APS Выпуск Новостей

Школьный совет выбирает Монику О'Грэйди в качестве председателя, Барбару Каннинен в качестве заместителя председателя

Председатель и заместитель председателя нового школьного совета
(Слева направо) Председатель школьного совета Моник О'Грейди, суперинтендант доктор Франсиско Дуран и заместитель председателя доктор Барбара Каннинен

На организационном собрании 1 июля Арлингтонский школьный совет избрал Монику О'Грэйди председателем школьного совета на 2020-21 учебный год. Школьный совет избрал доктора Барбару Каннинен в качестве заместителя председателя.

«Общение и сотрудничество закладывают важную основу, так как мы готовимся вернуться в школу этой осенью. Мы сильнее вместе, и эти два действия помогут нам служить нашим студентам, семьям и сотрудникам в эти трудные времена », - сказала новый председатель школьного совета Моник О'Грэйди.

О сотрудничестве О'Грэйди было следующее сообщение. «Нам нужно будет продолжать сотрудничать с округом, чтобы максимизировать успех в условиях новых финансовых ограничений, которые могут ухудшиться, прежде чем они станут лучше. Нам нужно будет опираться на лидеров и партнеров нашего сообщества, чтобы поддержать нуждающиеся семьи. Мы должны уважать наших учителей и сотрудников, поскольку они работают со студентами по-разному, и мы должны быть готовы поддержать наши эмоциональные и учебные потребности наших студентов, потому что они будут на переднем крае этих изменений ».

«Я вхожу в эту ситуацию, готовую руководить благодаря поддержке со стороны персонала школьного совета и каждого из моих коллег, которые раньше были председателями совета. Я многому научился у вас и буду продолжать дорожить вашим опытом и руководством. Я особенно признателен г-же Таленто, которая наставляла меня в течение всего прошлого года в качестве ее заместителя председателя. Ее ум, доброта, остроумие и сострадание вдохновляют меня ».

В заключение она поблагодарила команду руководителей и тех, кто был до нее. «Спасибо, команда руководителей, за то, что вы работаете сверхурочно, чтобы разработать и поддержать план повторного открытия, который служит нашим студентам. Спасибо всем женщинам и цветным людям, которые работали на этом форуме до меня, включая Эвелин Сифакс, для которой названы наши офисы. Спасибо моей семье за ​​их постоянную поддержку в моих усилиях служить нашему сообществу. И спасибо всем, кто помог мне заработать возможность стать первой чернокожей женщиной в Арлингтоне, чтобы я мог служить нашим студентам и семьям в этой важной роли ».

Моник О'Грэйди
Моник О'Грейди

О стуле Моник О'Грэйди
О'Грэйди является членом школьного совета с 2018 года и проживает в Арлингтоне почти 30 лет, а также APS родитель 23 года. Она давний активный защитник общества и специалист по коммуникациям. До того, как быть избранным в школьный совет, О'Грэйди работала в школах и по всему миру. APS система, чтобы принести позитивные изменения для студентов, учителей и общества в целом. Она работала в пограничном комитете Южного Арлингтона, Консультативном комитете по вопросам детей младшего возраста, APS Рабочая группа Южного Арлингтона, Новая начальная школа в Томасе Джефферсон, Комитет по планированию уровня здания, Комитет по стратегическому планированию и Комитет по многопрофильным школам. О'Грэйди также был сопредседателем кампании School Bond в 2016 году и был членом Арлингтонской комиссии по искусству.

О заместителе председателя д-р Барбара Каннинен
Каннинен присоединилась к школьному совету Арлингтона 1 января 2015 года, и она уже второй раз занимает пост заместителя председателя. В настоящее время она является представителем Консультативного совета по обучению, Совместной консультативной комиссии по объектам и законодательного процесса. Каннинен был председателем и заместителем председателя школьного совета, а также председателем Комитета по аудиту и представителем Консультативного комитета по бюджету, Рабочей группы Южного Арлингтона, Рабочей группы «Целый ребенок», Арлингтонского партнерства для детей, молодежи и семей, и Студенческий консультативный совет. Каннинен была удостоена ряда наград за свою неизменную приверженность педагогам и студентам, в том числе награду Арлингтонской ассоциации образования «Друг образования» и награду AGLA за равенство. В 2017 году вашингтонский журнал назвал Барбару одной из самых влиятельных женщин Вашингтона.

Следующее заседание школьного совета:
Школьный совет проведет свое очередное очередное собрание (2110 Вашингтон бул.) В четверг, 16 июля, в 7:XNUMX. Повестка дня будет размещена за неделю до собрания. BoardDocs.

Чтобы получить больше информации:
Граждане, желающие прокомментировать любые вопросы, обсуждаемые на заседании школьного совета, должны отправить в совет по электронной почте школьная доска@apsва.ус или позвоните по телефону 703-228-6015. Граждане могут позвонить по номеру 703-228-2400 в понедельник после собраний школьного совета, чтобы прослушать итоги собрания. Заседания школьного совета также транслируются в прямом эфире на канале Comcast Cable 70 и Verizon FiOS Channel 41; прямая трансляция на APS веб-сайт и ретранслируется по пятницам в 9:7 и по понедельникам в 30:XNUMX сразу после собрания. Все материалы и протоколы будут размещены на сайте www.apsva.us/schoolboard после утверждения школьным советом на следующем собрании.

APS News Release

School Board Selects Monique O’Grady as Chair, Barbara Kanninen as Vice Chair

New School Board Chair and Vice Chair
(From L to R) School Board Chair Monique O’Grady, Superintendent Dr. Francisco Durán and Vice Chair Dr. Barbara Kanninen

At its July 1 organizational meeting, the Arlington School Board selected Monique O’Grady as School Board Chair for the 2020-21 school year. The School Board selected Dr. Barbara Kanninen as Vice Chair.

“Communication and collaboration are setting an important foundation as we prepare to reenter school this fall. We are stronger together, and these two actions will help us serve our students, families, and staff through these challenging times,” said new School Board Chair Monique O’Grady.

On collaboration, O’Grady had the following message. “We will need to continue to collaborate with the County to maximize success within new fiscal constraints that may get worse before they get better. We will need to lean on our community leaders and partners to support our families in need. We must honor our teachers and staff as they work with students in different ways, and we must be ready to support our students social emotional and learning needs, because they will be on the frontlines of this change.”

“I enter this situation ready to lead because of the support of the school board staff and each of my colleagues, who have all been board chairs before. I have learned a lot from you and will continue to treasure your expertise and guidance. I have special gratitude for Ms. Talento who mentored me through the past year as her vice chair. Her intelligence, kindness, wit and compassion are an inspiration to me.”

She concluded her remarks by thanking the Executive Leadership Team and those who came before her. “Thank you, Executive Leadership Team, as you work overtime to craft and support a reopening plan that serves our students. Thank you to all the women and people of color who have served on this board before me, including Evelyn Syphax, for whom our offices are named. Thank you to my family for their constant support in my effort to serve our community. And thank you to all those who helped me earn the opportunity to be the first black elected woman in Arlington so I can serve our students and families in this important role.”

Monique O'Grady
Monique O’Grady

About Chair Monique O’Grady
O’Grady has been a member of the School Board since 2018 and has been an Arlington resident for nearly 30 years, as well as an APS parent for 23 years. She has been a longtime community advocate, and communications professional.Before being elected to the School Board, O’Grady worked inside schools and across the APS system to bring positive change for students, teachers, and the greater community. She served on the South Arlington Boundary Committee, Early Childhood Advisory Committee, APS South Arlington Working Group, New Elementary School at Thomas Jefferson Building Level Planning Committee, Strategic Planning Committee, and Multi-Site Committee for School Facilities. O’Grady also co-chaired the 2016 School Bond Campaign and was a member of the Arlington Arts Commission.

About Vice Chair Dr. Barbara Kanninen
Kanninen joined the Arlington School Board on January 1, 2015 and this is her second time serving as Vice Chair. She currently serves as Liaison to the Advisory Council on Instruction, Joint Facilities Advisory Commission, and the Legislative Process. Kanninen has served as Chair and Vice Chair of the School Board, as well as Chair of the Audit Committee, and Liaison to the Budget Advisory Committee, South Arlington Working Group, Whole Child Working Group, Arlington Partnership for Children, Youth, and Families, and Student Advisory Board.Kanninen has been honored with a number of awards for her consistent commitment to educators and students, including the Arlington Education Association’s “Friend of Education” award and AGLA’s Equality award. In 2017, Washingtonian magazine named Barbara one of the Most Powerful Women in Washington.

Next School Board Meeting:
The School Board will hold its next Regular Meeting (2110 Washington Blvd.) on Thu, July 16 at 7 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.

For More Information:
Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.