APS 新聞發布

主管提供重返學校計劃的最新信息

校務委員會歡迎新成員克里斯蒂娜·迪亞茲·托雷斯(Cristina Diaz-Torres)和大衛·普里迪(David Priddy)

監督弗朗西斯科·杜蘭(FranciscoDurán)博士在7月25日的學校董事會會議上提供了有關返校計劃的最新信息。 新的細節包括從2月3日那週開始,在XNUMX級和XNUMX級學生之前,安排更多的老師和員工返回學校大樓和辦公室的時間表。

學生的返回日期,包括2級(基礎和職業技術教育學生)和3級(中學學生),將在以後公佈。 自1年2020月以來,一直在開展XNUMX級(殘疾學生)計劃,並為已確定的中小學生提供面對面的學習支持。

Durán博士強調了讓員工有時間適應新的健康和安全程序以及從教室進行教學的重要性,在2級和3級之前,學生返回了建築物,並回顧了為保護兒童健康而採取的緩解措施。日期。

員工返回日期如下:

25月2日當週– 1級,2級和2級,學前班XNUMX年級的老師,所有縣級小學特殊教育計劃的老師和工作人員:

  • 課堂和非課堂老師以及支持2級及所有縣級基礎教育課程的所有老師將親自授課,並在課堂上親自授課。

25月1日和XNUMX月XNUMX日的周–中央辦公室工作人員:

  • 從25月XNUMX日當週開始,中央辦公室的工作人員開始輪流當面報告。

1月3日當週– XNUMX級,中學教師和教職員工以及全縣所有中學特別教育計劃的教師和教職員工:

  • 支持3級學生的教師和工作人員,包括所有選擇混合/面對面學習的中學生和高中生,將從2月XNUMX日星期二開始匯報。
  • 3月的專業學習將於4月5日至XNUMX日進行。

4月XNUMX日,星期四–校內董事會會議:

  • 面對面的校務委員會會議將在21月恢復,並進行修改。 詳細信息將在XNUMX月XNUMX日的學校董事會會議上傳達。

主管提供了有關 決定退貨日期的因素。 學校部門的返校計劃方法基於以下方面得到發展:

  • A 更深入地了解COVID-19,以及如何減輕其傳播,並採取有效的緩解措施,並採取措施確保 APS 措施達到或超過公共健康指導方針,以安全地重新開放學校。
  • 遠程學習經驗和改進,以及 學術數據 顯示了這一流行病中許多學生面臨的重大挑戰以及面對面支持的需求。
  • 一級學習支持經驗 允許 APS 監控,測試和改善所有建築物的緩解措施。
  • 口罩使用,物理疏遠,增強清潔,以及其他已採取的措施,這些措施已被證明可以有效減少病毒在學校中的傳播。
  • 最近的研究 表明當學校有效地持續實施健康與安全緩解措施時,學校內的傳播可以忽略不計。

主管的演講還包括他最新的COVID-19健康和安全指標,回顧了迄今為止採取的所有緩解措施, 測試可用性,疫苗接種,新的COVID-19篩查應用程序將於XNUMX月下旬推出,並提供說明。 宣布將於12月1日將K-6員工納入疫苗XNUMXb期的分銷, APS 阿靈頓縣政府和阿靈頓縣政府正在計劃進行分發,並將在可獲得有關如何安排約會的信息後儘快與員工進行溝通。

指導性更新提供了有關第一季度數學結果的數據,其中包括補救步驟以及 遠程學習工作隊 該會議於6月XNUMX日舉行了第一次會議,並將製定在未來六週內加強遠程學習的策略。 演講結束時提供了有關空氣質量,運輸和財務預測的信息。

完整的監測報告 在線提供,您可以 在這裡觀看演示.

監控項目
向校務委員會提供了以下項目的更新。

  • 畢業工作組更新 –工作人員提供了畢業工作組的最新進展。 該報告包括畢業率,經驗教訓和亮點。 演示是 可在網上。
  • 補償研究報告 –向董事會提供了補償研究報告的結果。 該研究評估了基本工資範圍; 薪酬慣例和政策; 帶薪休假(休假,病假,個人假期); 健康福利(醫療,牙科和視力計劃)以及退休儲蓄計劃。 要閱讀有關發現的報告和介紹, 前往BoardDocs.

信息項
校務委員會討論了以下項目:

  • 初中和高中學習課程 –該報告包括了2021-22學年中學和高中班級的主要新增和刪除。 在這裡閱讀報告.
  • 暑期學校報告和費用 –員工對2020年暑期學校進行了回顧,包括入學,挑戰和亮點。 該報告還包括2021年暑期學校的費用。要閱讀該報告,並查看加強課程,中學強化課程,戶外實驗室,高中信貸高級課程入門的高中新工作以及Wakefield AP Summer Bridge的費用, 訪問BoardDocs.
  • 2022財年資本改善計劃(CIP)方向 –董事會討論了其22財年CIP指導,該指導指導總監將項目納入擬議的CIP中,並收集成本並評估已確定項目之間的優先級。 監管人提議的2022財年四年到六年的CIP將包括已識別項目和地址的一些組合:項目成本; 時間表; 以及建議的CIP費用對未來CIP預算的影響。 完整的演示文稿是 在BoardDocs上可用.
  • 修訂學校董事會政策L-9認證學校 –工作人員提出了對SBP L-9的擬議修訂。 可在線獲取更多信息.

承認
校務委員會歡迎新任董事會成員 克里斯蒂娜·迪亞茲-托雷斯(Christina Diaz-Torres)和大衛·普里迪(David Priddy) 參加他們的第一次會議,並得到認可 Shantha Smith博士 誰收到了 VDOE瑪麗·皮克(Mary Peake)傑出教育公平獎.

了解更多信息:
想要對學校董事會會議上討論的任何項目發表評論的公民,請通過以下方式向董事會發送電子郵件: 學校董事會@apsva.us 或致電703-228-6015。 在校務委員會會議結束後的周一,公民可以撥打703-228-2400收聽會議摘要。

School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41;在康卡斯特有線頻道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS頻道XNUMX上還直播學校董事會會議; live-streamed on the現場直播 APS 網站,並在會議結束後的周五晚上9點和周一晚上7:30重新廣播。 所有材料和會議記錄將發佈到網站上 萬維網。apsva.us/schoolboard 經校務委員會在隨後的會議上批准。

APS News Release

Superintendent Provides Update on Return-to-School Plan

School Board Welcomes New Members Cristina Diaz-Torres and David Priddy

Superintendent Dr. Francisco Durán provided an update on the return-to-school plan at the Jan. 7 School Board meeting. New details included the schedule for additional teachers and staff to return to school buildings and offices beginning the week of Jan. 25, prior to Level 2 and Level 3 students.

Return dates for students, including Level 2 (elementary and Career & Technical Education students) and Level 3 (secondary students), will be announced at a later date. Level 1 (students with disabilities) has been underway since November 2020, along with in-person learning support for identified elementary and secondary students.

Dr. Durán emphasized the importance of allowing staff time to adapt to new health and safety procedures and teaching from classrooms, prior to Level 2 and Level 3, students returning to buildings, and reviewed the mitigation measures that have been put in place to protect to date.

Staff return dates are as follows:

Week of January 25 – Level 2, Phase 1 and 2, PreK-2nd Grade Teachers, All Countywide Elementary Special Ed Programs Teachers and Staff:

  • Classroom-based and non-classroom-based teachers and staff supporting Level 2 & all elementary special ed countywide program teachers will report in person and teach from their classrooms on their in-person assigned days.

Weeks of January 25 and February 1 – Central Office Staff:

  • Central Office staff begin reporting in person on a rotating basis beginning the week of Jan. 25.

Week of February 1 – Level 3, Secondary Teachers and Staff and All Countywide Secondary Special Ed Programs Teachers and Staff:

  • Teachers and staff supporting Level 3 students, which includes all middle and high school students selecting hybrid/in-person learning, will report back beginning on Tues, February 2.
  • Professional learning for Level 3 will be provided Feb. 4-5.

Thursday, February 4 – In-Person School Board Meetings:

  • In-person School Board meetings will resume in February, with modifications. Details will be communicated during the Jan. 21 School Board meeting

The Superintendent provided an update on factors informing decisions regarding return dates. The school division’s approach to return-to-school planning has evolved based on:

  • A deeper understanding of COVID-19, and how to mitigate its spread, with effective mitigation measures in place and steps taken to ensure APS measures meet or exceed public health guidance for safely reopening schools.
  • Distance learning experience and improvements, along with academic data showing the significant challenges for many students in this pandemic and the need for in-person support.
  • Level 1 in person learning support experience allowing APS to monitor, test and improve mitigation measures in all buildings.
  • Mask usage, physical distancing, enhanced cleaning, and other measures in place, which have proven to be effective in reducing the spread of the virus in school.
  • Recent research and studies showing that in-school transmission is negligible when schools effectively implement health and safety mitigations consistently.

The Superintendent’s presentation also included he latest COVID-19 health and safety metrics, a recap of all mitigation steps taken to date, testing availability, vaccinations, a new COVID-19 screening app rolling out later in January, and instruction. With the announcement that K-12 employees will be included in distribution for Phase 1b of the vaccine on January 6, APS and Arlington County Government are planning for distribution and will communicate information to employees as soon as it is available on how to schedule appointments.

The instructional update provided data on math results from the first quarter will remediation steps, as well as an overview of the Distance Learning Task Force which held the first meeting on January 6 and will work towards strategies to strengthen distance learning over the next six weeks. The presentation concluded with information about air quality, transportation and financial projections.

The full Monitoring Report is available online and you can watch the presentation here.

Monitoring Items
The School Board was provided updates on the following items.

  • Graduation Taskforce Update – Staff provided an update on the progress of the Graduation Taskforce. The report included graduation rates, lessons learned and bright spots. The presentation is available online.
  • Compensation Study Report – The Board was provided results of the Compensation Study Report. The study evaluated base pay ranges; compensation practices and policies; paid time off (vacation, sick leave, personal days); health benefits (medical, dental, and vision plans) as well as retirement savings plans. To read the report and presentation on the findings, go to BoardDocs.

Information Items
The School Board discussed the following items:

  • Middle School and High School Program of Studies – The report included key additions and deletions to both middle and high school classes for the 2021-22 school year. Read the report here.
  • Summer School Report and Fees – Staff provided a recap on summer school 2020 which included enrollment, challenges and bright spots. The report also included fees for summer school 2021. To read the report and see the fees for strengthening courses, middle school enrichment courses, the Outdoor Lab, high school new work for credit W-L intro to advanced courses and the Wakefield AP Summer Bridge, visit BoardDocs.
  • FY 2022 Capital Improvement Plan (CIP) Direction – The Board discussed its FY22 CIP direction which directs the Superintendent on projects to include in the Proposed CIP and gather costs and evaluate priorities among identified projects. the Superintendent Proposed FY 2022 Four-to-Six-Year CIP will include some combination of the identified projects and address: Project costs; Timeframes; as well as the effect of proposed CIP costs on future CIP budgets. The full presentation is available on BoardDocs.
  • Revisions to School Board Policy L-9 Accreditation of Schools – Staff presented proposed revisions to SBP L-9. More information is available online.

Recognition
The School Board welcomed new board members Christina Diaz-Torres and David Priddy to their first meeting, and recognized Dr. Shantha Smith who received the VDOE Mary Peake Award for Excellence in Education Equity.

For More Information:
Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.

School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.