APS 新聞發布

校務委員會在歷史悠久的斯特拉特福德校址選擇新中學的名稱

收到華盛頓李高中命名委員會的推薦

2月XNUMX日更新: 阿靈頓學校董事會批准了多蘿西·哈姆中學(Dorothy Hamm Middle School)作為歷史悠久的斯特拉特福德校區新中學的名稱。 授予多蘿西·哈姆(Dorothy Hamm)的決定是基於由員工,學生,家庭和社區成員組成的命名委員會的建議。

哈姆在民權時代曾是一名社區活動家,住在霍爾山(Hall's Hill)中,並為整合阿靈頓公立學校而奮鬥。 Hamm於1956年加入了一項民事訴訟案,該案旨在結束阿靈頓學校的種族隔離,並成功地挑戰了《小學生安置法》,該法旨在在使學校看起來合規的同時延遲學校融合。

計劃於4年2019月60日星期一舉行悼念活動,以紀念2年1959月2019日舉行的Stratford Jr. High成立XNUMX週年。新中學將於XNUMX年秋季開放。

華盛頓李高中的擬議新名稱
重命名委員會向學校董事會提出了新建議,即華盛頓李高中的新名稱。 該委員會由工作人員,學生,校友,父母,公民協會和社區代表組成,向華盛頓愛心高中推薦。 該委員會的另一項建議是華盛頓自由中學。

The Lovings won a landmark civil rights decision as the US Supreme Court struck down all state laws banning interracial marriage in 1967. This recommendation maintains the WL acronym;當美國最高法院於XNUMX年廢除了所有禁止異族通婚的州法律時,“愛戀人”贏得了具有里程碑意義的民權裁決。 continues to honor George Washington;繼續向喬治·華盛頓致敬; adds recognition for more current history and heroes;增加對更多當前歷史和英雄的認可; celebrates the school's growing diversity;慶祝學校日益多樣化; aligns the WL “brand” with today's使WL“品牌”與當今的“品牌”保持一致 APS mission, vision and core values;使命,願景和核心價值觀; and provides a unique opportunity for WL to continue to discuss history and the importance of advancing civil rights and human rights for all.並為WL提供了一個難得的機會,可以繼續討論歷史以及推進所有人的民權和人權的重要性。

預計董事會將在10年2019月XNUMX日的會議上對該建議進行投票。 要查看演示文稿和其他信息,請訪問 董事會文件.

約定:
董事會任命Janae Rittenhouse為多蘿西·哈姆中學(Dorothy Hamm Middle School)的諮詢主任,自10年2019月XNUMX日起生效。Rittenhouse目前是威廉斯堡中學(Williamsburg Middle School)的諮詢主任。

其他行動項目:
董事會批准了以下項目:

  • 暑期學校費用 –校務委員會批准了工作人員關於2019年暑期學費的建議。小學,初中和高中強化課程的學費將與2018年保持不變。全額學費為100美元,減價為56美元。 要查看完整的演示文稿, 點擊這裡..
  • 更改為艦隊小學的最高保證價格 –校務委員會批准將GMP增加292,560美元。 變更單由執行局批准的原始預算中包含的項目應急資金提供資金,因此無需增加資金。 要查看最初的員工演示, 點擊這裡..

其他信息項:

  • 修訂學校董事會政策D-12.3差旅費報銷 –工作人員介紹了SBP D-12.3。的更新。 點這裡 更多。
  • 2018財年最終財務狀況報告和CIP季度報告 –向董事會提供了2018財年資金的最新信息。 要閱讀報告並查看員工的建議, 點擊這裡..
  • 教育中心重複使用教育規範 –工作人員建議董事會批准重用昆西街1426號教育中心的教育規範。 規範包括項目的計劃空間時間表,容量和詳細的空間需求。 詳情.
  • 更改為Syphax翻新的保證最高價格 –要求執行局批准Syphax教育中心的修訂項目預算。 演示是 可在線.

監控項目:工作人員介紹了以下各項的最新情況:

  • 延長日更新
  • 政策審查更新

關於這兩個項目的更多信息是 在BoardDocs上可用.

下次學校董事會會議:
校務委員會將於2110月10日星期四晚上7點在下一次例行會議(華盛頓大道XNUMX號)舉行。會議議程將在會議前一周發布。 董事會文件.

欲獲得更多信息:
想要對學校董事會會議上討論的任何項目發表評論的公民,請通過以下方式向董事會發送電子郵件: 學校董事會@aps價值 or call 703-228-6015.或致電70-41-XNUMX。 School Board meetings are broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有線頻道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS頻道XNUMX上直播學校董事會會議; live-streamed on the現場直播 APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 pm and Mondays at 7:30 pm immediately following the meeting.網站,並在會議結束後的周五晚上XNUMX點和周一晚上XNUMX:XNUMX重新廣播。 All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at所有材料和會議記錄將發佈到網站上 萬維網。apsva.us/學校董事會 經校務委員會在隨後的會議上批准。

APS News Release

School Board Selects Name for New Middle School at Historic Stratford Site

Receives Recommendation from Washington-Lee High School Naming Committee

Updated Jan. 2: The Arlington School Board approved Dorothy Hamm Middle School as the name for the new middle school at the historic Stratford site. The decision to honor Dorothy Hamm was based on a recommendation from the naming committee made up of staff, students, families and community members.

Hamm was a community activist during the Civil Rights era who lived in Hall’s Hill and fought to integrate Arlington Public Schools. Hamm joined a civil action case in 1956 that sought to end segregation in Arlington schools and participated in a successful challenge to the Pupil Placement Act, which was designed to delay school integration while giving the appearance of compliance.

A tribute is being planned to be held on Mon, Feb. 4, 2019 to commemorate the 60th anniversary of integration at Stratford Jr. High which took place on Feb. 2, 1959. The new middle school will open in the Fall of 2019.

Proposed New Name for Washington-Lee High School
The renaming committee presented its recommendations to the School Board for the new name of Washington-Lee High School. The committee, made up of staff, students, alumni, parents, civic association and community representatives, is recommending Washington-Loving High School. The committee’s alternate recommendation is Washington-Liberty High School.

The Lovings won a landmark civil rights decision as the U.S. Supreme Court struck down all state laws banning interracial marriage in 1967. This recommendation maintains the W-L acronym; continues to honor George Washington; adds recognition for more current history and heroes; celebrates the school’s growing diversity; aligns the W-L “brand” with today’s APS mission, vision and core values; and provides a unique opportunity for W-L to continue to discuss history and the importance of advancing civil rights and human rights for all.

The Board is expected to vote on the recommendation at the Jan. 10, 2019 meeting. To see the presentation and other information, visit BoardDocs.

APPOINTMENT:
The Board appointed Janae Rittenhouse as the Director of Counseling for Dorothy Hamm Middle School effective Jan. 10, 2019. Rittenhouse is currently the Director of Counseling at Williamsburg Middle School.

OTHER ACTION ITEMS:
The Board approved the following items:

  • Summer School Fees – The School Board approved staff recommendations for Summer School Fees for 2019. The fees for elementary, middle and high school strengthening courses will remain the same as 2018. The full fee is $100 and the reduced fee is $56. To see the full presentation, click here.
  • Change to the Guaranteed Maximum Price for the Fleet Elementary School – The School Board approved an increase to the GMP of $292,560. The change order is funded with project contingency funds that were included in the original budget approved by the Board, so no increase in funding is necessary. To see the initial staff presentation, click here.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION ITEMS:

  • Revision of School Board Policy D-12.3 Travel Reimbursement – Staff presented an update to SBP D-12.3. Click here for more.
  • FY 2018 Final Fiscal Status Report and CIP Quarterly Report – The Board was provided an update on FY2018 funds. To read the report and see staff recommendations, click here.
  • Education Center Reuse Educational Specifications – Staff is recommending that the Board approve the educational specifications for the reuse of the Education Center at 1426 N. Quincy Street. The specifications include the project’s schedule of program spaces, capacity and detailed space requirements. Read more here.
  • Change to the Guaranteed Maximum Price for Syphax Renovation – The Board is being asked to approve a revised project budget for the Syphax Education Center. The presentation is available online.

MONITORING ITEMS:Staff presented updates on the following items:

  • Extended Day Update
  • Policy Review Update

More information on both items are available on BoardDocs.

NEXT SCHOOL BOARD MEETING:
The School Board will hold its next Regular Meeting (2110 Washington Blvd.) on Thu, Jan. 10 at 7 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.

FOR MORE INFORMATION:
Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. School Board meetings are broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.