Social Studies Program, including the goal of social studies instruction, alignment with state standards, a summary of SOL pass rates, and secondary student enrollment in AP courses. The department’s recommendations for future improvements include implementation of effective differentiation strategies, increased academic rigor, and support for teachers in the use of interactive technology.

For more information on these monitoring items, go to BoardDocs.

RECOGNITIONS:
Prior to the meeting, the School Board hosted a reception to welcome new School Board member Monique O’Grady, who began her four-year term on Jan. 1, 2018. The meeting started with a student showcase that featured remarks from student representatives of each high school option program, including H-B Woodlawn, Arlington Tech, AP Capstone (at Wakefield) and International Baccalaureate (at Washington-Lee High School).

Next School Board Meeting: 
The next School Board meeting will be held on Thu, Jan. 18. It will begin 30 minutes earlier than usual, at 6 p.m., so the School Board can recognize student winners of the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Literary and Visual Arts contest. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs. 

For More Information
Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.