APS بيان صحفي

يختار مجلس المدرسة مونيك أوجرادي رئيسًا ، وباربرا كانينين نائبة للرئيس

رئيس مجلس إدارة المدرسة ونائبه
(من اليسار إلى اليمين) رئيسة مجلس إدارة المدرسة مونيك أوجرادي والمشرف الدكتور فرانسيسكو دوران ونائبة الرئيس الدكتورة باربرا كانينين

في اجتماعه التنظيمي في 1 يوليو ، اختار مجلس مدرسة أرلينغتون مونيك أوجرادي كرئيسة لمجلس المدرسة للعام الدراسي 2020-21. اختار مجلس إدارة المدرسة الدكتورة باربارا كاننين نائبة للرئيس.

"يضع التواصل والتعاون أساسًا هامًا بينما نستعد لإعادة دخول المدرسة في خريف هذا العام. قالت مونيك أوجرادي ، رئيسة مجلس إدارة المدرسة الجديدة: "نحن أقوى معًا ، وسيساعدنا هذان الإجراءان في خدمة طلابنا وعائلاتنا وموظفينا خلال هذه الأوقات الصعبة".

حول التعاون ، كان لدى O'Grady الرسالة التالية. “سنحتاج إلى مواصلة التعاون مع المقاطعة لتحقيق أقصى قدر من النجاح في ظل قيود مالية جديدة قد تزداد سوءًا قبل أن تتحسن. سنحتاج إلى الاعتماد على قادة مجتمعنا وشركائنا لدعم أسرنا المحتاجة. يجب علينا تكريم معلمينا وموظفينا أثناء عملهم مع الطلاب بطرق مختلفة ، ويجب أن نكون مستعدين لدعم طلابنا العاطفي والاجتماعي واحتياجات التعلم ، لأنهم سيكونون في الخطوط الأمامية لهذا التغيير ".

"أدخل هذا الموقف جاهزًا للقيادة بسبب دعم موظفي مجلس المدرسة وكل زملائي ، الذين كانوا جميعًا رؤساء مجلس إدارة من قبل. لقد تعلمت الكثير منك وسأظل أقدر خبرتك وتوجيهك. أتوجه بامتنان خاص للسيدة تالينتو التي أرشدتني خلال العام الماضي بصفتي نائبة رئيسها. إن ذكائها ولطفها وذكائها وتعاطفها مصدر إلهام لي ".

واختتمت ملاحظاتها بشكر فريق القيادة التنفيذية وأولئك الذين سبقوها. "شكرًا لك ، فريق القيادة التنفيذية ، أثناء عملك الإضافي لصياغة ودعم خطة إعادة افتتاح تخدم طلابنا. شكرا لجميع النساء والأشخاص الملونين الذين خدموا في هذا المنتدى قبلي ، بما في ذلك إيفلين سيفاكس ، الذين تم تسمية مكاتبنا لهم. شكرا لعائلتي لدعمهم المستمر في جهودي لخدمة مجتمعنا. وشكرا لكل أولئك الذين ساعدوني في كسب الفرصة لأكون أول امرأة سوداء منتخبة في أرلينغتون حتى أتمكن من خدمة طلابنا وعائلاتنا في هذا الدور الهام ".

مونيك أوجرادي
مونيك أوجرادي

عن الرئيس مونيك أوجرادي
كان أوجرادي عضوًا في مجلس إدارة المدرسة منذ عام 2018 وكان مقيمًا في أرلينغتون لما يقرب من 30 عامًا ، بالإضافة إلى APS الوالدين لمدة 23 عاما. لقد كانت مدافعة مجتمعية منذ فترة طويلة ومحترفة اتصالات. قبل انتخابها لعضوية مجلس المدرسة ، عملت أوجرادي داخل المدارس وعبر جميع أنحاء العالم. APS نظام لإحداث تغيير إيجابي للطلاب والمعلمين والمجتمع الأكبر. عملت في لجنة حدود ساوث أرلينغتون ، اللجنة الاستشارية للطفولة المبكرة ، APS مجموعة عمل ساوث أرلينغتون ، والمدرسة الابتدائية الجديدة في لجنة تخطيط مستوى المبنى في توماس جيفرسون ، ولجنة التخطيط الاستراتيجي ، واللجنة متعددة المواقع للمرافق المدرسية. شارك O'Grady أيضًا في رئاسة حملة School Bond لعام 2016 وكان عضوًا في لجنة Arlington Arts Commission.

عن نائبة الرئيس الدكتورة Barbara Kanninen
انضمت كانينن إلى مجلس إدارة مدرسة أرلينغتون في 1 يناير 2015 وهذه هي المرة الثانية التي تعمل فيها كنائبة للرئيس. تعمل حاليًا كجهة اتصال مع المجلس الاستشاري للتعليم ، واللجنة الاستشارية المشتركة للمرافق ، والعملية التشريعية. عمل كانينن كرئيس ونائب رئيس مجلس إدارة المدرسة ، وكذلك رئيس لجنة التدقيق ، ومسؤول الاتصال باللجنة الاستشارية للميزانية ، ومجموعة عمل ساوث أرلينغتون ، ومجموعة عمل الأطفال الكاملة ، وشراكة أرلينغتون للأطفال ، والشباب ، والعائلات ، والمجلس الاستشاري الطلابي. تم تكريم كانينن بعدد من الجوائز لالتزامها المستمر تجاه المعلمين والطلاب ، بما في ذلك جائزة "صديق التعليم" من جمعية أرلينغتون التعليمية وجائزة AGLA للمساواة. في عام 2017 ، صنفت مجلة واشنطن باربرا كواحدة من أقوى النساء في واشنطن.

الاجتماع القادم لمجلس المدرسة:
سيعقد مجلس المدرسة اجتماعه العادي التالي (2110 Washington Blvd.) يوم الخميس ، 16 يوليو الساعة 7 مساءً ، وسيتم نشر جدول الأعمال قبل أسبوع واحد من الاجتماع في بورد دوكس.

للمزيد من المعلومات:
يجب على المواطنين الذين يرغبون في التعليق على أي بنود تمت مناقشتها في اجتماع مجلس المدرسة إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى المجلس على لوحة المدرسة@apsva.us أو اتصل على 703-228-6015. يمكن للمواطنين الاتصال بالرقم 703-228-2400 يوم الاثنين بعد اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة للاستماع إلى ملخص الاجتماع. يتم أيضًا بث اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة مباشرة على Comcast Cable Channel 70 و Verizon FiOS Channel 41 ؛ بث مباشر على APS ويعاد بثه يوم الجمعة الساعة 9 مساءً ويوم الاثنين الساعة 7:30 مساءً بعد الاجتماع مباشرة. سيتم نشر جميع المواد والدقائق على موقع الويب على www.apsva.us/schoolboard بناءً على موافقة مجلس المدرسة في اجتماع لاحق.

APS News Release

School Board Selects Monique O’Grady as Chair, Barbara Kanninen as Vice Chair

New School Board Chair and Vice Chair
(From L to R) School Board Chair Monique O’Grady, Superintendent Dr. Francisco Durán and Vice Chair Dr. Barbara Kanninen

At its July 1 organizational meeting, the Arlington School Board selected Monique O’Grady as School Board Chair for the 2020-21 school year. The School Board selected Dr. Barbara Kanninen as Vice Chair.

“Communication and collaboration are setting an important foundation as we prepare to reenter school this fall. We are stronger together, and these two actions will help us serve our students, families, and staff through these challenging times,” said new School Board Chair Monique O’Grady.

On collaboration, O’Grady had the following message. “We will need to continue to collaborate with the County to maximize success within new fiscal constraints that may get worse before they get better. We will need to lean on our community leaders and partners to support our families in need. We must honor our teachers and staff as they work with students in different ways, and we must be ready to support our students social emotional and learning needs, because they will be on the frontlines of this change.”

“I enter this situation ready to lead because of the support of the school board staff and each of my colleagues, who have all been board chairs before. I have learned a lot from you and will continue to treasure your expertise and guidance. I have special gratitude for Ms. Talento who mentored me through the past year as her vice chair. Her intelligence, kindness, wit and compassion are an inspiration to me.”

She concluded her remarks by thanking the Executive Leadership Team and those who came before her. “Thank you, Executive Leadership Team, as you work overtime to craft and support a reopening plan that serves our students. Thank you to all the women and people of color who have served on this board before me, including Evelyn Syphax, for whom our offices are named. Thank you to my family for their constant support in my effort to serve our community. And thank you to all those who helped me earn the opportunity to be the first black elected woman in Arlington so I can serve our students and families in this important role.”

Monique O'Grady
Monique O’Grady

About Chair Monique O’Grady
O’Grady has been a member of the School Board since 2018 and has been an Arlington resident for nearly 30 years, as well as an APS parent for 23 years. She has been a longtime community advocate, and communications professional.Before being elected to the School Board, O’Grady worked inside schools and across the APS system to bring positive change for students, teachers, and the greater community. She served on the South Arlington Boundary Committee, Early Childhood Advisory Committee, APS South Arlington Working Group, New Elementary School at Thomas Jefferson Building Level Planning Committee, Strategic Planning Committee, and Multi-Site Committee for School Facilities. O’Grady also co-chaired the 2016 School Bond Campaign and was a member of the Arlington Arts Commission.

About Vice Chair Dr. Barbara Kanninen
Kanninen joined the Arlington School Board on January 1, 2015 and this is her second time serving as Vice Chair. She currently serves as Liaison to the Advisory Council on Instruction, Joint Facilities Advisory Commission, and the Legislative Process. Kanninen has served as Chair and Vice Chair of the School Board, as well as Chair of the Audit Committee, and Liaison to the Budget Advisory Committee, South Arlington Working Group, Whole Child Working Group, Arlington Partnership for Children, Youth, and Families, and Student Advisory Board.Kanninen has been honored with a number of awards for her consistent commitment to educators and students, including the Arlington Education Association’s “Friend of Education” award and AGLA’s Equality award. In 2017, Washingtonian magazine named Barbara one of the Most Powerful Women in Washington.

Next School Board Meeting:
The School Board will hold its next Regular Meeting (2110 Washington Blvd.) on Thu, July 16 at 7 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.

For More Information:
Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.