APS 新聞發布

院長向學校董事會提供3-5年行動計劃進展的最新信息

在昨晚的學校董事會會議上,學區長Pat Murphy博士提供了一份針對三個社區流程的進度報告,這些流程正在製定中,涉及與 APS 3-5年行動計劃。 He highlighted the current areas of engagement that are underway with the community:他著重指出了當前與社區互動的領域:

  1. 德魯模型的願景過程 致力於闡明學校的發展方向,並確保它對學生及其家庭具有吸引力,擁抱學校悠久的歷史,並為學生的未來發展做好準備。 社區有很多機會可以提供反饋,並且有望在春季晚些時候達成最終願景。
  2. 新高中重點課程 目前正在確定計劃於2022年開放的新高中的教學重點。邀請社區參與,並期望董事會在15月做出最終決定,以告知選址決策。 教學諮詢委員會(ACI)和設施諮詢委員會(FAC)的聯合會議將於XNUMX月XNUMX日星期三舉行,以開始這一過程,並將在XNUMX月和XNUMX月進行社區調查以收集意見。
  3. 修訂招生和轉學政策 正在採取混合學校方案,確保公平獲得教育,簡化政策和規範做法的行動。 社區對話將從本月晚些時候開始,社區的意見將形成最終的修訂版。 修訂後的政策及其隨附的政策實施程序(PIP)預計將於2018月獲得批准,並將在19-XNUMX學年實施。

墨菲博士還回顧了 APS 網頁 - Engage with APS –現在使社區更容易找到有關當前和未來所有公眾參與和反饋機會的信息。 The link to this new section is featured as a new “Tab” at the top of the指向此新部分的鏈接在頁面頂部以新的“標籤”為特色。 APS home page, and as the first link under “Quick Links” on all school websites.主頁,並且是所有學校網站上“快速鏈接”下的第一個鏈接。 The direct link to the section is到該部分的直接鏈接是 萬維網。aps價值/參與單獨的消息 重點介紹本節的許多功能,以幫助社區成員參與這些過程。

其他監測項目:
學前班至12年級:
學生服務和諮詢人員介紹了向學生提供的學術支持的最新信息,以及他們的工作如何支持學生的成功。 他們總結了幫助學生髮展生活技能,提供社會和情感支持,並確保學生獲得學術諮詢和信息的途徑,這將為畢業後帶來大學和職業發展機會。 他們提供了一些建議,以增強學生獲得的支持,包括與職業道路相匹配的課程,擴展的職業意識和探索計劃,以及為需要快速響應服務的學生提供的額外支持。 整個演示文稿可在以下時間向公眾開放 董事會文件. 

行動項目:

  • 杰斐遜新小學建設管理顧問服務合同獎: 董事會將MBP的建設管理顧問服務合同授予了MBP,以提供完整的設計,建造和結算CMA服務,包括可償還的費用和第三方測試費用。 這些服務的總費用為$ 1,057,548。
  • 行政辦公室遷至紅杉廣場二的建築和工程服務合同獎: 董事會批准向Studio Twenty Seven Architecture授予合同,金額為766,601美元。

信息項:

  • 修訂部分學生服務學校董事會政策: 工作人員提議對“外匯學生計劃”和“學生證”的政策進行細微更改。 這些更改在發佈於的政策修訂中進行了描述 董事會文件.
  • 威爾遜新學校的早期工作包1的施工合同獎: 工作人員建議為威爾遜校區的新學校批准吉爾班早期工作包1的合同授予,金額為810,002美元。 工作人員還建議建立一攬子計劃所有者的應急儲備金$ 1。
  • 阿賓登小學改造和擴建項目的施工合同變更單: 工作人員在阿賓登小學的改造和增建項目中提出了更換開關設備的擬議變更單。 變更單將由項目的應急費用提供資金,並被納入學校董事會批准的現有可用資金中,因此無需增加資金。
  • 重新劃分斯特拉特福公園物業: 工作人員建議董事會批准並接受縣委員會將所有權轉讓給Stratford Park地塊的權利。 該站點計劃在Stratford新建中學。
  • 斯特拉特福德校區新中學的財產假期和奉獻精神: 在斯特拉特福新中學的增加中,工作人員展示了財產度假和奉獻物品,以供批准。

有關這些項目的詳細信息,請參見 董事會文件.

認可:
校務委員會認可了Wakefield高中的高年級學生Nicholas Cadby-Spicer,Alana Ceesay和Anderson Escobar,他們從大學獲得了四年全額獎學金。 波斯獎學金基金會 參加合夥機構。 每個獎項的價值都超過140,000萬美元。為表彰校務委員會的感謝月,PTA校長阿靈頓縣議會主席克里斯·迪塔(Chris Ditta)對校方的辛勤工作以及對學生及其家庭的奉獻精神表示感謝。

下一次阿靈頓學校董事會會議:
下次校務委員會會議將於7月30日星期四16:XNUMX舉行。議程將在會議召開前一周發布 董事會文件。 XNUMX月的其他會議的完整列表是 可在線.

欲獲得更多信息:
想要對學校董事會會議上討論的任何項目發表評論的公民,請通過以下方式向董事會發送電子郵件: 學校董事會@aps價值 or call 703-228-6015.或致電703-228-2400。 Citizens may call 70-41-XNUMX on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.在校務委員會會議結束後的周一,公民可以撥打XNUMX-XNUMX-XNUMX收聽會議摘要。 School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有線頻道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS頻道XNUMX上還直播學校董事會會議; live-streamed on the現場直播 APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 pm and Mondays at 7:30 pm immediately following the meeting.網站,並在會議結束後的周五晚上XNUMX點和周一晚上XNUMX:XNUMX重新廣播。 All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at會議的所有材料和會議記錄將發佈到以下網站: 萬維網。apsva.us/學校董事會 經校務委員會在隨後的會議上批准。

APS News Release

Superintendent Updates School Board on 3-5 Year Action Plan Progress

At last night’s School Board meeting, Superintendent Dr. Pat Murphy provided a progress report for three community processes that are underway for decisions related to the APS 3-5 Year Action Plan. He highlighted the current areas of engagement that are underway with the community:

  1. The Drew Model Visioning Process is focused on articulating the school’s direction and ensure that it is attractive to students and their families, embraces the school’s rich history, and prepares students for the future. Several opportunities are available for the community to provide feedback and a final vision is expected later in the spring.
  2. The New High School Focus Process is underway to determine the instructional focus of the new high school planned to open by 2022. The community is invited to get involved and the Board is expected to make a final decision by June to inform siting decisions. A joint meeting of the Advisory Council on Instruction (ACI) and the Facilities Advisory Council (FAC) will be held on Wed, Feb. 15 to begin this process, and a community survey will be conducted in February and March to gather input.
  3. Revision of the Enrollment and Transfer Policy is being undertaken to blend school options, ensure equitable access, simplify the policy and standardize practices. Community conversations begin later this month, and community input will shape the final revisions. A revised Policy and the accompanying Policy Implementation Procedures (PIP) are expected to be approved in June and will be implemented for the 2018-19 school year.

Dr. Murphy also reviewed a new feature on the APS webpage – Engage with APS – that now makes it easier for the community to find information about all of the current and future opportunities for public engagement and feedback. The link to this new section is featured as a new “Tab” at the top of the APS home page, and as the first link under “Quick Links” on all school websites. The direct link to the section is www.apsva.us/engage and a separate message highlights the many features of the section to help community members participate in these processes.

OTHER MONITORING ITEM:
Academic Support PreK through Grade 12:
Student Services and Counseling staff presented an update on academic support that is provided to students, and how their work supports student success. They summarized the ways in which they help students develop life skills, provide social and emotional support, and ensure that students have access to academic advising and information that will lead to college and career opportunities upon graduation. They provided recommendations to enhance the support that students receive, including courses that are matched with career pathways, expanded career awareness and exploration programs, and additional supports for students who require responsive services. The entire presentation is available to the public on BoardDocs. 

ACTION ITEMS:

  • Contract Award for Construction Management Advisor Services for the New Elementary School at Jefferson: The Board awarded the contract for Construction Management Advisor Services to MBP to provide full design, construction and close out phase CMA services including reimbursable and third party testing costs. The total fee for these services is $1,057,548.
  • Contract Award for Architecture and Engineering Services for Relocation of Administrative Offices to Sequoia Plaza Two: The Board approved a contract award in the amount of $766,601 to Studio Twenty Seven Architecture.

INFORMATION ITEMS:

  • Revision of Select Student Services School Board Policies: Staff proposed minor changes to the policies for Foreign Exchange Student Programs and Student ID Badges. The changes are delineated in policy revisions posted in BoardDocs.
  • Construction Contract Award for Early Work Package 1 for the New School at Wilson: Staff recommended approval of a contract award for early work Package 1 to Gilbane in the amount of $810,002, for the new school at the Wilson site.  Staff also recommended establishing a Package 1 owner construction contingency of $100,000.
  • Construction Contract Change Order for Abingdon Elementary School Renovation and Addition Project: Staff presented a proposed change order for switchgear replacement at the Abingdon Elementary School’s Renovation and Addition Project. The change order would be funded by the project’s contingency and is incorporated into the current funding available approved by the School Board so no increase in funding is necessary.
  • Resubdivision of the Stratford Park Property: Staff recommended the Board approve and accept the transfer of title to the Stratford Park parcel from the County Board. This site is planned for the new middle school addition at Stratford.
  • Property Vacation and Dedication for the New Middle School at the Stratford Site: Staff presented property vacation and dedication items for approval as part of the new middle school addition at Stratford.

Detailed information about these items is available on BoardDocs.

RECOGNITIONS:
The School Board recognized Wakefield High School seniors Nicholas Cadby-Spicer, Alana Ceesay and Anderson Escobar who received a four-year, full-tuition scholarship from the Posse Scholarship Foundation to attend a partnering institution. The awards are each worth more than $140,000.In recognition of School Board Appreciation Month, Arlington County Council of PTAs President Chris Ditta honored and thanked Board members for their hard work and dedication to students and their families.

NEXT ARLINGTON SCHOOL BOARD MEETING:
The next School Board meeting is at 7:30 on Thu, Feb. 16. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs. A full list of other meetings during the month of February is available online.

FOR MORE INFORMATION:
Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.