APS 新聞發布

校長向學校董事會匯報3-5年計劃的進度

在昨晚的學校董事會會議上,學區長Pat Murphy博士提供了一份針對三個社區流程的監測報告,這些流程正在製定中,涉及與 APS 3-5年行動計劃:

  1. 德魯模型的願景過程 致力於闡明學校的發展方向,並確保它對學生及其家庭具有吸引力,擁抱學校悠久的歷史,並為學生的未來發展做好準備。 社區有很多機會可以提供反饋,並且有望在春季晚些時候達成最終願景。 APS 目前正在通過25月XNUMX日進行的調查收集社區反饋。
  2. 新高中教學重點 目前正在確定計劃於2022年開放的新高中的教學重點。教學諮詢委員會(ACI)和設施諮詢委員會(FAC)的聯席會議於15月27日舉行,以審查選址和選修課程。指令; 優先考慮 並測試調查工具。 社區調查計劃於17月XNUMX日至XNUMX月XNUMX日進行。
  3. 校務委員會政策(SBP)25-2.2學校和課程的註冊與轉學 正在採取混合學校方案,確保公平獲得教育,簡化政策和規範做法的行動。 政策和政策實施程序初稿 可在線獲得。 一項調查 本週外出征求社區反饋。 該調查將於5月22日開放。計劃於2月XNUMX日和XNUMX月XNUMX日舉行兩次“入門”信息社區會議。

要了解有關這些計劃的更多信息並參與其中,請訪問 萬維網。aps價值/參與.

行動項目:
修訂部分學生服務學校董事會政策–
董事會批准對“外匯學生計劃”和“學生證”的政策進行細微更改。 這些更改在發佈於的政策修訂中進行了描述 董事會文件.

其他監測項目:
APS走! –
在2013, APS 推出 APSGo!, 在整個社區範圍內,以學校為驅動力的過程,旨在提高人們的意識,並提供與步行,騎自行車,過境,乘車/乘車和校車有關的激勵措施,信息和鼓勵。 今年初,對員工,學生和父母進行了關於他們的交通偏好的調查。 調查結果以及報告的其餘部分是 可在線.

信息項:

  • 修訂部分學生服務SBP:工作人員建議對SBP 25-2.1的入學和安置以及25-3對學生的健康的支持進行細微的更改。 這些更改在發佈於的政策修訂中進行了描述 董事會文件.
  • 修訂精選人力資源SBP:工作人員建議對SBP 35-4.6進行更改 不平 程序和SBP 35-4.9紀律處分。 建議的更改可在線獲得。

認可:
卓越模式
The School Board honored nine Model of Excellence students who were recognized for their high levels of success in the areas of academic, professional, athletic achievement, or civic leadership and involvement.校務委員會表彰了九位卓越模範學生,這些學生因在學術,專業,運動成就或公民領導和參與方面的高水平成功而獲得認可。 The recognitions were originally presented on Feb. 8 at Kenmore Middle School at the “Over Here in Arlington Being Excellent” community event which was part of this year's該獎項最初於XNUMX月XNUMX日在Kenmore中學的“阿靈頓的卓越表現”社區活動中提出,該活動是今年的活動的一部分。 APS 黑人歷史月慶祝活動。

學生卓越模型是:邁克爾·奧格雷迪(Gunston Middle School); 克里斯汀·萬達(Christine Wanda),HB Woodlawn; 杰斐遜中學傑克·比爾(Jakhi Beale); 肯莫爾中學的喬丹·布西; Rylei Porter,斯旺森中學; 韋克菲爾德高中的耶利米·帕克(Jeremiah Parker); Mone'Parker,華盛頓李高中; 威廉斯堡中學鑽石史蒂芬斯; 泰勒·韋爾奇(Taylor Welch),約克鎮高中。

2017-18貼花設計比賽
董事會祝賀Wakefield高中10年級學生Amy Kohan贏得了2017-18年度阿靈頓縣車輛貼花設計競賽。 入圍的還有今年的決賽入圍者,來自韋克菲爾德的Sydney Machion和Marjorie Henriquez。

海軍陸戰隊馬拉松(MCM)最健康學校獎
克萊蒙特國際浸會學校和泰勒小學因獲得海軍陸戰隊馬拉松最健康學校獎而獲得認可。 該獎項表彰了今年MCM兒童跑步活動中註冊學生最多的前五名學校。

下一次學校董事會會議將在預算中介紹:
下一次學校董事會會議於23月7日,星期四,30:XNUMX pm(在此處觀看直播)議程將包括一個項目-主管對2018財年擬議預算的介紹。 會議將在墨菲博士的演講後結束,並緊接著在教育中心(Ed Center)101會議室舉行校務委員會的第一次預算工作會議。 會議演示和工作會議都將實時直播。

欲獲得更多信息:
想要對學校董事會會議上討論的任何項目發表評論的公民,請通過以下方式向董事會發送電子郵件: 學校董事會@aps價值 or call 703-228-6015.或致電703-228-2400。 Citizens may call 70-41-XNUMX on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary.在校務委員會會議結束後的周一,公民可以撥打XNUMX-XNUMX-XNUMX收聽會議摘要。 School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel XNUMX and Verizon FiOS Channel XNUMX;在康卡斯特有線頻道XNUMX和Verizon FiOS頻道XNUMX上還直播學校董事會會議; live-streamed on the現場直播 APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 pm and Mondays at 7:30 pm immediately following the meeting.網站,並在會議結束後的周五晚上XNUMX點和周一晚上XNUMX:XNUMX重新廣播。 All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at會議的所有材料和會議記錄將發佈到以下網站: 萬維網。apsva.us/學校董事會 經校務委員會在隨後的會議上批准。

APS News Release

Superintendent Updates School Board on 3-5 Year Plan Progress

At last night’s School Board meeting, Superintendent Dr. Pat Murphy provided a monitoring report for the three community processes that are underway for decisions related to the APS 3-5 Year Action Plan:

  1. Drew Model Visioning Process is focused on articulating the school’s direction and ensure that it is attractive to students and their families, embraces the school’s rich history, and prepares students for the future. Several opportunities are available for the community to provide feedback and a final vision is expected later in the spring. APS is currently gathering community feedback through a survey that is open until Feb. 25.
  2. The New High School Instructional Focus is underway to determine the instructional focus of the new high school planned to open by 2022. A joint meeting of the Advisory Council on Instruction (ACI) and the Facilities Advisory Council (FAC) was held on Feb. 15 to review options for location and instruction; prioritize considerations; and test a survey tool. The community survey is planned for Feb. 27-March 17.
  3. School Board Policy (SBP) 25-2.2 Enrollment and Transfers for Schools and Programs is being undertaken to blend school options, ensure equitable access, simplify the policy and standardize practices. The first draft of the policy and Policy Implementation Procedure is available online. A survey went out this week to solicity the community’s feedback. The survey will be open through March 5. Two “Getting Started” informational community meetings are planned for Feb. 22 and March 2.

To learn more about these initiatives and to get involved, visit www.apsva.us/engage.

ACTION ITEMS:
Revision of Select Student Services School Board Policies –
The Board approved minor changes to the policies for Foreign Exchange Student Programs and Student ID Badges. The changes are delineated in policy revisions posted in BoardDocs.

OTHER MONITORING ITEM:
APSGo! –
In 2013, APS launched APSGo!, a community-wide, school-driven process that raises awareness and provides incentives, information and encouragement related to walking, biking, transit, car/vanpooling and school busing. Earlier this year, staff, students and parents were surveyed about their transportation preferences. The results of the survey along with the rest of the report are available online.

INFORMATION ITEMS:

  • Revision of Select Student Services SBP: Staff is recommending minor changes to SBP 25-2.1 Admissions and Placement and 25-3 Support for Students-Wellness. The changes are delineated in policy revisions posted in BoardDocs.
  • Revision of Select Human Resources SBP: Staff recommends changes to SBP 35-4.6 Grievance Procedures and SBP 35-4.9 Disciplinary Actions. The Proposed changes are available online.

RECOGNITIONS:
Models of Excellence
The School Board honored nine Model of Excellence students who were recognized for their high levels of success in the areas of academic, professional, athletic achievement, or civic leadership and involvement. The recognitions were originally presented on Feb. 8 at Kenmore Middle School at the “Over Here in Arlington Being Excellent” community event which was part of this year’s APS Black History Month celebrations.

The student Models of Excellence are: Michael O’Grady, Gunston Middle School; Christine Wanda, H-B Woodlawn; Jakhi Beale, Jefferson Middle School; Jordan Bussie, Kenmore Middle School; Rylei Porter, Swanson Middle School; Jeremiah Parker, Wakefield High School; Mone’ Parker, Washington-Lee High School; Diamond Stephens, Williamsburg Middle School; Taylor Welch, Yorktown High School.

2017-18 Decal Design Competition
The Board congratulated Wakefield High School 10th grader Amy Kohan for winning the 2017-18 Arlington County Vehicle Decal Design Contest. Also recognized were this year’s finalists, Sydney Machion and Marjorie Henriquez from Wakefield.

Marine Corps Marathon (MCM) Healthiest Schools Award
Claremont Immersion and Taylor Elementary schools were recognized for receiving the Marine Corps Marathon Healthiest Schools Award. The award recognizes the top five schools with the most registered student participants in this year’s MCM Kids Run.

NEXT SCHOOL BOARD MEETING WILL BE BUDGET PRESENTATION:
The next School Board meeting on Thu, Feb. 23 at 7:30 p.m. (Watch live stream here) The agenda will include one item – the Superintendent’s presentation of the FY 2018 Proposed Budget. The meeting will end after Dr. Murphy’s presentation and will be immediately followed by the School Board’s First Budget Work Session in Room 101 at the Ed Center.  The meeting presentation and Work Session will both be live-streamed.

FOR MORE INFORMATION:
Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.