APS 新聞發布

主管提供返校計劃的最新信息

討論對Barcroft日曆的擬議變更

監督弗朗西斯科·杜蘭(FranciscoDurán)博士在4月XNUMX日的學校董事會會議上提供了有關今年秋天重返學校的計劃和社區參與活動的最新信息。

監督指出,重新開放計劃將根據當地公共衛生建議和州指導來進行,學校部門正在等待諾瑟姆州長的指導,現在預計將在下週出台。 關鍵更新包括:

  • 工作小組 由執行領導團隊(ELT)領導的成員和員工正在四個核心領域進行規劃:指導,運營,活動和溝通。 工作組代表各個部門和校內工作人員共同製定計劃。
  • APS 正在形成一個 利益相關者工作隊, chaired by the Superintendent, to ensure community input and buy-in are considered throughout planning.由總監主持,以確保在整個規劃過程中考慮社區的意見和支持。 The Task Force will include ELT and principal chairs, school-based staff, and 7-10 teachers, 7-10 parents and 5-6 students selected through該工作隊將包括ELT和校長,校內教職員工以及XNUMX-XNUMX名教師,XNUMX-XNUMX名家長和XNUMX-XNUMX名學生(通過 APS advisory committees.諮詢委員會。 The Task Force is being finalized this week;該工作隊將於本週完成; it will be announced and begin meeting (weekly) next week.它將宣布並在下週(每週)開始開會。
  • APS 將進行 8月XNUMX日星期一的家庭調查 在關閉期間收集家長對遠程學習的反饋,以及今年秋天重返學校的可能情況。 該調查將於15月XNUMX日結束,其結果將用於計劃制定。 學生和員工調查 也將於3月10日至XNUMX日進行。 社區成員還可以定期使用以下方式提供反饋 從事@aps價值.

一旦州政府發布了詳細的指導,將在下週提供更多更新,並且 APS will present a final plan in late June or early July.將在XNUMX月下旬或XNUMX月初提出最終計劃。 The Superintendent will provide a Return to School Status Update as a Monitoring Item at each Board meeting, now through the fall.The Superintendent's full presentation is直到秋季,在每次董事會會議上,學監都會提供``返校狀態更新''作為監控項目。 在BoardDocs上可用.

2020-21年學校的Barcroft日曆提案
APS 工作人員建議,由於COVID-19,今年僅建議巴克羅夫特上學的第一天為31月6日星期一,而不是6月XNUMX日。關於XNUMX月XNUMX日開始日期的特殊問題包括:

  • 如果從6月XNUMX日開始,Barcroft將以遠程學習模型開始。 在遠程學習模型中,學生對設備和WiFi的訪問存在持續的問題。
  • 6月XNUMX日的開始將沒有足夠的時間來準備課程材料,也沒有時間來支持遠程學習或混合開放模型中的教師準備。
  • ``對於遠程學習環境而言,保持參與度對於年輕學生而言是一項挑戰,根據過去的幾個月,如果學生是在家中唯一從事學校工作的學生,那麼數據參與就更加困難。 巴克羅夫特中學和高中的兄弟姐妹將於6月XNUMX日上課,這將影響他們的敬業度。
  • 由於許多程序和應用程序要到八月底才能準備好分配給新班級和學生,因此訪問技術資源面臨著技術挑戰。
  • 巴克羅夫特大學的學生應該獲得與其他學生類似的暑期學術支持 APS 學生們。

預計學校董事會將在25月XNUMX日的會議上對該提案進行投票。  APS 並且學校董事會仍計劃在確定2021-22年學校日曆變更之前與社區和員工合作,徵求反饋意見。 完整的演示文稿可在線獲得.

監控項目
工作人員提供了以下各項的最新信息。

  • 2020財年第三季度財政監測報告
  • 指導諮詢委員會年度報告
  • 內部審計年度報告

信息項
董事會討論了以下項目。

  • 校務委員會的擬議資本改善計劃
  • 批准韋克菲爾德高中地熱系統沖洗和沖洗項目
  • 精選的校務委員會政策(SBP)的更新:J-3.5.30的招生和安置以及J-3.5.31的選項和轉學
  • SBP M-12.4信息安全

行動項目
董事會批准了杰斐遜中學的屋頂更換。 現有的體育館屋頂已有30多年的歷史,需要更換,並且在CIP屋頂更換項目中。 該項目可利用的基礎設施債券資金為1,300,000美元。 更換工作將在2020年夏季和秋季進行。與東北合同公司的合同金額為1,116,854美元。有關這些項目的更多信息,請訪問 在BoardDocs上可用.

承認
校務委員會認可了93名即將退休的員工。 這些退休人員曾擔任過教師,教學助理,食品服務人員,公共汽車司機或部門管理員,並且在我們學生的教育中都發揮了重要作用。 放映了一段視頻,介紹了一些退休人員,描述了他們最驕傲的時刻。 APS.  看他們怎麼說.

下次校務委員會會議:
校務委員會將於2110月25日星期四下午7點在下星期四(華盛頓大道XNUMX號)舉行下一次例會。議程將在會議之前一周發布。

有關更多信息:
想要對學校董事會會議上討論的任何項目發表評論的公民,請通過以下方式向董事會發送電子郵件: 學校董事會@aps價值 or call 703-228-6015.或致電703-228-2400。 Citizens may call 70-41-XNUMX on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.在校務委員會會議結束後的周一,公民可以撥打XNUMX-XNUMX-XNUMX收聽會議摘要。 School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有線頻道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS頻道XNUMX上還直播學校董事會會議; live-streamed on the現場直播 APS 網站,並在會議結束後的周五晚上9點和周一晚上7:30重新廣播。 所有材料和會議記錄將發佈到網站www.www.cn.com。apsva.us/schoolboard在下一次會議上獲得教務委員會的批准。

APS News Release

Superintendent Provides Update on Return-to-School Planning

Proposed Change to Barcroft Calendar Discussed

Superintendent Dr. Francisco Durán provided an update on planning and community engagement activities for the return to school this fall, at the June 4 School Board meeting.

The Superintendent noted that reopening plans will be informed by local public health recommendations and state guidance, and that school divisions are awaiting guidance from Governor Northam, which is now anticipated to come next week. Key updates include:

  • Work Groups led by Executive Leadership Team (ELT) members and staff are planning in four core areas: Instruction, Operations, Activities and Communications. The work groups represent various departments and school-based staff working together to develop the plan.
  • APS is forming a stakeholder Task Force, chaired by the Superintendent, to ensure community input and buy-in are considered throughout planning. The Task Force will include ELT and principal chairs, school-based staff, and 7-10 teachers, 7-10 parents and 5-6 students selected through APS advisory committees. The Task Force is being finalized this week; it will be announced and begin meeting (weekly) next week.
  • APS will conduct a family survey on Monday, June 8 to gather parent feedback on distance learning during the closure, as well as possible scenarios for the return to school this fall. The survey will close on June 15 and results will be used to inform planning. Student and staff surveys are also being conducted from June 3-10. Community members can also provide feedback regularly using engage@apsva.us.

Additional updates will be provided next week once detailed guidance from the state is issued, and APS will present a final plan in late June or early July. The Superintendent will provide a Return to School Status Update as a Monitoring Item at each Board meeting, now through the fall.The Superintendent’s full presentation is available on BoardDocs.

Barcroft Calendar Proposal for the 2020-21 School
APS staff is recommending that for this year only, due to COVID-19, that Barcroft’s first day of school be Mon, Aug. 31 rather than Aug. 6. Specific concerns raised regarding an Aug. 6 start date include:

  • ​If starting Aug. 6 Barcroft will start with a distance learning model. In a distance learning model, there are ongoing issues with student access to devices and WiFi.​
  • An Aug. 6 start will not allow enough time for preparation of curriculum materials, and time to support teacher preparation in either distance learning or a hybrid opening model.
  • ​Maintaining engagement in a distance learning environment is challenging for young students and based on the past several months data engagement is more difficult if a student is the only one in the home doing school work. Barcroft middle and high school siblings will not be in classes by Aug. 6 which will impact engagement.
  • There are technical challenges to accessing technology resources as many programs and apps will not be ready to assign to new classes and students until the end of August.
  • Barcroft students should have access to summer academic support similar to the rest of APS students.

The School Board is expected to vote on the proposal at the June 25 meeting.  APS and the School Board still plan to engage the community and ​staff to solicit feedback ​before changes to the 2021-22 school calendar are determined. The full presentation is available online.

Monitoring Items
Staff provided updates on the following items.

  • FY 2020 3rd Quarter Fiscal Monitoring Report
  • Advisory Council on Instruction Annual Report
  • Internal Audit Annual Report

Information Items
The Board discussed the following items.

  • School Board’s Proposed Capital Improvement Plan
  • Approval of Wakefield High School Geothermal System Purging and Flushing Project
  • Updates to Select School Board Policies (SBP): J-3.5.30 Admissions and Placements and J-3.5.31 Options and Transfers
  • SBP M-12.4 Information Security

Action Item
The Board approved a roof replacement for Jefferson Middle School. The existing gymnasium roof is over 30 years old, in need of a replacement and is on the list of CIP projects for roof replacement. Infrastructure bond funding available for this project is $1,300,000. The replacement work will occur during the summer and fall of 2020. The contract has been awarded to Northeast Contracting Corporation in the amount of $1,116,854.More information on these items is available on BoardDocs.

Recognition
The School Board recognized 93 employees who are retiring. These retirees have served as teachers, instructional assistants, food service workers, bus drivers or departmental administrators, and have all been important in the education of our students. A video was presented of a few retirees describing their proudest moments at APS.  Take a look at what they had to say.

Next School Board Meeting:
The School Board will hold its next Regular Meeting (2110 Washington Blvd.) on Thu, June 25 at 7 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.

For More Inforamtion:
Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.