APS بيان صحفي

يقوم المشرف بتحديث مجلس المدرسة في 3-5 سنوات التقدم في الخطة

في اجتماع مجلس إدارة المدرسة الليلة الماضية ، قدم المشرف الدكتور بات مورفي تقرير مراقبة للعمليات المجتمعية الثلاث الجارية لاتخاذ القرارات المتعلقة بـ APS 3-5 سنوات خطة العمل:

  1. عملية رؤية نموذج درو يركز على توضيح اتجاه المدرسة والتأكد من أنها جذابة للطلاب وعائلاتهم ، وتحتضن تاريخ المدرسة الغني ، وتعد الطلاب للمستقبل. تتوفر العديد من الفرص للمجتمع لتقديم الملاحظات ومن المتوقع رؤية نهائية في وقت لاحق في الربيع. APS يقوم حاليًا بجمع تعليقات المجتمع من خلال استطلاع مفتوح حتى 25 فبراير.
  2. التركيز التعليمي الجديد في المدرسة الثانوية جاري تحديد التركيز التعليمي للمدرسة الثانوية الجديدة المزمع افتتاحها بحلول عام 2022. وعقد اجتماع مشترك للمجلس الاستشاري للتعليم (ACI) والمجلس الاستشاري للمرافق (FAC) في 15 فبراير لمراجعة خيارات الموقع و تعليمات إعطاء الأولوية للاعتبارات ؛ واختبار أداة مسح. مسح المجتمع المخطط له في 27 فبراير - 17 مارس.
  3. سياسة مجلس المدرسة (SBP) 25-2.2 القيد والتحويلات للمدارس والبرامج يجري العمل على مزج خيارات المدرسة وضمان الوصول العادل وتبسيط السياسة وتوحيد الممارسات. المسودة الأولى لإجراءات تنفيذ السياسة والسياسات على شبكة الإنترنت. مسح خرج هذا الأسبوع لطلب ردود فعل المجتمع. سيكون الاستطلاع مفتوحًا حتى 5 مارس. ومن المقرر عقد اجتماعين للمجتمع الإعلامي "الشروع" في 22 فبراير و 2 مارس.

لمعرفة المزيد عن هذه المبادرات والمشاركة ، تفضل بزيارة شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/engage.

خطوات العمل:
مراجعة سياسات اختيار مجلس مدرسة الخدمات الطلابية -
وافق المجلس على تغييرات طفيفة في سياسات برامج تبادل الطلاب وشارات معرف الطلاب. تم تحديد التغييرات في مراجعات السياسة المنشورة في بورد دوكس.

بند مراقبة أخرى:
APSاذهب! -
في 2013، APS أطلقت APSGo!, عملية على مستوى المجتمع المحلي مدفوعة بالمدرسة ترفع مستوى الوعي وتوفر الحوافز والمعلومات والتشجيع المرتبط بالمشي وركوب الدراجات والنقل العام والسيارات / ركوب السيارات والحافلات المدرسية. في وقت سابق من هذا العام ، تم مسح الموظفين والطلاب وأولياء الأمور حول تفضيلات النقل الخاصة بهم. نتائج المسح مع بقية التقرير هي متاحة على شبكة الإنترنت.

بنود المعلومات:

  • مراجعة اختيار خدمات الطالب SBP: يوصي الموظفون بإجراء تغييرات طفيفة على SBP 25-2.1 القبول والتنسيب ودعم 25-3 للعافية للطلاب. تم تحديد التغييرات في مراجعات السياسة المنشورة في بورد دوكس.
  • مراجعة الموارد البشرية المختارة SBP: يوصي الموظفون بإجراء تغييرات على SBP 35-4.6 شكوى الإجراءات و SBP 35-4.9 الإجراءات التأديبية. التغييرات المقترحة متاحة على الإنترنت.

الاعترافات:
نماذج التميز
كرم مجلس إدارة المدرسة تسعة طلاب من نموذج التميز الذين تم تكريمهم لمستويات نجاحهم العالية في مجالات الإنجاز الأكاديمي أو المهني أو الرياضي أو القيادة والمشاركة المدنية. تم تقديم الجوائز في الأصل في 8 فبراير في مدرسة Kenmore Middle School في الحدث المجتمعي "Over Here in Arlington Being Excellent" الذي كان جزءًا من هذا العام APS احتفالات شهر التاريخ الأسود.

يوفر نماذج التميز للطلبة: مايكل أوجرادي ، مدرسة جونستون المتوسطة ؛ كريستين واندا ، هـ. ب. وودلون ؛ جاكي بيل ، مدرسة جيفرسون المتوسطة ؛ جوردان بوسي ، مدرسة كينمور المتوسطة ؛ ريلي بورتر ، مدرسة سوانسون المتوسطة ؛ جيريميا باركر ، مدرسة ويكفيلد الثانوية ؛ موني باركر ، مدرسة واشنطن لي الثانوية ؛ دايموند ستيفنز ، مدرسة ويليامزبرغ المتوسطة ؛ تايلور ويلش ، مدرسة يوركتاون الثانوية.

2017-18 مسابقة تصميم الملصقات
هنأ المجلس المدرسة الثانوية ويكفيلد في الصف العاشر إيمي كوهان على فوزها في مسابقة تصميم ملصق سيارة مركبة في مقاطعة أرلينغتون 10-2017. كما تم الاعتراف أيضًا بالمرشحين النهائيين لهذا العام ، سيدني ماكيون ومارجوري هنريكيز من ويكفيلد.

جائزة ماراثون سلاح مشاة البحرية (MCM) الأكثر صحية
تم الاعتراف بمدارس Claremont Immersion و Taylor الابتدائية للحصول على جائزة المدارس الصحية لماراثون سلاح مشاة البحرية. تُمنح الجائزة لأعلى خمس مدارس بها أكبر عدد من الطلاب المشاركين في مسابقة MCM Kids Run لهذا العام.

اجتماع مجلس إدارة NEXT سيتم عرض الميزانية:
الاجتماع القادم لمجلس المدرسة يوم الخميس 23 فبراير الساعة 7:30 مساء (شاهد البث المباشر هنا) سيتضمن جدول الأعمال بندًا واحدًا - عرض المشرف للميزانية المقترحة للسنة المالية 2018. سينتهي الاجتماع بعد عرض الدكتور مورفي وسيتبعه مباشرة جلسة عمل الميزانية الأولى لمجلس المدرسة في الغرفة 101 في مركز Ed. سيتم بث العرض التقديمي للاجتماع وجلسة العمل مباشرة.

لمزيد من المعلومات
يجب على المواطنين الذين يرغبون في التعليق على أي من البنود التي تمت مناقشتها في اجتماع مجلس المدرسة إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى المجلس على لوحة المدرسة@apsva.us أو اتصل على 703-228-6015. يمكن للمواطنين الاتصال بالرقم 703-228-2400 يوم الاثنين بعد اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة للاستماع إلى ملخص الاجتماع. يتم أيضًا بث اجتماعات مجلس إدارة المدرسة مباشرة على Comcast Cable Channel 70 و Verizon FiOS Channel 41 ؛ بث مباشر على APS ويعاد بثه يوم الجمعة الساعة 9 مساءً ويوم الاثنين الساعة 7:30 مساءً بعد الاجتماع مباشرة. سيتم نشر جميع المواد ومحاضر الاجتماع على موقع الويب على شبكة الاتصالات العالمية.apsva.us/schoolboard بناء على موافقة مجلس المدرسة في اجتماع لاحق.

APS News Release

Superintendent Updates School Board on 3-5 Year Plan Progress

At last night’s School Board meeting, Superintendent Dr. Pat Murphy provided a monitoring report for the three community processes that are underway for decisions related to the APS 3-5 Year Action Plan:

  1. Drew Model Visioning Process is focused on articulating the school’s direction and ensure that it is attractive to students and their families, embraces the school’s rich history, and prepares students for the future. Several opportunities are available for the community to provide feedback and a final vision is expected later in the spring. APS is currently gathering community feedback through a survey that is open until Feb. 25.
  2. The New High School Instructional Focus is underway to determine the instructional focus of the new high school planned to open by 2022. A joint meeting of the Advisory Council on Instruction (ACI) and the Facilities Advisory Council (FAC) was held on Feb. 15 to review options for location and instruction; prioritize considerations; and test a survey tool. The community survey is planned for Feb. 27-March 17.
  3. School Board Policy (SBP) 25-2.2 Enrollment and Transfers for Schools and Programs is being undertaken to blend school options, ensure equitable access, simplify the policy and standardize practices. The first draft of the policy and Policy Implementation Procedure is available online. A survey went out this week to solicity the community’s feedback. The survey will be open through March 5. Two “Getting Started” informational community meetings are planned for Feb. 22 and March 2.

To learn more about these initiatives and to get involved, visit www.apsva.us/engage.

ACTION ITEMS:
Revision of Select Student Services School Board Policies –
The Board approved minor changes to the policies for Foreign Exchange Student Programs and Student ID Badges. The changes are delineated in policy revisions posted in BoardDocs.

OTHER MONITORING ITEM:
APSGo! –
In 2013, APS launched APSGo!, a community-wide, school-driven process that raises awareness and provides incentives, information and encouragement related to walking, biking, transit, car/vanpooling and school busing. Earlier this year, staff, students and parents were surveyed about their transportation preferences. The results of the survey along with the rest of the report are available online.

INFORMATION ITEMS:

  • Revision of Select Student Services SBP: Staff is recommending minor changes to SBP 25-2.1 Admissions and Placement and 25-3 Support for Students-Wellness. The changes are delineated in policy revisions posted in BoardDocs.
  • Revision of Select Human Resources SBP: Staff recommends changes to SBP 35-4.6 Grievance Procedures and SBP 35-4.9 Disciplinary Actions. The Proposed changes are available online.

RECOGNITIONS:
Models of Excellence
The School Board honored nine Model of Excellence students who were recognized for their high levels of success in the areas of academic, professional, athletic achievement, or civic leadership and involvement. The recognitions were originally presented on Feb. 8 at Kenmore Middle School at the “Over Here in Arlington Being Excellent” community event which was part of this year’s APS Black History Month celebrations.

The student Models of Excellence are: Michael O’Grady, Gunston Middle School; Christine Wanda, H-B Woodlawn; Jakhi Beale, Jefferson Middle School; Jordan Bussie, Kenmore Middle School; Rylei Porter, Swanson Middle School; Jeremiah Parker, Wakefield High School; Mone’ Parker, Washington-Lee High School; Diamond Stephens, Williamsburg Middle School; Taylor Welch, Yorktown High School.

2017-18 Decal Design Competition
The Board congratulated Wakefield High School 10th grader Amy Kohan for winning the 2017-18 Arlington County Vehicle Decal Design Contest. Also recognized were this year’s finalists, Sydney Machion and Marjorie Henriquez from Wakefield.

Marine Corps Marathon (MCM) Healthiest Schools Award
Claremont Immersion and Taylor Elementary schools were recognized for receiving the Marine Corps Marathon Healthiest Schools Award. The award recognizes the top five schools with the most registered student participants in this year’s MCM Kids Run.

NEXT SCHOOL BOARD MEETING WILL BE BUDGET PRESENTATION:
The next School Board meeting on Thu, Feb. 23 at 7:30 p.m. (Watch live stream here) The agenda will include one item – the Superintendent’s presentation of the FY 2018 Proposed Budget. The meeting will end after Dr. Murphy’s presentation and will be immediately followed by the School Board’s First Budget Work Session in Room 101 at the Ed Center.  The meeting presentation and Work Session will both be live-streamed.

FOR MORE INFORMATION:
Citizens who want to comment on any of the items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015. Citizens may call 703-228-2400 on the Monday after the School Board meetings to listen to a meeting summary. School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon FiOS Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes of the meeting will be posted to the website at www.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.