بيان صحفي APS

تقارير المشرف في اليوم الأول من المدرسة

يقدم مجلس الإدارة خطة عمل 2020-21 ويوافق على التقويم المدرسي المنقح 2020-21

قدم المشرف الدكتور فرانسيسكو دوران تقرير اليوم الأول من المدرسة ، بما في ذلك أرقام التسجيل وغيرها من تحديثات العودة إلى المدرسة لعام 2020-21 ، خلال اجتماع مجلس إدارة المدرسة في 10 سبتمبر. ناقش المشرف التحديات التكنولوجية التي واجهها العديد من الطلاب والأسر أثناء محاولة الاتصال باستخدام أجهزة APS في اليوم الأول من المدرسة. وأوضح أن ذلك يرجع إلى مشكلة في جدار الحماية تتعلق بزيادة حركة المرور إلى Microsoft Teams. لاحظ المشرف أن خدمات المعلومات قد عالجت مشكلات الشبكة المعروفة مع أجهزة APS وتواصل المراقبة وتقديم الدعم.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، حددت إدارة خدمات المعلومات مشكلة برمجية تسببت في بعض التحديات الإضافية لطلاب المدارس الثانوية الذين يستخدمون أجهزة MacBook Air. تمت معالجة هذا الأمر وتثبيته اعتبارًا من صباح الخميس. وشجع الطلاب على استئناف استخدام أجهزتهم الصادرة عن APS حتى يتمكن المعلمون من الاستفادة بشكل فعال من الموارد والتطبيقات المتاحة على تلك الأجهزة.

كما ناقش المشرف تسجيل اليوم الأول. اعتبارًا من 8 سبتمبر ، تم تسجيل 27,109 طالبًا. هذا هو 911 طالبًا أقل من عدد الطلاب الرسمي في 30 سبتمبر الذي بلغ 28,020 طالبًا العام الماضي. سيتم احتساب التسجيل الرسمي في 30 سبتمبر.

كما تضمن التقرير تفاصيل عن خدمة الوجبات المقدمة خلال اليوم الدراسي. خدم موظفو خدمة الطعام 4,356 طالبًا يومي الثلاثاء والأربعاء. الوجبات متاحة لجميع الأطفال الذين تبلغ أعمارهم 18 عامًا أو أقل في 21 موقعًا مدرسيًا بالإضافة إلى 10 مواقع توصيل في جميع أنحاء أرلينغتون. المواقع والتفاصيل الإضافية متوفرة على الإنترنت.

العرض الكامل هو متوفرة على BoardDocs و فيديو العودة إلى المدرسة متاح هنا.

تقرير المراقبة
2020-21 تقرير مراقبة العام الدراسي: قدم المشرف أيضًا تحديثًا للمقاييس المستخدمة لتحديد ما إذا كان من الآمن بدء فتح المدارس. تضمن التقرير قسم فرجينيا للصحة ومقاييس APS بالإضافة إلى بيانات COVID-19 المحلية والمحلية. العرض الكامل هو متاحة على شبكة الإنترنت. يمكنك أيضا مشاهدة الفيديو هنا.

عناصر المعلومات
ناقش مجلس المدرسة البنود التالية في اجتماع الليلة الماضية.

  • 2020-21 خطة عمل مجلس المدرسة - قدمت رئيسة مجلس إدارة المدرسة مونيك أوجرادي خطة عمل المجلس للفترة 2020-21 التي تضمنت أهدافًا شاملة تركز على التعليم الممتاز والتركيز المستمر على الإنصاف. تتضمن خطة العمل أيضًا أهدافًا حول نجاح الطلاب ورفاههم بالإضافة إلى التخطيط التشغيلي. خطة العمل الكاملة هي متوفرة على BoardDocs.
  • منح عقد إنشاء منشأة موظفي النقل - قدم الموظفون عقد البناء المقترح لمشروع تجديد مرفق موظفي النقل. يوصي فريق العمل بمنح العقد إلى The Matthews Group، Inc. بمبلغ 1,847،427 ، 1.2 دولارًا بالإضافة إلى الموافقة على تحويل XNUMX مليون دولار من احتياطيات رأس المال. العرض الكامل متاح على الإنترنت.
  • مدرسة ابتدائية جديدة في ريد تغيير مؤقت لتمويل المشروع - اقترح الموظفون تغييرًا مؤقتًا في تمويل مشروع ريد. تفاصيل إضافية متاحة على الإنترنت.
  • اتفاقية ترخيص موقف للحافلات المدرسية في منطقة التجارة الغربية بمركز التجارة - التفاصيل متوفرة على BoardDocs.

بند العمل
وافق مجلس المدرسة على 2020-21 التقويم المدرسي المعدل يتضمن إلغاء الإصدار المبكر الأربعاء ونقل وقت التعلم المهني من الإصدار المبكر الأربعاء إلى الاثنين في نفس الأسبوع.

للمزيد من المعلومات:
يجب على المواطنين الذين يرغبون في التعليق على أي بنود تمت مناقشتها في اجتماع مجلس المدرسة إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى المجلس علىschool.board@apsva.usأو اتصل برقم 703-228-6015. يمكن للمواطنين الاتصال برقم 703-228-2400 يوم الاثنين بعد اجتماعات مجلس المدرسة للاستماع إلى ملخص الاجتماع.

يتم أيضًا بث اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة مباشرة على Comcast Cable Channel 70 و Verizon FiOS Channel 41 ؛ يُبث مباشرة على موقع وكالة الأنباء الجزائرية ، ويعاد بثه يوم الجمعة الساعة 9 مساءً ويوم الاثنين الساعة 7:30 مساءً بعد الاجتماع مباشرة. سيتم نشر جميع المواد والدقائق على موقع الويب فيwww.apsva.us/schoolboard بناء على موافقة مجلس المدرسة في اجتماع لاحق.

APS News Release

Superintendent Reports on the First Day of School

Board Presents 2020-21 Action Plan and Approves Revised 2020-21 School Calendar 

Superintendent Dr. Francisco Durán delivered a First Day of School Report, including enrollment figures and other 2020-21 back-to-school updates, during the Sept. 10 School Board meeting. The Superintendent discussed the technology challenges many students and families experienced while trying to connect using APS devices on the first day of school. He explained it was due to a firewall issue related to the increased traffic accessing Microsoft Teams. The Superintendent noted that Information Services has addressed the known network issues with APS devices and continues to monitor and provide support.

In addition, the Department of information Services identified a software issue that was causing some further challenges for high school students using MacBook Airs. This was addressed and fixed as of Thursday morning. He encouraged students to resume using their APS-issued devices so teachers can effectively leverage the resources and applications available on those devices.

The Superintendent also discussed First Day Enrollment. As of Sept. 8, 27,109 students were enrolled. That is 911 less students than last year’s official September 30 count of 28,020. The official enrollment will be counted on September 30.

The report also included details on meal service provided during the school day. Food service staff served 4,356 students served on Tuesday and Wednesday. Meals are available for all children 18 and under at 21 school sites as well as 10 drop-off locations across Arlington. Locations and additional details are available online.

The full presentation is available on BoardDocs and the back-to-school video is available here.

Monitoring Report
2020-21 School Year Monitoring Report: The Superintendent also provided an update on the metrics used to determine if it is safe to begin opening schools. The report included Virginia Dept. of Health and APS metrics as well as state and local COVID-19 data. The full presentation is available online. You can also watch the video here.

Information Items
The School Board discussed the following items at last night’s meeting.

  • 2020‐21 School Board Action Plan – School Board Chair Monique O’Grady presented the Board’s 2020-21 Action Plan that included overarching goals that focus on excellent education and a continued focus on equity. The Action Plan also includes goals on student success and well-being as well as operational planning. The full action plan is available on BoardDocs.
  • Transportation Staff Facility Construction Contract Award – Staff presented the proposed construction contract award for the Transportation Staff Facility Renovation project. Staff recommends awarding the contract to The Matthews Group, Inc. in the amount of $1,847, 427 as well as approving a transfer of $1.2 million from the Capital Reserves. The full presentation is available online.
  • New Elementary School at Reed Temporary Change to Project Funding – Staff proposed a temporary change to funding for the Reed project. Additional details are available online.
  • License Agreement for School Bus Parking at the Trades Center West LotDetails are available on BoardDocs.

Action Item
The School Board approved the 2020-21 revised school calendar that includes the elimination of early release Wednesdays and transfers the professional learning time from the early release Wednesdays to Mondays on the same week.

For More Information:
Citizens who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.

School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.