APS 新聞發布

校董會任命莫妮克·奧格雷迪(Monique O'Grady)為主席,芭芭拉·坎寧寧(Barbara Kanninen)為副主席

新學校董事會主席和副主席
(從左到右)學校董事會主席莫妮克·奧格雷迪(Monique O'Grady),院長弗朗西斯科·杜蘭(FranciscoDurán)博士和副主席芭芭拉·坎尼寧(Barbara Kanninen)

在1月2020日的組織會議上,阿靈頓校務委員會選擇莫妮克·奧格雷迪為21-XNUMX學年的校務委員會主席。 校務委員會選擇了Barbara Kanninen博士為副主席。

“在我們準備今年秋天重新入學時,交流與合作奠定了重要基礎。 我們在一起變得更加強大,這兩項行動將幫助我們度過這個充滿挑戰的時期,為我們的學生,家庭和教職員工提供服務。”

關於協作,O'Grady收到以下消息。 “我們將需要繼續與郡縣合作,以在可能變得更糟的新財政限制之前取得最大的成功。 我們將需要依靠我們的社區領導者和合作夥伴來支持需要幫助的家庭。 當我們的老師和教職員工以不同的方式與學生合作時,我們必須感到榮幸,我們必須準備好支持學生的社會情感和學習需求,因為他們將處於變革的前沿。”

“由於學校董事會工作人員和我的每位同事(以前都是董事會主席)的支持,我準備進入這種情況。 我從您那裡學到了很多東西,並將繼續珍惜您的專業知識和指導。 我特別感謝塔倫托女士(Talento),她在過去的一年中一直指導我擔任她的副主席。 她的智慧,仁慈,機智和同情心給了我靈感。”

最後,她感謝執行領導團隊和前來的人們。 “謝謝您,行政領導團隊,當您加班工作以製定和支持為我們的學生服務的重新開放計劃時,謝謝您。 感謝所有在我之前擔任過董事會成員的有色婦女和有色人種,包括伊芙琳·西法克斯(Evelyn Syphax),我們的辦公室因此而被任命。 感謝我的家人一直以來對我為社區服務的支持。 感謝所有幫助我獲得機會成為阿靈頓第一位黑人當選婦女的人,以便我能在這一重要角色中為我們的學生和家庭服務。”

莫妮克·奧格雷迪
莫妮克·奧格雷迪

關於主席莫妮克·奧格雷迪
奧格雷迪(O'Grady)自2018年以來一直是學校董事會成員,並在阿靈頓(Arlington)居住了近30年, APS parent for 23 years.父母XNUMX年了。 She has been a longtime community advocate, and communications professional.Before being elected to the School Board, O'Grady worked inside schools and across the她是社區的長期倡導者和傳播專業人士。在被選為校董會之前,O'Grady在學校內部和整個社區工作。 APS system to bring positive change for students, teachers, and the greater community.系統為學生,教師和更大的社區帶來積極的變化。 She served on the South Arlington Boundary Committee, Early Childhood Advisory Committee,她曾在南阿靈頓邊界委員會,兒童早期諮詢委員會, APS O'Grady還是2016年“學校債券運動”的聯合主席,並且是阿靈頓藝術委員會的成員。

關於副主席Barbara Kanninen博士
Kanninen於1年2015月2017日加入阿靈頓學校董事會,這是她第二次擔任副主席。 她目前是教學諮詢委員會,聯合設施諮詢委員會和立法程序的聯絡人。 Kanninen曾擔任學校董事會主席和副主席,以及審計委員會主席,並與預算諮詢委員會,南阿靈頓工作組,整個兒童工作組,阿靈頓兒童,青年和家庭夥伴關係聯絡,坎妮寧(Kanninen)對教育工作者和學生的一貫承諾獲得了許多獎項,其中包括阿靈頓教育協會的“教育之友”獎和AGLA的平等獎。 XNUMX年,《華盛頓雜誌》將芭芭拉評為華盛頓最有影響力的女性之一。

下次校務委員會會議:
校務委員會將於2110月16日星期四晚上7點在下星期四(華盛頓大道XNUMX號)舉行下一次例會。 董事會文件.

了解更多信息:
想要對學校董事會會議上討論的任何項目發表評論的公民,請通過以下方式向董事會發送電子郵件: 學校董事會@aps價值 or call 703-228-6015.或致電703-228-2400。 Citizens may call 70-41-XNUMX on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.在校務委員會會議結束後的周一,公民可以撥打XNUMX-XNUMX-XNUMX收聽會議摘要。 School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有線頻道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS頻道XNUMX上還直播學校董事會會議; live-streamed on the現場直播 APS 網站,並在會議結束後的周五晚上9點和周一晚上7:30重新廣播。 所有材料和會議記錄將發佈到網站www.www.cn.com。apsva.us/schoolboard在下一次會議上獲得教務委員會的批准。

APS News Release

School Board Selects Monique O’Grady as Chair, Barbara Kanninen as Vice Chair

New School Board Chair and Vice Chair
(From L to R) School Board Chair Monique O’Grady, Superintendent Dr. Francisco Durán and Vice Chair Dr. Barbara Kanninen

At its July 1 organizational meeting, the Arlington School Board selected Monique O’Grady as School Board Chair for the 2020-21 school year. The School Board selected Dr. Barbara Kanninen as Vice Chair.

“Communication and collaboration are setting an important foundation as we prepare to reenter school this fall. We are stronger together, and these two actions will help us serve our students, families, and staff through these challenging times,” said new School Board Chair Monique O’Grady.

On collaboration, O’Grady had the following message. “We will need to continue to collaborate with the County to maximize success within new fiscal constraints that may get worse before they get better. We will need to lean on our community leaders and partners to support our families in need. We must honor our teachers and staff as they work with students in different ways, and we must be ready to support our students social emotional and learning needs, because they will be on the frontlines of this change.”

“I enter this situation ready to lead because of the support of the school board staff and each of my colleagues, who have all been board chairs before. I have learned a lot from you and will continue to treasure your expertise and guidance. I have special gratitude for Ms. Talento who mentored me through the past year as her vice chair. Her intelligence, kindness, wit and compassion are an inspiration to me.”

She concluded her remarks by thanking the Executive Leadership Team and those who came before her. “Thank you, Executive Leadership Team, as you work overtime to craft and support a reopening plan that serves our students. Thank you to all the women and people of color who have served on this board before me, including Evelyn Syphax, for whom our offices are named. Thank you to my family for their constant support in my effort to serve our community. And thank you to all those who helped me earn the opportunity to be the first black elected woman in Arlington so I can serve our students and families in this important role.”

Monique O'Grady
Monique O’Grady

About Chair Monique O’Grady
O’Grady has been a member of the School Board since 2018 and has been an Arlington resident for nearly 30 years, as well as an APS parent for 23 years. She has been a longtime community advocate, and communications professional.Before being elected to the School Board, O’Grady worked inside schools and across the APS system to bring positive change for students, teachers, and the greater community. She served on the South Arlington Boundary Committee, Early Childhood Advisory Committee, APS South Arlington Working Group, New Elementary School at Thomas Jefferson Building Level Planning Committee, Strategic Planning Committee, and Multi-Site Committee for School Facilities. O’Grady also co-chaired the 2016 School Bond Campaign and was a member of the Arlington Arts Commission.

About Vice Chair Dr. Barbara Kanninen
Kanninen joined the Arlington School Board on January 1, 2015 and this is her second time serving as Vice Chair. She currently serves as Liaison to the Advisory Council on Instruction, Joint Facilities Advisory Commission, and the Legislative Process. Kanninen has served as Chair and Vice Chair of the School Board, as well as Chair of the Audit Committee, and Liaison to the Budget Advisory Committee, South Arlington Working Group, Whole Child Working Group, Arlington Partnership for Children, Youth, and Families, and Student Advisory Board.Kanninen has been honored with a number of awards for her consistent commitment to educators and students, including the Arlington Education Association’s “Friend of Education” award and AGLA’s Equality award. In 2017, Washingtonian magazine named Barbara one of the Most Powerful Women in Washington.

Next School Board Meeting:
The School Board will hold its next Regular Meeting (2110 Washington Blvd.) on Thu, July 16 at 7 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.

For More Information:
Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.