APS 新闻发布

院长提供2018-19学年的开学日报告

主管Pat Murphy博士在昨晚的会议上向学校委员会提供了第一天的学校报告,其中包括入学人数和其他2018-19年度返校最新动态。

监督指出,第一天的入学人数为27,522名学生。 比去年581月30日的官方数字多28,022名学生,略低于春季预计的2018名。 监督指出,整个19月的入学人数将继续波动,而30-XNUMX年度的正式入学人数将在XNUMX月XNUMX日进行计算。

墨菲博士还重点介绍了为准备新学年而在夏季进行的工作,包括正在进行的舰队小学建设,威尔逊基地的新学校建设以及约克镇和职业中心的能力建设项目。并有一段视频突出显示了学年的头两天。 录像带介绍了学生的到来以及校长和教职员工对当年他们的优先事项的评论,包括公平和卓越; 社会和情感学习; 以及安全和应急准备。 完整的 演示文稿在线.

行动项目:
董事会批准了以下项目:

  • 修订学校董事会政策A-4的使命,愿景和核心价值观以及A-5阿灵顿公立学校的优先事项 –批准的变更反映了2018-24战略计划的通过。
  • 修订学校董事会政策J-5.3.30录取和安置 –董事会批准了工作人员的建议,增加了关于现役军人子女以及特殊情况家庭子女的章节。
  • 教育中心翻新工程施工前风险管理服务合同奖 –董事会批准了与MCN Build,Inc签订的第一阶段:施工前服务合同,金额为257,000美元。董事会还授权员工动用4-2017财年CIP确定的可用债券资金中的26万美元作为“次级待定TBD”,以支付施工前阶段的费用,直到2018年公投后可获得未来的债券资金为止。
  • Kenmore HVAC Controls的合同授予 –董事会与自动化逻辑公司(Automated Logic)授予了高达600,000万美元的合同。
  • 更改威尔逊新学校的保证最高价格,而总预算或完成日期不变– 董事会批准了威尔逊项目的更新和修订预算,并从建设管理储备金中拨款750,000美元,并从所有者应急基金中拨款约1.25万美元,这是威尔逊项目总预算的一部分。 这在所有建设项目中都是正常现象,每当需要资金来抵消建筑材料的市场变化或为解决工地条件或开发过程中通常发生的其他步骤提供资金时,都需要获得董事会的批准才能分配预算储备金和应急资金。两年的项目。 该请求仅用于批准先前预算的储备金和项目应急资金,而威尔逊新学校的总预算和完工日期保持不变。
  • Drew物业的历史标记许可协议 –董事会批准了Drew物业的历史标记许可协议,该员工在7月XNUMX日的会议上作为信息项进行了介绍。 该协议允许阿灵顿县使用Drew财产的一部分来建设,安装,使用和维护五个面板,以显示有关纳克社区历史的信息。

有关这些项目的更多信息是 可在BoardDocs在线获取.

同意书—学校命名委员会
在同意书项下,董事会批准了亨利蒙特梭利计划学校命名委员会的任命; 威尔逊大厦; 第六中学和华盛顿李高中更名委员会。

信息项:

  • 修订学校董事会政策E-6食品和营养服务– 工作人员建议进行以下更改:与国家学校午餐计划有关的标准化术语; 将有关学生资格的语言移至政策的开始; 更新法律参考; 轻微的措词和标点符号变化; 并修订政策实施程序以反映这些相同类型的更改。
  • 2018-24年战略计划–绩效目标– 11月底,学校董事会批准了新的战略计划,其中包括与以下方面有关的新目标:学生成功; 学生福祉; 敬业的员工; 卓越运营; 和伙伴关系。 工作人员审查了拟议的绩效目标,这些目标是可量化的结果,将用于衡量实现每个目标的进度。 董事会将于20月XNUMX日举行工作会议,并有望在XNUMX月XNUMX日的会议上批准绩效目标。
  • 校务委员会2018-19行动计划– 每年,校务委员会都会制定年度优先事项,以帮助保持校务工作的重点,有效性并使其与战略计划目标保持一致。 2018-19学年的校务委员会优先事项将集中在以下领域:新政策和政策修订; 运作计划; 新学校和计划动向(2019); 资本倡议; 以及支持2018-24年战略计划目标的其他重点。

有关这些项目的更多信息是 可在线.

认可:
在会议开始时,董事会认可肯莫尔中学,因为它最近被公认为特奥会统一冠军旗帜学校。 肯莫尔(Kenmore)得到这一独特的认可,因为教职员工和学生是整个社会包容性的领导 APS 并且由于他们努力将学生纳入一个统一的篮球队。 今年,全国仅有131所学校获得此项全国认可,该小组中仅包括弗吉尼亚州的10所学校。 此外,每年,ESPN都会认可五所示范学校,这是其特殊奥林匹克联合冠军学校国家认可计划的一部分。 这五所学校已达到5项全国入学标准,并由其州的特殊奥林匹克运动计划提名。 昨天,肯摩尔(Kenmore)了解到,他们已被提名为今年ESPN前五名荣誉榜获奖者之一。

此外,董事会还祝贺由州长Northam任命的弗吉尼亚州学习创新标准委员会的个性化学习主管Heather Hurley。 该委员会向教育委员会和大会提供有关SOL评估,学生成长措施,SOL与评估之间的一致性以及鼓励课堂创新教学的方法的建议。

董事会还确认服务优,谢丽尔·麦卡洛谁当选美国国家天才儿童协会的董事会监事。

下次学校董事会会议:
校务委员会将于2110月20日(星期四)下午7点举行下一次例会(华盛顿大道XNUMX号)。会议议程将在会议召开一周前公布。

更多信息:
想要对学校董事会会议上讨论的任何项目发表评论的公民,请通过以下方式向董事会发送电子邮件: 学校董事会@aps价值 or call 703-228-6015.或致电703-228-2400。 Citizens may call 70-41-XNUMX on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.在校务委员会会议结束后的周一,公民可以拨打XNUMX-XNUMX-XNUMX收听会议摘要。 School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有线频道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS频道XNUMX上还直播学校董事会会议; live-streamed on the现场直播 APS 网站,并在会议结束后的周五晚上9点和周一晚上7:30重新广播。 所有材料和会议记录将发布在网站上,网址为www.。apsva.us/schoolboard在下一次会议上获得教务委员会的批准。

APS News Release

Superintendent Provides First Day of School Report for 2018-19 School Year

Superintendent Dr. Pat Murphy provided the School Board with a First Day of School Report, including enrollment figures and other 2018-19 back-to-school updates, during last night’s meeting.

The Superintendent noted that the first day enrollment was 27,522 students. That is 581 more students than last year’s official Sept. 30 count and slightly off the spring projections of 28,022. The Superintendent pointed out that enrollment will continue to fluctuate throughout the month of September and that the official 2018-19 enrollment will be counted on September 30.

Dr. Murphy also highlighted work that took place over the summer to get ready for the new school year, including the ongoing construction of Fleet Elementary School, the New School at the Wilson Site, and the Yorktown and Career Center capacity projects.The report ended with a video highlighting the first two days of the school year. The video featured student arrivals and remarks from principals and staff on their priorities for the year, including equity and excellence; social and emotional learning; and safety and emergency preparedness. The full presentation is online.

ACTION ITEMS:
The Board approved the following items:

  • Revisions to School Board Policy A-4 Mission, Vision and Core Values, and A-5 Arlington Public Schools Priorities – The approved changes reflect the adoption of the 2018-24 Strategic Plan.
  • Revision of School Board Policy J-5.3.30 Admission and Placement – The Board approved staff recommendations to add a section on children of active duty military personnel as well as children of families with special circumstances.
  • Contract Award for Pre-Construction Management at-Risk Services for the Education Center Renovation – The Board approved a contract for Phase I: Pre-Construction Services in the amount of $257,000 to MCN Build, Inc. The Board also authorized staff to utilize $4 million of the available bond funds identified in the FY 2017-26 CIP as “Secondary Seats TBD” for pre-construction phase expenses until future bond funds are available following the 2018 referendum.
  • Contract Award for Kenmore HVAC Controls – The Board awarded contract of up to $600,000 to Automated Logic.
  • Change to the Guaranteed Maximum Price for the New School at Wilson with No Change to Total Budget or Completion Date – The Board approved an updated and revised budget for the Wilson project and allocated $750,000 from the Construction Management Reserve and approximately $1.25 million from the Owner Contingency funds which are part of the overall Wilson project budget. This is a normal occurrence in all construction projects, and Board approval is required to allocate the budget reserves and contingency funding whenever funds are needed to offset market changes for construction materials or to fund other steps to address site conditions or developments that normally arise during a two-year project. This request is solely for approval of previously budgeted reserves and project contingency funds, and the total budget and completion date for the new school at Wilson remains unchanged.
  • License Agreement for Historic Markers at the Drew Property – The Board approved a License Agreement for Historic Markers at the Drew Property which staff presented as an information item at the June 7 meeting. The Agreement permits Arlington County to use a portion of the Drew property for constructing, installing, using, and maintaining five Panels to display information about the history of the Nauck community.

More information about these items is available online at BoardDocs.

CONSENT ITEMS—SCHOOL NAMING COMMITTEES
Under the Consent Items, the Board approved the appointments to the School Naming Committees for the Montessori program at Henry; the Wilson Building; the Sixth Middle School and the Washington-Lee High School Renaming Committee.

INFORMATION ITEMS:

  • Revision of School Board Policy E-6 Food and Nutrition Services – Staff is recommending the following changes: Standardized terms related to the National School Lunch Program; Move language regarding student eligibility to the beginning of the policy; Update legal references; Minor wording and punctuation changes; and Revise the Policy Implementation Procedures to reflect these same types of changes.
  • 2018-24 Strategic Plan – Performance Objectives – At the end of June, the School Board approved the new Strategic Plan which included new goals related to: Student Success; Student Well-Being; Engaged Workforce; Operational Excellence; and Partnerships. Staff reviewed the proposed performance objectives which are quantifiable results that will be used to measure progress toward achieving each of the goals. The Board will hold a work session on Sept. 11 and is expected to approve the performance objectives at the Sept. 20 meeting.
  • School Board 2018-19 Action Plan – Each year, the School Board establishes annual priorities to assist in keeping the Board’s work focused, effective, and aligned with the Strategic Plan goals. The School Board priorities for the 2018‐19 School Year will concentrate on the following areas: New Policies and Policy Revisions; Operational Planning; New Schools & Program Moves (2019); Capital Initiatives; and Additional Focus in Support of the 2018-24 Strategic Plan Goals.

More information on these items is available online.

RECOGNITIONS:
At the start of the meeting, the Board recognized Kenmore Middle School for recently being recognized as a Special Olympics Unified Champion Banner School. Kenmore is receiving this distinct recognition because staff and students are leaders of social inclusion across APS and because of their efforts to include students on a unified basketball team. There are only 131 schools across the nation that received this national recognition this year, and only six schools from Virginia were included in the group. In addition, every year, ESPN recognizes five exemplary schools as part of its Special Olympics Unified Champion Schools National Recognition program.  The five schools have met the 10 national standards of inclusion and were nominated by their state’s Special Olympics program.  Yesterday, Kenmore learned that they have been named as one of this year’s ESPN Top 5 Honor Roll honorees.

In addition, the Board congratulated Personalized Learning supervisor Heather Hurley who was appointed by Governor Northam to the Virginia Standards of Learning Innovation Committee. This committee provides the Board of Education and General Assembly with recommendations on SOL assessments, student growth measures, alignment between the SOLs and assessment, and ways to encourage innovative teaching in the classroom.

The Board also recognized Supervisor of Gifted Services, Cheryl McCullough who was elected to the Board of the National Association for Gifted Children.

NEXT SCHOOL BOARD MEETING:
The School Board will hold its next Regular Meeting (2110 Washington Blvd.) on Thursday, Sept. 20 at 7 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.

FOR MORE INFORMATION:
Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.