APS بيان صحفي

المشرف يقدم مشروع التقويم للسنة الدراسية 2018-19

مجلس إدارة المدرسة يؤكد مهمته في تثقيف جميع الطلاب

في افتتاح اجتماع مجلس إدارة المدرسة الليلة الماضية ، قرأ أعضاء مجلس إدارة المدرسة بيانًا مشتركًا لإعادة تأكيد مهمته في الترحيب بجميع الطلاب في المجتمع وتثقيفهم ودعمهم. إقرأ ال البيان الكامل هنا.

شنومكس-شنومكس التقويم المدرسي
قدم الموظفون المسودة المقترحة لتقويم العام الدراسي 2018-19 في اجتماع الليلة الماضية. هذا العام ، تم استخدام عملية جديدة لتطوير تقويم 2018-19. كجزء من العملية الجديدة ، طورت اللجنة المكونة من 25 عضوًا ثلاثة خيارات طُلب فيها من المجتمع والموظفين تقديم مدخلات. حظي خيار التقويم 3 بأكبر قدر من الدعم من قبل طاقم العمل والمجتمع. التواريخ الرئيسية في التقويم المقترح تشمل:

  • 6 أغسطس - اليوم الأول من المدرسة لباركروفت)
  • 4 سبتمبر - اليوم الأول من المدرسة (باستثناء باركروفت)
  • 21 - 23 نوفمبر - استراحة عيد الشكر
  • 24 ديسمبر - 4 يناير - عطلة الشتاء (أسبوعان)
  • 15-19 أبريل - عطلة الربيع
  • 14 يونيو - التخرج من المدرسة الثانوية
  • 19 يونيو - اليوم الأخير لطلاب المدارس الثانوية
  • 20 يونيو - اليوم الأخير لباركروفت ؛ ترقيات المدرسة الإعدادية
  • 21 يونيو - اليوم الأخير لطلاب المدارس الابتدائية والمتوسطة

العرض التقديمي الكامل ، بالإضافة إلى التقويمات الخاصة بكل من Barcroft و HB Woodlawn و Stratford و Arlington Community High School و Langston High School Continuation Program كلها متاحة على شبكة الإنترنت. 

خطوات العمل:

  • منح التصميم النهائي وعقد البناء لبرنامج GMP الكامل لمدرسة الأسطول الابتدائية - وافق المجلس على التصميم النهائي لمدرسة الأسطول الابتدائية بالإضافة إلى ميزانية المشروع الإجمالية والتمويل المتاح وبنود الصندوق المشترك. كما منح المجلس عقد خدمات مرحلة البناء إلى Whiting-Turner بمبلغ 46,750,000،XNUMX،XNUMX دولار. مزيد من المعلومات متوفرة على BoardDocs.
  • عقد التصميم والبناء النهائي لـ GMP الكامل لمدرسة جديدة في ويلسون - وافق مجلس الإدارة على التصميم النهائي للمدرسة الجديدة في موقع ويلسون بالإضافة إلى الميزانية الإجمالية للمشروع والتمويل المتاح وعناصر الصندوق المشترك. كما منح المجلس عقد خدمات مرحلة البناء لشركة Gillbane Building Company بمبلغ 81,481,364،XNUMX،XNUMX دولار. مزيد من المعلومات متوفرة على BoardDocs.
  • الإغلاق المالي للعام المالي 2017 - تم إغلاق السجلات المالية للسنة المالية 2016-17 وتدقيقها وإرسالها إلى وزارة التعليم في فرجينيا. يوجد رصيد نهائي صافي متاح قدره 13.6 مليون دولار من APS العمليات ، ومع إيرادات المقاطعة الإضافية ، بلغ الرصيد 18.1 مليون دولار. للحصول على معلومات مفصلة ، اذهب إلى BoardDocs.

 بنود المراقبة:

  • تحديث خطة عمل المشرف 2017-18 - قام مورفي بتحديث مجلس الإدارة حول الجهود الجارية بشأن خطة العمل لدعم عمل المجلس هذا العام.
    • المدرسة المتوسطة - تم إرسال رسالة School Talk إلى عائلات الصف الخامس في 5 يناير للإعلان عن خيارات الانتقال إلى المدرسة الإعدادية في سبتمبر 8 مع رابط إلى النموذج عبر الإنترنت. تم تمديد الموعد النهائي لنقل المدارس المتوسطة حتى 2018 يناير.
    • الحدود الابتدائية - يعقد مجلس المدرسة جلسة عمل حول الحدود الابتدائية في الساعة 7 مساء يوم 23 يناير في الغرفة 101 بمركز التعليم. جلسات عمل مجلس المدرسة مفتوحة للملاحظة من قبل الجمهور ، ولكن لا يتم قبول أي تعليقات في هذه الجلسات. يمكن الاطلاع على جلسات العمل في apsva.us/school-board-meetings/school-board-work-sessions-meetings/. مع افتتاح مدرسة أليس دبليو فليت الابتدائية في سبتمبر 2019 وانتقال برنامج مونتيسوري من مدرسة درو الابتدائية إلى موقع مدرسة هنري ، أوعز مجلس المدرسة للموظفين بتقديم خطة لتعديل جميع حدود المدرسة الابتدائية. ستتضمن عملية مشاركة المجتمع لهذه المبادرة معلومات ومسودة مقترحات منشورة على APS شارك في الموقع ، وفرصًا لإدخال المجتمع في الاجتماعات ، عبر البريد الإلكتروني وعبر الإنترنت ، والتواصل مع اتحادات المعلمين في المدارس وأصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين الآخرين في المدارس الابتدائية
    • خطة استراتيجية - كان الموعد النهائي لإسهام المجتمع في مسودة بيانات المهمة والرؤية والقيم الأساسية هو الجمعة ، 19 يناير. من المقرر عقد الاجتماع التالي للجنة التوجيهية في 24 يناير.

الجمهور مدعو لمعرفة المزيد أو طرح أسئلة أو التعليق على أي من مبادرات المشاركة الجارية عن طريق الزيارة شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/engage.

بنود المعلومات:

  • تحديث عملية مراجعة سياسة مجلس المدرسة - قام الطاقم بتحديث المجلس بشأن عملية مراجعة سياسات مجلس المدرسة. تم تكليف فريق مراجعة السياسات ، الذي يتألف من أعضاء من كل إدارة ، بتحديد الأولويات لهذا العام وما بعده ؛ تعيين تقويم لإكماله ومراجعته للمحتوى المتداخل والمرجع التبادلي مع السياسات الأخرى.
  • مراجعة سياسة مجلس المدرسة 45-2 الاستخدام المقبول لموارد الشبكات الإلكترونية وأمان الإنترنت - أفاد فريق العمل أن تغييرات السياسة تقتصر على العناصر المطلوبة بموجب قانون فيرجينيا. وتشمل هذه الاستخدام المحظور للإنترنت ؛ تصفية محتوى الإنترنت ؛ ومناهج أمان الإنترنت للطلاب. هذه التغييرات تضمن ذلك APS يظل متوافقًا ويوفر المرونة في إنشاء وثائق الحوكمة الأخرى.
  • تحديث المدرسة الصيفية - اقترح الموظفون تخفيض رسوم برامج التخصيب في المركز المهني بالإضافة إلى تغيير في مواعيد تعزيز وإثراء الدورات. العرض الكامل متاحة على شبكة الإنترنت.

الاعترافات:
اعترف مجلس إدارة المدرسة بالرابحين الدكتور مارتن لوثر كنج ، الفائزون بمسابقة الفنون الأدبية والبصرية، بما في ذلك فيديو يعرض الفائزين. كما قام المجلس بتكريم المتلقين الأربعة لهذا العام منح بوسيه، وايكفيلد مدرسة ثانوية ويكفيلد الذي فاز في منحة 2018 Horatio Alger الوطنية. 

الاجتماع القادم لمجلس المدرسة: 
سيعقد اجتماع مجلس المدرسة القادم يوم الخميس 1 فبراير. وسيبدأ قبل 30 دقيقة من المعتاد ، في الساعة 6 مساءً ، حتى يتمكن مجلس المدرسة من التعرف على المعلمين الذين حصلوا على شهادة المجلس الوطني. سيتم نشر جدول الأعمال قبل أسبوع واحد من موعد الاجتماع بورد دوكس.  

للمزيد من المعلومات
يجب على المواطنين الذين يرغبون في التعليق على أي من البنود التي تمت مناقشتها في اجتماع مجلس المدرسة إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى المجلس على لوحة المدرسة@apsva.us أو اتصل على 703-228-6015. يمكن للمواطنين الاتصال بالرقم 703-228-2400 يوم الاثنين بعد اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة للاستماع إلى ملخص الاجتماع. يتم أيضًا بث اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة مباشرة على Comcast Cable Channel 70 و Verizon FiOS Channel 41 ؛ بث مباشر على APS ويعاد بثه يوم الجمعة الساعة 9 مساءً ويوم الاثنين الساعة 7:30 مساءً بعد الاجتماع مباشرة. سيتم نشر جميع المواد ومحاضر الاجتماع على موقع الويب على شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/schoolboard بناء على موافقة مجلس المدرسة في اجتماع لاحق.

APS News Release

Superintendent Presents Draft 2018-19 School Year Calendar

School Board Reaffirms Mission to Educate All Students

At the opening of last night’s School Board meeting, the School Board members read a joint statement to reaffirm its mission to welcome, educate and support all students in the community. Read the full statement here.

2018-19 School Calendar
Staff presented the proposed draft of the 2018-19 school year calendar at last night’s meeting. This year, a new process was used to develop the 2018-19 calendar. As part of the new process, the 25-member committee developed three options in which the community and staff were asked to provide input. Calendar Option 3 received the most support by staff and the community. Key Dates in the proposed calendar include:

  • Aug. 6 – First Day of School for Barcroft)
  • Sept. 4 – First Day of School (except Barcroft)
  • Nov. 21 – 23 – Thanksgiving Break
  • Dec. 24 – Jan. 4 – Winter Break (two weeks)
  • April 15 – 19 – Spring Break
  • June 14 – High School Graduations
  • June 19 – Last Day for High School Students
  • June 20 – Last Day for Barcroft; Middle School Promotions
  • June 21 – Last Day for Elementary and Middle School Students

The full presentation, as well as calendars for Barcroft, H-B Woodlawn, Stratford, Arlington Community High School and Langston High School Continuation Program are available online. 

ACTION ITEMS:

  • Final Design and Construction Contract Award for full GMP for Fleet Elementary School – The Board approved the final design of Fleet Elementary School as well as the total project budget, funding available and joint fund items. The Board also awarded the construction phase services contract to Whiting-Turner in the amount of $46,750,000. More information is available on BoardDocs.
  • Final Design and Construction Contract for full GMP for New School at Wilson – The Board approved the final design of the new school at the Wilson Site as well as the total project budget, funding available and joint fund items. The Board also awarded the construction phase services contract to Gillbane Building Company in the amount of $81,481,364. More information is available on BoardDocs.
  • FY2017 Fiscal Close-Out – The financial records for the 2016-17 fiscal year have been closed, audited, and sent to the Virginia Department of Education. There is a net available ending balance of $13.6 million from APS operations, and with additional county revenue, the balance is $18.1 million. For detailed information, go to BoardDocs.

 MONITORING ITEMS:

  • Superintendent’s 2017-18 Action Plan Update – Murphy brought the Board up to date about the efforts underway on the action plan to support the Board’s work this year.
    • Middle School – A School Talk message to grade 5 families was sent on Jan. 8 announcing Sept. 2018 middle school transfer options with a link to the online form. The deadline for middle school transfers has been extended to Jan. 26.
    • Elementary Boundaries – The School Board will hold a Work Session on elementary boundaries at 7 p.m. on Jan. 23 in Room 101 of the Education Center. School Board Work Sessions are open for observation by the public, but no comments are accepted at these sessions. Work sessions can be viewed at apsva.us/school-board-meetings/school-board-work-sessions-meetings/. With the opening of Alice W. Fleet Elementary School in September 2019 and the Montessori program move from Drew Elementary School to the Henry school site, the School Board has instructed staff to present a plan to adjust all elementary school boundaries. The community engagement process for this initiative will include information and draft proposals posted to the APS Engage site, opportunities for community input at meetings, via email and online, and outreach to PTAs and other key stakeholders in elementary schools.
    • Strategic Plan – The deadline for community input on the draft mission, vision and core values statements was Fri, Jan. 19. The next Steering Committee meeting is scheduled for Jan. 24.

The public is invited to learn more, ask questions or comment on any of the engagement initiatives that are underway by visiting www.apsva.us/engage.

INFORMATION ITEMS:

  • School Board Policy Review Process Update – Staff updated the Board on the process to review School Board Policies. The Policy Review Team, which is made up of members from each department, was charged with determining the priorities for this year and beyond; map a calendar for completion and review for overlapping content and cross-reference with other policies.
  • Revision of School Board Policy 45-2 Acceptable Use of Electronic Networked Resources and Internet Safety – Staff reported that the policy changes are limited to items required by the Code of Virginia. These include prohibited use of the internet; internet content filtering; and internet safety curriculum for students. These changes ensure that APS remains compliant and it provides flexibility in establishing other governance documents.
  • Summer School Update – Staff proposed a reduction in fees for the Career Center Enrichment programs as well as a shift in dates for strengthening and enrichment courses. The full presentation is available online.

RECOGNITIONS:
The School Board recognized the winners of the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Literary and Visual Arts Contest winners, including a video showcasing the winners. The Board also honored the four recipients of this year’s Posse Scholarships, and Wakefield High School senior Aidan Unudelger who won the 2018 Horatio Alger National Scholarship. 

Next School Board Meeting: 
The next School Board meeting will be held on Thu, Feb. 1. It will begin 30 minutes earlier than usual, at 6 p.m., so the School Board can recognize teachers who earned their National Board Certification. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.  

For More Information
Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.