APS 新闻发布

校务委员会收到有关运输服务和1:1数字设备研究的最新信息

提出并批准了Drew示范学校的新名称

在昨晚的学校董事会会议上,工作人员介绍了运输服务和1:1数字设备第一阶段研究的最新情况。 校务委员会还就学监的2020财年预算案举行了公开听证会,并听取了数十名社区成员对拟议的削减预算和倡导预算充足的预算的评论。

运输服务更新

作为运输监控报告的一部分,工作人员分享了最新的信息人员和学生的举措,包括:

  • 的运输需求管理(TDM)计划 APS 工作人员于2019年600月恢复工作,现在包括近36名在册人员,包括过境骑士(24%),步行者(24%),拼车骑士(15%)和骑自行车的人(XNUMX%);
  • 公交运输和相关的贝尔时间表政策制定,重点是安全性,准时表现,有限的乘车时间和效率;
  • 县级合作和安全入学路线主动项目; 和
  • 目前正在进行“公交运输评论”,以收集社区对潜在变化的反馈,以优化2019-20学年的路线和站点。

1:1数字设备计划研究

此外,工作人员还介绍了1:1倡议研究第一阶段的初步结果,该研究于XNUMX月启动, 北卡罗来纳州立大学星期五学院。 The School Board requested an external evaluation of校务委员会要求对 APS从使用共享设备到1:1设备的过渡,包括对教学和学生学习的影响。 调查和课堂观察的初步发现包括:

  • 设备大约在上课时间的一半时间内被使用,主要用于访问内容支持,进行研究,生产或展示学习产品;
  • 同事和ITC是设备使用的主要支持。 但是,缺乏资源和直接支持是有效利用的障碍; 和
  • 大多数老师,学生和教职员工认为1:1带来了积极的成果。

此外,随着研究的进行,将进行调查分析和第二阶段的后续研究,并将其用于为未来提供信息 APS 技术和预算决策。

Drew的新名称获得批准:Charles R. Drew小学

校务委员会还从任命的Drew命名委员会那里收到了有关Drew示范学校建议的新名称的信息。 命名委员会提交了“ ” Charles R. Drew小学”作为其第一推荐,另外还有“ Charles Drew小学”。 鉴于提出的程序并在委员会中通过名称进行了大力支持,并通过社区调查,校务委员会提出了一项动议并投票批准了该名称。 BoardDocs.

信息项: 除Drew命名外,还提供了以下信息,包括一些教务委员会的政策建议和修订:

  • 特殊教育年度计划
  • 儿童学校服务协议
  • 拟议的新校务委员会政策I-11.6.34中学课程退学
  • 修订学校董事会政策J-15.31,报告参加课程的学生
  • 修订校务委员会I-7.2.3.32课程的提议或删除
  • 拟议的校务委员会政策G-1.2可接受的使用政策
  • 修订校务委员会政策的建议,包括B-2.61利益冲突,G-1.8财务利益,B-3.2主席和副主席,B-3.7.30立法协调员以及B-8.4给校务委员会成员的利益

有关所有项目的信息,请参见 BoardDocs.

行动项目:

校务委员会批准了针对职业中心/阿灵顿技术项目的施工风险管理(CMR)采购方法的使用,并指示工作人员开始竞争性选择谈判的过程。

认可:

  • 校务委员会和健康与体育监督主管Debbie DeFranco认可了华盛顿利,韦克菲尔德和约克镇的冬季运动员的出色表现,其中包括几支赢得州,地区和国家级比赛的队伍。
  • Claremont和Taylor Elementary赢得了由Marine Corp.赞助的“健康学校奖”挑战赛的认可。MarathonKids Run和Sodexho。 两人都因参加跑步和活动而获得了1,000美元的奖励。
  • 学校与社区关系助理总监Linda Erdos在将近1年的工作经历后于19月XNUMX日退休 APS 为了表彰她对 APS,社区和公共教育。

 下次学校董事会会议:

校务委员会将于2110月11日,星期四,晚上7点在下星期四(华盛顿大道XNUMX号)举行例行会议。 BoardDocs.

即将进行的预算工作会议:

计划于2020月和2月举行几场讨论9财年预算的工作会议,并将在线直播。 下届会议是XNUMX月XNUMX日和XNUMX月XNUMX日。 始你 包括县预算日期在 APS 预算与财务页面.

更多信息:

想要对学校董事会会议上讨论的任何项目发表评论的公民,请通过以下方式向董事会发送电子邮件: 学校董事会@aps价值 or call 703-228-6015.或致电70-41-XNUMX。 School Board meetings are broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有线频道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS频道XNUMX上直播学校董事会会议; live-streamed on the现场直播 APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 pm and Mondays at 7:30 pm immediately following the meeting.网站,并在会议结束后的周五晚上XNUMX点和周一晚上XNUMX:XNUMX重新广播。 All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at所有材料和会议记录将发布到网站上 万维网。apsva.us/学校董事会 经校务委员会在随后的会议上批准。

APS News Release

School Board Receives Update on Transportation Services and the 1:1 Digital Device Study

New Name for Drew Model School Presented and Approved

At last night’s School Board meeting, staff presented updates on Transportation Services and the 1:1 Digital Device Phase One Study. The School Board also held a public hearing on the Superintendent’s Proposed FY 2020 Budget and heard comments from dozens of community members regarding proposed reductions and advocating for a fully funded budget.

Transportation Services Update

As part of the Transportation monitoring report, staff shared the latest information staff and student initiatives including:

  • The Transportation Demand Management (TDM) Program for APS staff, which resumed in February 2019 and now includes nearly 600 enrollees including transit riders (36%), walkers (24%), carpoolers (24%) and bikers (15%);
  • Bus Transportation and related Bell Schedules Policy Development, focused on safety, on-time performance, limited ride time and efficiency;
  • County collaboration and Safe Routes to School active projects; and
  • The Bus Transportation Review currently underway to gather community feedback on potential changes to optimize routes and stops for the 2019-20 school year.

1:1 Digital Device Initiative Study

In addition, staff presented the initial findings of phase one of the 1:1 Initiative Study, launched in February with the Friday Institute of NC State University. The School Board requested an external evaluation of APS’s transition from using shared devices to 1:1 devices including impact on instruction and student learning.  Preliminary findings of the surveys and classroom observations include:

  • Devices are being used roughly half of class time and primarily to access content supports, conduct research and produce or present learning products;
  • Colleagues and ITCs have been primary supports for device use; however, lack of resources and direct supports are barriers to effective use; and
  • The majority of teachers, students and staff believe that 1:1 has resulted in positive outcomes.

Additional, survey analysis and phase two follow-up research will be conducted as the study continues and will be used to inform future APS technology and budget decisions.

New Name for Drew Approved: Dr. Charles R. Drew Elementary School

The School Board also received information from the appointed Drew Naming Committee regarding the recommended new name for Drew Model School. The naming committee submitted “Dr. Charles R. Drew Elementary School” as its first recommendation, along with the alternate: Charles Drew Elementary School. Given the process presented and strong support for the name among the committee and through the community survey, the School Board made a motion and voted to approve the name.Additional materials and full presentations are available on BoardDocs.

INFORMATION ITEMS: In addition to Drew naming, the following were presented as information, including several School Board policy proposals and revisions:

  • Special Education Annual Plan
  • The Children’s School Services Agreement
  • Proposed New School Board Policy I-11.6.34 Secondary Course Withdrawal
  • Revisions to School Board Policy J-15.31 Reporting Students Enrolled in Programs
  • Proposed Revisions to School Board Policy I-7.2.3.32 Addition or Deletion of Courses
  • Proposed School Board Policy G-1.2 Acceptable Use Policy
  • Proposed Revisions to School Board Policies, including B-2.61 Conflict of Interests, G-1.8 Financial Interests, B-3.2 Chair and Vice Chair, B-3.7.30 Legislative Coordinator, and B-8.4 Benefits for School Board Members

Information on all items is available on BoardDocs.

ACTION ITEMS:

The School Board approved the use of Construction Management at-Risk (CMR) procurement method for the Career Center/Arlington Tech project and directed staff to begin the competitive negotiation selection process.

RECOGNITIONS:

  • The School Board and Debbie DeFranco, Supervisor of Health and Physical Education, recognized the outstanding performance of Winter athletes from Washington-Lee, Wakefield and Yorktown, including several teams that won state, regional and national competitions.
  • Claremont and Taylor Elementary received recognition for winning the Healthy School Awards Challenge sponsored as part of the Marine Corp. Marathon Kids Run and Sodexho. Both received $1,000 for participation in running and activity.
  • Linda Erdos, Assistant Superintendent of School & Community Relations, retires on April 1st after nearly 19 years with APS and was recognized with a proclamation in honor of her outstanding contributions to APS, the community and public education.

 NEXT SCHOOL BOARD MEETING:

The School Board will hold its next Regular Meeting (2110 Washington Blvd.) on Thu, April 11 at 7 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.

UPCOMING BUDGET WORK SESSIONS:

Several upcoming work sessions to discuss the FY 2020 budget are scheduled in April and May, and will be livestreamed online. The next sessions are April 2 and April 9. The full schedule including County Budget Dates are available on the APS Budget & Finance webpage.

FOR MORE INFORMATION:

Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. School Board meetings are broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.